(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

Hi hong: Yes, intending to go to the Pasir Risi BB clinic. Is it better to have the 5-in1 or 6in1 injection? I heard there will be some symptoms after the injection...is that true?

Wah, most mummies so hardworking...get up so early to pump milk....tiring or not? Do you all try to nap in the afternoon while baby is asleep? I find it hard to do so leh. My CL will be gng back this thurs so my turn to do everything will start soon...dunno how it will be like...keep telling myself...take a step at a time.

Hi misaryeo, Congras on your end of confinement. Me still about 10 days...

Getting a bit of flu already due to insufficient sleep

Now like worry about finances.. baby injection, full month celebration, buy cake for full month, $$ for confinement lady, hospital bills etc... haiz. Felt like cancelling the full month celebration but order buffet already leh..

any c section mummies here ?

just to check , our menses take how long to end ? and i find that after i come home , there is clot of blood coming out , is that normal ?

oh man.. was ransacking my cupboard to find clothes to wear for Germayn's full month celebration next Sat. Can't fit into any of my pre preg bottoms except one pair of jeans that used to be very loose. Now it's tight when i wear it and I look so short and fat. like bao1 ba4 zhang3. think i have to resort to wearing a t-shirt and my maternity jeans/pants. sian.

And misaryeo, congrats on the end of your confinement! haha. Looking forward to my turn next weekend.

Do ur babies cry just to have u to carry him/her? Do u carry ur baby once he/her start crying? Can this be trained? My hubby let my son cry until he fell asleep as he always wans ppl to carry him(walk around, cannot sit). Of course, prior to that he will check that my son is not hungry or wet lah.

I really admire those mummies who can get up in wee hours to pump milk.

dsiitan,
how much sleep do u have everyday? U r a great mother. I'm so ashamed of myself. Sometimes when i wake up in the middle of the nite to do nite feed, i will regret having another baby. I am really horrible.

hello yenny, dont feel bad.. sometimes when i wake up in the middle of the night to feed and pump, i'll also wonder y i'm going thru all these all over again. and like you, i would regret having another baby.

i think sometimes my gal cries bcos she wants some sort of comfort from someone... i used to let her cry to slp. or just stuff the pacifier in her mouth and not do anything else (if she's not hungry or wet). ytd i stroke her cheeks and sort of reassured her when she cried, and i felt she slept alot better, as in, for a longer period of time. but i duno if that was only for ytd.

Hi Yenny/Z-Lia, I'm feeling the same thing too... Felt guilty about it. Just told my husband I want to "tui4 huo4" ;P (return "goods"). I dun think I want a second baby... I mean I love my baby but I still got many other things I wan to do..

Hi Z-Lia/Lucida

For me, I think I am having slight depression. I always feel like crying, no appetite. Altho my mum helps in taking care of the baby in the daytime, I am not those who can nap anytime, anywhere. I need nite consecutive hrs sleep. Now thinking of getting a maid to take care of the baby at nite, but i feel really guilty and so bad...wat should i do? Wat kind of mother am I?

white lady,
It is normal to have blood discharge, mine last for 2 weeks. It is varies, some may last for 1 mth.

Do you kena heaty? Now i feel heaty till my wisdom tooth gum sore & body temperature increase. We cannot take liang teh during confinement, wat should i do?

Yenny,
Yes my ger oso cry for me to carry her, must walk ard cannot sit. Normally if she has fed & change diaper, we will let her cry for awhile den carry her.

Tiring day today.. dunno wat's wrong wif bb.
Even carrying oso crying, is she unwell? Bt we juz went to see her PD yest, all ok except for the phlegm.
Carry her sleep, put her down, less than an hr she woke up crying again. Wat sd i do?

Hi jazzy,

My baby oso like tat. Is ur baby sleeping a lot? I heard babies should be sleeping most of the time but my boy stays awake longer than his sleeping time leh. fyi, i oso full fm now just like u. Has ur bm stopped flowing or u still pumping out a bit? Mine still has a bit in the breast so i pumped once a day to clear it. Is it ok if we just leave it?

Mummies, do ur babies still get startled easily or even suddenly cry loudly in his/her sleep?

HI Yenny,

sometimes I also feel like crying too....esp when I am very tired and no appetite and stress over my supply of BM. Just told my hubby that I wanna stop BF cos very tiring...he understands but then on the other hand I want my boy to have the best so I have to sacrifice.

I dun think it is wise to leave the baby to cry to sleep. I read that the more you do that, the more baby will feel insecure and in the long run will only seek crying to gain attention. Baby at such a young age will not have such "motives" they cry because they need food, poos/urine and cuddling. And also too much crying also invite wind into his stomach which will cause discomfort as well. I hope I am right lah.

