(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

zita27
dun quite get u. wat do u mean by increase teh scoop of powder to normal water? do u swaddle ur gal or u let her hands wander free when she is sleeping at nite?

Thanks mummies for yr encouragement. Towards my hubby I am really feeling hopeless. Nonetheless I will still try my best to talk to him abt it.. I just hope that he wont find me naggy and of coz things will get better once BB becomes bigger.

I dont know when BB has this habit of sucking onto my npple to go to sleep. Last time during my confinement times, he will just sleep while drinking his milk... and i just need to draw my nipple out, carry him for awhile and then put him on his bed. Now its so different. Its even worse at night, he can suck the whole night and not fall into deep sleep even if he's eyes are close...and I fight to get sleeo with him. Yanny, we share the same thoughts.. like being a bad mother.. coz every night I have to get angry w baby and spank him on his buttocks.

yenny, are u still doing yr confinement?

zita, i tried that also, but BB cant finish the milk. In fact I am breastfeeding BB, but because I want him to sleep longer at night, so I gave his last feed FM... but he stil drinks only like 2oz and then refuse to drink and not sleep.

Hi zita and yenny, at least I know I am not alone of my boy getting cranky during evening times...i wipe him at around 6 plus, then he is wide awake, then feed him...sometimes he sleep but then when put him back to cot, he cried...and wide awake...waiting for the netx feed i guess (but while waiting, he is cranky, like looking for something to suck in his mouth so give him pacifier...)

PM,
no, i out of confinement liao. Now bb gg to be 6 weeks. How i miss those days when confinement lady was ard. I had such good sleep as i know my bb boy is in good hands.

i think my bb boy can sense tat i dun love him at times cos he nvr smile at me but he smiled a few times at my mom.

Hi NOIF,
Didnt know u hv delivered. Hows life with bb ?? I almost forgot u are staying next blk.. probably one of the days we can meet up at the playground

Just to check ,

during confinment , in order to have more breast milk , we have to drink many water , but confinment , heard that water will cause water retention ?? is it true ??

and can i eat ginger for dinner ,and drink DOM ? then i dont pump any milk , wait till next morning then pump ?

hi white lady, i heard that b4 too, we mz drink more water in order to have more bm, but i realised after 2 weeks even if u drink more water u won't have much water retention...

regarding the ginger n dom, if u wait till morning then pump won't u feel very heavy??

white lady, for me i just drank more red dates water. that should be fine for confinement. heard from my MIL that plain water has 'wind', so try to drink red dates water instead.

think taking ginger is ok, but heard tt if baby has jaundice and taking your bm then try not to take so much ginger.. not sure...

as for drinking DOM, don't drink that, so not too sure also. think as long as u drink after you pump, then wait till about 3-4 hours u should be able to pump again for ur baby.

halo mummies
i just came back from outside..to think i still hv 3 more days to consider confinement end...notti mummy..hehe...met misaryeo...hehe 2nd mummy i met so far!!!

WhiteLady, If u dont wan to drink water, u can drink red date tea or milo, drink it hot if possible befre pumping. I drnk very hot milo n u can see BM dripping from yr clothes (if u did wear breastpad).

Yenny, I still swap her if not she starlted n wake up easily! ..e.g recomended 90ml to 1.5 scoop. U make 90ml water to 2scoop or more...! so she although she drink less but still get enought to last longer... but use on last feed if not too heaty.

White lady, i drink lots of water...no water rention leh..feel less heaty also...

If u dont pump thr. the nite, the supply will drop n engorement ... if drink DOM cant feed her BM for few hrs or to be safe cant feed for at least half a day, so either u bu yrself or baby....have to choose 1 loh!

PM
Long time no talk. Cool it gal! No good for you to get so worked up! All of us are having tough times too. I'm a 1st time mom, I find it sooooooo difficult.... sometimes I too scold my hubby over little things :p esp if he ask me to do things when i'm busy pumping or carrying baby, I'll say "as if i'm not doing anything!!". I think is the tireness that all of us are going through, make us really quick-tempered.

Z-Lia and eeyore,
I've asked my LC about drinking DOM, she said drink immediately after a feed/pump then just feed as usual for the next feed. But don't overdose
You can check with your LC to be sure.

whitelady,
my gal didnt catch cold coz we make sure no wind at all. our weather quite hot... if bb got jaundice beter not take ginger/ dom . maybw just add 1 tiny slice while cooking. bb's liver not fully developed yet.

PM, my friend who gave birth in tmc said LC said 25ml of dom is ok. if worried, wait 3 hrs-4hrs. no need to pump out and throw in between.

I'm having flu now. Dun know got fever or not. Can I still pump breastmilk and feed my baby (going to get CL to feed)?

lucida,
you can and you should. When we are sick, our bodies produce antibodies to fight the virus. So when our bb drink our breastmilk, they also take in the antibodies that will protect them fr the virus we are fighting against.No problem.Only thing is that i notice that when we are sick, supply will dip temporary.

