(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

I duno.. not confirmed if she has chicken pox yet.. but cos i just gave birth last thurs, I'm quite worried.. duno if my elder gal will pass it to her little sister. And i really hope my elder gal doesnt get it.. cos i dont wanna move to my mum's place with my newborn and not get to see the twins for 2 weeks...

Z-lia, dun worry too much...

Pros and cons lah.. kids younger time have chicken pox better I heard...

Just take it if it comes k? but keep new born away cause they still very weak...

Tis morn when I woke up, discovered that my t-shirt is soaked with my BM. Then breasts starts to feel lumpy again. Felt very puzzled cos I already took medication to stop milk ss, but dunno y BM comes back. Called doc & he wants me to go on another round of medication. Sigh..wat a waste for me not to BF since I got so much milk.

Hi all...

I will be going in for induction tonight...
Had a bad day at KKH, initially they wanted me to wait till 31st one even though I requested for induction tomorrow.

Junior doc told me lame things... then did Vaginal Swap for me.. damn painful

But hub called to complain, lol... and they arrange that I go in tonight at 9 and do the induction at 10pm...

Wish me luck...

Hi kokopooh,
yep, I am one of the Sept 04 brides
Thanks !!

Hi Blessings,
I have put on about 18kgs, lost 8 kgs liao ... still have 10kgs to go ... sob sob. After confinement, me wanna do some exercise then.

check with you regarding baby's vaccination. Will you be going for those 5-in-1 or 6-in-1 jabs?

Hi YB,
yaloh, wasted since got good supply of bm but nevermind lah ... as long as baby is healthy on FM, still ok

You have started carrying light weights for arms ??

Hi Blessings

I am also overwhelmed during the 1st week after i gave birth. And it's natural i guess, baby's stuff is new to us as we are 1st time mom so we feel lost as to whether we be able to cope and make adjustments to ourself for the baby. I pray for strength to pull through during that 1st week and it helped me a lot. Don't put too much stress on yourself ok, take a day as it comes, when the going gets tough, the tough gets going.Most important dun be so hard on yourself.

Hi, haven log in for quite some time, been busying with breastfeeding and pumping milk.

mummies, if for episotomy, how long will the stitches take to heal? How come 10 days already, and I am feeling pain sometimes? When will the stitches drop off? Miserable, especially during poo poo, everyday constipation.

dsiitan ,

dont worry , we wont be sian to se ur baby photo , the more the merrier ! haha , cos ur baby really very cute ! ur baby at 7 days look like a few months old baby , so cute !

Z-lia,
thanks, I also hope to enjoy my hospital stay! WIth baby around, I think I should be able to!
Hope that it's not chicken pox that your daughter is having....

dec point,
Thanks for the tips! I'll be delivering at NUH. Dunno if they can have the Chinese name printed on baby's birth cert there.

Steph,
All the best for your induction tonight. So exciting! When is your EDD? My induction will be this Friday.

Hi Jas,
Is your pain still very bad or recovering? Usually it takes 8 to 14 days to heal depending on how bad the tear was.

I was in very very bad pain from day 5 onwards. Instead of getting better, the pain got worse till I can't sit or walk. Kept crying. Then on day 12, a gauze dropped out from my varginal when I was passing motion and from then on, pain was gone. The gauze also produced very foul smell. My HB was so mad that he called up my gynae and scolded him for his oversight... well, anyway, it was a thing that has past. If your pain is getting better over the days, then no need to worry.

Stephanie, hehe. All the best tonight, or tomorrow... Have a smooth delivery.

Am going to move to my mum's house with the baby tonight for 2 weeks. Sad case. Going to miss the kids so much. So sad that I can't be there for them when they need me.

As for bf, i think im going to die one day. haha. I'm now only feeding on one side. As in, I almost nv alternate sides cos my nipple is more inverted on my left side and my left nipple is injured and bleeding. Trying to pump out so tt it wont run out of milk.

dec,
The pro is always BM is the best for ur child and cons is u get lesser sleep. Stime i am so deprive of sleep that i dun even feel like interacting with my baby. After feeding him milk all i want him to do is sleep. He goes to sleep so i can rest or pump milk or rest for a while.

