(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

tday my baby almost drove me crazy with his feeding. he is feeding quite erratically, can be 2hrs, 1.5hrs, even 45 min. he will drink, sleep for a while, wake up and refuse to sleep unless fed. and i dunno how much he wants to drink, can be 100ml, 70ml, 40ml. wasted so much milk. n he can feed and fuss for so long that it goes into his next feed. how????
he is coming to 4 weeks this friday, i dunno y he is feeding 8 times a day still.
anyone babies also like that?

Hi YB,
same same, my girl also loves to smile in her sleep, sometimes chuckles ... must be dreaming of milk; plenty of milk ... kekekeke Didn't manage to capture her smiles coz not in time to get the camera.

feeding - yes yes my boy also in the same erratic stage.

Stime can be so cranky cos he doesnt get his beauty nap well will fuss n fuss but just refused to doze back. keep open his mouth, we feed him water but after a while will open his mouth again.. My mum and me cannot tahan go and make some more FM to feed him. After that sleep so well...

Look like he must get his tummy really full then can sleep well.

Hong,
Haiyo! Not i want to carry my boy walk here and there. He is the one dont let me sit down and make me walk here and there..then he will guai guai keep quiet and look around...hiazzzzz!

Feeding..same same..my boy when wake up few hours also want to drink milk every hour..luckily can latch him on else dont know need to feed how much formula milk...

And the bad things is he keep drink milk and will vomit out the milk..worry overfeed him..

Missmoon,
smile~ Yup! My boy can smile when we talk and play with him!

This is the pics he smile when he is 2 weeks old! heehee!
477391.jpg

Took at 3 Weeks plus
477392.jpg

NOIF,
yah lor! last few days he vomit out milk. really vomit, not spit(tu nai). i always read babies know when they are full, i wonder so now?

Hi lala, have you been drinking plain water? I was told by my CL not to drink too much water, a little bit ok. Reason that you might get swollen if drink water. Just drink red dates tea, milo, etc..

Hi deci, I share your dilemma. A friend has been telling me to put baby on schedule - she has been doing that and she gathered the tecchnique from a book, needs to train baby. However, when I consult my CL she says baby still so small, it's best to feed on demand. Dun know leh.. should I feed on demand or schedule the feeding..

Lucida,
i m not so keen on feeding on schedule, also i dun think i can bear letting him wail his lungs out for an hr. he fuss for 15min i already give in, i dunnno how i can manage to let him cry for an hr. sometimes he dun cry, he scream. ur baby every cry until like that?

Hi dp,
Did u check if your bb has wind? He maybe feeling uncomfortable due to that. Try rubbing some Ru Yi Oil in your palms and press lightly on his tummy n back, then swaddle him for a while. It worked for my bb when CL did that. Bb farted and the wind was released.

NOIF, decimal point,
i also worry of overfeeding but bb wont go to sleep n will keep opening her mouth to look for my breasts, in d end i let her suck, then she will spit out milk also after that. think my nipples become like a pacifier liao, suck for comfort oni...how ah?

Hi deci, I have been feedign baby on demand cos once baby cry my CL will carry him to me for feedign. The main problem I faced is that sometimes he sleep for like 4 hours and my breast will starts to get engorge by 2 hours time. So end up I got to express out milk. At the moment I have this pigeon pump pass to me by my sis. The pump is not very good so will be getting a better pump (which I dun knwo which brand - considering Medala or Avent Duo (but Avent Duo to expensive so most probably Medela dual pump- not the PIS series tho). Tried the Medela mini-Electric in hospital and hate the sound. VEry noisy and quite harsh on my breast too even on minimum mode.

Hi YB, ya.. guess it's better to feed on demand first. hopefully he will build a routine later.. At the moment I have been recording all the feeding and pooing time.

Hello PM,

Sorry to sidetrack a little...
I already engage Mdm Rokiah for massage after delivery...
can u share why your experience with her is not good?

