(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

Hong,YB
I found out my boy tend to vomit milk when he stretching his whole body. He will vomit out quite alot if he stretching his body after milk feed. How? he can do stretching even when we carry him one leh...aiyo! headache,..just now his merlion again..quite a lot.

Millie
Huh! Tat's mean after milk need to carry him upright for 20-30 minutes. Then chiam liao...he already wanna peoples keep carry him, if because of this keep carry him, want carry became his habit liao! hiazzzz!

Wah...BB is keeping me awake 24/7. He has been waking up & crying for milk or waking up coz he has pass motion or urinated alot. Then after feeding or changing, he will struggle and cry some more, so burp him lor then carry upright, still cry...then, merlion out....haiz!!! Dunno what's wrong! Then have to carry him and walk around to calm him down. Then he doze off and before you know it the circle starts again. Also tried to massage BB to release the wind...it worked at first but now...haiz, no longer....

From reading your posts, I see that some of you also experiencing the same issue. What's wrong ah? Is it BB's growth sprout? Me going gong-gong liao!!! BB kept us up all nite long...no sleep at all. Finally BB went to dreamland at 9am+

same same... sleep deprived.... my bb dun seem to have any routine. everyday is a differnt routine. yesterday i fed him 9 times!! i thought thgs start to get better at one month?? mine one month on Friday but no pattern!

JP,
ur boy having colic? Tummy hard hard and hollow sound?

Burping - i tried this, sometime works sometime dun. After patting a while, i will place Ju flat face up for 1 min then pat him again.

Another way is to face down but holding to him after that burp again else hold him upright and place on ur body, head on ur shoulder and pat.

NOIF,
stretching will vomit milk ah, meaning if he move too much after feeding will merlion lor? U wanna try those special milk powder and see if JJ condition is better?

MTDT,
nepia order contact is 62262650

hong, Ju is so adorable!
A handsome guy he is.
Is he a quiet bb?? Coz he look like 1 in the foto.

My lochia is still coming. Guess goto wait a week or so. Butt still kinda numb & uncomfy at times.

Laura, the CL wd wrap bb nicely when sleeping. After a while, somehow she juz "struggle loose", hands esp.

YB, i thot so too abt the "pulling feel".
U still on medication? Perhaps the food u avoiding now, u can take a little? Isit still leaking now? I am still putting cabbage nightly, bt kinda itchy at times.

I agree loh.. bt at times bb is crying very loudly & cant quiet down until she is fed. Ya, if too soon for milk, wd gv her water.

Lok, i thot pap smear to be done after our 1st menz came?
Hmm.. i din thot of the drip.. now u mentioned, perhaps so. I were on the drip, 2 of them on the left hand for ard 17hr. Somewhere near to my wrist got a bit of "blue black" oso, now better.
Ya.. kinda worried when this tingling came out of nowhere.

Re : Bb hair
R u all planning to cut bb's hair after the confinement? They said must cut so i thot make into the Scholar's Pen? Anyone doing this?

thanks hong...

burp - hong's mtd works...
lie bb down for a min, then pick bb up... usu will burp v fast like tat.

bb hair - i also considering doing the pen since i wan to shave his hair.

Hi NOIF,
I guess the only way is to burp him a lot in between his feed. U can't really control him stretching his body.
Normally, I'll tackle one prob at a time...Try to solve his vomitting 1st, then changing the habit of carrying him too often. Otherwise, it's quite overwhelming...

Hi NOIF,
Is ur boy drinking BM or FM? One sign of allergy to milk is vomitting. Mayb ur boy is allergic to the milk he's taking? Or u can bring him to c a doc to find out?

Hi Jazzy,
Dun dare to take the food now, cos scared later leak milk again. It's very troublesome to go all the way to Mt E to collect my medication, somemore it's not cheap. So I'll probably wait till next week then try lor. Yup, still leak a bit when I'm showering with warm water..sigh...

finally got chance to come online......no time to go through archives....but I think Dsii would have mentioned that I seh kia liao.

I have been really busy with my boy. He's got jaundice and we have been in and out of TMC for phototherapy. Finally got discharged today but his jaundice still at 9.2. Praying that it will go down. I am SOOOOO in need of sleep....

As for my birth story, here goes..

23 July

4am - Woke up with very mild cramps and couldn't go back to sleep. Tried to time it but it seems to be coming on and off. Thought maybe false alarm again.

