(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

dsii,
i pay ML on the 1st day..

My MS got increased a bit liao.. now can pump out 120 to 150ml.. but have to pump a bit longer for about half an hour.. quite tiring leh..

Looks like most of us here are suffering from the depression due to the bad relationship w MIL or own parents.. Me too have problem w my MIL too cos she likes to cuddle bb all the time and bb noe got t bad habit always want pp to carry.. guess wat my MIL do to me, she carry bb to her bedroom and i dun hv t chance to see my DS.. only when night time then she will put back bb to t cot in my bedroom.. i wonder if everyday like tat sooner or later bb won't recognise me cos at night dark dark how to recognise my face??

Welcome back MY! Congrats!!! Can't wait to hear your birth story!!! Saw your DS's pix - so cuuuuuuuuuute!!!!! Lovely smile too!!!

Joline - Wah, you also ah? Haiz! Can you talk to your DH about it?

Late morning to all!

Just to let u take a peek at my darling boy!
471356.jpg

Hello to all aunties & uncles!!! I am Wallace, nice to meet u

Hi decimal point,
I took about 1 week to stop my engorgement & milk supply. When engorgement comes, I'll apply warm compress, massage, express then apply cold cabbage. To stop milk supply, apply cold compress/cabbage. Lumps can only be removed by massaging & expressing.

Hi JP,
My gal pass motion almost during/after every feed when she's on Similac. Now that I changed her to Isomil, she didn't pass motion tat freq. I'll have to monitor. I think it's normal for bb to pass motion freq.

Hi Joline,
Dun worry abt bb not recognising u. They're still too young to see properly & recognise ppl. But they'll know when mummy is near cos of the familiar scent & voice. Anyway, bbs sleeps alot...

gd morning!!!

aiyo..so worried hor...later most mummies here kena depression how??? heheheh...CHOY!!!

will think how to open my golden mouth to tok to dad...hmm..we dun really tok much loh..age gap i think...we are 50 yrs apart..and since young..my dad always give me that kind of far away feeling

my son poo when he drinks milk..and hor at times after u changed him..he poo again on new pc..hahaa..and he loves to pee at my hb..when my hb changed him..and applied cream...then abt to wear diaper....he will shoot at hb...aiyo..hb so heng...got tong zi nizo

my son also on Nan 1 HA...so far ok loh...poo very frequent...wee hrs oso can poo...1 day abt 3-4 times...yellowish colour...like mustard...hehehe

Hi July Mummies and Daddies,

I am also a July mummy, just delivered my boy on 19 July. I have gathered so much information from this thread while reading it just now. So will like to join in the thread....can I? :p

dp,
my case of stopping MS is through taking medicine cos i had very bad engorgement and couldn't take any painkillers due to allergy. As mentioned by YB, you can follow her method to stop the engorgement & MS. Usually, the gynae will advise using cold cabbage/cold compress to stop MS. If really very bad, then go back to gynae for further advice.

JP,
Enfalac formula is the nearest to BM, which explains the high price for it. So far, I buy from NTUC at $30.20 per tin. Haven't had time to venture to other places to check out the pricing. Hb checked that the Enfalac in KL is from Thailand, so we did not buy. Will check out other places after confinement! Then let u know if there is any discovery!

JP,
The time when we just brought bb home my MIL always make FM until v warm.. when i make FM i tried not to make until so warm cos if give ebm cannot make warm up ebm until so warm.. my concern is if let bb get used to v warm FM he might know the difference btw FM and ebm and worst case might reject taking ebm if he doesn't like it.. I broke down that time and DH sandwich in btw and tried to be nice to both party.. but ended up both party not happy and until now me and MIL got "xin jie" bcos of tt incident lor..

Wah, didn't come in for so long, so many thread liao, hard to catch up...

Anyway, sorry I MIA for so long bcoz tired lar, den gotta change BB diaper, feed and all... everynite wake up like 3 times...

*Yawn* tired...

Im currently on half BF and half formula lor, bcoz sometimes not i dun 1 2 give, bcoz reali tired... baby can suckle for an hour or more...

But at least im happy that everyday i can at least give a little of the breast milk... beta den nothing...

I oso had engorgement on the 3rd n 4th day, and its reali bad, but after expressing out the milk though its painful but at least it helps...

But I guess my MS is slowing goin down oso... I try to get her to suckle to stumilate it, but I can feel that its like not reproducing much...

Anyway, does ur babies hiccup alot? Mine hiccup like 5 times a day...

1 week liao, but her cord still haven drop lehz... Is it normal?