Yes, my baby gets startled easily and also suddenly cry in his sleep. Perhaps he is having bad dreams...but at times, I can see my boy smiling in his sleep as well. I put beansprout pillow on him so that he will not get startled easily but doc said such thing is normal lor.

Hi MY, yup back to my place liao. things are the same 4 me. Before i look after bb myself now back lao also the same. expect that my dh can see how charm i am... hahaha sometimes he does volunteer to look after BB for me but end up i awaken by Bb's cries n cant sleep... so i took over him from there. square 1 right???

Blessings, we hv the same thinking, my hubby keep asking me to stop if its too tiring... especially at night. I am not like mummies here so hardworking, pump in the middle of the night. In fact i just latch bb on the moment i wanna sleep.

Yenny, it just happen to me.. hhaha bb refuse to let me online. the moment iput him down he start liao, n his cries r like someone beaten him like that. Carrying him in one hand n typing w another now.

i wonder if muumies have the same problem as I do. I started out latching BB on and feed him on demand. Before my milk supply established I gave him FM to supplement. Because I latch him on as and when he wants to I do not know his timing of feeds now and dont know how much of milk he takes each feed.

I started to pump milk until i find it abit hard to feed him on demand coz he feeds like every hour! and my nipples start to sore so frequent. Realise that my Ms is only like 60ml in total both both side, no wonder he's waking up every hours for feed.

I do not know how start a schedule for his feed sometimes after giving him bottle he still wants to latch on me before he fall asleep.
Pls advise me on what to do..

Hi PM, for BF, you have to feed him on demand...until your baby is satisfied. U wont really know how much he drank but for pumping, it is also not very accurate cos baby's suckle is more powerful than the pump. For BM, baby digest very fast...so they get hungry easily.

my bblikes to be carried too. i thought i v clever sling him on the whole dayso that my handsr free after 2 days my sholders are killing me...i felt so stupid after that

Hi mummies, which vacinnation option did you choose - 5-in-1 or 6-in-1? Why? When did you bring your baby for the injection?

lucida,
i think i will chose 6 in 1.

YB, 3rd month ah. i think i call PD clinic to check again.

Jazzy,
my boy also wanted to be carried. Carry him and he sleep tummy down on my body put him down and he wake up. Siong man!

misaryeo,
my mum going home tmr too... i am pretty scare too. She bought those ready pack herbal soup for me. stock chicken bone, pork rib and fish. So i only need to throw the pack and chicken and cook soup.

Depression - i know how it feel. I have it when i have my daughter. When she cried i dun dare to touch her, call my hubby to come home fast fast.

hi all mummies..im back home

today went to mil's place to pray to ancestors...actual day is next sat..but do early..cos today sunday and sunday the most ppl ard..hehehee..

yenny
me no great mum lah...normal like u all loh...
my bb woke up at 4 to drink milk mah...after fed him liao..and burp him liao...ard 4plus 5 liao...so just pump the milk out loh...i always pump milk ard that time (5am-6am)if bb wakes up for feed..

my routine for whole day is like that one..then weekdays i will need to wake up at 7am..to prepare my #1 to sch..then hor..whole day starts with feeding bb then shower..then check emails..online...pump milk...etc...i dun take nap unless super tired...but at times cant sleep leh...

hi mummies, i really dunno what to do with my sore breasts n nipples cos now even pumping hurts so much. i thot by right for engorgement jus apply hot towel, massage n pump out can already but my breasts still have this terrible aching feeling all d time tho they feel soft! wats happening. n for my sore nipples i wonder how long they will take to heal. im not latching bb on already bcos of all these n supply thru expressing also gettin lesser each day. im really at a loss, can anybody gimme some advice?

blessings
hmm....i oso dunno leh...thats y at times nite feeds i can doze off ..hahahhaa....i am tired...always...but hor...got lots of temptation loh...like chatting with all mummies online..hehee tv programmes...haiz..dunno leh...then at nite when feeding my boy..i regretted..not regret having 2nd bb...but regret not taking any afternoon naps...hahahaha....so this become my routine too...not napping then nite time regret...

me dun hv sore nipples...but at times no engorgement but feel a bit pain at breast loh..then must go pump but not much milk loh...damn cham hor...took papaya soup...hope suplly will increase...hehehe...not miracle soup lah..but hope it helps...

hi all..
me going offline liao...super tired...gonna rest...
hehehe..will be back again tomolo...

sweet dreams all mummies...

