(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

my boy seems not able to finish his milk...usually he takes 180ml....just now the 1st feed, he only takes 100ml and refused to take in anymore no matter how hard I persuaded him...in the end...give up!

Yesterday, after his feed at 4.30am...he woke up practically every hour and cry...when we carried him, he stopped...and when we put him back to cot, he started it again! I dunno if it is because he did not have enough, for the 4.30am feed, he took only 80ml but at 12.30am, he was able to finish 180ml...do I really do not know what is wrong...kind of worried! Other than that, he seems ok.

I thought you gals are on MSN??

Blessings,

I think it is a common phase now, not sure about the rest, my baby boy intake now also reduce.

Hi Blessings,
My boy also like that. At times, he cannot finish his milk, and no matter how hard I try, he still don't drink. Sometimes, he can finish all, and wants more. And also cry when we put him into baby cot. When we carried him, he stopped crying.

Here are the recent photos of my baby Ryan.....
539112.jpg
539113.jpg

Hi liverpool and jasline,

I see...thanks for the note...will monitor my boy's intake and update you all again...at least I know it is not something I shld worried too much abt...

Hi dsiitan, Your baby photos very nice leh...so well taken. How much you pay for this photography? Ian is so cute.

blessings
My boy also reject milk for the last 2 days.. was quite worried though then during the weekend, my mum went to buy brown rice (zhao(1) Mi(1)) mix with FM and guess what.. he finished it & asking for more.. he seems to be enjoying every bit of it.. hehe.. my mum told me the brown rice hor is good for bb's bones and will become fitter & stronger.. Seems like me & my siblings all drank that.. ehhee.. my 2cents worth!

Hi Fruitee,
Ya, My nephew & niece also enjoy their brown rice very much. It's also very nutricious!! But my mum said can only start giving brown rice at 4th mth?

Blessings, Fruitee and Jasline,

My boy also drink little these days.. According to my PD, Dr Ong from TMC, BB at 3 months is like that one.. and they become more active and want to play for longer time.. if bb's weight falls within the acceptable weight range then should have no problem.. and at this time they prefer to take plain water sometimes.. BB themselves will know when they are hungry, so if your bbs are active and healthy, it's ok one.. so dun worry too much..

539192.jpg

Hi YB
Yah.. should be 4 mths but my boy rejecting his milk so I call to check with PD, she said ok but have to add more water to make it more watery loh..
My boy enjoying his feed now... hehe

Your bb sooooooooo cute!

dsii,

ok, i hv a ready tin at home now. how to pass to u huh? maybe u sms me? But hor, don't expect 180ml per breast after drinking!

boy boy managed to sleep 6 hrs in a stretch these 2 days (9.30pm to 3+am the night b4 & 2.30am to 8.30am this morning), hopefully can catch his timing correctly so can sleep through!

YB,
Nowadays, we are more diligent in cleaning bb's tongue (twice a day). Much better now. Only use cool down boiled water cos my MIL says no good to use the glycerin. I tend to agree with her cos don't want to introduce to him (if not necessary).

Brown Rice:
Mummies, did u all read the article in "Mind Your Body" last Wed? There was a lady who asked about Brown Rice causing stunted growth in children. The doctor replied to say EXCESSIVE consumption is not good cos the fibre makes kids full and hence curb their intake of nutrient. Also hv impact on calcium intake, zinc, magnesium. So must take balanced diet. I am not sure how much is EXCESSIVE but it does make me a bit hesitant to feed brown rice to bb (maybe mix brown rice with normal rice or oatmeal is better).

Actually, I read somewhere that there is no need to be in a hurry to introduce solid food to baby.Earlier u start, the higher chance of allergy and obesity.. 6 mths will be good starting point. Unless it is obvious that your bb is ready for it (like always hungry after milk)

YB, her eyes so big
btw, did u shave her hair when she was 1 month old?

fruitee, good that he enjoys it. i can't wait for my bb to turn 4 months and start on cereals.

here's a pic of my bb boy Ethan

539204.gif

fruitee
hehe, so adorable.

i realise that most bbs have a similar feature their lips hor, especially their upper lip, look like that Motorola logo like that.

fruitee,

where got ke ai.. alfred also tua pai kia.. he's v restless one.. likes to jump jump jump.. when put on bed also must twist and turn.. here's the prove:

539291.jpg

Hi Fruitee,
So in addition to the brown rice, u still giving ur boy milk & water?

