(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

Hi YB, Poppy, Hong,

My boy also recently had rashes and I asked doc when we brought him for vaccination.. Doc say its call "cradle cap"

U all can try searching for it online and read up for more info..

would like to check with mummies ,

my baby have alot alot of peeling skin , and his whole leg , all got dry skin , is it becos i let him sleep in air con room ?? do i need to help him apply any baby cream ??

MTDT, hard to change him coz if he dont sleep ie if I dont want to let him sleep he will fuss and cry... I wish I dont need to carry him.. haha so ma fan.

Poppy. yah that's what my boy did too... funny right

Joan, cradle cap? I thought cradle caps are those "scalp like thingy on the head? do they come as rashes form too?

White Lady, how old is yr BB? Mine had that toowhen he was just born and it takes those peeling skin to completely peel away after 1 mth. PD says it's ok and ask us to leave it. Now still got some on his legs.

There's a BP on this Motherlove Goat's Rue that is said to increase milk supple... dunno if i shld buy.. any mums tried tat before??

I tried to cook papaya tun milk today... said to taste better than the one cooked with fish coz its no so xin..

PM ,

my baby is 2 weeks old , so is normal for baby to have peeling skin issit ? so is not due to aircon which make his skin dry ?

Hi Hong,
Ya, my gal's pimples will dry up after a few days, but new ones will keep coming out & it seems to be spreading to her forehead now...Anything we can do to prevent the pimples? Is it because of allergy or in contact with dirty stuff?

White Lady, yr baby has it since birth? If so then I guess it's ok.. If u want u can apply baby oil or moisturiser for BB no harm.. can treat it like a massage for ur baby. =)

YB, try to avoid kissing baby, i realise when i stop ppl from smelling and/or kissing BB, his complexion sort of improves.

morning mummies...pum-p milk time....haiz...just now changed diaper for ian...and he treated me with poo...cleansed him and at the sametime he fart and flying poo all over me...

morning. change diaper also. now pumping. hubby feeding. change from avent to pigeon bottle and feeding problem solved!!

Lucida, glad tt u sound better today.

Had a horrible night ytd. Quarrelled with hubby. First time in our whole r/s he scold me so many times f***. Haha. Shld b even more than total accumulated previously cos he was not e kind tt wld scol vulgar words one. Think i aggitated him too much.

Anyway, went to see lc at tmc ytd. Margaret helped to do 'treatment' first, then Mrs Wong came to check b4 I left. Spent like..2hrs there. Margaret helped massage my breasts cos there were lumps in both breasts. Left side was bad cos there was a huge lump, they suspected that when I stopped bfg the twins, I didnt clear the lumps, so plus nw it bcame bigger n bigger. N even part of my aerola had e lump. Then she helped massage till i nearly died. Super painful. Then they said it wld prob take abt a mth to clear with constant massage..So i think it prob wont clear. Wahahah. I will massage la, definitely, but i think it wont be the same as how they massage. They really use alot alot of energy. But i think ytd was a good experience la. Learnt quite alot of stuff. And used their Avent IQ Uno dual electric pump to pump. Wah, it's good man. But it's 800bucks. So well, sad case. Good but not affordable. If this is my first child and i intend to bf for 1 yr and have 3 children then mabbe i'll invest. But well, this is my 3rd and prob last child im going to have.

zlia
what happened???y u quarrelled with hb???

yetserday i oso shouted at hb...not very loud but loud enuff to call that SHOUT..hehehe

my #1 was very notti..then i was so pissed off that i scolded him...then after that he made my hb angry too..then i was like...pls..behave ur self...if not wait kena cane...then my hb just paased a remarks...wait mummy cane u then u know...mummy cane is right...daddy cane is wrong...so better for mummy to cane...then i was like CAN U PLS STOP MAKING THAT REMARKS...U SAID LIKE BUAY SIANZ..I LISTEN TILL SIANZ LiAO..SO U BETTER SHUT UP...

then i juz walked into my room and sleep...

