(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

JP, i have a MSN, wanna exchange here? mine was [email protected]

MICH, Kin, JP, Blessing,
My boy also on BM + FM but he drinks more FM. Dun stress urself, u are still giving ur baby BM.

Mich, no point quarrel with hubby cos he will become even more discourging. Personally experience - my hubby is not a pro-Bf daddy. He feels that with FM why i stress myself so much on giving BM. Althot i tried to show him article but he never wanna read. So i give up trying to explain to him.

There is once my boy cried badly and he question me why i didnt attend to him. I told him i need to pump out the milk cos i feel the pain but he dun understand. I just kept quiet so i see no point picking up a fight over this.

JP, hub never buy enough fish.. wed just bought a bit of ngor hur... got eat pork fried with eggs, ginger and sesame oil...

Me delivered 1 week liao.. how much should milk supply be?

blessing... I wll let u know if it helps... on bottle says take 1-2 pills for each day but mummies recommend 9 pills a day.. 3 pills 3 times a day.. my friend tried and it works for her...

I'm starting slow.. yesterday took only 2 pills.. today taking 2 pills 3 times a day, tomorrow increase till 3 pills 3 times a day and see how...

YB,

okie, thanks...

blessings,

initially when i pump, i also take very long... but now my milk supply low liao so neba tot of pumping...

hi misaryeo: maybe i shld try 5 mins on each breast....cos when I do 15 mins...very discouraging...the flow gets less and less....

sometimes, I really have the urge to give up...but then I told myself once or twice feeds per day is better than nothing right? Sometimes, I can hear some mummies can BF for one to two years...and their MS is really alot and they are smaller size than me...sigh! But thank God for the improved FM!

hong,

ya lor... but for my hubby he just diam diam lar in d end... hehe bcoz i told him off sayin i carry baby 9 months or he carry baby 9 months...

but felt bad after dat n apologize to him...

Mich,
dun over stress on the milk ss. me also like u, that time also stress. got how much give how much, dun care liao lah. if not u really will feel very bad.
to make u feel better, my 4 week old drinks abt 750ml a day, out of which i can only manage to give him not more than 200ml.
there was tis time i was "hiding" to pump milk, baby cry, i go out and see. mil carry him, stretch out her hand ask me, "nai leh? mei you nai?" wah that time i really felt like a cow. i was thinking what is this? i m hiding away to pump milk like clock work, but what is the outcome? little milk and i dun feed n interact with my son. so i think put down a bit. play with baby more and pump less.
i also angry with husband these few days bcos y he maintain his normal life while i am stuck home facing his mother. but of course i am the one with the maternity leave. but then feel unhappy lor, maybe hormones.

My hubby say when CL leaves he will ask his mother to come to our place more often to help me. But I really hesitate to do so though I do think I need help. I'm starting to get a bit depress. My hubby is the pro-BF type and he say try to using breast milk for at least 6months. That's what I like too but I'm beginning to doubt my ability and patience.

This two days baby has been "naughty". My boy is eleven days old. All the while I have been BF him 20 mins on one side of my breast and then 20 mins on the other. His timing was quite consistent too. However for the past two days, he feed only on one breast. When I switch him to the next beast after 20 mins, he was still sucking on the first breast. Nevertheless, I took him out of the first breast and put him on my other breast. And he stop sucking and went to sleep. As such, he wakes up in one or two hours time to feed. I dun know why he's like that. Is it the way I carry him or I did not burp him enough in-between feed. Getting a bit frustrated and depressed as the other breast will get engorged since he doesn't want to drink anymore.

Do you have such experience??

Misaryeo, OC, Steph
Just brought my son to polyclinic on Wed for HEP B jab.

Now the jab no more subsidy. Need to pay $16/-

DP,

Haiz... dat time my MIL when i spplement baby wif FM den baby happen to hiccups n vomit oso, she say the FM fault, den when i give baby BM same thing happen she diam diam... den keep on comparing me to her last time, say she feed my hubby when he was a baby lar onli BM for d 1st 6th months, n she got so much till she have to express out n donate... wah lau, cannot tahan her comment... den like my fault i got low milk supply...