I think dsii meant can pump but ask u CL to feed baby the milk tt u pump.. isit? tt's what i think... when i had sore throat and flu i fed my baby bm also so i think shld be ok ba...

Hi kin, So I pump out or still continue to latch on. Just now I called a friend and she say that her doctor advice her that to latch on cos' of antibodies. But I'm very tired and think need to rest.

z-lia
ya ya..i meant can pump bm for bb to drink..but dun feed bb cos too near her virus will spread to bb loh..hehehee..aiyo...me short cut till lucida blurz..hahahaa....

YB..wah...so gd ah..prata...hehehee...me now drooling liao

i think hubbies are weird creatures (some). my hubby just asked if he can slp thru the night today, when every night, all he does is wake up and hold on to my gal's pacifier or carry her while i warm the ebm. tt's abt 5 min. then after tt, he'll go back to slp while i feed her, burp her, change her diapers, pump, and wash the bottles and pump. of cos i told him he can slp thru the night. then i jokingly asked then when can i slp thru the night? (i havent done that since the twins were born dec 2004. now, at 20mths, they still wake up for night feeds) then he said ure at home now ma (as in maternity leave), so u shouldnt be tired. i feel like bashing him up. even when i wasnt having maternity leave, when the twin slpg with us wake up or is cranky cos is ill, i'll be the only one waking up and he'll be slpg like a log. and i cant complain tt im tired. did tell him b4 tt i dont understand how come when both the twins are with us and crying loudly in the middle of the night, he can just slp thru and leave everything to me. then he indicated tt guys should be working, ie. woman should be taking care of things at home. kns. then i still have to work. sigh. it's ok. im done. crap.

hi lucida,
bb wont fall sick. take care of yourself. if need to rest, go ahead. actually, now i'm suffering fr stomach flu, got it fr my older girl. got fever, vomit n everything else. today i'm better. i still bf my girl whenever she demands, but i also sleep a lot coz whole body ache n had fever.

dsii, i also join yr club of notti mummies. i went out weekly during confinement to do mkting for family......i think i went out 5-6 times altogether...heh heh

Hi dsii, No worries
pumping now.

Don't dare to tell my mum that I fall sick. The day before she "caught" me wash hair and she kept going non-stop that hair should only be wash once a week else I will get flu. If she knows about this I will get it again.. She has been hoping to get my health well during this confinement period cos' I always get flu at least once a month. Now I'm wondering if I have failed my mission.. does it means that if I get flu during confinement I will not be able to heal from it??

BM decrease. Probably due to I'm sick. Managed only to get 100ml. Usually this timing i get more. Actually how much do you all get by now? Wondering if my supply normal cos' if not thinking of going to LC else if wait too long cannot get good supply already.

yah just finish pumping.. milk leaks when i feeding bb lor.. and feeling engored lio cos nv pump for 6 hrs :p

ahha i'll let my bb know his backside guardian angel.. hehee

morning mummies..pumping time again. my hubby came back at 2 plus after meeting his friend and slept in the living room today. and when baby cried when i was heating my her milk, he really wu2 dong4 yu2 zhong1 and just continued to sleep.

misaryeo
hahhaa....thks ah...must remember to tell him leh...u didnt wear nursing pads ah?? i dun feel engorgement but hor...i do feel a bit pain apin one loh....

z-lia
men all alike one..my hb oso mah...urs still sleep in living room..my hb sleeps int he same room same more beside cot oso bo hiew one....at times i oso tot of bo hiew..see who wakes up to do the stuff...but hor...me bu ren xin..hehehhee..so ended up me loh

ok...misaryeo/z-lia
me pump liao liao...now going back to catch another 1 hr of sleep b4 waking up to prepare my #1 to sch..haiz....zhen de heng tired!!!! jiu ming ah!!!!

dsiitan.. pain means got milk lor.. i wore breastpads but shifted! so leak lor.. haiz..

i think i must praise my hubby liao.. he wanted to help wif night feed.. but i told him not to.. cos he got to work tmr.. i very nice hor.. he nice to me i nice back to him... when he back after work.. and showered already.. i'll hand bb to him so i can pump milk or bathe... but now is still early to say lor.. cos he well known for 5min flame one lor.. so maybe next week or so.. u see me grumbling here liao..

me back to sleep too.. before bb wakes up for feed again..

dsiitan, i also heng tired.. just hoping bb sleeps more and more.. day and night so i can hve more rest :p

hehe...misaryeo ya loh...thats y some mummies asked if my hb helps...i said yes..but his help is counted in weekly basis...1 week 1 or twice bah..at times weekend tot he can help out...at least i can rest on weekends mah..but hor..he oso rest on weekends...pengz..so me 24/7 working at home loh...he can go for dinner and drinks with colleagues/boss..me??? at home make bb drink my milk ah!! at times very sianz too