Ya, quarrelled with him. Think cos both of us were very tired. Cos ytd night at 4am baby still refused to slp. Then actually at abt 2am she was going to fall aslp liao, but hubby on-ed the light to do his work. Then she started being abit cranky (so i sort of blamed it on him). Then at 4am I went to heat up milk. Then when I came back I sort of 'show attd'. Put the milk bottle on the table loudly kinda thing. Then he told me that if i was unhappy cos he was tired and didnt help, then i would be unhappy forever. Then I told him that he shouldnt keep thinking tt he's the most tired person in the entire world. Then he told me he's tired working. At least when i feed baby i can close my eyes. He cant when he's working. Then I said,'Does it mean that when I go back to work then u'll start to help out?' Then he said,'How can like tt compare?' (which is totally crap and contradicts wat he said earlier on). Then I said,'Oh, so it means tt even when I go back to work you still won't help out la?' Then he kept scolding his 'f***'. Think he was very tired ytd la. Then i think when ppl quarrel with me normally will be quite pek chek one. Cos i think ive got this disgusting part of my character that like.. when im angry, I wont say out. But i'll show attd. And when other party finds out, I wont be those very direct one. And I wont shout. I'm those kind tt will be super sarcastic and calm. Haha. (I hate this kinda ppl)

Anyway, my MIL is also like your husband, as in, she keeps telling my kids 'Later papa come home and beat you.. Later papa dont bring you go gai gai, blar blar blar.' Then I think my husband's so innocent. Haha.

zlia
last time my hb wont like that say one..cos i think after ian popped out..i am very concerned how isaac take it loh..cos most attn goes to didi liao mah...then i realised like hb tends to scold isaac more often..cos he oso notti lah..always disturb didi when he's sleeping..then my hb very pek chek loh...then got 1 time he suddenly took cane wanna beat him..then i was like very fed up and asked hb to stop..then brought isaac back to room..from then on..he always like that say...i cane correct...he cane kena scold..so whenever i bring out cane..then he will nag the same thing again.and again till i buay song liao

wah...4am still awake?? if for me i oso will fed..agitated..angry...depress...everyone's coping with a NB,...so at times i console myself...thigns will be better soon...so u oso must relax ah!!

Ya, ytd i only got to slp at 5.30am. Worst day so far ever since she was born. Thought she would be so tired cos she slpt at abt 5.15am, and would concuss at least till mabbe 9 plus 10. But she woke up again at 8am. Now she's slpg. And I'm pumping. After pumping im going to slp. If not duno what time she'll wake up later.

Z-Lia, hang on there, everyone of us here area very tired also wif our newborn, at times very frustrated till must let it out on someone.. i also like that, my hubby and mom gana bad times from me.. i feel so bad after venting on them... we are all tryign to cope, so just tahan abit lah. i always tell myself, dun stress dun stress. take things easy..

tonight when he home, just give him a hug lah.. then everything will be fine..

Hi Yenny, Felt better today. Thks for the encouragement. My MIL and mum came to help (mum cook in morning and MIL noon). Hubby today MC so can help look aft baby.

Hi brambles, I total breastfeed. sometimes direct latch, sometimes bottle. The main problem I face when directr latch is baby dozing off
and due to improper posture, my back and shoulder ache..
On bottle feed is also baby dozing off. It can take more than an hour to feed him. However, I think this is due to the bottle I was using (Avent). Baby took very long to suckle. Yesterday night I tired pigeon bottle (free sample) and baby can finish milk within 20 minutes - before he can doze off! Tonight will try the NUK teat TMC give and see whether baby like that better.

And one more thing - my baby doesn't vomit out the milk so often since I use pigeon bottle and teat. The avent one always after each feed, even I tried to burp baby, baby still spit out milk.

morning gals.

actually last time my boy also dun sleep at nite one. then daytime sleeps until shiok shiok.
so i slowly adjust his timing.

wat i did was:
1) at evening time, to keep him awake - will play with him, "sponge" bath, let his daddy carry (becos he just came back from work mah) etc. since diff pple play with him, he wont get so fussy so soon. so usually can last for 2-3hrs. :p
then now, at 3mths old, he will be awake from 5-6pm to 9-10pm. force him also wont sleep!! :p
(one bad thing is it clash with our dinner time. so usu cannot eat dinner in peace!)

2) at nite - if he wakes up in the wee hrs, i will usu cluster feed him. once feed, he will continue to sleep. during confinement, i co-sleep with him. so he got the habit of feed liao, sleep. i dun even get up from the bed. so no habit of rocking him to sleep by walking ard.

so since he got ample sleep at nite, daytime, he naturally wont sleep so much. imagine if u nap until 9pm, of cos u also wont sleep until 1am lah. :p

of cos, slowly adjust. maybe one day push back 1hr etc. cannot see immediate effect one.

so now my boy usu will stay awake from 8am-11am (so this is morning bathing time). then nap till ard 3-4pm - feed then nap to ard 6pm. then stay awake. so i will give him his evening bath, daddy come home play with him, he play by himself with playgym/cot mobile n we hv our dinner. then ard 9-10pm, feed n go to sleep. then at nite, 3-5hrs feed once.

