(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

dsiitan,
sarog carrier good to use meh? is it those kind thatyou can carry bb in sling carrier?

i saw a bp for similac... quite keen. $25/tin, miimum 5 tins...

yes...from mim loh..my fren gave me as gift..cos i saw her carry her bb gal mah..till now almost 2 yrs liao..she still using it...quite convenient..especially when out...

heard similac quite sweet rite??? no bp for nan?? hehehehe...now u bp for milk powder ah?? me still bp for food..hahahhaa...got go and see the mooncakes??? got collection at hougang leh...

Hi Z-Lia, When you use Medela PIS, do you have problem that the tubes get moist? By right, milk will not get into the tubing right? cos' Ameda no need to wash tubes but not sure about Medela.

dsiitan,
is it? similac quite sweet ah? do you think it's becos of similac that caused my bb to have phlegm?

dun have bp for NAN... heard my friend said that NAN is abit oily leh. is it true? Hmm... i forgot which are the 3 brands for bp... nowasday my memory is getting worst liao... haiz..

Hello all.. i dunno.. dont think it's due to engorgement cos i pumped and pumped till breasts were soft liao. but still painful. not sure if its mastitis like steph mentioned. but well.. im feeling better.. still having quite bad headache though. And just nice tomorrow is Sunday, so the twins will be at hm the whole day also. It's going to be a busy day. And my MIL made those chicken with martell for me to drink later. I think i will die after drinking tt. Haha.

Lucida, so far it's been ok.. as in.. the tubes didnt get moist. But did hear b4 tt the tubes can get moist.

My girl - i can understand she is asking for attention and we are giving it all to her if she need it. She just irriated me by doing all the small small things. However she still very nice to didi leh.

Cos she got sore throat a week ago and cant be not recover yet. She refuse to take solid and even soup. Run ard during meal time. cannot tahan leh.

Gebbera,
yes NAN is oily, have to wash my bottle with detergent after each feed but we switch to Mamil gold.

nan oily ah? hmm..didnt notice leh....only noticed BM oily..hehehhee...

mamil gold gd??? hmm...any other recommendation? cos Nan1 Ha ex leh....pengz...now got BM still not so bad..but still bad...if BM supply drops..peng san liao manz

Z-Lia, u shld try to use cold packs or cabbage leaves on ur breasts to soothe the sore.. i even use a small hand towel put ice and rub when i feel sore.. keep doing it and pump out ur milk.. the soreness will go away... if not it'll get worse..

Geberra, why these old people so rude these days? sigh...

seems like many of u uses Similac and Nan, anyone feed frisco? any comments on that?

btw, if we breastfeed, can we drink those chinese liquor like you mei shu, or after the last feed?

then after confinement, breastfeeding mum can drink coffee or coke or not?

misaryeo
mums from other thread suggested that after breastfeed then drink the wine or drink liao after 2 hrs then BF...wait for the alcohol to goes off..hehehe...

my fren still drinks coffee and coke..but for coffee..she only take 1 per day...and she TBF...

Zi-Lia, i also had fever 2 times in the 1st 2 weeks of confinement, i also thought mastitis. But my GP told me one sign of mastitis is there will be pus due to infection. u got pus?

yesterday was my baby fullmonth celebration. all these full of bm pple come and give so many advice re:bf. keep telling me i must feed baby bm. not that i dun want but i dun have ok?! then keep saying must latch baby on, must keep pumping.... do they know what we(low ss mummies) have been doing? so fed up. like i m so lazy and dun want to give baby bm.

decimal

ya loh..very fustrating...that time my MIL came to my place...after moving in to my flat for 6 yrs..hahahhaa...1st time came cos of ian...his face so big...saw me fed him FM..asked me why no bf..i told him not enuff time to warm the EBM..she said y express..no gd to freeze them..must latch mah...last time all her 13 kids...all TBF....aiyo...y me only 1 bb now...also dun want to latch....haiz...ian dun want to latch mah...he to impatient liao...somemore me not super high supply one...

me express and espress...but hor so miserable...wonder y some mummies can express 2-3 hrs with gd supply...but for me if express 2-3 hrs..the supply damn cant see manz

just to check with all mummies ,

when we give birth , does the hospital provide disposable panties ? or do we have to bring ours ? and is their disposable panties too loose anot , cos have to put pad ,s care too loose , not good , pad will drop , ha ha

Lucida,

I am using the PIS Advanced. Sometimes the tubing does get moist, so what I always do is to use the pump for a few min(without attaching it to the funnel) to force out the water. So far so good.

dsii,

I used to feed NAN HA 1 to bb in his 1st week as it's recommended by my PD. Closer to breastmilk and also hypoallergenic. My confinement lady also commented that the colour looks very similar to breastmilk. Now on TBF, so won't be able to finish the tin.