Lucida,

I experience that for d 1st few days when i onli gave BM w/o supplementin FM until i cannot tahan... bcoz she can wake up every hr jus for milk, i can go crazy...

NOIF,
wah $16 then no point for me to go to polyclinic. I think i just go over to the GP here.

Someone asking me abt Pasir Ris PD? Who ah? What do u wanna know abt him? Clinic at Elias Mall Level 2. Call Pasir Ris baby and child clinic.
The clinic operates from morning till 12:30pm and open at 6:30pm - 9pm. He dun see patients in noon.

Consultation charge is ard $15. Comparing to other PD, he is much cheaper. Medication wise - ok for my daughter, stime more serious got to see him twice. Stime see him twice also less than $100.

blessings, try do it for a few days see if the milk supply increase.. cos i reaslise when i pump like that more milk leh...

NOIF, thks for informing.. $16 still alright leh..

anyone bring bb to shave head on 1st month? go where to shave?
the one at parkway really can shave?

hong, is me lah.. i asking abt the PD in elias mall.. maybe i shld try him out next time..

how much GP charge for the jap?

Mich, i get wat u mean.. my MIL also always tok abt last time, wat they do.. blah blah blah... i hate it!! pls lah.. now already 2006, their last time is 197something.. how to compare.. now everythign so advance already.. realy cannot tahan them... to them their time is the best lah.. i can't stand it also!! i try not to listen, cos i very rebelious.. the more u say the more i wanna rebel!. whether my son wanna shave or not.. she also wanna bother.. pls lah.. my son leh.. not her son!!

i m may mummy, trying to order similac for my keane; 3 mths old.I have this lobang, selling at $26 per tin 900g for similac infant. Therefore, local packing. manufactured by abbott Ireland for Abbott laboratories North chicago, USA. Expiry date is 2008.
i brought 1s from my friend's friend. She works at this abbott singapore. Hence, currently, i left 2 tins.So far so good.

Any interested party ps send email to me @ [email protected]
Would prefer prepaid to prevent back out.Self collection at sengkang or pasir panjang

By the way, i accidentally delete one of the mummies email, mind to email me one more time. Thanks

misaryeo,

Ya lor... Same here i oso like dat... Haiz, sometimes dunno wat they thinking oso... Ya lor, dat time my baby name oso not my MIL wan2 interfere, its my grandma in law, vomit blood man!

long time never come in. been really busy adjusting to new life as a cow....

- Low MS -
had the same problem as my baby was in NICU and i din stimulate. Just to share my experience,

For those mummies who delivered in TMC, the papaya fish soup really helps. My HB orders a few at a go from the cafeteria and we can keep it frozen and boil when we want to drink. I was taking it twice a day.

My HB also helps to massage my breasts after I apply hot towel in 12, 6, 3, 9 o clock positions before i feed. Must be done with strength. Mummies will have to bear with a bit of pain.

Mrs Wong also advised me to pump 5 mins on each breast for 20mins after each feeding. Pump even when you don't see milk expressed. This will help to stimulate more MS.

My MS has gone up in a week. now can pump about 120ml.

Jia you mummies. Just try your best and get as much rest as possible.

Lucida,

Try to nurse your baby every 2 hours, in this way, your baby will have enough liquid. Anyway, the way to get rid of the jaundice, 95% is from the poo, and only 5% is from the urine, so I nurse my son a lot, hoping to see poo, and happily cleans up the poo.

I got know this other method, that I did on my son, and it works, his bilirubin level drops.

Exposure to sunlight is not that advisable due to the low quantities of blue light rays and the high quantity of uv rays. you can use a flourascent table lamp to expose bb to the blue rays as often as possible. The lamp should be about 15-20cm away from bb's body. Bb's eyes should be shielded. ~ I used cotton pads and medical tape (got this from a pte pead), lightly oil the bb's body so that it can better receive the blue rays (got this from a polyclinic doctor)frequent feedings at a min of 2 hours intervals is *strongly* encouraged (this refers to bfg moms)

what you want to happen is for the bb to poop and pee as much as possible.

