(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

Wau piang, don't say until all MEN is the same can bo. At least I understand the difficulty, pressure and fatigue of a mother, that is why I always woke up in the middle of the time to feed my baby, change his diaper, while my wife will take the opportunity to have a prolong rest in throughout the night.

I also believe there is many more hubby who is more than willing to do their part like me and misaryeo hb.

My hubby helped me to do the 1st nite feed this morning so tat i can hv a longer sleep. i scared he too tired at work today but it really feels good to have a continuous sleep after such a long time.

Last nite, we put our son in the nursey to sleep cos we oso buay tahan already. At least like tat we are only waken up by his loud cry and not the fidgetting and grunting noises he make. Is it ok to continue doing this?

zita27
i tried the method of giving more powder but no use leh. My son still wakes up after 4 hrs.

liverpool, ya, true la.. not ALL MEN are like tt. I've come across some guy friends who were really supportive thruout. Actually, duno why this time my hubby is like tt. When we had the twins, during my confinement, both of us played an 'equal part'. He'll take the 12am - 3am shift, and i'll take after tt. And he didn't complain also. But now, he keeps 'hinting' me to change to fm, cos heating up ebm is longer than making fm.

haha, talk about being notti! I bathe twice a day, in the morning when i wake up and at night before i go to bed during confinement. :p

Thrush:
Anyone has experience with this? I suspect my baby had thrush, she has a thick white coating on her tongue and it cannot be removed with wash cloth. Didn't realised that it could be that until i read up on itchy nipples and shooting pain during bfing.

eeyore ,

will be heavy , i put breast pad liao , but the milk still leak out to my bra ! OMG !

Z-Lia

ok , i will try to drink more red date drink then water =)

PM

i also drink milo before pumping , manage to pump abt 200ml in the morning just now ...

Kin

thank , i will take note , not to eat ginger , but last nite dinner i ate ginger , so i wait till this morning then pump , shouldnt be a problem hor ?

My gal also got thick white coating on her tongue leh...not milk stain meh? cause veri hard to clean..

Yenny where is Nursey? I put my gal at cot to sleep, so at nite if she make little movement or noisy wont affect our sleep..Milk no use? btw yr gal interval nite sleep is 4hr? then that ok mah, cause newborn 5hr of sleep consider sleepthro.!
oop n if she make little noise we never attend to her till she really cry then we make milk...cause sometime is juz dream n she will doze back to sleep again....

My gal sleep around 11pm so wake up, 4am (nitefeed) then 7 or 8am (morning ) feed.

..ya i oso have frez that hubby doing all the nite feed. my gal frez say she too tired to do nite feed....! so good life...

Hello mummies.. need help.. can someone help intro a lc to me? from tmc? cos the lc tt i know is from mt e but tmc is nearer to my hse. im having blocked ducts at my left side again. i think if this goes on, my left breast will not produce anymore milk.

white lady,
actually, even if you eat ginger, a little bit ok. just that during confinement, the ginger in our food is twice or even more the amt, so we usually avoid. however, if a little bit its ok, if not how to eat fish if it is fishy.....Unless yr bb has really high jaundice. if not, don't worry so much. it is impt to pump regularly,if not ss will drop. for me, i can only pump between 80ml to 100ml from both breast every 3 hrs. so i rather latch direct unless bo bian.

dsii,
that is why bb so close yo us mummies... we take care more while hb play with them. like 5-10min..u know, up til now, bb is 6wk old, hb have not changed her diapers or bathe for her at all....aiyah, we mummies more endearing.

zita27
sorry, i mean nursery ie his room. his feed is usually 3 or 4 hrs interval. Ur bb's cot in ur room or in her own room? I want to continue to let him sleep alone but i scared sometimes i may sleep too deep and caanot hear his cries.

kin
ya loh..har? ur hb never change diapers for bb ah? at least mine ever lah..but hor..the bb better poo at the diaper hb changed..cos the poo will leak..hahahaha..dunno how he do it loh...eitherleak from back or sides....

yenny wah..4 hrs considered good liao leh....if mine 4 hrs...i xie tian xie ti liao...mine depends at times 2 hrs at times 3 hrs...like that damn siong ah..cos by the time finish drinking..burp..change diapers..already 1 hr..then me need to wash bottles...throw diapers...etc..then back to sleep...an hr ot half hr later must wake up again to feed....faint!!!!