At nite i try not to pump and have gd rest but my breast feel heavy if i dun pump sleeping is painful as well. Do u feel this way too.

lala,
All i care now is have enough sleep. I dun care abt SS now. So wat if i eat all these and i cant get enough rest SS also low.

YB,
ur case is weird. Why BM didnt stop?

steph, all the best

Fruitee, ur confinement over liao.

Jasline,
stitiches shld drop before 10 days. U walk too much?

Z-lia,
i also hope ur girl didnt get chix pox. U didnt give them the chix pox jab?

hello!!

how's everyone coping?

think most of our July MTBs are Moms now rite?

think we can change our table of MTBs to moms.
maybe can include other stuff like PD, brands of FM etc.

z-liao,
yep, a gauze dropped out from my varginal ... terrible right???!!!! I was shocked also, no wonder so much pain ...

Hong,
I also wanna zz through the night but breasts will get too engorged and uncomfortable, thus no choice have to pump the milk out. Once bitten twice shy, earlier experience of serious engorgement really scares me; super painful.

hong,
my breast won't feel engorged until that painful, only lumpy lumpy.
if we dun massage away the lumps, what will happen to them if we stop bf? r they gg to be there permanently?
i hav the same feeling as u, esply his early morning feed. i feed him his night feed-1hr, pump-1hr, sleep ~1hr, wake up morning feed. i just want him to drink quickly so that i can go back to sleep. husband rushing for worl, mil dunno where, so i got to feed.
sad rt?

lala,
we under same gynae right? How come he so careless?

dec,
my nipple is very sore after each pumping then once the breast started to engorge my nipple is the most painful.

U are right abt the timing. we only have 3hr interval to do our stuff before the bb wakes up for next feed then trying to make them sleep again take time.

My frd told me, i have 2 kids but i only have 24 hrs.

Many of my collick we did not successful in giving their 1st kids BM for long thot they can do better when they have 2nd one but end up even tougher.

Joan,
yes. My mind are all after full month celebration. I was thinking to order the Eclair to give to my collicks. hahaha.. cheapo hor.

Hi hong,
yaloh, he is so careless ...

hi dec pt,
you have to feed your baby for 1 hr?? Is it bcoz he is latching? wow, only zz 1hr
poor thing

actually why latch for 1 hr?

30mins each side? u wait for ur bb to auto stop at each side?

i only feed bb 15mins each side... unless he really sucking v hard, then i will extend 5mins. then i will break the suction and change side.

let bb suck for so long - will baby end up making comfort sucking?

Steph, all the best for 2nite...

I'm still waiting for my turn... activaated my maternity leave already so would hope my bb comes out faster... had some contraction last nite but never last for long so still waiting... sob, sob...

Talking about weights. I still got 2KG to go. But this 2Kg very stubborn leh. From 2nd week after gave birth till now still the same..aiyo! Confinement ending soon and the weights still the same...so sian....

lala,
Huh! So scary! How come the gynae so careless. Luckily did not have any infection leh!

Hong,
SO all the while u just pump out the milk ah? Never let Ju latch on? Maybe let him latch on can produce more milk?

Wat is "Eclair"??

Joan,
Yup! We will celebrate my boy full month next Sat. Anyone use "Mum's kitchen" before? Dont know good or not?

halo mummies

today i went to tmc ..brought ian to PD for blood test..thk god his jaundice level drop...but still need to suntan him for a week.

Jul04 popped liao..hehee..and hor..went to visit her leh...she looks gd loh..bb very cute too...she will be discharged tomorrow liao..

Hi Steph,
Ya lor..wat a waste. my gynae's nurse said normally they'll request BM from mummies who have too much BM so can give to those bbs in NICU. Too bad my milk has to throw away. Other than taking the medication, I still have to refrain from fish, eggs etc for 2 more wks...sigh..so I guess for the rest of confinement cannot eat fish liao.

