(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

Hi mummies, i can emphathize with all of u.

At the last min, my confinement lady needed a few days before she can come over. So I had my mum & MIL with me for 3 days. It is mayhem! Here I am so hot and flustered and there they are nagging, not knowing exactly what to do. So they will impose whatever they hearsay, totally drove me nuts. I told my hubby they will drive me into depression. And to them, every time the bb cries = my breast milk not sufficient for bb. If I need peace, will just lock the bedroom door and bf inside. I am so glad when the confinement lady finally came. Peace at last....

Sandy,
Try to take it easy. Stress is not good for you at this point. Get some help from another caregiver if possible...

YB & Decimalpoint,
TMC nurse showed us how to change diaper and they do use the wet wipes. My bb had a bit of diaper rash but after using Desitin Creamy, it cleared!

MTDT,
My boy got shocked the other day but the stupid NDP flight and he passed out green poo a few times. To the elderly, meaning baby in shock.

I giving him FM these few days and he usually poo out yellow tau suan kind of poo but yesterday is green poo.

Was ur child in shock? Else can u recall wat u eat cos u are giving BM could be the thing u eat.

May be ur boy has alot of wind in his tummy. If u give gripewater then dun give colic drop.

Sandy.. do take it easy....
Now very easy fall into depression one... so dun bow down to it k?

Once NB grow liao... can babble babble mummy that time, you will have such a big sense of satisfaction..

Hi Lucida,
I already started on light weights to trim my arms at day 7. I also wear a tummy tightener around my tummy whole day cos I dun think I'm getting a ML to massage for me. I very scared of heat & very prone to rashes.

Hi NOIF,
No need to waste the wet wipes by wiping table & cupboard lah. U can still use wet wipes when u bring bb out next time. It's more convenient.

Yah, I also wanna play MJ at home, but nobody play wif me leh...I'm not BFing, so more free time do to my own stuff. Luckily my hubby is very open-minded, so he dun mind bring me out at night when my MIL not around to spot-check.

Hi Hong,
I think my gal immune to shock. Lately the wind in my hse very strong & the windows & door always bang closed very loudly. But my gal just sleep thru-out..mayb cos I always watch horror & action movies when I was preg so now she immune to the loud noise already..haa..haa..

YB - hahah.. train liao!

NOIF - my colleagues says it not gek sai. it's becos he has colic pain, so fuss alot. when poo, will release gas too. so it's like a relief after tat. sigh...

green poo - ya, i also heard in shock. my diet - never change much leh!

also i found this on baby centre: (the scientific reason)

Green poo Says Vicky Pigott: If your baby's stools are green and frothy she may be taking in too much lactose (the natural sugar found in milk), which happens if she feeds often, but doesn't get the rich milk at the end of the feed to fill her up. It may also be caused by overfeeding or underfeeding, or is a sign that your baby has a stomach bug.'

Make sure your baby finishes feeding from one breast before offering her the other. If the symptoms last longer than 24 hours, consult your health visitor or GP to try to find the source of the problem, as it may be due to a food sensitivity, medication or your feeding routine.

hi lucida,
when is yr EED?
mine is on 29 jul now also wait till very xin ku..stomach itch somemore, everybody give birth liao...
me tonight also visiting my gynae..

NOIF,
I've a friend who stopped bf becoz her girl keep pooing green stools and vomitting. In the end, doc ask her stop. she so upset but listen to doc. Found out that,like what MTDT says, the foremilk(the one that contains water) is alot. So they will drink so much such that when the hindmilk is coming out from breast, bb is already full and doesnt take the rich and creamy hindmilk.So,in the end, bb have watery green stools.Have to spend at least 15min on each breast. Another solution is to pump out some foremilk first so bb drinks lesser and have more appetite for the hindmilk.

MTDT,

but my boy talking FM leh. Meaning that brand not suitable for him. Ok i monitor his poo again. if so i will change his FM.

Hi Hong,
I'm using Similac for my gal. Her poo is okay (yellowish) & she poos quite regularly. But she has rashes on her face, neck & armpits, so I thought she may b allergic to the FM. I just changed to Isomil (soy-based FM) to try. Hopefully her condition is better. Will monitor for a wk.

MTDT,

If had doubts, I think it is best to see a doc and seek for advice. Instead of just worrying here. I believe all of us want the best for our baby. See what the doc say 1st.