6.30am - Decided to get up and watch tv. having cramps on and off still, like every 15mins.

8.00am - HB woke up. I told him I think today no need to go for church service liao. I think it's D day, but cramps still quite mild at every 10 to 15 mins apart. Decided to go shower and go for breakfast.

9.30am - Came back from breakfast and I discovered I got show. But cramps still mild. So HB decided to finish up some work before we go TMC to get it checked out. Called my parents and tell my mum no need to go marketing already. I not going home to eat dinner cos I may be going to "seh kia". haha...

11.20am - HB finally emailed out his stuff and we headed for TMC. I got sent to the delivery ward to get checked...VE was SUPER PAINFUL...somemore the nurse's fingers were short and she kept trying to dig further for my cervix - 0cm...CTG shows my contractions about 5 to 7mins apart. Not regular yet. Contractions still feel like mild cramps only...I thought maybe I got high threshold.

12pm - My gynae came and checked me. VE again...1cm. She decided that I should admit rather than to go home then may have to come back again in a few hours. When I am in pain, contractions 3 to 4mins apart and need epidural then go down to delivery ward. But if cervix not open by the next morning, she will induce. HB went to do admission.

1+pm - got sent up to the ward. and the waiting begins...HB and I just rested in the room. Watching tv and taking walks ard the ward. contractions were stronger, enough to make to stop what I was doing and wait for it to pass. Still 5 to 7 mins apart.

7.30pm - my parents came to visit. we were bored the whole time and said that we should have gone home earlier....contractions started getting stronger, had to breathe through them. Went to shower after they left.

8.30pm - Contractions were quite strong to the extent that I was shivering and HB had to help me with breathing and massage my back. But I want to hold out till I can't take it before asking for epidural. Scared it will run out...

9.45pm - Nurse came to check in on me. Asked to go down to delivery ward for epidural.

10pm - Pain till cannot walk, need wheelchair. Got VE again, this time the nurse had to pull the cervix down...More painful than the first time!!! told me 2.5 cm...sianz!!!! waited the whole day and only 1.5cm more!!! got shaved and enema. then went to delivery ward for epidural. ahhhhh......pain gone.....VE also no feeling...HB came to join me in room 5.

11+pm - epidural sets in and I got the shivers and my right leg was aching like mad. Can't sleep. keep tossing and turning with HB's help.

24 July

2+am - Finally fell asleep. HB slept too. In between, I thought my water broke. I told the nurse and she said that it wasn't and that it was show. In between, i vaguely remember nurses coming in and out to check temp, BP, VE, change pad, etc.

6.30am - Woke up. Nurse did VE and said that I was 8cm and started getting the room ready. Asked if my water broke and she said that it did in the middle of the night. Must be the earlier nurse blurr...when i said my water broke and she didn't believe me. Epidural just nice ran out.

7.30am - Midwife came and started me pushing. Don't feel a thing except some pressure at the anus area. Gynae also came to check in on me. Said I was fully dilated and doing well and went off to check on another patient, and was back in 5mins. When she came back, I got to pushing. I had to like do 3 to 4 pushes during 1 contraction....was out of breath every time. Could feel baby turning inside even when I was pushing and doc could see his head turning too. HB also saw it....active kid....Pushed some more, then his head was out....and before I knew it, my gynae plopped him down on my tummy....I didn't even feel anything!

8.18am - Baby Keagan was born. Weighs 3.35kg and measures 51cm.

Then he was sent to NICU immediately because they suspect that water got into his lungs. HB went with the nurse while I got sewn and cleaned up.

Keagan was in NICU for 2 days, before we got him. Then we had to extend another day because he need phototherapy for jaundice. Went home for 3 days and we had to send him in for therapy again. This time for 2 days.

So my past week has been very very eventful. Tired out....

I gotto go now. Feeding time...will post pictures when i have time.

YB, ya.. its expensive.
Perhaps u mite wanna juz clean wif a warm towel instead of shower? At least wun stimulate them too much.

Jul04, Congrates!

hi jul04, it seems like ur epidural dosage was quite high? my friend's seems to be out of effect after 4 hrs or so. she delivered at kkh.

MTDT,
ur bb has vry nice eyes leh.

Jazzy,
I still dun know if he is shi wen but better than my daughter. hahaha..

