(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

Hi lala,
Yes, I still feel pain in my abdominal once a while. Think it's normal cos our uterus is still contracting. I understand the pain is more noticeable for BFing mummies. Cos the uterus will contract faster.

Hi lala,
It's not a good idea to start doing crunches for lower abdominal now. But I read from book that we can start doin exercise for UPPER abdominal muscles.

Hi YB,
So the pain is bcoz uterus is contracting? For mummies who are expressing milk most of the time, the uterus will also contract as fast as mummies who direct feed?

Okie, then will do upper abdominal exercises 1st.

dsii, my flat at the other side, not the new flat.

OC,
my boy also gave me hard time last nite. refuse to sleep after pooing. struggle w him till 12++.

Jasline, my confinement shld end at 12 aug but i will end early. will follow the lunar calendar.

dsii,

mine will end on 14th. Can consider going to Globetrotters in United Square (Novena) cos it's quite bb friendly or if u all dun mind, maybe I can book the function room at my condo club house. Location (next to Bishan park, near "Guang Ming Shan" Temple) may be a little bit out of the way for those who don't drive...

hong
u lucky 12+ only, my bb cranky until 2+ leh. i realised she stopped crying when i brought her out to d bedroom to d kitchen to make milk, so d milk wasted cos she slept after few sips, like almost instantly! i gave in to her need for comfort sucking so having very sore nipples now

ya think end aug early sept good time cos all jul mummies would hv finish confinement liao

Lok
got nursing room in d club house or not?

OC
how do i manage?? i dunno leh..

me will wake up when bb wanna milk..if not my day starts at 715am..wake my #1 up..then pump BM..cos whole nite no pump..a bit pain pain...so must pump in morning..then dad will bring #1 to sch..me will wake #2 up..ard 8am..to sun him..then after 20mins...will put him on my bed..prepare his stuff...then shower time...then will leave him on bouncer..either he open his eyes big or sleep..then me sterilise the bottles...makan bfast.....at times will sleep with #2 loh...cos he sleep i oso sleep..but most of the time like now...chat here loh...my dad cooks mah...lunch and dinner...

so whole day pump milk...feed boy...scold #1...clean #2 poo...play wif him..tok to him...internet...watch tv...like that loh...

LOK
hehee...a bit out of the way..if i go from pasir ris..how ah??? anyway...we may hv it in sept..most mummies finish confinement liao..so how..maybe we decide the venue later loh...the Globetrotters....restaurant har??

steph
ya hor..u offered ur place for JP to cook hor?? hahahaha...got dog??? can lock inside the room or not??? hehehee...me very bad hor?

ya hor...u all prefer weekdays or weekends??? hehehe...

oc ..shld be ard sept loh...so more time to get prepared mah...

oc
me oso SAHM..but hor lazy to latch my boy leh...so 99% i pump out loh..cos like that i will know how much he drinks mah...there's one time i latch him at wee hrs..aiyo i fell asleep and almost fell off the bed with my bb..hahhaha...

dsii
then how abt after ur confinememnt? ur dad stays with u? my concern is i will be alone with bb at home whole day dunno can cope or not. btw u latch ur bb on already? i initially very hardworking will wake up in d middle of d nite to pump but now depends unless d pain buay tahan. if can latch bb on when she wakes up for her nite feeds then not so bad wont feel so engorged

OC, tough ah..
Every nite before i can really goes into deep sleep JU will fuss for his next feed. I can tong the 1st nite feed. 2nd nite feed i go blur blur liao. Luckily my mum will come in and help me to feed him and i can continue to sleep.

This luxury wun be long man. Was thinking how to take shift with hubby.

dsii
haha be careful ah, ya agree its a challenge to latch bb on sometimes but even if u feed her EBM from bottle also can fall asleep wat..haha

hong
ya agree, we must "dong" over this period once they are older wont need to feed so often liao. so now while my MIL still around i try to rest more in d day n go to bed early at nite. my hubby gotta work so i try not to touch him lor

Yah.. my place can cook but my place is old lah.. not the new houses... this hdb is around 20 yr old... so interior not v nice lah har.. heheh

My dog can.. can lock her in room.. that's what I intend to do when I celebrate baby's first month cause bo pian... she is in kitchen most of the time and I need the kitchen for guests to go washroom so gotto close her up.

oc
hehehe...me SHEN SUAN mah..

my dad stays with me but hor..he oso will stay at my sis's place..but i think i heard him mentioned he wanna go back china to stay for few mths... can cope lah...u oso can lah...relac relac...then can liao...