Lucida,
why dun u conside Ameda dual pump.
Can control the suction and cycle, i find it quite gd. It release my lumpy area pretty fast.

Smiling - my boy only smile in his sleep. May be having some nice dream.

Setting a schedule - i dun have the heart to set the schedule this early stage. My experience with my 1st kid is - no schedule for the 1st 2 months. We slowly catch her pattern and slowly introduce schedule to her.

Like we will feed her after morning bath, after that she will nap. after nap she will play a while then afternoon nap again. Sleep ard 9- 10pm at nite.

She will have her two naps when she was an infant then slowly to 1 nap a day when she near to 1 yr. Till now she will have 1 nap a day n the nap last abt 2-3hrs.

For infant, beside the 2 - 3hrly feeding shld be sleep sleep sleep. Cos a gd sleep = healthy and happy baby. We would see it now but we will see it later on. Baby will have better temper.

NOIF,
JJ got reflux har, that time dun know we thot we overfeed Jan and i also thot spit a bit of milk bb will grow fast and big right. hahaha.. old myth lah.

Ju never spit milk but he leftover milk. BTW, u feeding JJ Mamil gold or Dumex Mamil? What is the diff? U find the milk powder got alot of bubbles or not.

dsiitan ,

ur baby really very cute , got his photo of whole body anot , guess his little arms n legs must be very chubby too ya !

lok, when must do the pap smear?
Juz have this numb tingling feeling in my hands this week.

hello YB, thanks for the advice. Am wondering isit we taking the med so we can feel this "pulling" whereas the rest cant?
Coz the lochia flow erratic so a bit worried.
U outa rest more. Can u take iron pills? Perhaps it mite help.

missmoon, my bb gal smiles when she is a few days old during her sleep or when we talk to her.

Feeding:-
Whenever bb cries, CL wd say she wants milk.. at times its like less than 3hr from the last feeding. If always feed, wun we be "over-feeding" her??

Re: fidgeting in sleep
Does ur bb fidget a lot when sleeping?

Hong,
Sorry! Wat mean reflux har?

Last time Ally also vomited out milk after her feed. Sometimes 1-2 hours later still will spit a bit milk. Dont know JJ stomach izzit same as her sister?

But JJ really vomited out milk, not spit a bit of milk only. Quite a lot leh! At first i tot is the formula milk not suitable for him. But even breastmilk he still vomit out after the feed. So should be his stomach problem liao!

JJ on Dumex mamex gold. It's infant formula, from birth till 12 months old.

Mamil gold or Dumex mamil is the same right? Think it's for 1 years and above right? No idea..

Yup! Got a lot bubbles. Think similac and nan also got lot bubbles leh.

noif, my bb also like that. PD said he's got reflux. i changed his formula to a thicker one n feed lesser but more frequent, it helps. oh, n hold him upright for longer period b4 putting him down. burp more often during feeds help too.

NOIF,
reflux - more like the baby stomach cannot hold the milk down. If merlion u mus take note leh. Last time Janelle is spitting a bit of milk but not merlion.

I think Ju n JJ is taking the same FM. I know similac got alot of bubbles but i find NAN HA ok not as many bubbles as Mamil Gold.

U let JJ sleep on tummy right. Does he still prefer to sleep face up? We try to place Ju in sarong and i realise he like to sleep even face down in sarong but I placed him sleep sideway so he dun get wake up or startled easily.

Jazzy,
Yes my boy fidget alot and end up waking himself up. Now i place him to sleep on tummy and he can sleep till the next feed.

Lochia - mine is almost stopping just some discharge.

dsii,
ur boy really big leh.

I dint manage to capture his smile.
477492.jpg

jazzy,
Re: fidgeting in sleep
I wrap my baby like wrapping a popiah, in this way, when he fidgets in sleep, he will not be startled by his own movement. He likes to be wrapped up too! Hope that helps.

My gal use to keep wanting milk every 30min or 1 hr when she is awake,..use to feed on demand if too full she vomit out whole bottle of milk..even thr. nose...so stressful! qty oso hard to control.

