(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

Hi blessing, my menses oso return at wk7 cause i pump out to feed. Only direct latch..mense will delay up to 6mth..: )

I tink my gal take the least milk: -

Venice's Feeding Pattern:
Week 8: 4.6kg
Feed: 2 to 4hr (EBM or FM)
Qty: 60ml to 90ml
Nite Feeding: 10pm, 4am, 7 or8am.
Poo ; once every alternate day ...aiyo norm?

Anyone experience EBM change in colour, my EBM these days seem to dilute leh..veri watery...wondering still can feed : (

lucida,

another way which i know is
1) little white bumbs on the nose
2) press onto bb's chest with your palms or fingers and see if there is a obvious depression.

dsii,

I have received the cream with thanks last thurs.
I really salute you for taking care of ian, pumping milk doing almost everything, even confinement alone.
Tmr my CL isleaving and i really donno if i can handle bb. He is always either cranky or wide awake not wanting to sleep much...

RE: Home alone with baby
Me also home alone with baby since confinement ended. VERY tough! But because I dun want MIL to be around, I chose the hard way. She is more than willing to pop by, only needs to cross the street. Very busy- must wash laundry, cook, plus baby. TOugh but manageble. So Lucida, dun worry, can do it! My baby also yellow even at week 5. Pedi say will fade slowly. Esply if bf, will take a while. I can see his yellow at the forehead when he is angry- gek until whole face red but that part yellow. Lucida your baby got like that?

Nappy rash- I used Avent nipple cream, then cleared after one day! I clean baby bottom with water and cotton wool. Do we have to clean even no poo?

decimal point,
i can see yellow yellow on baby's forehead when she gek and cry... hmm.. what does that implies?

actually i dun think i'm one who can cope with baby alone... from birth till now, my mum has been helping me to take care of baby... now even after confinement, i still ask my mum to stay with me to help me take care of baby. i cant imagine if i'm left all alone with baby.. duno what will happen... i knew how to bathe my baby, clean her poo, feed her.... it's her crying i cant take it... even carrying and patting her cant stop her from crying... i'm lucky to have my mum and hubby to help me out... and surprisingly, my hubby turn out to be soooooo patient with baby even though baby is cranky...

dsii,
sayang you.... i know the pressure and depress you are experiencing esp your mil case... i'm not so good at saying console words... so just hang in there okie... =)

wah gebbera
finally see u online!!! missed u sooooo much!!!!
hehehe...ya loh..must take whatever comes loh...me JIN GANG BU HUAI ZHI SHEN...

Hi dsiitan,
My seeing my gynae coming Wed for post-natal checkup. Will ask him if can rope skipping then. Also sometimes when I pass motion, I feel some pain & there's blood coming out. Wondering if is the wound haven't heal properly or it's just piles. I do not have piles b4 so dunno how it's like.

hi mummies... those who r expressing out ur BM, what brand of pump do u use? i am currently still latching on but supply seems to be going down. also, are u all still taking food that helps increase milk supply? i've stopped since end of confinement. does this explain the drop in milk supply?

Zita,
My ebm changed colour long ago. Initially was like banana milk, lc at tmc told me i did not drink enough water so ebm concentrated. that time a lady who gave birth same day as me, her milk white in colour, so i thought what lc say was true. after that turn my ebm white. i think still can feed as long as ur diet is gd.

dsii,
haha.... that's what we called "wei da de mama"...

btw, my menses came liao... so heavy... it wasnt like that last time...

YB,
i seeing gynae next week... if my stools are hard, i'll have bleeding too... maybe from the piles... but i can also feel slight pain at the wound area too... maybe we gek too hard to ps that's why our wound pain pain...

blessings, I remember the previous time, i gave birth in Dec, then menses came in Feb (was partial bfg then). Came alot for a long time.. think i was bleeding on and off the whole of Feb. Then menses stopped and the next time i had menses was Oct.