OC,
I chat with another mother and she told me for engorgement, cold compress is more effective. If u have lump, try cold compress then massage and pump. Or u try to squeeze the milk out using ur hand to see if it release a bit.

PM,
GP shld also have 6 in 1. U can ask the clinic.
I heard Polyclinic doesnt offer last time. Dun know if they have this now.

re:bf- i think i suffered from some sort of depression and the main culprit was bf. My ss was low no matter how diligent i pump. i am doubtful when pple tell me evryone can bf now. i think everyone can, but the ss is another story all together. now i feel better- must change mindset- have how much give how much. "better to be a happy fm mummy than a unhappy bf mummy."

my baby also will suddenly cry n wake up. dunno is it bcos of bad dreams. he will want pple to carry him n walk ard too. sometimes i lie down next to him n talk to him, n he does quiet down a bit. but SOMETIMES only. mummies can try.

Hi OC, If you are using cold cabbage for relieve do becareful not to use it excessively. I have a friend who told me that her friend stop have BM after using cold cabbage. I'm not sure how her friend use the cabbage tho.

Woke up to express milk. Now CL use EBM (expressed earlier) to feed baby. No latching is at least easier. Have to build up supply for tomorrow night. Hopefully will have some surplus so that I can save it for other occasion in the freezer.

i kinda feed my bb on demand, but not every hour. I will monitor the time that he consumes his milk. If he cries about two hours later, it could be due to hunger. If he cries one hour later, maybe it's something else. You probable need to spend time with your bb to understand his feeding pattern. I have been doing this since week 1. My son is gaining weight rather well, about 1.1 kg every month.

If you latch him and express, dun expect to get much. 60 ml after latching is great!!!

gd morning lucida!!!!

enuff sleep or not ah?? i oso dunno leh....hehehe....im using avent manual...u got wake up to pump milk?? hehehe...

yup. woke up again at about 6:45am to pump. about 7plus baby cry (hungry) so latch on. Will be heading my bed in a short while else going to be feeding time again.
Quite scary to think if my life going to be like this - wake up pump then feed, eat, pump, feed, eat, sleep..

yenny, i am not sure. At times, she can sleep straight on 4hr w/o milk, other times a while (carry 30mins+, sleep less than an hr) then woke up. CL said most bb feed then sleep, whereas mine have to be carried ard then sleep.
CL said yest must be "got a scare" tat's y kip crying & refusing to sleep.
My bb wd make noise at times when sleeping (wd tap her on the butt), if crying then wd carry her.

hong, so the 6-in-1 jab can only take in 3rd mth? Bt the PD nurse ask us 2 go when bb is 1.5mth.

Buffet: Angeli
Anyone tried this caterer b4? Any comments?

lucida
u goint to nap soon ah??? me think the next sleeping time for me is tonight liao..seldom take nap loh..in fact during my pregnancy i always koon one...always nap...can ask the mummies here...always on the dot..nap...but after birth ...no nap leh..hehehe..funny

Heehee! Me Seldom online so early.

Bf
Me gg to stop liao cos my boy dont really want to latch on recently. Latch on halfway will make noise and cry. Since he wean off himself me happy too. No need headache liao. Anyway, not much bm also cos he did not latch on often. My breast no engorge, no lump, no pain. Soft soft now...haha!

good morning mummies,

wah, all the "good lat" mummies....woke up so early to pump milk...I cant leh. I last pumped at 10.30pm, then slept all the way till 7.30pm (woke 2 times vos of baby's crying for milk...but CL is feeding him)...then I latched him on for his morning feed.

Hi decimalpoint: sama sama.....I have the same predicament as you. Everybody was telling me how long the BF and ask me to eat this and that....so I am also depressed lah. So like what you said, just do whatever you can and be a happy mum. My next challenging task is to handle my baby after my CL leaves this thurs.

Thinking of going to my mum's place during daytime when my CL leaves but when I brought it up to my hubby, he doesnt seem too happy leh. He asked me if I am very stressed or is it I cant cope alone. I told him at least I have someone to watch over him while I try to rest...I guess he felt it is too "ley chey"....but my mum lives nearby...cant just grab a cab mah....kinda of upset!

at times, when i start to feel depressed again, i'll tell myself, another 2 or 3 months and my life will be better. Hopefully by that time my son would be easier to take care.

hey for those mummies who had epidural, do u all experience backache? I realise i can't walk for long.

dsiitan,

u really super mom leh. i oso hav 2 kids just like u but u hav no complains at all and the fact tat u r giving bm. U really hav a positive mindset. May i know how u do it? Does ur hubby help u out in taking care of kids?