Now i feed her on schedule..at least gap of 2hr, so if she cry we will try to carry, play or pat her to sleep...to length the feeding time... now getting better at least she drink more n never vomit liao...

Nite feed is 3 to 4 hr gap n she drinking 90ml at each feeding.

Noif...same me also need to carry n pat to sleep, she dont let me sit so keep walking around the hse : ( ... me alone takecare so tiring ya...

Btw how often yr bb poo poo? my gal poo every alternate day, poo use to be soft n watery like beancurd...yesterday her poo is in soild n dry form leh...should i bring to c PD?

N do yr bb try veri hard to fart? n fart veri often? izit norm or lots of wind?

dsiitan...so chubby feel like hugging him...
Hong, so cute..so much hair? any intention to cut botak?

Anyone not cutting the hair? my gal 5wks liao, still tinking whether wan to cut botak anot....
Btw after full mth still can cut hair anot or need to wait till 100days?

Zita,
Me will bring my boy cut botak after the full month celebration. Dont know about 100 days or 4 months thingy. Anyway, i dont care la!

Hong,
If merlion what should i take note ah? At times he will merlion leh!

Yup! JJ sleep on tummy during daytime. At nite still sleep face up or sideway. But sometimes at nite he startled i will let him sleep on tummy. Anyway, these few days he dont really like sleep on tummy, will trying to flip back. At times will vomit out when he trying to flip back. hiazzzzz!

These 2 days the nepia diaper tat he wear leaked leh! My mattress kena ...

Tis afternoon will bring jj for his jab. Need to check his jaundice level whether clear or not too! So poor things..need to poke 2 times..

Zita,
My boy poo 1-2 times a day. He fart a lot too! I used ru yi oil rub on his stomach and feed a bit gripe water.

Anyone menses came liao? My "Da yi ma" visit me this morning. So suprise so early come liao! My confinement just over on monday leh!

Laura,
born at the weight of 3.3kg dun know how heavy now. i think shld hit abt 4kg.

U shld look at dsii baby, hers is really call chubby.

Zita,
will cut my boy hair into botak cos his hair is getting very long. Long side burn also.

Personally i find cutting botak better, the baby will grow thicker and darker hair after that.

YB,
I kept forgetting to tell u this. How is ur girl skin, still got peeling? I read some one posted using the J&J baby oil into the bathwater. Really very effective, even my mum said was very gd way cos Ju skin is very silky and soft and the peeling effect gone.

We dun even have to apply moisturer on him.

Skyblue,
my mum said look like Janelle but i dun know how to see. Lousy mommy, we find Ju face is oval but Jan is very round, Ju has more define chin.

NOIF,
if merlion too often better to take note. May be u ask doctor when u bring JJ for jab?

How often u change the diaper? I like nepia, we feel softer than Pamper. I change Ju's diaper every time before his feed.

Ur mense came so fast, i thot u still breastfeeding leh. Have u done ur pap smear?

any idea why must buy AKK during the 1 mth celebration. Is it only if you having boy than must get? My IL say must get Ang Ki(the pointed,type) no idea...also, anyone has the Upper Thomson shop's contact? I desperate liow.This Sat is the one mth and i haven't order yet.
What abt glutinous rice? Anyone know the significance? I was also asked to prepare pig trotters with black vinegar for the occasion too, anything special abt that.....? Sorry ,so many questions..

Hong, your bb soooo cute!!!
diss, Ian toO!!
Why i haven't post mine.. mine all too big and i'm quite stupid, don't know how to reduce the size...

Hong,
ok! will check with my doctor then.

Change the diapers within 2-3 hours after his feed lo! He wake up will want milk so not possible change before feed, he will scream till very badly....

Me not consider total bf. Think tat's y menses will came so fast ba..anyway, i got intention stop bf another 2 weeks times. Left 1 months do my own things before go back to workforce..

Kin,
Can order mum's kitchen buffet if u celebrate baby full month. Their got baby full month buffet which included the red eggs, akk and glutinous rice. But the services not really good lo! Maybe see ur luck also ba...