Hi blessings,

Welcome!

lala, jp,
i keep thinking of stopping after 1 month, i.e. 11 more days. i want to learn to take care of baby plus the housework on my own. dun want mil to hav the opportunity to say i cannot cope without her n keep popping by. "yi ji nei leh? baby kao tia bo, buay sai..." anyway we go there for dinner EVERYDAY, so she still can make her witchy noises to my son.
i have been sick two times in 16 days, i think bf is taking too much a toll on my own health. i wonder how gd my milk is in such a situation.
jp i m not as happy go lucky as u , somehow i vry difficult to put thgs down.

YB,
I massage also cannot get rid of the lumps. u do it real hard is it?

dsii,
my baby poo comes with sesame like seeds. i ur baby on more NAN or bm? i very scared baby cannot poo one...

hi blessings,

hello mummies... been outta action last few days.

dsii... congrats!

noif n jp... thanks for the contact. guess i'll start my massage after 1 month. currently doin confinement at my mum's plc. really no joke! can't shower or wash hair
it's a torture esp what with the crazy weather now. heng, managed to convince my mum to let me wash hair yest

lollypop,
i think the guilty feeling is the most difficult to handle. bcos it's not like cannot give, but dun want to give. how u managed that?

mich,
bany hiccup is ok one, dun worry. but old folks keep feeling they r very xin ku. my baby's cord dropped on day 10/11 when he cry so hard it wiggled off.

decimal pt, u gotta massage real hard. the pain is so much that you can really cry
that's y Mrs Wong reccommends that the hubby do the massage cuz if we do it ourself, we won't be as 'harsh'...

decimal

my boy more on fm bah..cos i expressed bit only...so needs to top up with FM...if not whole neighbourhood can hear manz

me usually let bb drink EBM...only latch on for a while then must drink EBM or Fm liao...cos he very impatient loh...b

hi decimal,

For engorgement, u have to really massage hard, den try put a warm or slightly hotter towel over ur breast, it helps a little as well... Try to express out ur milk oso... Though painful but it will help to prevent engorgement...

Glad to hear its normal, but I see her hiccup like so xin ku... Heart Pain...

den der was dis day she hiccup finish, she let out a 'sigh' like tryin to say finally the hiccups are over, so cute lor!

Den her cord got abit of blood oso lehz... worried...

dp,
i also felt very bad back then, worst when the CL cow peh & said bb poor thing, no BM to drink. I was very angry and told her off & not to mention this in front of my bb. I talked to my hb & told him i cannot take the toll, it was driving me nuts. He saw w his own eyes that i was suffering, so we decided no point to continue. At least i did try. I dun want to fall sick cos later i will be alone to take care of bb & managing the household stuffs. If FM can settle the problem, then there is no problem at all. So long as u & bb are both healthy & happy, all else doesn't really matter, this is how i feel.

dsii,
maybe i can try... i heard from many pple NAN is gd fm. i think i kena scare by my initial experience of baby dehydration that's y now so paranoid

Hi decimal point,
Also refrain from eating fish, cheese, milk, eggs etc (anything tat promotes production of milk) for 2 weeks if u wanna stop BFing.

dec pt,
i can understand the pain u face now cos few days ago me also the same . i hardworking a bit use hot towel kept rubbing hoping to clear the duct. if u scare pain , rub already try squeeze out milk ( throw milk away if u smell something ) then cont to rub. it is beeter to do it yourself

Hi Mich,
My gal hiccups after every feed. Sometimes I'll give her water. But PD said dun have to give them anything. The hicuups will go away on its own. Anyway, bb hiccups are diff from adult hiccups. They dun feel so much discomfort as adults.

Hi decimal point,
I will stand under warm shower the massage my breasts really hard. But the lumps won't go away immediately. I took about 2-3days to totally remove the lumps. After massaging, I'll apply cold cabbage to reduce supply. It's very soothing cos I put the cabbage in freezer, instead of fridge..hee..hee...

Im back...

YB,

Okie... bcoz i got reali worried lor... how come she keep on hiccup... luckily its normal..Thanks!

dsii,

My bb oso got jaundice... now still abit yellow... den my home here, the mornin n evenin sun vomit blood, come n go every 3 mins... summore must bring her downstairs 1... den when i go hm liao, the sun very gd... den my home balcony onli afternoon sun which is super hot n reali too hot for BB... dunno how...

Hong,

There is a "Ang Ku Kueh Shop" along Upper Thomson Road (near Thomson Wedding). They sell only AKK, so I presume shld be good.