Hi dsii,
I also brought Ryan to see his PD today. Siad his jaundice is ok but still need to sun for another 3 days. My PD also told all sorts of vaccinations until I blurred...not cheap leh. But need to so no choice. Mummies in the east: Any recommendations of good PD in Pasir Ris or Tampines?

Hi Gwen: Yes, I have been praying for strength everyday cos everyday presents new challenges and I really need strength from God else I dun think I can really cope.

lala: aiyo, why the gynae so like that? I think I would have complain against him/her....I hope you are healing well.

My gynae has been asking me to BF. I know it is very good for the baby but sometimes, I guess I just dun have the confidence to do so...cos if Ryan doesnt latch on properly, then he may not have enough to sustain his appetite....so I am going to do ebm instead...will still try to BF first lah. Do any mummies feel this way?

Hi lala,
Sigh...I'm also troubled by bb's FM. Dunno if she allergic to cow's milk cos she got rashes on her face & neck, so I changed to soy milk. But now with soy milk, she doesn't poo for whole day & will keep crying cos can see she's in pain. But her rashes better now...So wat should I do?

Change back to cow's milk to see if the rashes are not caused by allergy? Or continue on soy milk but bb cannot poo??

Hi Joline,
I stopped feeling pain in my stitches after about 10days. If u r still feeling painful, u can get some numbing cream from ur gynae to apply. It helps a lot for me. My doc also gave me some solution to mix with warm water tat I sit in for abt 20mins. It's supposed to increase healing.

Try to take more fruits, veg & prunes to improve ur constipation. Fybogel works for me too...

Hi Hong,
My gynae said sometimes tis happens to some mummies who have too much milk. So I have to take 2nd round of medication lor...sigh...Really sorry tat I can't feed my bb with BM & tat she having problem with her FM now...

NOIF, you so good ar? only 2kg left to go? Me still long way.

dsiitan, you sneak out?? thot now confinement??

Breast Milk:
Anyone knows why the milk volume vary so much? I get anything from 80ml - 210ml each time.

Hi lala, YB, actually I can feel that it is recovering, but don't know why 1 part of the wound is still pain. Yesterday night the pain is like pricking me the whole night. Just now see doctor, doctor says wound has healed, half of it is still healing, so have to wait patiently for the knot to drop off. The doctor says that the knot is causing the pain.

Hi hong, no lah. did not walk that much. I will try to sit down as much as possible. But I sit on one side only, scared that my wound will hurt when sit on the wound.

Blessing,
There is one Dr Sim at Elias Mall. I appted him as my boy PD. Consultation charge is cheaper than other PD. U can try him.

NOIF,
rbr i have nipple issue. i cant latch my boy lah.

YB,
ur PD said ur girl allergy to cow's milk? Ur girl rashes look like pimples? May be heat rash on her neck and not allergy to cow milk leh.

My girl and boy have pimples when they are infant and PD told us cos the skin expose to new environment and somemore very warm will cos some pimples but it will go away later. May be find out fron internet abt it. May be not allergy to cow milk leh.

Cow milk allergy is more like diarrhea, vomitting of milk.

dsii - You got ask your ML ah? What she say ah? Har...Ian has to be admitted ah? The level not that high leh. Garrick was about 11.9 and Pedi said to sun him only. Ian is getting cutier and cutier leh...want to kiss his cheeks!!! You loss 10kg...so envy!!! Me want to loose weight asap too!!! Just read..glad to hear that Ian's jaundice level has dropped!

NOIF - Wah, so shoik, can go out liao ah?

Hong - Same here...already 2nd week and MS still low...haiz!

Gwen - Welcome, welcome!

blessings - Serious ah? I thought that by pumping we will get more MS...haiz!

lala - Is that true with regards to Semugreek? If yes hor, me will buy leh...desprate liao!
My pedi recommend the 6-in-1 for Garrick. A gauze dropped out??? OMG...what happened???

Fruitee - Congrats!!! Wohoo..full moon liao!!! So, where did you hold it?