white_lady,
at first i thot was just milk stain also. then read from the site that thin white layer then is milk stain, thick layer which is hard to remove is probably thrush.

yenny,

I think it is wrong to add more powder for your FM. Every FM is design differently, you should follow exactly the amount of powder and water stated. If too little powder, the baby won't have proper nutrition. If too much powder, baby will be over nutrition, might result in obese babies at the same time, the baby will have a harder time to digest the FM as it is thicker now. Might have problems pooing later on and may become cranky.

liverpool11
thanks for ur advice. i was only trying out zita27 suggestion and i only did this once for one(last feed) feed last nite. Oso i gave plenty of water to my boy. Anyway, since it doesn't work for my son, I am not foloowing it thru.

Hi liverpool, true too much will cause over nutrition,obese n constipation !..that y only use once in last feed before bedtime...! btw that wat most of my frez does for training to sleep thr ...: )

Of course it will be much better if mummy dont mind few nitefeed or bb can sleep thr. on their own themselve lah...: )

Yenny, I tink is too young to place yr bb in own room leh! y not put the cot in yr room! My cot is in my room...Yar 4hr sleep quite okieh liao..dont expect them to sleep more then 5hr, cause they still small need lots of nutrition to grow mah

At present moment If my gal sleep more then 5hr, i will wake her up for milk liao...! cause i need to pump oso...

White lady, use towel rub n clean yr nipple to clear the block duct...

Z-lia,I think yr hubby looks like that sort..think men suppose to work and earn the bread n butter while women shld xiang fu jiao zi and stay at home. In that case, U tell him that u shld resign and be a SAHM.
Always heard them saying that Mrs Wong from TMC is good..

My hubby (after scolding) was quite zi dong last night. He didnt sleep until 5am in the morning..coz he didnt want to take up space in the bed. I woke up at 2+ to make milk for BB, and he volunteers to carry and feed him..... but he left BB on the sofa as he has fallen asleep. End up I still got to feed him n hubby gets scolding from me coz the sofa is very very dirty..coz of the dog.

I dont know why, BB likes to drink milk and leave 1oz left over and not continue with that. He's like me.. never finish the food.

Poppy. I just joined the Spree on BB's big polo tee and adult's one too. I think I abit silly coz the BB one can only start wearing when he's abt 3... Hahaha..

poppy,
if thrush,even the inner walls of the mouth will have white patches too. If you are having itchy nipples, maybe really thrush. then go see doc, will prob give you dakarin oral gel. Not sure though becoz the bb is really v young, best to check with doc. But even for breast fed bbs, will having coating on tongue.A little water can help to wash some down but for both my girls, they have. The big one lasted quite a while.i can't clean basically coz it is really quite difficult, so i gave up cleaning and fed water a few times (let bb suck only a little) to wash the milk down. However, BM has antibacterial properties, so no worries.

yenny,
i agree with liverpool.Esp for FM, more is thicker but may not be good. Usu, everyone will emphasise the exact amt. You dilute only if bb suffering from diarrohea(from doc).. we are all sleep deprived mummies and sometimes it can drag for very long. When the bb grows older, prob the tummy can hold more mik and hence will last longer without asking. Usu, when my bb sleeps alone, she wakes up much faster and v frequently.

Nowadays, i quite daring, i put the bb in-between me and hb at times during the night coz i noticed she nurse lesser and sleep longer. Once i leave the bed,within half hr, she is crying again. I think, it is an unconscious presence that they feel abt us around them. When you sleep with them together, they sleep longer. I'm sure many mums also experience that. If not, bb sleep in cot with me in the room.

The main reason is i can be sooo tired from waking to bf that i may wake up and feed bb while half asleep and then fall asleep half way. That happened to me when my girl was 4mths old. I fell asleep with the bb on my chest and suddenly i woke up and bb fell to the floor on her forehead. I was so affected and luckily she was ok.my flr laminated wood.so now, i don't dare to carry to and fro the cot at night unless i'm sure i;m fully awake.

For me, i believe, that if we tend to their cries quickly, they grow to become more secure of themselves as they know we are always around (they dont have to cry long and loud to get our attention).so, in time to come, they will be more confident of themselves and even if we leave them for short occasions, whether is it at home, or sleeping, i believe that they will not be so afraid or timid. It is just my two cents worth. i;m sure there are mummies who have their own thoughts over this too.

hi zita ,

rub my nipple ah , but my nipple , can see flesh already , think is crack and some flesh drop off , so cant rub =(

Hi PM,
My gal also the same. Irregardless how I how I make the milk for her, she'll always have some leftovers. Than, less than an hour later, she'll cry for more milk. Sigh, waste my milk & time....

