(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

dsiitan, my bb's belly button was abit wet and has of blood when his cord drop.. not to worry.. cos it'll dry up after a few days.. but u still hav to keep the area dry...

476205.jpg

my son, elliot chin

dsii,
not really raw but got bleeding but stop already.

Misaryeo,
same as my MIL lah.. carry n carry. Althot 2nd grandchild still never learn her lesson. Bo chap her, she wants let her carry lor since she will be caregiver.

For me after feed, i cant wait to put my baby down n sleep so i can do my things. This mummy so bad hor.

Missmoon,
I'm ok but got to wake up 2x at nite to feed baby. Feel like just doze off and baby cried and time for his next feed.

I think ur boy is just normal rashes will go away. That day my boy got 4 little pimples on his face, i didnt do anything and a week later they seem to go off.

thks missmoon, hong misaryeo

ya.. me still clean the area with spirit n cord powder...will monitor for few days..hehee

blessings, PD gave me cream to apply 2x daily.

hong, my 1st 2 wks, i was able to wake up n feed but now hor, i try to wake up to feed but cannot make it, luckily hv my mum ard to help.

my boy now wants to b carried to sleep. how man?

hong, u may wanna try the AKK from alexandra village.. its nice. Mite be a bit far for u since u stay @old airport rd.

missmoon, my bb likes to be carried to sleep too. CL said sometimes nid as long as 30mins b4 can put onto her cot. If swaddle her, after a while she still "finds her way out" too. Ha..

hong & misaryeo, my MIL oso likes 2 carry bb. Tat day she came esp to carry her.. bt bb sleeping so din. My bb likes to be carry oso.. when sleeping a while, she wakes up & cry, wanna be carried.
When CL goes off, i wd go my mum's place & stay, coz hb wd be overseas after the 1st mth.

Rash & "pimple like":-
My bb having this oso.. rash on her body & face is those "pimple like" dots. Plus her skin qte dry, PD said coz she is a "term bb".

misaryeo, hong
my mil also like to carry baby. just so fed up. baby refusing to sleep after afternoon feed. but i know his cry is that kind want you to give him attention kind, not hungry or uncomfortable. so i don;t wan to carry him, but put him on the bed and play with him. but not very successful. so i want to try to on music to calm him down. just as i walk towards the cd player, mil scoop my son away and out of the room to put up her witch show. she was eyeing the baby the whole time i was playing with him. i mean, i am playing with my son ok? what's the meaning of this?
so i bo chap and come online do my own thgs.

jazzy, wat does a term bb means?

oh no looks like our bb loves to be carried.. i read from babycenter.com.. they say its ok to be carried. Here's wat the article:

Babies need a lot of cuddling. They like to see their parents' faces, hear their voices, listen to their hearts, and can even detect their unique smell (especially Mom's milk). After being fed, burped, and changed, many babies simply want to be held. You may wonder if you'll "spoil" your child by holding her so much, but during the first few months of life there's no such thing. Infants will vary a lot in how much they want to be held. Some demand a lot of attention, while others can spend long periods of time sitting calmly by themselves. If your baby likes the attention, pick her up or keep her next to you.

Hope this will help...

misaryeo,
i m not upset that she carried the baby, i am upset that she scooped my baby away while i was playing with him.
like u were talking to someone, then another person just interupt

I'm back!!! lol...

Popped on 27th Jul. Supposed to be induced on 26th night but end up when I went there at 9pm, I was already having contractions and 4cm dilated.. hahahah

Baby's name is Josiah Elisiah Anandha, hahah. couldn't decide which one so end up writing both on BC.. hehehe. Anandha is Daddy's name...

Birth story pretty chop chop...

9pm reached KK Delivery Suite to prepare for admission and do the necessary paper work for induction.
Strapped on to CTG in Induction Room 3 while hub go do admission.
Having slight contractions since 4pm after the Vaginal Swap doc did in the morning checkup but since it was very mild, I simply ignored it.. heheh

10:15pm, nurse did VE after seeing CTG graph and say that I'm already 4cm dilated and don't need to induce already. So I went (walked) to the delivery Room 16 which is nearby.