Sometimes i wonder what is keeping me sane from all these. Probably the thot of going back to work soon. Can only tell myself to hang on there. Dun know why, i dun seem to see my son grow very much leh, or prob becos i see him everyday so no diff to me.

MTDT
Sometimes it's quite diff to control their sleeping. Ur baby is 3 months old liao? 3 months old babies tend to hav a better sleeping pattern.

Zlia
think when bb older things will get better...cos now they dunno whats day and nite mah...hehehe...but of cos no matter what we say also no use..cos when such things happen on us...we wont be so relax liao...so we do understand ur difficulties and stress u facing now..cos i beliff every mummies here experience the same thing b4..only better or worse..at times i think not bb adjust to our timing and lifestyle..we are the one...got to give in to bb...haiz..can u imagine?? hahaha...maybe u are a working mum..so can share share the load of taking care bb with hb...im not working..so i cant say we must share share...cos he's working and sure tired after one day's hard work..but me tired too cos 24/7..no leave no mc...but i can nap if bb let me to...so thats the diff..at times i oso angry cos im tired..but also pity my hb loh..work outisde come back still need to take care...but at times no choice..cos without his 'help' i wont have this bb mah...so he must put in some effort too...so think at better side..like after 2-3 mths..bb will be able to adjust to timing..then when they smile at u...ur heart melts liao..

yenny
hahaha..at least u got a goal to look forward too...me ah?? maybe weekends but hor..cos hb can at least 'help' abit...but haiz..most of the times..im still the sole caregiver...no wonder this old song never outdated...SHI SHANG ZHI YOU MA MA HAO...hahhaa...

ya loh..always tell myself...when he's older...life will be better...at tiems fed up with him..but when u tok to him and he respond by turning head and lok at u.and smile at u...i know all worth it...

YB,
pimples will spread to head. Is quite common dun have to worry.

Else u can try cleaning ur girl face by using boiled water.

yenny - of cos hv to slowly train. i also hv sleepless nites during my 1st mth.

so tot of sharing, at least this is really wat i went thru, n not some textbook answer. hopefully can help some of the mummies here.

my son is 2mths, 1week n 1 day old. (DOB- 15Jun)
of cos, every bb has different character, so might not work for everyone.

my boy sleeps with us too. but in his own cot bed.

dsii - both boys sleep in ur room? got space huh?

misaryeo
i'm very tempted to let my bb sleep alone but then i'm afraid i can't hear his crying and thus resulting in him crying too long leh. how abt u?

YB - i used Diapolene nappy rash cream on my boy forehead rash last time.

it works for my boy... maybe u can try.

My gal wake up for play in the aftern n evening so at nite sleep longer hrs.. she can sleep from 10pm to next day 11am wif milk at interval...follow by lots of play time n short nap in aftern. Use to b super active at nite, n we so tired...so we slowly adjust her loh!... Will wake her up@7pm if she still zzzz...cranky but no choice leh...

Decimal Point, tks, ya feed EBM, I did some baby massage at the rectum & tummy yesterday, so effective immediately poo poo liao while i doing...heehee!

zita - ur bb even better.

my boy always wakes up at 6-7am!
not good for me now as i am on mat leave! :p

but guess, once start work, it's a good thing. our alarm clock!

to mummies who latch on, recently i finally able to latch my bb on.. but i realise 1 feed must latch a few times, is it? is like he latch on 1 side for 15 mins.. then fall asleep, ofter him 2nd one, he dun want.. then after half an hr or so, he'll cry for milk again! is this how it shld be when we latch on? more tiring then bottle feeding i realise..

now waiting for my bb to sleep thru the nite without nite feeding...

exp moms - any advise how to train tat? :p

misaryeo - dun let bb sleeps afer 1 side.
wake him up by touching him, tickle him, change his diaper etc.

for my boy, only when he sucks both side, ave 30mins total for 2 sides, then will he be satisfy n will demand for feed 3hrs later.

if he only sucks one side, sure demand for feed within 1-2hrs later.

Lucida
my bb also spits out milk when i burp her after her feed, so is it really better after u changed from avent to pigeon bottle n teat? may i know which pigeon teat u using?