Hi Lok,
When bb reached 4mths old, other than introducing brown rice to bb, u should also continue to supplement bb's diet with milk, water,juice & other food etc. Brown rice is only part of their diet, not all. Mayb once or twice a day. So will not be excessive.

U can actually buy brown rice powder mixture from NTUC. Some have added ingredients like chinese herbs, oatmeal etc in the powder mixture. Normal white rice is actually processed food. Not as healthy as brown rice.

My mum feed my nephew & niece with brown rice powder mixture with chinese herbs since 4mth till now (3yrs & 1yr). Just cook in a pot & add water till it's liquid. Then can feed thru milk bottle. Very convenient. Both my nephew & niece are healthy & strong.

Hi missmoon,
Ya, my gal's eyes bigger than me & hubby. Dunno where she get her genes from leh...

Nope, I didn't shave my gal at all. She has more hair at the side & back of her head. In front has very little hair. Thinking of shaving her at 4mth to let the hair grow more uniformly.

I think bb's mouth r like tat cos they have no teeth yet??? hee..hee...

hi YB
hehe...but good lah, eyes big big sparkle sparkle. btw, u got contact for shaving bb hair at 4 months or not? i scared they fidget a lot then sekali get hurt in the process? i thinking of shaving my boy's hair also at 4 months.

mummies..i read other threads mummy doing what flashcard thingy to yheir bb...whats that ah? and how??? anyone knows? paiseh me abit suaku..

YB
agree with missmoon, your bb eyes so big and sparkle ley.. look very intelligent bb!
My mum mixed brown rice inside the FM. still giving him water also.. he like water alot..

Joline
that's a cute pic of Alfred. His eyes very big also... my boy follow the mummy.. eyes small... faint liao..

dsii
u know those cards thingy that u show bb? like, eg, face of clown or stars or animals etc. u show and tell bb wat it is, interact wif bb. from birth upward ones hor, they usually come in black, white and red colours. it allows bb to see the image, and u also interact wif bb - eg. show him where his eyes/nose/mouth/ears are. it helps wif stimulating their development.

Hi missmoon,
I got no contact leh..either we shave bb ourselves or bring bb to those malay barber?

Hi dsiitan,
The flashcards can be pictures, words etc. Just flash once in front of bb & repeat the words on the card to bb. It's supposed to help bb recognised the words/pictures so that he/she can pick up faster when they grow up.

Hi missmoon,
I think now tat our bb are already 3mths, not necessary to just buy those red/black/white flashcards, right? Can be any colour? Cos think they can now see other colours already.

hi YB
i dunno ley, i got the einstein flash cards but i think that one too chim for him liao. so far i haven't seen any colourful flashcards around. u seen any?

i think bbs start seeing colours, esp bright ones, at around 6 months?

Hi Fruitee,
Have to give ur boy more water cos u mix brown rice & FM together. Else too heaty, may cos constipation. But luckily ur boy likes drinking water, then should not b a problem.

My gal ah, sigh....only wanna drink from the pigeon peristaltic teat bottle. She totally rejects pigeon normal bottle, NUK bottle etc. Waste of $$ cos I'v already stock up so many bottles, plus those big bottles...sigh...
Anyone knows how much does the pigeon wide neck bottle costs? Mine came with the steriliser, so I dunno how much. But I saw the teats very ex. About $3plus for 1 teat.

Hi missmoon,
Yes, I've seen colourful flashcards at Popular Bookstore. Very cheap. About $7plus for 1 set. They have diff topics per set. U can either choose shapes, colours, fruits etc....

so issit too late to do the flashcard thingy??? one day flash how many times? 1 set flash for how long leh??? can go popular bookstores to look for the flashcards ya..hehehe..pls enlighten me ont he flashcard thingy

dsii
haha, u can flash whenever ian is awake. but hor, both fruitee and i ah, our sons' attention span hor quite short. my boy gets bored after 1 round.

