(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

z-lia
hahaha..ya loh..last sunday we went to mil's place..all the aunties and uncles...plus cousins...whole lot about 20 over ppl...take turns to carry ian...each one carry 15-20mins...few hrs passed..then when reached home...aiyo,...cannot leave him in his cot..must carry him leh..then cried andc ried...since now loh...one week liao...cham..tomolo going to mil's place again...they think i hv maid ah...pengz

rashes at butt

ya loh..me normally will use wipes 1st to clean the butt..then will use facial cotton with lukewarm water to clean again..then use desitin cream..hehehhee....me lazy mama..only when at nite (wee hrs) then i use just wipes...cos too tired to do the rest...wanna catch more sleep mah...

YB
issit ur bb got colic?cos colic always happen in the evening till nite..last time my #1 always cried from 8 plus now to midnite..at times started late but ended very early..hehehe...1 plus am or 2 plus am...carry like that cannot..carry like this oso cannot...so took turns to carry loh...last time PD gave infacol (medicine) for #1..very effective...u got bring ur bb to see PD???

Xaria's Feeding Pattern:
Week 5: i think about 3.5kg (last weigh at 3.3kg bout 2 weeks back)
Feed: BM very little/ FM 120ml/ also give plain water
Frequency: FM every 3.5 to 4 hours
Night feed: same
Poo: 1 to 2 times a day

For my baby full month celebration, so many ppl carry her here and there too then aiyo that night she cry and cry, lasted for a bout 2 to 3 days. Thank god now she okie liao.

Then everyone hand dunno got wash anot, touch Xaria's face saying,"aiyo, so cute hor" I have to clean her face dunno how mani times dat day! Now her face still got alot red spot lor like pimple.

Haiz, talking about MIL or shall I say Parents In Law and Grandma In Law. Vomit Blood!

I did my girl full month on the 13th Aug, my FIL die die 1 2 have his own family celebration on the 14th, so he say 13th dun invite his family side which is his bros n sis lar.

Den b4 celebration, my MIL 1 2 interfere in my catering, then i told her i will order my own, she den keep quiet bcoz she 1 me to order from her fren but I didn't.
So on 13th my caterin came den um food not very nice lar but aiya busy dat day who care's liao. den my food came 3 session, den like 1st session food cannot finish when 2nd session came, she say throw away, kaoz! i payin lehz, not her $$$, she say throw away.

den nebamind on 14th, had a 2nd celebration at grandma in law place as my FIL wants it, food ordered by my MIL, wah, she damn hao lian lor bcoz the food taste quite nice, i dun deny lar. den like put me down dat i order not nice food for the day b4. den my sis in law lehz, eat the cream puff, say her mum order 1 nice, not like d day b4 usin cheapo cream. Kaoz, they dun spare a tot 4 ppl's feelin lor. SO STUPID!!!

Nappy Rash

I always use wipe, neba use cotton wool n water, lazy mahz...

Den follow by nappy cream, i usin J&J so far not bad. Den follow by powder.

How mani times should w bath baby each day? For me so far I bath her once a day which is in the morning den at night i will wipe her body lor.

mich

hope we not like that when we old hor...cant understand their thinking leh..maybe we'll understand when we become someone's mil...haiz..like now we understand our mum's when we became one..hehehee..but i really hope im a gd and nice mil..hehehe

stay near or far oso got prob..think this is unavoidable issue...

mich

heard from doc not so gd to put powder at buttocks leh..

i bathe ian ard 9-10am..then ard 5 plus i wipe him too..maybe when he is older then i will bathe him i the evening too..but now too young liao...

Hi dsiitan,
Dunno leh...but I also suspect it's colic...but there was 1 day my gal stayed over at my mum's hse from 7pm to 12am without crying leh...

What causes colic? How effective is infacol? How soon can see the effect?

Ya lor..my gal always starts crying from 8+pm till 12midnight...carrying, rocking, patting, singing & feeding her also cannot.

dsii,

Ya lor, mine will be son in law, coz got 2 princess mahz, haha unless suddenly I pop 1 son lar.

Haiz, hubby got car hor is like dat 1 lor, his whole family treat him like on call taxi!

Powder, so far i see ok lar, but i put very little. My 1st girl i oso like dat, now she 6 liao, dun think got any prob bah.

Ya lor, i can't wait to see their head stable then can play inside water, it will be so cute!

Hi Mich,
My gal also suddenly have lots of pimple-like rashes on her face leh...damn ugly. I used doc's prescribed cream on her face, but still have. Maybe cos my gal likes to sleep on her tummy..so both her cheeks got rashes.