Hope it helps.

May I know what pump r u gals using, I'm using PIS, I'm still using level 2 and the strengh i set to medium.
How much milk can ua pump out for each session? And how long do ua spend on each session?

Hong - Sure! I have added ya liao! Pls add me back! Yup, I agree....as long as we are still feeding BB with BM, that should be OK lah.

Steph - Keep at it...your BM will increase. Keep pumping, keep eating fish, eggs, etc...

Hong,
I had added you in my MSN. Hope you don't mind.
Chatting via MSN is a lot more better, as I seldom check posts in forum here. So hard to keep up with the posts here.

Hi misaryeo,
Like u, I really cannot tahan my MIL. Always say they used to do this or that in their time...sigh..somemore my hubby dare not say anything even though he dun agree. Now MIL she wanna cook for me for another mth after confinement end. Wah lao...buay tahan..she want me to do another confinement issit?? I told her no need cos I'll go over to my mum's plc everyday after confinement. But she insist. My hubby also dun dare say anything. I dun care, if she come, there'll be nobody at home to let her in.

YB & Misaryeo,
U have MIL to cook for u ... me ar my mother do confinement for me.. then my MIL just give a $28 Ang Bao to my mother . She really thick skin ar.. somemore i stay at my mother place

Sandy, no leh, my mother is the one who doing confinement for me, my mil will pop by on her off day.. and stay for a few hrs.. she interfere even my mom around lor.. to the extend of wat type of pot to use to boil the red dates drink.. she even bought a pot when she see the one my mom using is not the traditional one.. wah lau!! I understand her first grandson she more ganjiong. but pls dun interfere in my things lor.. if she wants to at least ask me first.. yesterday, she wanted to go buy the yellow chinese medicine for jaundice for my bb.. then i told her no worries, will get my mom to buy when she go buy things today.. then u know wat.. at night when my hubby comes back.. she called my husband to tell him to go get! i thot i alrady told her my mom can get.. why dun she get it! to me its very rude and simply show she dun trust me... *&*^&**&**^%% Now i feel very bad, whenever she come i'll become very frustrated and in the end vent my anger on my mom...

YB, wah lau! ask her dun be crazy lah.. do wat 2nd month confinement! my mom did mentioned although after confinement, but must still be careful adn take care of body, dun anyhow eat and drink.. liek that good enuf wat! siao ah.. confinement do 2 mths.. can go crazy leh!

nobody shaving baby's head ah? anyone know can help me? i dun wanna go to my mil salon to do lah.. she wanna kpo i purposely dun let her!!! help me if u know where to go shave bb's head. thks

Hi misaryeo,
Ya lor...wat a carzy idea to do 2nd mth confinement. I told her my mum will cook for me when I went over & she'll know wat food to avoid etc. But MIL still not convinced leh...think she scared after I bring my gal to my mum's plc, she cannot see bb as much as she like. Now, she comes to my hse everyday. I really dun care, since she didn't have my permission to come my hse to cook, she can't fault me if she come but I'm not home.

NOIF
thanks for d info. so for d rest of d jabs u goin back polyclinic?

hong
u stay at pasir ris ah? me too. d GP at elias charges ok hor, u goin back to him for d jabs as well?

btw my bb poos almost after meal, she on BM (20%)+ FM (80%). my MIL say like not normal cos by right if taking FM more shld not poo after every meal. anybody has experience on this?

OC,
i think shld be ok, shld look at the poo not the freq of the poo.