Z-Lia - So sorry to hear about your DD getting chicken pox! Will she be staying with her grandma now? Hope she will recover soon. Young children who gets chicken pox is better than the older one coz its less painful as per the older folks.

YB - Wah......so envy! Wish my shirt was wet too...then at least got more positive signs and hope mah.

Steph - Good luck and sending over lots of ELVs!!!

Jas - Mine took about a week. After that, no pain anymore. Then I went to see my obgyn and he checked it once again and confirmed that it was healing nicely. Will be seeing him again in 6 weeks time.

MTDT - Good idea! With regards to BB suckling, I too will let Garrick suckle for 20mins tops before changing side just in case he goes into comfort suckling mode.

Joan - In the process coz its about 2 weeks time. U leh?

Jul04 - Congrats!!!! Can't wait to hear your birth story and see the pixs!!!

dsii- you stay in Pasir Ris. Me also alround the area...in flora road which is at the juction of Loyang Ave. Hee....our sons have the same birthdate and we are also staying nearby.

Hong: Thanks for the recommendation. Will bring Ryan for his vaccinations over there else it is quite troublesome to bring him to Mt E and the charges there are expensive too. Do I have to make an appointment with Dr Sim? Is he a nice PD?

YB - why don't you ask your PD's recommendation for a change in the FM? Perhaps he/she is able to recommend you a better FM. Sometimes, different babies require different FM depend on their body consituition. Hope it helps!

Hi to all July mummies. I am oso a July mummy, My boy was delivered on the 10th of July.

Like to ask all of u, how much bm can u all pump during the 3rd week. I can only manage to produce 230ml of bm for the whole day(4 pumps). Very low morale. I had been drinking lots of fluid, red date drink, milo, soup...No use leh. very sian. Moreover, each pump took abt 1-1.5 hrs to get only 60ml.

Jas - My stitches took around 1 week to heal. When i visted my gynae, he oso said it's healing very well. I think it helps to keep the wound dry and clean. Clean wif water everytime u visit the toilet and try to change ur sanitary pad as often as possible. For my 1st child, I had an infection as i did not keep the wound clean enuf.

JP,
my friend who consumed the semugreek said is very effective. Think it is indv body, but mo hram giving it a try.

Poppy,
my milk supply varies as well... afternoon the least while evening and midnight the most. I know let down happens most in the middle of the night, thus more milk then.

YB,
I agree with blessings, ask your PD what FM is more suitable for your bb. Though Similac & Isomil are good, may not suit your baby.

Jul04,
Congrats !!! So happy for u !!

NOIF,
wow so good, only left with 2 kgs to go. How many kgs did you put on in all ?? Me now struggling with my excess 10kgs!!!

YB,
I also took medication to stop BM. It will take around 3-4 days for the milk flow to stop. My supply was also a lot. Then I massaged & expressed the balance out. It helped!

For FM, if your bb is allergic to cow's milk, it's lactose intolerance which will cause diarrhea, vomitting of milk. Try other formulas. Those rashes maybe caused by heat cos the weather is so hot.

Good morning to all mummies,
Anyone who had c-sect? How long does it take for the wound to heal? I feel aching pain around the tummy area, is it normal?

Morning Mummies,

Hong, i also hav prob wif my nipple leh, the nurses told me cos they are abit short so my boy cannot latch on.. anyone know Avent has this product for short nipple, wat is it call?

Just wondering if any of u have the same prob wif me.. my left breast seems to hav more milk then right.. and it really vaires alot. like each pump on right breast only produces 10ml, then left breast can give 50ml... very weird.. no engorment or anything leh.. anyone experiencing the same prob?

I think i'm the most lazy mom liao. i only express my milk and has scheduled it from 7 or 8am to 2am, after that i'll sleep thru the night :p. tried to express at midnight, very tiring leh.. so i feed him formula at night :p i find more comfortable for me this way... then not so stressful. hoping to get this nipple extention thingso i can just latch on.. save me more time for other thing..

lollypop, is it like stomach camp kind of pain? my gynae told me its normal as the uterus is contracting.. and will be painful for abt 2 weeks..