OC,
Infact, at times I can feel the pain when pumping milk, now okie liao ... when my baby latches, no pain ... funny leh.

Dsii,
me also cannot cook ... but can buy food for potluck

Hi dsii/hong/Jaslin/lala/OC, Thanks for giving me your feedback on the various pump you are using.

Hi lala,
Just to share the kind of exercise I'm doing. I just started my Malay massage this morning. The malay lady teach me two exercises, one is breath in and suck in tummy and vagina. the other is lay flat, hands spread open, bend legs with feed on floor and twist from side to side. Tomorrow she will teach me two more exercise. At the moment I'm doing kegel whenever I can remember as well. I had bought a video called pilates for post pregnancy but can only start those exercise at end of 4 weeks. I heard it's not good to do cruches now - not sure why. However my previous dance teacher did do crunches from day one and by day eight her stomach flat. But that's her, she's professional dancer so probably she knows the correct way. For me, I think I just go one step at a time. Now womb still "not in place" so better dun take risk.

Currently I fully breastfeed my baby. My baby have slight jaundice and urine is yellow. My MIL say must give some water. But the doctors say no need if on breastfeeding. Should I give water or not??

Hi lala, regarding the first exercise I mentioend above. During breath out release everything, tummy and vagina. The exercises do a few times per day can already.

Hi Lucida,
thanks for sharing. I also have the postpregnancy pilates DVD, maybe the same as yours. I started doing this morning. Officially me 4 weeks today after delivery.

Ok, will try the exercise you mentioned as well, hopefully will lose the extra pounds fast.

Lucida,

I think it's okie to give baby a bit of water...

When I brought baby for blood test, the nurse ask if I gave baby water... say its good to give no matter taking FM or BM cause if no water, blood will be very thick...

My baby initially had problems taking blood cause too thick... dries up very fast

Sandy,
u have intimacy with ur hubby liao? SO fast? Must rest 1st leh.

Initially u will fill the tight-ness, may be got to use lubricant cos u can be quite dry. After a few rd shld be ok.

Water - I am ok to give water to baby. Giving some water to wash the milk residue in the mouth. BB who took FM will get pretty heaty if not giving some water.

Infact, i think it is gd that bb drink some water at least milk them get used to it. if not later bb dun want water then u have big headache.

Hi Sandy,
Ouch!! Have u started being intimate wif ur hubby? Out uterus takes about 6 weeks to contract, and we're not allowed to have sex during this period. Also, the stitches are still healing.

~Uterus contract~
I dont feel it anymore. Anyway, my menses came yesterday so think uterus should be recover liao ba..

~Gathering~
Me okay with it but i will go back to workforce on 11/9 wow! Better before tat else i cant make it liao!

Sandy,
Yup! The 1st few times very pain but better wait after gynae review. Ur gynae will give u green light if everythings ok!

arrrr.... my poor BB.... got to go Mt A for Physiothreapy.... sad sad.... he got a lump on his left neck... doctor say most likely when he is born, and on his way out, somehow got twisted... furthermore he turn his head to the right when he sleep... now the muscle on the left tense up and cause the lump, now he cannot twist his head fully to the left... *sop* *sop*.... got to do physio..... in the worst case, must go operation..... arrrr.....

Hi Mummies, my confinement shld end on he 14 august..so anytime after this date shld be fine..
think with all of us staying all over the island, somewhere in the central is the best..easy for all of us..

I dun feel my tummy cramp already leh... hmm.. normal or not.. i already started to do crunches few days ago... i'm in my 2nd week of confinement.. :p abit early is it.. oh oh!

RT,ur bb poor thing...hope ur bb's conditions turns out fine...

Hi RT: your baby will be fine. He will be in good hands of the doctor. Will keep him in prayer.

Mummies, may I know when will the lochia end? Some said one month to 6 weeks...so long huh?

RT: Hope ur baby will be fine... I too will keep him in my prayers...

Blessings: Lochia depends on individual... some will stop at 3 weeks, other may extend till 6 weeks.