YB
that time i used infacol for #1..just 2-3 days u can see the effect...but i kiasu..so used for abt a week..

colic think cos tummy got wind..and they very uncomfy..and their cries aiyo...loud and sharp as if kena abuse... thats y must burp after each feed..but me damn lazy one..if after 10mins no burp then i dun care liao..so i realised if i dun burp him..and he fell asleep..after a while like half hr or 1 hr..depends..he will suddenly cry very very loud and sharp cry...then i carry him up ahe will burp immediately..then can koon again...

Hi Mich,
I also bathe my gal in the day & wipe her clean at night. Think it's enough cos bb are not as dirty as adults.

Have u all started using body wash on bb? Or just use clean water? When should we start to use body wash & shampoo?

YB
maybe u can use jasmine flower..misxed with a bit lukewarm water then smash the flowers till got juice...then apply the juice onto the face...very effective...at least for my boy's case loh...

Hi dsiitan,
Hmm...infacol is meant for drinking? Is it to soothe the tummy?

Ya, my gal's cry is loud & sharp, as if someone is beating her...but I always burp her after every feed & apply ru yi oil after bathe leh...Then dunno y during the evening when she keep crying, she always demand to be feed every hour..but after that still continue crying leh...

i started using shampoo and body wash since he was home wif me..so shld be 3rd day bah..hehehe

infacol is for drinking..just 1-2 drops(i forgot how many drops) into the milk when feeding time...to get rid of the wind bah...

YB,

I try to clean her face regularly oso like dat lehz, dunno how.
FOr bathing, i put the water half full in the tub, den i pump 1 time the J&J bodu wash n dilute it together in the water, so not soapy den still got the scent, very nice.

YB, u got try giving water? Instead of milk? i mean if the feeding interval onli a short while.

aiyo, can't tahan my MIL, our fridge she oso wanna kapo... say our things are not in order... her own fridge can be as pack as when u open the door evrything is gonna fall out... she oso never re-arrange... really buay tahan...

eeyore,

Yup. I ordered from this Melrose Bake House. I find reasonable and good, my frens and relative all commented the cakes nice.

aiya, most MIL r like dat lor. I think oso sometimes bcoz we not use to the way they do things, dats y our hubby dun complain.

wanna KO liao..hahhaa....hope ian will sleep thru the nite...haiz..cos now almost going 2am liao...cant imagaine once i doze off he wanna milk...i will cry out manz

I can pump half the amount more milk on my right breast than my left breast..
think need to latch baby more to the left side from now onwards...

Hi dsiitan,
Other than infacol, I heard that Gripe water also helps to reduce colic. Do u think I can use it on my gal who's only 5wks old? Is it too young?

Btw last night, managed to pacify my gal to sleep at 10.30pm & she slept till 9.30am tis morning!!

Hi Mich,
Yes, I try giving her plain water when the feeding interval is short. My gal will finish the whole bottle of water & still cry!! Then if we give in to her demands & feed her milk, she'll still finish 3-4oz of milk!!

I started using Aromababy's Bath Gel disperse with warm water in her bath after 4wks. I only add a little so as to moisturise her body. Her body is okay, but her face got pimples-like rashes...

Hi dsiitan,
Other than Bengawan Solo, Polar Puff & Cakes also sell cake voucher. And it's cheaper.

Instead of giving cake voucher, my hubby bought a 3kg cake with Baby Looney Tunes character from Polar Puff & Cakes for his colleagues to share. All of them said it's very nice & cute. Personally, I prefer the patterns from Polar Puff & Cakes as compared to Bengawan Solo. They even have Hello Kitty pixs, if u r a Kitty fan.

YB, lucky u... your gal slept from 10.30pm 5o 9.30am~! Anyway, you can you dentinox also, for colic. Can be bought from pharmacies. States there that it can be used from newborn onwards. Not sure if it's effective though.

YB,

Wah, u very lucky hor... Ur Baby slept throughout! You can try Disflatyl, they are wind drops, not sure if you can get it at pharmacies but my doc prescribe to my girl, its quite good.

Sometimes baby mayb jus want us to carry all the time. Dats y

pm
looks like our bb same appetite. she drinks less 60ml sometimes. only found out abt this when we started her on the bottle recently. latch her since birth and sometimes she only spends 10mins drinking then doze off. can't imagine how little she drinks.

my bb at 6weeks only 4.2kg. feather weight bb. output is normal 3-4 poo/day, >6 wettings. feeds every 2 hrs.

yb, i started giving gripe water at 3weeks abt 1/4 tsp. package says can feed from 1 month. maybe try infacol, can be given from 0 months.

re: bb bath
been bathing my bb with aromababy gel since birth. will try j&j once finish cos too ex. btw, is j&j rinse free. looking for something that doesn't require rinsing.