Ref: ALCOHOL (other than rice wine for cooking)
I am very KS, so no hard liquor at all. Initially, my mum & MIL keep nagging me to drink it but I simply refused and told them off. Then, they drilled it into my CL to feed me DOM. Luckily, my CL told me abt it, got me hopping mad!!! In the end, I read to them (via my hubby) the undesirable effects of alcohol and they finally diam diam.

Let me share some quotes from TMC's Childbirth book written by Mrs Wong:
"Alcohol should not be part of your postnatal diet. However, if you must have alcohol, cook it or double boil it and drink it only at night.

A hot favourite among new mothes is to take herbal benediction. Not enough studies have been done on it so it is better to avoid it.

Contrary to the Chinese belief that alcohol increases blood circulation and warms the body, it is not a must after delivery. It does not boost your postpartum state and, if you are nursing, it can be transmitted to your baby. Alcohol can appear quickly in the mother's fore milk and hind milk as well as reduce milk production as it inhibits oxytocin release. Studies have shown that nursing babies while drinking heavily can cause developmental delays in the child."

Ref: COFFEE and COKE
Again, the reason why nursing mothers are asked to avoid is due to the caffeine content. What I remembered from antenatal class is that you may end up with a wakeful baby who refuses to sleep cos of stimulation by caffeine. So better to cut down or avoid altogether.

dsii,

For me, having a good rest (after an afternoon nap or in the middle of the nite) and plenty of fluids (typically 9-10 cups) did help to maintain MS. If u are drinking alcohol, maybe stop that.

lok

wah so gd ah?? TBF...me hope i can TBF too..but not enuff milk leh..baby ian a big eater...can drink 120ml per feed and abt 2-3hrs...bm not enuff and too slow liao...dun want to latch...haiz....

lok
me not drinking alcohol...me lazy to pump middle of the nite...so normally will pump at 10 plus 11pm..then the next round will be ard 7plusam....

white lady
tmc gave 2 pairs of neted panties..that one very gd loh.. tight too...elastic one...thats for natural birth..heard some mummies dun hv and most of them were c-sect loh...

Mt E also gave netted panties...dun worry abt the pad...will not drop out...

Hello decimal point, ya.. i dont have pus..so i think not mastitis... been trying to pump every 3-4 hours hoping that the sore will go away. feel like pressing hard on the area but afraid my veins will burst. haha. and realise that my MS has dropped. Dunno if it's cos of the chicken wine tt i took ytd and the nestum tt i took this morning. Nestum has malt. Heard tt malt will decrease MS...

Many of you faced problem with MIL. for my case,my mil dun really bother us. however, it's my own mum that giving me depression. i know she's out of concern for me but her constant advise and same repeated advise, even call me when I'm sleeping drives me crazy. I have a CL and she kept telling me what to tell the CL to do. She also want to check if CL been eating my food, did she make red dates tea everyday. Then lately is to ask CL to make tonic for me. She say everyday drink some tonic soup with DOM. Then I say too heaty cannot, I dun want. Then she say if dun ask CL to do now when she go back I won't have any to drink. Moreover, I paid her so much money. I'm very presurrised with this confinement thinggi. It's as though I have to accomplish so much things. I got to finish the food and not leave for CL cos' she should prepare herself and not eat my food. But I just can't finish the food. So much how to eat. Then my mum will nag and blah blah.. when i told her off she says she's not going to be bothered with me anymore and she cried. Now, on off i also cry whenever i think about what she says. right now i feel like crying too...

She kept telling me to use EBM at night so I can sleep thr' the night. But I still need to wake up to express milk else my breast will engorge and MS will drop since now it's not even 2 weeks since I give birth. I want to direct latch at least for awhile to maintain MS. But she say then why hire CL. Next time I'm going to have backache and will regret...

decimal point, these relatives hor. feel like asking them to mind their own biz lor.. my hubby relatives came and visit me, ask me also abt TBF, i told her i express lah.. then she like why dunlatch.. very easy one..blah blah blah.... i'm like.. i also know good but if cannot then nvm lor.. at least i try my best.. but these relatives still dun understand... continue to blah blah blah.. i'm like pls lah ive me a break AUNTY! i find these pple very inconsiderate!

white lady, KKH provided a pack of sisposable panties and pads.. i find good enuf.. its big size type.. but i thotquite good since after delivery and the stitiches i dun want anything tight there..

thks to all who advise on the can or cannot take when breastfeeding..

Lucida, i always just think our mothers always want the best for us.. if to naggy just ignore.. sometimes i'll take a deep breathe before explaining things to my mom.. heng my mother know i stubborn type nv insist.. its my mil, tell her dun bring anymore things liao.. still bring.. in the end my mom got to ask me wat are all those herbs for when i can;t eat them cos bb has jaundice.. my mil just refuse to listen when i tell her i can;t hav those things.. i'm just gonna return all those stuffs and tell her i can't eat them after my confinment..

dsii, ya, heard b4 tt malt will decrease milk supply. Heard someone mention b4 tt horlick has quite alot of malt, so have to avoid tt. Think milo has also, but not so much ba.. but it's quite weird also, cos in hospital, the nurses always make milo for us right... duno leh..

decimal point, misaryeo, haha. when i had my twins, i couldnt latch them on, so i fed them ebm. then i remember during my confinement some relatives came to visit. then they asked my MIL if i was breastfeeding. Then she told me im feedling the babies ebm. Then they asked y and my MIL said cos my nipples are inverted. Then there they were, discussing about my nipples for the next 10 min.