I used Pure Glycerin to clean bb's mouth & tongue. So far okay. My mum bought it for me at the Medical Hall.

Hi Zita27,
I heard that giving high concentrated milk to bb will overload their immature liver in the long run. Think it's better to be careful.

White lady, har, normally i will wipe then got white stuff come out, then not block liao...

Ya i agree wif kin, anyway bb tend to sleep thr. when they reach 4 to 6mth, when start take solid food...the method is juz underhand loh, sometime really no choice..heehee! u noe is not right but too exhasted liao! Juz like i keep telling myself not to give pacificer to her...but end up failed...heehee : )

YB...so serious ya..btw only 1 feed. n once they use to sleep thr. can go back to norm..that wat few of my frez wif kids taught me when i ask them for opinion, personally i havent try as i am happy wif my gal sleeping pattern....!

sorry to cause so much disturbance....! n yenny so sorry : ( other mummy pls dont try ya....paiseh

zita27
no need to apologise, not ur fault leh. u r rite, I'm really so tired tat i just try try. Wow, nvr expect so much hype abt it. Won't do it again :p

talking abt hubby, I think i shld be lucky to have my hubby help out to change diaper, make milk n feed bb... but i dun like it when his mother & sister came to visit, he'll let them carry my bb even when she's asleep... now she always want people to carry her to slp... and her elder sis always pat her when she's sleeping... now she even want people to pat her.... eerrrr angry...

gg out during confinement: so far I've gone out 3 times already... yesterday afternoon, hb called to find out how me & bb doing... I grumbled abit, saying bcos of his sisters... she want to carry & wanna pat to sleep, if can u take 2 wks leave to look after bb lar... then at night when he came hme from work he took me out for a ride... he said let me relax abit...

Mouth - u can use a cotton wool and clean ur baby mouth twice a day before bathing. Another way is to feed a little water after milk. Help to flush the remaining milk in the mouth.

YB, yah..its such a waste of $ and especially if it's BM i feel very xin tong, coz my supply is low, every drop count, but he just dont want to drink the very last oz. Sigh.

My boy has been crying like nobody business, kin I agree with what u say, attend to them asap when they cry so that they feel confident... but for my case, he cries so very very often that i throw temper at him a few occasions (feeling very guilty)

Eeyore, I know what u mean. In fact I suspect my boy is already use to carrying, coz if not carries while sleeping, he usually wakes up or cries within half an hour. I dont know since when he had this habit.... maybe when we bring him out, we carry him the whole day..and now, I cant put him in the room, coz I cant hear him cry, so either me or MIL will take turns to carry him. Can't put him in the living room sofa or rocker chair coz the dog is around and he likes to smell him which I hated!

Hi PM,
My gal's crying session starts automatically at 9pm. If I'm lucky, she will sleep at 10+pm, otherwise her crying session will last till 12+am...AND her crying can be so hysterical that can tore the whole hse down..carrying & patting also no use..sigh..tonight also same thing. Then we put her in the car & drove around. Surprisingly, she doze off in the car...finally peaceful. Dunno if I have to do this everyday till she knows that this timing is bedtime...

Hi Everyone!!!

Apologies for MIA and a drive-by and a whiny-whine post.

Firstly, Garrick's party went well. We had a wonderful luncheon in a wonderful chinese restaurant in a hotel. Gosh...wish we did not have to rush to the hotel....DH forgot to bring his video or camera...bummer!!!

Secondly, DH and I are both falling sick. Garrick's schedule is so hectic....not to sure if its due to his reflux or colic or due to the hungry ghost month.

Anyway, Garrick has been crying non-stop even though we checked to see if he is hungry or his diaper needs to be changed or he has wind or colic (we have the medicine and also do the tummy and legs exercises to dispel wind) or he needs to be cuddle or....etc,etc, etc. Even in his sleep (which is really short - 1 hour or so) he will wake-up and cry. His cries are so loud and sounds as though he is in pain that it breaks my heart. We have been to the pedi countless times and she just can't find what's wrong with him. Garrick sleeps wonderfully during the mornings and afternoons, but come night, he will start his crying..... Anyone has gone through this before? Any suggestions will be awesome! THANK YOU!!!

Lastly, a huge HUGE to everyone and take care!!!