Am going to see lc in tmc tomorrow. booked appt liao. got blocked ducts again. it's happening so often i think i really need to seek help. sometimes i'll suspect if ive got breast cancer/lump tt's why it's like tt.

think these days, Germayn's having abit of probs..duno if it's wind or what. Every time after drinking like... 80-90ml, she'll scream... she'll still look for the teat but when she'll drink and scream together. Then the pacifier doesnt sooth her. seems tt she's still hungry but is having some sort of pain somewhere... think i'll add dentinox to her milk later and see how it goes.

brambles, im using PIS original, bought it 2nd hand from someone last yr. im not sure about the drop in milk supply... hmmm... mabbe u can take some supplements if u wanna increase back? i duno also.. sorry..

z-lia... thanks. the PIS is it manual or electric? how much can u pump each time? and wat is the interval between each pump? how much does the lc @ TMC charge?

how do i know if i've got blocked ducts? thanks.

Hi to all Jul mummies

Am a Nov MTB here, would like to check with those who have confinement lady previously, if your CL is good.. can you give me their contact nos, so I can check if they are avail. in Nov?

Or other good CL you know, can also recommend me...

THanks a lot!

Zlia,

My baby also makes alot of noises when she drinks milk.... she will look like very pek chey like that... duno is it the teat hole too small hence she's using alot of strength to suck the milk.... btw, you using what teat hole number for your bb? i'm using avent teat hole #1 (0-3mths).

Hi deci, Ya lor. My baby like that also. But the eyes still abit yellow. My mum very ganjeong kept telling me to bring bibi see doctor again. To be on the safe side, I think I will bring bibi to polyclinic tomorrow. Ask my mum to accompany me as CL leaving today... Wanted to go today initially but the weather like want to rain dun want to rain like that..

My hubby ask his mother to cook for me for the rest of the week. Actually I kind of dun feel it's necessary.. just steam a fish and that's it lor..

Somtimes quite irritated by MIL as she keeps saying give baby water to drink.. I did give but not alot as I dun want baby to drink too much water and get full. Abit concern when baby pass to her to take care when I need to go out will she feed alot of water to baby - she has not take care of any infants except her own two children (that was almost 30 years ago) and she use FM.

I guess if I want to get her to help me I will have to trust her.. Yesterday when she carry the baby (baby was crying) she kept "shaking" the baby as she wants to calm the baby down - trying to mimic the effect of sarong motion. I told her not to shake up and down and just gently swaying or walk around. Scary..

Hi brambles,
PIS is a dual electric pump. I find that it is very good in stabilising milk supply. I am pumping every 5-6hrs interval now after milk supply has stabilised - usually pump 170ml to 290ml (both sides add up). Initially pumped 1.5 hrs, then increased to 3 hrs and then to 5-6hrs. I would think pump every 3-4hrs the best. TMC lc charges $40+ per session.

After you all get back to work, who will be taking care of your baby? If MIL, will you be leaving the baby with her during the weekdays and only take back during weekend??

Lucida
my mum will be helping me to take care but I'll be getting a maid to help her out cos she has high blood pressure and she's getting old liao. As for whether to bring my son back everyday, i'm in a dilema. My mum volunteered to take care of him for weekday nites as she's afraid i cannot tahan at work cos of the nite feeds. But i dun wish to impose on her becos of her health. How leh?

So mummies when r u all gg back to work? For me, I'll go back early sept cos taking extended leave.

Gebbera,
did ur baby have jaudice? that was one obvious thg i noted abt my bb(the forehead yellow part) bcos i do not know how to see the yellow. pple tell me yellow but i c like ok leh. it does bcome a smaller patch slowly so i guess it is getting better.

Z-lia, Geberra
my baby does the same too- drink and scream at the same time. scream with the teat in his mouth. i think the teat is blocked sometimes and he cannot get the milk. when i take out the bottle n try to shake the milk out, it cannot come out. so i open the bottle n put the teat back, then can already. i think it's due to air pressure. I am using pigeon #1(0-3mnths) . bought a #2 to try bcos he takes soooo long to feed. 45-1hr to drink 90ml. so thought the milk flow too slow. but he choked on his milk.