Lucida, think ur mum's just.. overly concerned. I guess she wants the best for you. Hope that you can tiao2 yang3 hao3 your body, and rest more, and mabbe she heard some stories regarding CLs, so she's afraid your CL would take advantage of you. But mabbe she doesnt realise tt she's bringing you so much stress. Hmmm... try to dont fang4 zai4 xin1 shang1 ba...it'll be over in 3 weeks' time. Then we'll be FREE! hahahahahah. Then i can drink coke, eat yogurt, eat mudpie, eat ice-cream, drink the ice lemon tea in the fridge tt i see everyday when i open the fridge to take out the ebm. And shop... Heard that Robinsons, OG and Metro has 20% off this weekend or smthing like tt. Sad case.

z-lia

ya loh..tot can drink milo...cos hosp everytime whole day milo too...so me drinks lots of milo nowe leh....

z-lia
My CL says must avoid some "liang" food and cold drinks for 2-3 months even confinement is over? Can eat meh?

Steph,
The portion is quite big. Fills up one big bowl.

Lucida, Misaryeo,
i totally understand what you are going through with the mums and mil situation. my first day home i kenna already. Immediately went into depression and cried every night for days. They just refuse to listen when we tell them we can't take certain foods, and that we who are TBFing have a different diet from their time. Keep pressing my CL to put liquor and herbs into my food. Super fed up! Wanted to take my boy and "elope".

Hi Z-Lia, Yup. Robinson has 20% and I went to the sale (now just eleven days into my confinement). Ha ha. Felt much better now.

Nearly bought the PIS advanced whcih cost only $519 after discount. But decided not to get it now - Robinson always have sales. In the end bought a Avent manaual pump. Wanted to be more confident about BF first before investing in a more expensive pump. I will need the Avent pump anyway cos' I can't be carrying the PIS back & forth office everyday. The Avent pump can be use at home. Got a friend who survive with Avent pump for one year after going back to work.

My husband been super supportive. Sayang me alot. At least I didn't marry the wrong husband. hee hee.. just that he's not very handsome nor rich - but well, most important is that he loves me. hee hee.. "rou ma" hor

mamypoko not bad...but MP newborn too small for my boy liao...now using S...but hor..that day hb bought drypers S size..aiyo..like newborn size..and not so gd..not very asborbent...

seldom online nowadays... my confinement period is over now (just celebrated one mth on saturday). And I've to start teaching at home today....and I feel so XIAN.....saw that you are all trying to get together to meet, i also want but i got to teach liow......

nowadays lots of mummies seldom online too...all bz with their new family member..hehehe...some still coping...haiz....at times...here bo lang leh

hi hi...how's everyone?

my bb just had his jab on friday...
then after the jab, he slept for 2 days! only wake up for feed.

but on sunday, he was awake 90% of his time! think becos he sleep enough liao!

Hi , for mummies that went thru epidural c section , for the first day , will be totally on drip and cant eat anything issit ?

white lady - i delivered via epi csec at abt 5pm. then was on drip till the next day morning.
then was given porriage at lunch to eat liao

best not to use flash at anytime... will spolit bb's eyes also. anyway, labour ward v bright one. dun need to use flash lah. :p

dsii,

I drink Horlicks or Milo every morning. OK for me so far. Actually, I find that the milk supply is most plentiful in the middle of the nite. So if you have the energy to pump, that would be good and it also stimulates supply. Dunno how much boy boy drinks when he's latching on. But if we bottlefeed him EBM, it would be abt 120ml. He's now 3 weeks+. Btw, during the bf demo in TMC, I vaguely recalled the lady saying that they add protein powder to their milo. Dunno if i hear wrongly...

Lucida/misaryeo/Jul04,

Sayang sayang. I think most of us go through similar things. I am also the stubborn kind who will rebel the more you coerce me to do something. The trick for me to stopping them from insisting on alcohol etc was to "educate" them that it will slow down the development of their grandson's brain. Immediately diam diam. Another thing, my mum / MIL also suffer from migraine / aches etc even though they follow so-called confinement practices in the past. Now what????

Jul04,
MP NB cost $17.80 but is available only at selected supermarkets. There is usually a MP promoter on weekends (1pm to 9pm)who is distributing leaftlet with 2 X $2 discount coupon.

Z-lia,

My MIL also asked my confinement lady to cook some chicken herbal soup for me. I noticed that for those 2 days, the milk supply went down by 1/3. Then told my CL to stop it.