RT
stay positive k? must be strong for your bb

Lucida
think if u want your bb get better faster from jaundice, must let bb drink more fluids, sometimes no need too rigid as in TBF dun hv to drink water, that time d doc told me if really u dun wan to give water then gotta BF bb more often.

oh on i never engage massage lady, lazy to do crunches n dun hv any pilates DVD...cham im still 7kg heavier before i was preggy, this weekend 4 weeks after delivery already...but no mood to do anything leh cos confinement very torturing liao...sigh

RT,
dun worry. BB will be ok. Hope he dun need to go thru operation.

YB, Lucida,
Wah u mummies so on. Aiyo i am still fat fat leh. HOW!

Cham is i cannot fit into my pants. boo hoo

I gained 20kg....lost 10Kg still have another 10kg to lose....feel like few months pregnant...Hopefully, can lose all before I go back to work else cant fit into my clothings!!

I gained 12Kg. Lost 6kg and another 6 to lose. I'm more concern about the shape more than the weight. I think weight can be settle easily, but shape, dun know can wear back my office pants or not. It's my target to wear back my pants!!

Today had the Malay massage and just now suddenly bleed alot. CL says this is normal. Good to bleed more so can clear faster.

Hi to all mums here,

Wld like advise from mummies here with regards to confinement and breast feeding. Does anybody here have sore throat during confinement period and still breast feeding? And for those breastfeeding, do u take lots of ginger stuff?

hi sugar
yes think sore throat is bcos u are too heaty from eating all d confinement food, n ginger helps to get rid of wind from your body,both shld not interfere with BFing.

Hi OC,

I only started my confinement last fri leh..so how? shld stop taking the red dates drinks/sesame oil etc? Are u still doing your confinement now? Some pple mentioned that if the mother's body is heaty, the BM is also heaty for baby too..dun noe is it true

sugar
congrats to u on ur delivery
my confinemment ending this sunday.
hmm...cos i dun hv d heatiness prob so cant really answer u, maybe other mummies here can advise? but think dun hv to worry that BM will be heaty for bb, if its true then all mummies doin confinement will be feeding bb heaty BM liao...haha

OC,
wah this sunday! I cant wait for mine. I was thinking how to organise my ML liao. THinking to bring my daughter to library, zoo, bird park etc.

Why dun u go shopping and get a pant before the celebration?

I got excuses to leave home next thursday cos need to go and distribute cakes.

Lucida, think the massage lady "pushes" out the dirty blood for u.

Sugar, I had sore throat abt a week ago n juz recovered. Am tbf-ing my baby. I still take red dates water then. My massage lady advised me to drink abt 2-3 glasses of water a day. I drank only one. Then my mum cut down on the ginger and sesame oil for my meals. So far baby seems ok.

hong
wah..so fast plan liao ah? then ur bb how?? MIL taking care of him? so envy..me after confinement still need to take care my own boy..so dun think can bring my older boy out loh..unless weekends when hb ard bah...but still think with newborn quite difficult loh...haiz...

sugar
i didnt drink red dates water now...only my 2nd week of confinement.hehee..didnt follow confinement rules at all...pengz

me drink lots of milo and plain water..then food no ginger or sesame oil..hahhaa...cos bb initially got jaundice so didnt makan ginger ..dun wan to take any risk loh...cos BF him ...

Dsii,
Switch responsiblity lor. Ask MIL to look after Ju and i bring Jan out so two wun crash with each other. My daughter very ba dao now, dun allow MIL to carry baby.

I also need to spend more time with my daughter.

Hi RT,
I think last time my elder sis also got same prob as ur bb. Her head/neck got twisted while she was delivered. But last time dun have physitherapy. So her head was a bit tilted till Pri Sch. Then she went for an op to correct it. Now she's okay. So dun worry too much.

i m may mummy, trying to order similac formula milk for infant (0-6mths) 900g size for my keane.
Currently, i left with 1 tin, hope to get a bulk order as i have a lobang @$26 per tin.
Ordered before, batch expiry date is dec 2008 so far so good. Local packing. (Through friend's friend working inside).
Anyone interested? pls email me @ [email protected]
Self collection @ Sengkang or my friend's place @ bt panjang.
Prefer prepaid before i place the order for you, to prevent back out.