Hong, YB
But even breastmilk JJ also vomited out so i dont think it is because of the milk powder.

Anyway, just now bought him for his hep B injection. He is 4.785Kg now.

Doctor said he is growing well.

Told him about my boy vomited out milk. He told me to make sure burp him few times between the feed. Then dont let him lay down so fast after the feed. If he sleep, let him sleep at right side. When feed him milk with milk bottle, make sure hold the milk bottle upright which mean all the milk go to the teat, dont leave any spacing else will catch the wind to baby stomach...

NOIF,
JJ really grow very well gain more than 1 kg.
U follow doc instruction and see if his condition improves.

Jul,

Jazzy,
scholar pen - we didnt do for my girl so dun think will do for my boy. If one will ask why she doesnt has it.

hi NOIF, when u said let bb sleep @ right side... meaning head face right?

hong... i was the one lah re the J&J bb oil in the bath. good hor? hehe... my girl also not peeling liao
btw... where u intend to bring ur bb to shave hair? me scared cuz their scalp still so delicate

also... my girl doesn't wanna sleep after feed. sometimes suspect she dun hv enough but yet scared i overfeed her. how???

Here's my labour story - will be a short one

=======
4:30pm at gynae for checkup. Gynae did VE and put me on CTG. While waiting for his assitance to attend me, went to toilet and discover slight blood. Starts to have menstruation kind of pain with a feeling that I need to poo. Gynae told me go home and rest. If after 2 hours still have the pain to call him. Prepare to be admitted to hospital tonight.

7pm: Watching my favourite tv series. STill have menstruation kinda pain and called gynae. Gynae told me to admit to hospital at around 10pm. Was still wondering if it's false labour..

10:15pm: Reach TMC. Go into room first cos' nurse says first time labour usually very long. Was given a one bedder on the 6th floor and was not very pleased cos' those at the lower flrs were newer. So asked to checked if any vacancy however all occupied. By then nearing 11pm already. Rest on the bed and contractions starts to get abit more frequent 5mins per contraction. Ask for nurse but nurse say usually first time labour is long so it's better to stay in the room then go to labour ward.

11:30 - Contractions getting longer. Asked hubby to rub my back cos' in pain. VEry tempted to asked for some pain relieve. Asked for nurse and nurse give same reply - usually first time very long labour. So I tried to tahan.

Approx. midnight - Contractions 2mins interval. ASked for nurse. Nurse CTG checked and give same reply...

about 5 mins pas midnight (250706) - Asked for nurse again. VEry strong urge to push. Nurse checked and mumbled the same reply again but since i have the urge to push might as well go to the labour warb. By then I'm regretting getting pregnant.

Reach labour warb. One lady came in and checked. 8cm dilated!! Nurse in labour ward commented so fast! Quickly pass me the laughing gas. Remembered that I puff 4 or 5 puff and they asked me to turn over. My gynae came in and then I heard someone commented that my water bag burst, think I saw someone kanna splash by the water.. Gynae instruct me at the next pain to push as though I have not poo for 100 days. the next thing, my baby pops. All these within 40 mins. Gynae commented I can have another 10 babies as I really had a very fast labour.

Here's my baby at 1 week old.
478232.jpg

NOIF... sounds challenging. bb can sleep sideway on their own? or u use pillow to support them?

okie... but for breastmilk, u mean they'll burp out loud like when we burp them after giving them formula milk? or do we just burp them for a while?

re milk intake... my girl is now 3 wks. how much shld she be getting each feed? and on avge... how long shld bb be sleeping in between feeds?

if let say my bb 'merlion' out a lot of milk (BM) but yet she still seems to want to be fed shld i still feed her or not? i scared she is not really hungry but just want to suck something

halo mummies..think now all so bz with bb..so most of us only pop in to say hello..hehhe

yesterday my laptop down..didnt online for whole day..and i really had a gd rest..no laptop means got rest...slept from 10am to 11plus..then afternoon ard 2 plus to 5..hahaha...

jul04
finally log in to forum liao..but think u will pop in and out loh..

JP
hahhaa...chubby cheeks..u wanna kiss?? most ppl wanna pinch leh..u so kind to ian..hahahaha
u bz ah?? got time to make any homemade food? remember hor..gathering then u must make chee cheong fun ah..geberra wanna try leh..me too...me want mushroom and prawns filling..hahaha

mummies..we shld hv a gathering once all of us finish our confinement...hehe..shld be real fun...JP suggested potluck..me hor..dunno how to cook..so JP said i can bring fruits..hehehe...healthy hor???