Me no idea about pig trotters...

Kin,
for AKK, boy is pointer, girl is the normal flat one. Not sure abt the glutinous rice but I am not getting that.

Noif,
so u using which brand of diaper now?

hong,
why is there a difference? My MIL insist must get pointed one...AIyoh, got headache liow. I think I will check with the shop instead.

re: reflux
my bb also merlion a few times but now better. just ensure bb is held upright for a longer time before putting down to cot. perhaps change formula that's meant for bbs wif reflux. feed smaller amount but perhaps more frequent. bbs get reflux cos their stomach valve not closed yet, still immature.

hong, ur boy soooo cute!! wanna hug!

hi white lady
actually, there's not much to my labour story - very straightforward and unexciting. it was an elective c-section cos i had placenta previa, and i chose epidural c-section cos hubby can witness birth.

had scheduled for c-sect on 4 Jul which was exactly 38 wks gestation. saw gynae on 3 Jul and was admitted the same night for monitoring.

on the big day itself, i was wheeled into op theatre at 10 am. anaesthetist started prep for epidural. there was no pain at all when he administered it (only thing was the uncontrollable shivering for almost 2 hours when the epidural was wearing off!) by 10.45am, gynae came and started the op. hubby came in then and by 11am, my bb boy joined us in this world! he was put onto my chest after PD checked him and cleaned him up. it was an experience i'll never forget cos he was crying so hard and the moment he was placed on my chest, he stopped! it was the most amazing feeling ever

Hi jazzy,
I think other gals also feel it, but since we taking the medication, mayb we feel more strongly? I heard tat BFing mums can also feel the uterus contraction strongly.
I think cos a lot of food I can't eat lor..so mayb a bit malnutrition. I still dun dare to take fish, eggs, milk now cos scared milk flow come back again...

Sometimes, bb just need a cuddle instead of milk. Otherwise, u can give bb some water instead of milk. Water can also fill their stomach up.

Hi NOIF,
Yah, Similac also got a lot of bubbles, so I dun hurry my gal to quickly drink finish..I let her take her own sweet time. I only need to burp her after the feed & she does not vomit milk.

Hi NOIF,
last time my nephew also vomit lots of milk like merlion. From mouth & nostrils...feel so sorry for him..Have to burp him many many times in 1 feeding.

jazzy,

My gynae asked me to go back for a pap smear 6 weeks after delivery.

jazzy/misaryeo/YB,

At least I'm relieved to know that I'm not the only one to have this strange feeling in the fingers.

I am guessing the other possible reason is due to the drip used for induction and also the blood sample for Cordlife banking. When they tried to take my blood sample for Cordlife, my vein "ran", so they have to try again. Then the nurses have to manually press my hand to pump the blood out. After that, they put the drip for oxytocin to start induction. Was on that for abt 12 hrs, the nurses finally took it out when i showed them my hand was swollen from the drip! My hubby said it can take a while (like 1-2 mths) for the vein to recover, based on his experience.

juz to share a product which was highly recommended by my cousin for those who want to increase ms. it's called More Milk Plus Tincture from www.ahomeonearth.com. she said couple of her friends tried it and it really works. ordered a bottle myself. it contains fernugeek and other herbs that will supposedly increase ms.

re: reflux

my bb also have the same problem of reflux. plus she is super difficult to burp. P.D said if can't burp then keep her upright for abt 20-30mins. can u imagine after nite feed still must carry her for 30mins. feed+try to burp+carry= 1hr. then 1 hr later wake up and have to repeat the whole thing again. very tiring!!!! wonder how i've managed to survive all this while on so little sleep.

Hi zita27,
My gal poo everyday. Sometimes, a few times a day. When she didn't poo for 2 days, I took her to c GP. Was given some medication. After taking the medication once, my gal finally poo. So relief.

My gal also fart a lot..think it's good cos they can release air in their stomach, so they will feel more comfy.