Hi mummies:

Nappy rash: I started to use warm water and cotton wool to wipe off the poo...then followed by desitin cream, I think it helps abit. But like what dsii mentioned, at night sometimes very lazy use water, so use wipes...will try to be more discipline.

BB bath: I used lactacyd to bathe my boy...so far ok...havent tried other brands yet though I have a bottle of Avent as well.

to prevent stomach wind/ache, perhaps it is better to apply some ointment on babies' stomach e,g Ru Yee Ointment or Telon Oinment (from indonesia) after baby's bath and evening time cleaning?

Mummies: does your babies shed dried flaky skin on their head? I noticed my boy has it....cant seem to wash it away...

Is it ok to use body moisturiser on baby? The weather is very warm these few days, I feel that moisturiser may make the skin sticky sticky and may have rashes so I did not use...

BTW, when will lochia ends? I thought my lochia ended already but then now more red stuff...and I think is menses....I did not do total BF, just let my boy latched on for about 3 times a day...cos also not much when I pumped it out...It is abit strange...I thought when BF, menses wont come so fast???

Hi anyone canhelp me with this:

I hav just started BF my 1mth old bb. When i latch him on, he takes abt 10-15mins on 1 breast and stop after it. He doesn;t feed on the 2nd breast. Is this enuf for him? After nursing, he'll fall asleep.

Then, as i still bottlefeed him EBM, sometimes he shows he wants more milk after a feed, and i'll latch him on. and this might take also abt 10-15mins. Which means he is actually taking 100-120ml of EMB + BF, is this normal? is he sucking for comfort?

Looks like bottlefeedign him tends to lead to more intake of milk, isn't it?

Hope mummies here can help me out. Thks in advance..

My EDDwas in August, but delivered in July.

Does anyone having back pain? Mine was normal delivery with epi. Is that b/c of epi , i am having back pain?
My baby, very moody, initiaaly woke up after 3 hrs., now after every 2.30 hr., latch him, suck, suck... then again sleep, again woke up afer 15 min, suck, suck... again sleep.

My BF, may not be sufficient, or know. Anybody using FM? Which one?

Anybody having same experience?

Hi gunjan, It could be because you stand or walk too much. Try raising your leg for blood circulation.

Today had my baby full month celebration. VEry tired. Very tired...

gunjan
welcome to july thread..my EDD was supposed to be in aug too..and i induced in july...

i had epi for both #1 and #2...back so far still ok...i think maybe is the posture when u BF ur bb..maybe wrong posture bah...

im giving my boy EBM and supplement with FM..im giving him NAN1 HA...

Hi Z-lia & millie,
Thx. I'll go check it out...I'm still not sure if it's colic though...

Hi Millie,
Ya, J&J is non-rinse.

Is it alright to do rope skipping now? I wanna try to slim down leh..

will like to know if your babies sleep in aircon room or with the fan on only? Even with the fan on, my boy also perspring...but I dun dare to put him in air-con room, dunno how cold should the room be...25 or 26 degrees? I also very lazy lah...cos I will have to change him into sleeping suit which maybe difficult to change diapers...

blessings
my boy sleeps in aircon room...in the nite...fan during daytime..unless afternoon very hot lah...mainly becos mummy must on aircon...hehehhe

YB
just a mth after birth rite? better dun ..wait for a while lah..dun get so gan cheong..hehehehehe

Hi blessings ,

My baby sleep in air con at nite n sometime aircon in the afternoon too , if baby is cold , he will sneeze , haahaa ...

Oh no , i bought gripe water today and feed my baby , baby only 2 weeks old ... i didnt notice that from 1 month then can drink gripe water , do i need to bring baby to see PD ????

good morning mummies... so tired.. i fa1 pi2 qi4 at Germayn ytd night. Think she's very poor thing also.. dunno if it's cos the teat's too slow or what. after feeding for 30 min she was still left with 60ml. Then i think i was quite pek chek with her, then she was quite pek chek with me also. Then my husband finally did his first night feed. haha. then he helped to finished feeding her the rest.

hi gunjan,
I'm oso EDD in Aug, but c-sect wif epi due to breeching position in july. Currently give my gal BF during daytime & S26 after midnight, follow the FM hospital given to her.