My bb is on total breastmilk, I still burp him after every feed, at times he does burp with lot sound! He may have taken some air during his 1st few mouth. I think burping process allow any air that inside the bb to come out, then bb will feel so much comfortable after that.

The electric sarong can be in Kiddy Palace, esp the big branch at Toa Payoh.

dsiitan, gathering sounds fun! potluck dun need to cook one mah.. can just buy right? ahhaaa but gather before i go back to work, if not very hard to find chance liao...

dsii, gathering sound fun to me too. My confinement will be done by mid of 3rd week of August. How about the rest?

Btw, just want to gather opinion. Of these 3 pumps which one would you recommend:
1) Ameda Lactaline Pump
2) Medela double pump (not PIS)
3) Avent Duo pump
FRom Fri to Sun there will be sale in Robinson for members. So I hope to get a pump during that period.

misaryeo, lucida
ya loh..gathering must be damn fun..especially most of us never meet b4..hahaha..me only saw JUL04 once..hehe...aiyo...like XIANG QING hor??? so nervous and excited...can buy lah..but JP sure cook wahaha..cos we wanna try her homemade stuff..she hor gd cook leh...thats y her hb loves her soooooo much!!! *wink wink*

my confinement will end at 19th...so how abt the rest?

misaryeo, when u going back to work? 3 months maternity leave rite?

how abt sept? the rest mummies can make it? where u all prefer to hold the gathering? at someone's place? JP, paranoid and my place out..cos we all staying with either PIL or parents..how abt the rest? willing to let out ur place for us to havoc..???

fruitee, paranoid
aiyo..when can we hv our kopi session??? from havent pop till now pop liao..hahaha...no kopi session yet....

dsiitan,
my confinement ending on 12th. Waiting for the day...but scare that cannot handle my baby.

lucida, I don't know about the 3 of them, but I am using Avent Uno (single pump).

hong
u staying which block? that time b4 pop i went to old airport hawker...u ever mentioned u stayed beside it..issit block 49..opp the carpark? that one like quite new flat leh....

jasline

wah..u are free then..hehehe..me hope my confinement will end soon...

now u dun handle ur bb? but dun worry lah..sure cna one lah....shu neng shen qiao mah...

dsiitan, now my confinement lady will bathe and take care of baby most of the time. Don't know why, when she carries him, he don't cry, when I carry him, he cries. Then I panick when he cries, don't know can handle him or not. By then, I think I very busy liow. Now breastfeeding already kept me very busy for the whole day, no time to bathe and go toilet.

Hi Lucida,
I am using the PIS, very good ... I have tried Avent ISIS Duo in TMC Parentcraft, equally good as PIS. Not tried Ameda b4, cannot compare.

been busy attending to my baby and observing how my CL takes care of baby so havent been online for a while.

I am using Avent single electric pump. Ok lah, not too bad. I think my MS is running low now that my boy can drink quite abit. Is there ways to increase the MS?

zita
wah your bb still can finish 1 whole bottle after merlion ah? last nite my gal refuse to sleep until 2+am! i latch her on for 45mins she still not enuf, so i gave her 60ml FM still not enuf, dun wan water. after struggling with her for 2 hrs plus she finally fell asleep only after i went to make another bottle of FM for her n she only took a few sips!

wah if we have gathering with d babies sure chaos!

Hi blessings,
I heard that drinking papaya with fish soup is good to promote milk flow. Try taking more fish in ur diet. They contains lots of proteins.

do you still feel pain in your abdominal for those who have natural delivery? I still feel slight pain, don't know is it normal.

Lucida
me also using Avent manual pump cos me SAHM so will latch on bb most of d time. if u wish to pump in your workplace, same as lala my fren also recommend PIS if u considering medela.d medela normal dual pump not for too frequent usage, d engine will 'kong' out or something

dsii
how u gonna manage without maid huh? i only 1 bb but a bit stress liao, then always buy food from outside ah?

Hi OC,
I see, so, it is normal. Wonder can I start doing crunches now??

Regarding gathering - think Sept is a good time, at least for all mummies to settle down with their babies and new lives