Sandy,

I also have constipation problem. Prune juice helps, papaya as well (I eat it as part of the papaya + fish soup). My gynae also prescribed stool softener as she's afraid it will aggravate the piles problem. All the above helped.

Ref: Frequency of Poo
My boy even more steady, after every feed, he will surely poo & pee, so that's > 8 times a day. Usually poo like "Tau Suan". Through-train digestive system. But he's gaining weight, so I'm not concerned.

decimal,

okok... thanks for the info... though im 2nd time mother but dis time more blur bcoz its 6 yrs apart n my 1st one dat time got CL oso everything she do, i didn't notice oso...

kekeke...

Green poo - i called my PD and asked. he told me ok dun have to worry.

Poo - my boy poo 2 - 3 times a day normally his poo is alot at one time so i am not that concern.

Lok,
thanks..

Cord - mine drop but got some blood so i still have to clean it.

Dec,
u have lumps? U can massage, express then massage and express. i find it clear faster this way.

My sister said why my milk flow so little, she suspect i have some "unopened" milk duct. She suggest i go back to MRs Wong for help.

Hi dsiitan,

I delivered my baby in Mt E on 19 Jul. My baby was having jaundice so he was only discharged yes. PD said still have to sun him in the morning and evening. Seeing the PD tomorrow so I hope he has recovered. My PD was telling me that anything above 200 for jaundice needs to be under the light in hospital. Anything above 300 is a dangerous level. My boy's jaundice dropped to 142, then can discharge. Your baby shld be alright. Dun worry too much

Any mummies know how to see that babies sleep thru the night? My boy will sleep in the daytime, but at night, after feeds, he is alert. Keeps looking for milk (btw, I was instructed by PD to give him FM first, no breastfeeding for the time being. Aiyo...how to slim down like that???)

Hi Blessings,
I read that BM will increase bb of having jaundice. Mayb that's y PD advise u to use FM for the time being. Perhaps u can express & store ur BM 1st till bb be better?

Hi Blessings,
My baby's jaundice was over 200 1 week after she was delivered. My PD suggested we rent the light home, after that her jaundice went down to 143. PD said can still breastfeed ... I don't know should give more FM or not, currently she is only taking 1 feed of FM at night, other than that all EBM. Heard that once baby's jaundice drops below 110, will never go up again. My mum bought those flowers from Medical Hall to shower her, hoping to have the jaundice down. Going to see PD again tom.

regarding immunisation, heard that it is no good to have those 5-in-1 or 6-in-1 jabs coz will cause autism in some kids, true or not ??

Hong,
unopened milkducts - how much milk do you express at 1 time ??

YB, hong,sandy,
u mean u massage then the lumps go away? i massage so often, so many times a day, but it's still there. i went to tmc parentcraft twice to get them to help me massage already, really hard and painful, both times they tell me i will have to go back again. y r my lumps so stubborn? no wonder my milk stuck inside cannot come out.

lala,
only 40ml for both breast leh but my breast is quite soft after pumping.

dec,
plus hand express. lumpy area must use hand express then can go off completed but it will build up if u dun pump out lor.

Hello to all mummies.

I jus came across this thread and find it "very happening" in here. Would like to join this thread...

I delievered on 7 July 2006 to a baby boy, natural with epidural @ KK. My baby 3.5 Kg

hi decimalpoint
i am also in my confinement period. 11 days more to go. it's boring at times cos i leave most stuff to my confinement lady. I find the most hateful rule to confinement is cannot bathe. I bear with it for a week and finally give in. now bathing every 2 days if not my mood is

To all mummies who only manage to bf sometimes due to low supply of bm:-

My bm is low too but i supplement with formulae.I tink we shouldn't put too much stress on low bm, take it in another light maybe our bm may not be so nutritrious all time so giving supplement may help our baby to have more nutrients. Who knows right

Hi Dsii,
I rented the light from South-Asia Biomedical Engineering, Tel:65636228 just in case you need to enquire. Paid $245; very ex but was recommeded by my PD thus okie loh. $245 was for 3 days. My place here has no morning or evening sun ...

Hi Hong,
If your breasts are soft after pumping and no lumps, meaning no engorgement... maybe you are too tired, thus MS lower. The other time I went TMC to relieve engorgement, there was this mummy whose breasts were also soft and not much milk, Mrs Wong said she needs to rest to increase supply.

Hi Dsii,
after massage and hand express the milk, baby can drink the milk we expressed out.... Mrs Wong said every drop is precious and infact, suggested that after pump, while removing the funnels, we try to scoop up what was left on the nipples.