Lucida,
old pple like to give bb water to drink. just give a bit show show lor. i found that my baby dun like to drink water. drink a few drops then dun drink already. n most times he choke on the water too. i asked the pd a few times abt this drink water issue n he kept telling me milk is water, dun give water. n i told the old pple what the dr say n they say the dr no experience, must be young dr. but my pedi is old dr in his 60s.
i found it quite tough to manage alone, especially lunch- cook already sometimes no time to eat bcos my baby dun sleep long. so must be quick quick.
i am leaving the baby with my mil after i go back to work though i dun like the way she take care of the baby. but true lor, if want to leave with her, then must trust her. everyday i want to bring baby home.

yenny,
i also dunno if i can tahan the nite feeds once work starts. my job is such that i always have to work at home still. i do all the nite feeds since day1 but slowly can get used to it. i do like my job very much n wld like to do well hence i spend a lot of time n effort on it. will see how it goes. i m gg back only in oct. but thinking maybe want to extend a few more wks.

Hello Geberra,
Sigh, just had battle with baby again. Think the teat hole is too small. Will go buy bigger sized one later...see if things get better. If not i think baby and I will get pek chek with each other again tonight.

Brambles, ya, like lala said, it's a dual electric pump. Pump abt 60-80ml from my left side and 160-200ml from my right. Haha. Weird right? Ever since I first got blocked ducts in my left breast, my supply dropped. I knew I got blocked ducts cos there was a painful lump in the breast. Feels like orh cheh. Then on 2 of the ocassions, I got fever. Then on 1 of the 2 ocassions i got fever, the lump became pinkish. Haha. LC in TMC charges 40+ if u deliver there, 60+ if you don't.

Jovial, paiseh. cant help too cos MIL did confinement for me.

Lucida, MIL will be helping to take care after my maternity leave. but it's no issue to me, cos im still staying with my MIL. hehe. Am quite worried abt her actually, cos i normally end work at abt 7 plus. Mth end might be abt 8 plus. So when i reach home would be abt 8 plus or even 9 plus. Then the twins come back from childcare at 5pm. In the first place duno how she's going to fetch them home from childcare. FIL would help fetch. mabbe she would have to carry baby, push pram, so that FIL can carry one, she can carry baby and push the other one. But on Mon and Thurs, FIL would go play badminton after fetching them, so she would be home alone with 3 kids. I think if i were her i would prob ki siao. But i hope she wont la...

Yenny, Im going back to work first week of Nov. Can't split my leave.. then cos i took leave early b4 i gave birth to send the kids to childcare (they just started then), i'll be left with only 2.5 days of annual leave after i go back. So pathetic.

Dec pt, think i'll try ur method the next feed. And go buy bigger hole teats to standby first. Hopefully things will be ok tonight...

aiyo, my menses flow so much...until I very scared whether it is normal or not????

I will pretty much want to leave my baby in the care of my mum but then my mum has not been taking care of babies since 20 over years and I dunno if she can handle or not? That is my dilemma...if she is willing to try it out, I dun mind lor but will be bringing my boy back on a daily basis.

I realised I have difficulties burping my boy after his feeds...if it is latch on, burping or not may not pose a problem cos not much air is being sucked but if on FM, then definitely have to burp. But these few days, he does not brup when I pat his back and even when I walked around with his head on my shoulder. If I dun hear him burp, a while later, he will cried and will have to carry him to burp again...but that will disturb his sleep. Aiyo, why like that? Any mummies got difficulties burping your babies? any "miao fang"?

oh yes, mummies, how do we know how much to increase the FM? My boy is in his 4 weeks and he drinks 120ml FM. Sometimes, I also dunno if he has enough or not? He will stop midway to burp then continue until finish his whole FM...and I just remove his bottle else he will be sucking the air...how to see whether he is full or not? He will want his milk in about 2 hours time...

blessings, mabbe u try to increase to 130ml then see if he can finish? That is what i do cos im giving Germayn full ebm now. so I gauge by giving her this amt first. if she finishes all for like 2-3 feeds, then i'll increase by 10ml to 'test water'. haha.

Hi Z-lia, how to make 130ml of FM? I need 2 scoops to make 120ml....if 130ml, very difficult to estimate, unless it is ebm which is easier. I may have to make 150ml for 2.5 scoops of FM, but it can also be very wasteful if my baby cannot finish it....