Hi mummies who pump out milk, May I ask how much you can pump out at each 3hr interval. I get 90ml (both breast) and didn't seems to get more ... Now in my 4th week already. Moreover just now when I pump I get 90ml also even if it's a 5 hr interval. Abit concern. Kanna sore nipple yesterday cos' was feedging baby with EBM entire day except in the evening when I latch him on. After that sore nipple

Is my supply ok? When I pump, I dun get the "showering" effect as describe by TMC when I call them for advice. Should I go and consult them directly?

dsiitan, wah yesterday sobusy till no time to reply...
btw i didn't go polyclinic in the end.. cos.... I FORGET TO GO!! i keep thinking just walk in and forget that there's a fixed apptnt time for me to go!!! i very sotong!!! have refixed the apptmt to tdy.. haiz... vety blur of me..

yesterday i accomplishde 2 new things! very proud of myself.. 1. managed to put on a sling sucessfully 2. after 5 weeks, my bb finally latch on! if he continues to latch on then i dun hav to pump liao!!

yenny i want my bb to sleep in his own rm too, but i when i put him there alone, he like so alone... in theend still carry him back to my rm...

eeyore. i think i same as u hav an issue wif mil carrying bb.. i try to see things from another angle, they dote bb that's why wanna carry... i more sian cos she'll wanna come my place and think she helping me but i see it as disrupting my schedule and only come to play and see bb.. not much help done and give me inconveniences...

hong, use cotton wool to clean bb's mouth.. i very scare bb will swollowthe cotton wool, so i use handkerchief instead..but very hard to clean the inside.. cos bb always bite and dun allow...

Lucida, did u try emptying the breasts every time u pump? i did that and the supply increases.. u might wanna try

dsiitan, breast empty is like when u pump, not much milk flow liao.. and breasts feel soft. i think so is like that lah.. that's when i stop.. sometimes after pumping for 30 mins.. i'll just continue pumping for another 5 to 10 mins to empty the breasts.. it seems to work..

my bb too sleepy till he didn;t cry for milk this morning.. his last fed was at 945pm.. then at 3am.. he still sleeping.. just cry abit then go back to sleep.. seeing that already so long liao.. i woke him up to feed him.. indeed he was hungry.. finished his milk.. really wonder if this is the start to lesser night feed? :p

ok.. got to go back to sleep liao.. been awake since 3am.. tmr must go for hep b jab at 850am.. better grab some sleep.. if not miss again :p

good morning everyone,
better say hello before my maplesea warrior aka husband take over and bb takes control of my like!!!! I want to complain! My 6wk old girl seems to mistaken day for night over these few days.... She was awake from 10pm to 3 pm, no matter what i do. She will doze off at my arms, when i put her down ,fully awake. Like playing a game. Cannot tahan sometimes want to really beat her backside!!! Then my older girl every morning cry and wail i want mummy loudly at 7am and refuses to do anything and have been late for sch therefore... I wanna peng sun liow...My maplesea hb only carry her for 5 min even when he home,,,,don't know what to sleep. I think i become zombie already.. Day time got to tend to baby during her hrly sleep, work, spend time with big one, night time have to look after bb till she fall asleep.I sleep latest and wake up earliest...sob sob.

JP,
my massage lady taught me to massage bb's tummy in case they don't feel well. First she says don
't just use ryu-yi oil . Says to add ryu yi oil(1-2 drops) to some J&J bb oil as use. It really makes a difference to the massage. Then you start to gently rub with fingers from between the lower part of rib cage and follow the outline of the bb's left ribcage ie the tummy area below and draw an opposite C until you reach abt one cm below belly button.after that, do the same to the opposite side of the tummy(bb's right area below rib cage). Reason is that the intestine follows in this manner. doing in another direction will coz constipation instead. I try on my bb with light but firm fingers and i can actually feel the wind moving and then bb letting off gas. See if this helps. The J&J oil helps the massage as ryu-yi is easily absorb. So she said to combine the two types.I do about 10 to 15 times and it seems to help.

I tried to empty my breast until my breast like blue black already (need to squeeze that got more milk come out using the Avent Manual pump. Maybe time to change to a double pump..). Had order the fish papaya from TMC. Hope to see better result after drinking the soup.

just went to do bb hep b jab at poly clinic.. cos me $28 for 2 doses.. can pay by medisave somemore.. jsut need to pay $3 cash for dunno wat...