I stay at Old airport rd area, we take the trouble to go all the way to pasir ris.

hong
thanks...i thot so too cos d poo is normal yellow paste, but MIL thinks pooing almost immediately after every meal too frequent liao then say bb never absorb d milk?
wah how come u take d trouble come pasir ris to see PD?

hong
added u to my msn too...hehehe

misaryeo
dunno where to shave bb's hair..my boys didnt shave botak leh..just cut a bit yi shi yi shi

oc
ya loh..that time i oso wondered y hong came all the way to elias mall..whereas we go to other places..told my hb abt the PD hong recommended...will check it out...

can we take hep b at polyclinic then decide whether to go back for future jabs?? or maybe switch to other PD???

Hi Step, Maybe you call up TMC to check. Their main line is 62502222.

Hi mummies, I'm really torn between Ameda and Medela advanced PIS pump. Which one should I get. Initially wanted Ameda but a friend strongly against it as from her experience, the valves always needs replacement and motor not lasting. My concern about PIS is the cost and seems that it's more difficult to clean compared to Ameda.

Comments??

Hello Lucida, I have the PIS original and Ameda Lactaline.

I personally prefer the PIS la, but i think it's slightly diff from the advanced PIS. To me, the PIS is easier to clean. I only need to sterilise the bottles and the funnels. For me, i got a 2nd hand one so i got it for abt $245.

For the Ameda, what ur friend said is true, I had to replace the valves alot of times, and I didnt use it for very long. Mabbe abt 3-4mths. For the motor, it didnt give me any probs.

I think if you're looking to bf for a long time, mabbe u shld invest in the PIS.

And mummies, I had fever this morning, just got better.. so weird. And my right breast's very painful. The veins are like... orh cheh, but it's not engaged. So sian. Then for today i've only been pumping for 15 min each session cos i felt like i was going to die. Haha. And i seriously started to cherish my mum more. Haha.

z-lia
aiyo...what happened? how come suddenly got fever?? u better now??? not engorged??? then the veins all pop out har???

Z-lia,
u got fever due to engorgement? must take care.

Dsii, Laura, JP, Misaryeo.
I saw all of u in MSN. My daughter refused to eat and she is driving me crazy again. At the age of 2.5yr she can cry n cry till vomit and really piss me off.

My patience is running out very fast!

Ameda pump - mean time my valve is still ok. Motor also ok.

hong
issit she trying to get ur attn??? sometimes they may do something unreasonable to get ur attn leh..since now most of u pay more attn to the younger bro...

Misayeo/YB,

i also have sort of same experience with both of you... my mil also another kind... my mum is doing confinement for me... then she'll like purposely come down during dinner time and see what my mum cooked (not for me but for his dear son). then will keep asking my dishes got put ginger or not. she think my mum duno a thing.... i wanted to tell her if she so clever, why dun she cook for me instead... a pity loh, i cant communicate with my mil bcos i dun really know how to speak hokkien whereby mil only knows how to speak hokkien... my mil existence also always irritates me too....

aiyo..geberra....long long long time no see....hehehhehe...in this forum lahh....no doubt we sms often..hahahhaa

Hi Steph,

I think it shouldn't be a problem for you to buy the papaya soup cos it's from the cafeteria. Call Jeanie at 62516520. It costs $6.30 per portion. You can collect from the cafeteria before 6pm. Can tell her your MS low then she will adjust the ingredients accordingly. Soup can be freezed up to a week. Just heat up in a pot when you want to drink. They don't recommend microwave.

hello dsiitan and all mummies...

how's everyone now? =) think mostof us have popped liao hor...

dsiitan,
i saw your sms this noon but as usual, me napping so didnt reply you... so how? know how to use the sarong carrier already?

hahaha now ur turn to be sleeping beauty ah????

dunno leh..cham ah....me so stupid hor??? see the demo dvd so many times..still catch no ball

Thanks Lucida and Jul04...

Wah.. $6.30 ah... portion big or small har?

Z-lia... I think is mastitis.. dunno whether write correct or not... its that engorged liao then red and hot, very sore at touch.. can cause fever one leh...

Hong... think ur girl seeking attention... that's why like that.. be patient and explain that even with baby, u still love her and she gotto eat before she can be a big sister...