YB
ya loh.. been giving him lots of water in case he gets too heaty.. keke...

dsiitan
The flashcards hor.. u flash infront of them then say out loud whats in the pic.. depends on whether they interested or not.. my boy hor.. I flash & flash.. he interested only barely 5mins loh...

hehehe...so i can go and get the flashcards at popular lah...any pattern oso can ah?? like shapes and colours? or must be wording???

missmoon/YB,
I'll be shaving my Alfred's hair and eyebrows when he reached 4 months. We intend to make tai mao bi and keep the cord in the crystal, so will engage the service and take their free head shaving.

dsii,
u heard about GD's method in teachning BB to read?? According to his theory, BB can start learning to read, do maths and get ency knowledge once they are able to see well.. u can go to marketplace and saw some threads on buying the flashcards.. I've bought quite a lot of flashcards from BP organised by some mummies.. you may wish to buy/borrow books on teaching bb to read/maths/encyclopedia from national library or get them from Kinokuniya.. very hot selling..
I've started the flash card program on visual stimulation and dot cards since the first day we brought Alfred home from the hospital. Now i show him the flash cards on English & chinese words.. Must fash 1 card/sec so that u can catch their attention.. Alfred likes to see the flash cards..

I feel that the best time to let bb see the flash cards will be the time before they start to learn how to crawl. After they know how to crawl/walk they will be very restless and won't pay attention to you when you want them to sit stationary and learn the words..

Hi YB,

was browsing thru ... n my bb also little fussy pot.. only drink from pigeon persitaltic teats. even then if she's not THAT hungry she will reject it (sigh. prefers the natural teat).

anyway, i think the peristaltic teat have the non-wide neck ones as well.. so dun really need to get the wide neck bottles?

joline
wow...ok ok...better go and get some flashcard and flash..hehee...but how...1 set of cards can flash for how long..meaning ard 2 weeks everyday or till he sianz of seeing the same set of cards?

sorry, joline, pai sey, one more question: does the flash cards hold alfred's attention for long huh? u mention he likes flash cards

missmoon,
I did not shave Alfred at 1 month cos he got not much hair leh.. keke..

I show alfred 1 session of 15 cards.. sometimes i flash him 30 cards he also look at the flash cards leh.. so I assume he likes it lor.. if wan to follow GD's method, by right we should flash 3 session everyday, 1 session is 15~20 words.. but teaching english words is different from teaching maths (dot cards) and encyclopedia materials..

wah, joline, thanks for the info. oops, ya, read salah. u so brave lor, to want shave alfred's eyebrows too. i think i'll shave Ethan's head but eyebrows ah...hmmm, i scared they dun grow back. haha.

YB,

That's true too. Ok, can feed brown rice now

Actually, I hv 2 wide neck bottles from Pigeon when i bought the sterilizer. My bb hor very particular one, only want latex teat now, so my pigeon bottles are just gathering dust (luckily free). I only used it once to collect milk during treatment at TMC (cos must bring my normal NUK premium bottles to MIL place to feed bb). U want them or not? Btw, Pigeon always has this promo where u can trade-in non-Pigeon bottles for wide neck ones (can't recall whether there is a cost involved though)

dsii,

U need the powder urgently or not? If urgent, then must pass to u this week...

YB,
Pigeon wide neck bottle cost $8++ for the big bottle. Small one cost ard $6++
Mine more sayang, i bot the pigeon wide neck but he didnt take it well. Prefer NUK.
Ur girl so sweet.

Fruitee,
aiyo u boy so round and chubby.
brown rice - i also find u introduce it too early. May be dun give him every feed.
I only feed my girl the brown rice on 4th month and only give her twice a day.
Old pple belief brown rice give bb strong arms and legs.

In the market, only frisocreme rice cereal stated fit for 4th month onward. Other brands are meant for 6th month onward.

I prefer EYS (EU Yan Sang) brown rice. I wun buy those from NTUC.

Dsii,
the photo is very nice. u have more pix to show? can send to my email? [email protected]

I think i will only take after i slim down.

dsii,
u start from 5 cards for 1st day, increase 1 card per day until reaches 15 cards, then retire 1 old card and replace by a new one, the next day retire 2nd old card and continue until u finish all the cards.. that's to say, 1 card will be flashed to bb for 5 days before it gets retired.. 1 day show 3 times..

Hong
I bo pian ley... cos he dun wan his milk.. wah piang, he can like miss 2-3 feeds ley.. when we tried to stuff the teats in his mouth.. he just spit all the milk out.. Faint! Just tried yesterday only... he ok with brown rice, finished every single bit.. so just mix around loh.. at times brown rice with FM then at times just purely FM. see how it goes!