11:30pm: Requested for Epidural and informed them about my Scoliosis condition. Doc came to put me on drip and break water bag... Pain getting more and more intense. Breathed the "laughing" gas while doc tried to administer drip. Anaesthetist came and tried to locate my spine down my back.. ask me to sit up and put my feet on the chair then bend forward.
Kept breathing in the gas, finally she found the right place to insert the needle. After epidural, could still feel the pain on my left side but still bearable.

12:45: Informed nurse that I have the feeling to push. Nurse and mid wife encourage me to push...
Adter several pushes, Baby Josiah arrived in this world at 1plus am @ 3.19kg.

Hi Stephanie,

I am a Aug MTB and also having scoliosis problem. I am still wondering if i could use epi during delivery. May i know how bad is your scoliosis? Do you have operation before for this? Is it dangerous to administer epi for our cases? Thanks for advise.

Mummies, so many of us that i dun know who is having boy or girl sometime.

Jazzy,
oh i tried the AKK before. OK lah but parking is very inconvenient so i think i will settle for Everton park.

Dec, misaryeo,
bb wanted to be carried. Same same.. not that it is no gd but stime when we are alone and busy with other stuffs and bb crying to be carried, like very bo eng.

Jazzy,
I placed my boy to sleep on the tummy so he wun get startled by his own hand and sleep better.

decimal point.. i guess we just hav to look at the brighter side.. every mil is like so happy that they hav a new grandson/daughter... always can;t wait to play and carry them... no choice... maybe she thot u hav done wif playing wif ur bb...

stephanie, congrat! ur delivery very short and sweet.. so envy!

hong, i agree wif u.. like no time to do other things like that.. i guess no choice de...

Misaryeo,
My baby everyday will wake up 2 times which is morning 8 plus (Waiting me bath him) and evening 6 or 7 plus.

Everytime wake up he will be alert 2-3 hours. During this few hours he keep want to be carry and want drink milk..so sian..

Guess all MIL also like carry their grandson la. MY MIL too! Heard my boy cry a bit will faster carry him if she saw me busy..

Anyway, now i appreciate she help me carry my boy cos me really cannot tahan carry him for few hours and need to walk here and there, my legs so "Suan"...

My baby hor.. very difficult leh... His timing upside down one....

He wakes up every hour at night to drink milk one leh.. I BF and FM cause he is a big drinker...

Yipee,
For me, I never have op. Had Scoliosis since primary school... Ever was refered to Alexandra Hospital for physiotheraphy but never went..

Anaesthetist took quite a long time to find my spine.. also bcos I'm obesed so cannot see my spine.. if u skinny should be easier to see ur spine...

Best to consult ur gynae.

After taking both breast, he will still take 30 FM... think I not enough milk for him...

But day time hor, he can sleep for 3 hours after milk one leh.. haiyo...

Me now like Zombie...

NOIF,
if u always carry JJ and walk ard then he will certain expectation when pple carry him. I carry my boy but i sit down. My BIL will carry him and try to rock him. I warn him, if JU get use to it then he have to come over everyday to carry him.

misaryeo,
yah lor.. very bo eng right!

congrats Steph!
your bb's name very unique

misaryeo
u managed to capture your bb smiling so happily, very cute! so u really not doin 1st mth celebration ah? initially my edd 27 jul so also thot will hit d chinese 7th mth but bb came out earlier

me having very sore nipples now

Hi Jazzy,
Yes, other than the pulling sensation, there's a tugging feeling at the groin area too...
I also feel some giddiness on & off sometimes..

OC, very lucky.. that was his first smile... and so wide a smile lor..ahahahaa

yah lor not doing b first'smonth cos the first month falls on 7th mth mah.. not i give birth on 7th month leh.. we'll just shave his head and pray at home...

Yb, giddiness?? think u better rest more.. and have u been eating multi vitamins? u better check wif ur gynae... u shld be getting better each day by now...

misaryeo, i not sure leh.. coz i heard the PD say it. Guess it sd meant 40wks bb.

hong, i oso placed bb on my tummy.. thot its more comfy for her.. like still in mummy's tummy like tat. Hee..
Agreed tat AV parking very mafan.. go off during peak hr takes a long time.

YB, wonder how long this sensation wd go away, kinda uncomfy. Isit coz of the med tat's y we felt this "pulling"?
R u better already, ur giddiness?

Re : Lochia
May i know how long b4 wd it be brownish? This is the 11th day since delivery, mine is still darkish red w some tissues at times. Is this ok?