Hi blessing,
my gal sleep wif fan on, only afternoon when my room is quite hot den on aircon to 25 degree. My gal oso perperspring alot tat make her cannot sleep well.

White lady,
I oso give my gal gripe water, elders say can give so i just follow wat they said, mix the gripe water wif warm water to feed my gal.

My gal normally drink 100ml FM at nite, don know y past 2 days my gal only drink 60ml FM & wan to latch on for BM. Issit becoz she don like FM anymore?

z-lia
i oso leh...1st time after ian's birth...i cried becos of him...i was so damn tired cos slept on sun morning 1 plus am...then woke up sunday 7am...then went to MIl's place (again)...i forsee problems liao...cos all wanna carry him..pengz...some even pat him to sleep in their arms..then when came home last nite,...he woke up at 9plus...for milk..and all the way till 12 plus am...gave him milk only drank 50ml...aiyo..i was so so so bloody tired...then he kept making noises...stretching...till i so pek chek...i forced him to take pacifier..he spit out i put it in and push hard into his mouth then my tears dropped...and my hb and #1 was in the study room kooning cos #1 sick mah...but so far recovering..sianz

YB/whitelady
i oso giving ian gripe water when he turns 3 weeks...abit loh..not too sweet lah...then with lots of water...another method to make him drink water..hehehee

My baby still yellow leh. Now he's 4 weeks old already.. Any of your baby still yellow?? Thinking of bring him to see PD leh

dsiitan, z-lia
I can understand how u gals feel. Sometimes i feel tat i dun luv my #2 as compared to my #1 as it is so tedious to take care of him. Very bad hor! Anyway, I realise tat after giving birth, i become more emotionally dependent on my hubby. When he not around, i feel very depress and insecure. Why ah?

yenny
as for myself..i not so dependent on hb..cos i know he wont be much help..unless u nag or ask him to help u...not auto one..maybe becos experienced it b4 for 31 and therefore i dun expect much for #2..haha..so he offer to help...best...if not, then i will open my golden mouth..nag and nag, or ask him do this and that...sicne he need to be pushed to do work..hehe...ur 31 also 5 yrs rite? maybe we are used to 'gd' life for a few yrs..thats y wanna start all over again..very tedious loh..but at times i think good too..cos we can ask #1 to help to run errands like throw diapers...make sure didi dun fall down...tok to didi when he's feeling agitated...etc..hehehe...#1 i did feel insercure..but not this time...if he's not at home..then i settle everything on my own..but just bu shuang..like yesterday..i purposely said very loud at MIL's place...WAH,.,U GD LIFE HOR? AT HOME NO NEED TO TAKE CARE IAN...NOW COME TO MUM"S HSE..PLAY MAHJONG SOMEMORE..POOR ME..NO OFF DAY ONE..WANNA TAKE TIME OFF OSO CANNOT..SOMEMORE U CAN PLAY MAHJONG...SUPER!! then he just smiled at me..damn pissed off...

lucida
i oso dunno if my boy still yellow or not? but shld be ok bah...i dunno how to see one..always ask my hb...now oso sto sunning him liao...maybe u can bring him to polyclinic to check the level...cheaper...or u try sunning him again for few days see how?

dsiitan
My hubby quite supportive. He helped me a lot such as feed baby, sterilise bottles, carry baby even nite feeds on weekend. Maybe he sees that i am always depressed and tired. Wat u say is true, I am really having 'good life' for too long liao. Now suddenly like so siong to start taking care of baby again, esp when my #1 is taken care by my mom on weekdays, i'm a weekend mum. But for these few weekends I've been leaving my #1 wif my mum, cos cannot handle. Towards my #1, i feel very guilty, so scared she won't be close to me. I think she oso feel insecure cos last sat when she came home, she said she wans to sleep wif me wif tears in her eyes. I feel so guilty and sad tat i couldn't reject her so all of us squeeze into 1 room. I really hope our babies will quickly grow up then our lifes won't be so erratic.

lucida,
another way to see if baby still got jaundice is to look at the stools. Babies wif jaundice has pale/light yellow stools. This is wat the doctor at polyclinic told me.

yenny
ya loh...like me..my elder boy oso 5 yrs old..so gd life for at least 3 yrs liao cos 1st 2 yrs still need to wake up middle of the nite.. so suddenly i need to wake up wee hrs to feed and pump milk...aiyo...can cry manz...but no choice...still need to do it..bb is ours...just hope his sleeping pattern can change to better...maybe last feed ard 11 plus 12...then next feed 7am..hjahhaha..like that can liao...so we must 'tong'