Julian is back home.
I think everyone have the wrong perception abt the hospital. Nurses dun take care of the baby for u. the parents have to look after them ourselves.

Many pple told me i can leave bb there and go home and rest. Not true, if i leave Julian that he probably cried very badly to be carried.

blessings,
babies dun need to always burp. if you burp him for 5 min and he doesn't burp it is ok. means not much air sucked in. too much he might vomit out milk.
ur baby can drink so much at wk 4! mine at wk 6 still at 90ml. sometimes cannot even finish!

decimal-point, like u, i also find no time to eat lunch..my bb hardly sleep.. he likes to be carried to sleep, once put down will cry.. i tried putting him in the sling, he slept immediately, and he even snore.. i really dunno how leh, shld just accomodate his pattern, as in since he like the sling, then i'll use the sling till he falls alseep? how ah? or shld i just duncare and keep tryign to let him sleep by himself?

Blessing,
Julian ok all the while. drink well, sleep well, no fever, just the lump wldnt go off.

thanks for asking.

blessings.. im not sure also then. not sure if it's ok to arga arga..as in.. 2 scoops plus a little bit more? sigh. sorry...

hong, ya.. my stepmum is a nurse in kkh, and my dad told me tt the nurses there sometimes abit...heck care.. Not sure which hospital Julian was in, but i guess cos nurses have seen all these so much so they can just take all the cries from the babies.

misaryeo, i duno also. i struggled with this during the initial part. As in, whether to let her learn to fall aslp by herself or carry her. I chose to let her fall aslp herself. Mabe cos i was abit depressed then so i didnt really wanna care. Thinking back, i feel quite bad letting her cry so much. Now she can fall aslp by herself, or with her darling pacifier... But i think this might not work on all babies.. and mabbe Germayn hmmm...dislikes me now. heheheeh.

Hi mummies ,

sometime , when i pump out my BM , i find that there is something floated on the milk , i think is my Skin ! drop from my nipple , wonder is it ok for baby to drink ??

whitelady
wat?? skin??? then u can take that out from BM or not leh?? better dun let ur bb drink with the skin in it loh..but try to take out can???

re: bb cry
aiyo..ian also leh...getting very cranky loh...sunno issit he pan dan..the nephews all wanna play with him when we went to mil's palce..but he kooning mah...so they always in front of him ask y he slept so much...y keep sleeping no wake up...etc...then carry him walk here and there..then we went home he become cranky loh..dun want to sleep and wanna carry..pengz...worse...last time no need pat to sleep..now must pat...haiz...so at times i will let him cry loh...until i xin tong..then carry him..haha

bb cry:
mine also leh. at night when she's sleepy she cry and cry but refuse to sleep....she'll occassionally dose off a while and then wake up and continue to cry. even carrying and patting also no use...sigh

Hi decimal point,
Instead of cooking lunch, I ordered tingkat catering for my lunch. In this way, I can spend my free time doing my own things. Anyway, cooking is so troublesome, then later, still gotta washup.

bb cry:

i think if bb cries even no use patting or carrying..and the pitch is so sharp...shld be colic..my elder boy last time cried so loud and sharp pitch like kena abused...no matter what u did oso no use...just cried for few hrs somemore...then auto sleep after that...that time really nightmares...

493889.jpg

ian week 3

493890.jpg

ian with korkor, isaac

Staying at Home (SAHM):

Anyone planned or plan to stay at home to look after BB after ML?? Any suggestions to supplement family income if were to stop working?

poppy
me a SAHM for 3 yrs liao...supplement??? hmm..no leh..thats y hb got lots of white hairs now..stress..hehhee..me just spend less loh...heheehe

poppy
actually always look out work that can work at home...like newspaper always advertised worka t home data entry..but dun dare to try leh...cos there was a time that i tried to email to the company...ask me to pay dunno what upfront fee...then i just ignored it..cos havent start work must pay $$$....

Can't bear to part with BB when ML ends, just thinking of it makes my tears come down. I'm tempted to be a SAHM but income wise jialat leh.