Re: Tingling feel in hand
Any of u expereinced tingling "needles & pins" in ur hand? I did when i lie down at nite & when wake up in the morning for a few min. Isit coz i touched cold water??

jazzy,

I do have some tingling feel in my hands. Had it towards the end of 3rd trimester and it never went away after delivery. Especially after an afternoon nap or night sleep, then my 4th finger become very "chi dun" and a bit numb. Since it was there before delivery, I didn't think it was becos of touching water.....

Hi all mummies

I got a question. My boy now 3 weeks old. I gave him partial breast milk and formulae. When he takes formulae each time is 3 1/2 oz and last him 2 hour. When i gave him breastmilk, i normally express out and gave him 3 1/2 oz each time. But if on breastmilk every one hourly he will want another feed. Is it too much he drinking?

Jazzy, yup a bit numb. When I go back for the pap smear, will ask gynae abt it. When I was still pregnant, I told her abt my fingers, she said it's due to water retention.

Gwen,
I find that FM is more filling/diff to digest for baby, thus baby will sleep longer. My girl also 3.5wks taking 3.5oz of bm, which will last her about 2.5hrs but the same amount for FM lasts for 3.25hrs.

Hi misaryeo,
Actually I'm very naughty..I only feel giddy when I went out jalan jalan for too long...when I'm at home, I dun feel unwell.

Hi jazzy,
I really dunno how long this sensation will lasts. I read from a book tat says our uterus will take about 6wks to contract to original size. Mayb the sensation will lasts till then...
Anyway, my nurse says this is normal, esp. when we taking the medication.

My giddiness only happens when I'm out jalan jalan for too long...At home, I feel okay.

Lochia,
Will also increase cos we taking medication. I'm now at the 3rd wk & the discharge is now turning brown, although still got dark tissue on & off...

Tingling feel in hand,
Yes, I also have tis feeling esp. when I'm sleeping. In fact during my last trimester, I also have tis feeling..Think it's because we pressed on our hands during sleep.

any idea what should I take to reduce water retention? Realise that my palms & fingers are still quite swollen

YB, hahaa then maybe is body haven;t recover lah.. cannot go out walk too much! hahaa

lala.. this is wat i heard too abt formula and breastmilk.. but my boy sometimes after drinking abt 90ml of breastmilk, he can sleep for abt 3 to 4 hrs leh.. last night after his feed at 10pm.. his next feed was at 3am! shocking!!!

Hi misaryeo..
I know I very naughty lah...but I mostly go out over the weekends & not more than 2hrs. Cos dun feel comfy leaving bb with nanny for too long cos nanny a bit hard of hearing...scared if bb cry, she cannot hear.

BM - i also realised cant last my boy very long sometime 1.5hr later he will open his mouth very big and looking for think to suckle.

Dun know is my boy taking more he seem to take milk at shorter interval but he cant take more each time.

BM - i also realised cant last my boy very long sometime 1.5hr later he will open his mouth very big and looking for think to suckle.

Dun know is my boy taking more he seem to take milk at shorter interval but he cant take more each time.

white lady
i gave birth via c-section with epidural...quite an experience it was!

hong, my boy's feeding pattern quite erratic. he can take 110ml BM or 90ml formula (thickened version for reflux bbs) at one go and sometimes dun feed till 5 hours later. at other times, he can wake up within 1.5 hours wanting more! and he poos during feeds, can see him exerting, so poor thing.

last visit to PD, he asked if bb smiling yet!! errr...i thought bbs dun smile till 6 or 8 wks later! sometimes my boy will "smile" but dunno if it's just letting out air, as the bb book suggests!

Hi missmoon,
My gal same as ur boy. Her feeding pattern is erratic. So I'm taking her cue to feed lor...

My gal at 2wks plus can smile already leh...

hi YB
long time no "see" liao. there's this book hor, cannot remember title liao, said something abt having a routine so bb can be contented, dun encourage demand feeding ley. i also, he cry, hungry, i feed. cannot tahan.

huh, really ah! when she asleep issit? PD said bbs can smile in response to ur voice @ 6 to 8 wks wor.

Hi missmoon,
The book tat I read says routine means feeding, sleeping, bathing at roughly the same time everyday. But sometimes, bb dun wanna sleep or she's hungry & wanna drink more, we also can't help it leh...

My gal smile sometimes in her sleep & sometimes when I talk to her or touch her cheek.