Maybe you can try to massage your baby stomach prior to feeding, I will always try to do this wheneve I am around, it sort of help relieve the wind, like you said, can hear farting sound time to time.

As for those having nappy rash problems, I also recommend to use Desitin Creamy, I have tried many other brands prior to this, I can say Desitin Creamy work the best. (Wau, ma chiam Desitin Creamy salesman sia)

Sandy,
Have a good heart to heart talk with your husb. And explain to him nicely...important thing is stay happy, if not, really will go into depression.

As for those that have problems with MIL, maybe get your husb to convey message to your MIL. I did that, coz my mum keep saying cannot this and cannot that over small little things, I tell my mum that, "Mummy, don't always say her so many things, wait my wife go into depression is worse than anything else that can occur later on."

It works, my mum control herself, wife is happy with her around. Communication is really important within a family.

Hong - I think most MILs are like that! Mine is as bad..haiz! Ren all the way,lor and complain to DH when he comes back lor... I heard from my cousin this store's Ang Ku Kueh quite nite leh. Here's the add:
Blk 127 Bukit Merah Lane 1 #01-230 Singapore 150127. Time: 0800 - 1800, Off on Sunday & Public Holidays. Owner: Mdm. Lim Telephone: 62762287

YB - For me, after bath, I will give my BB a little massage with baby oil. Its helps to relax the BB and also enable me to apply the oil to his whole body. His skin condition got better liao.

Sandy & dsii - Don't worry too much about EBM. Get the BB to latch on whenever you need to feed. This will help with the milk production. Hang in there, OK? Please don't let others (eg: your DH) get to you. Talk to your DH and tell him how you feel. Remind him about post natal depression also hor...talk to him. Men hor, must tell direct, they don't know how to guess want. Also, remember that we are all here for you too! If you need to talk...we are here. I so agree with Hong, men are like kids too..much show appreciation when they DO SOMETHING RIGHT!

d Point - yup, I do clean the BB's nose when I bath him. Just use the cotton balls and roll it into strips. According to Mrs Wong, will not hurt BB. Glad to hear that your BM is getting more and more!

MTDT - As far as I know, when BB is on breast milk, his stools will be yellowish mustard with sesame like thingy. Maybe you can call ParentCraft to enquire is in doubt? Gripe Water is to dispel wind also.

kin - Thanks for the info about foremilk and hindmilk. So, must latch on for at least 15mins. Roger on that!

lala - So sorry to hear that! Hope that you are feeling much better now! That sounds like me...EBM at nite is much easier than in the morning and afternoon.

YB - Glad to hear that bb Kaylyn is A-OK! OIC, so water first, then milk...ok!

QUESTION:
Whenever I BF my BB, he will suckle for 10mins or so. Then fall asleep smiling. Most of the time, cannot wake him. But I will continue to burp him coz don't want him to turn into a merlion. He will respond to the burping thingy. Anyway, when I carry him to his cot, he will open his eyes and scream his lungs out. When I check if he is hungry or not, the answer is always YES. So, latch on again lor. He will repeat the same thing and the circle continues.
Are your BBs like that too?

i always latch ard 15mins each side...

so far, whole afternoon no poo, so cannot comment yet. :p later see how lah.

JP,
Same case for us here. Baby will always be hungry when we did the same as you. In the end, on the 5th day, I decided that it might be getting to stressful for my wife, so we EBM and feed him via bottle. Nowadays he is much happier.

I suspect it might be due to a few things:

1. Milk flow slow.
2. Very tiring for baby.
3. When he is tired, he tends to fall asleep.
4. When you put him down, he wake up, still hungry, ask for more.

Cannot keep latching on, as it can go on for as long as 1 to 2 hr sometime, will be too tiring and painful for my wife if this keep going on. That is why we switch to feed via bottle. Wife BM SS is good, maybe is fed enough.

But my baby sometimes have this choking problem from time to time, not sure if he suck too fast, or while sucking, he fell asleep and result in choking. Any advice???

JP,
my BB are like that also.. they find too confortable in that position and fall asleep..got to touch his chin a bit to wake him up or pat his back.

I got consitpation problem.. try all my strength to push put still got 1 stuck at the anus and it is very hard to get it out ... help

JP, it's the same here. Haha. My gal will suckle for abt 10 min, and fall aslp. Tried tickling her cheeks to wake her up, but it didnt help. Then when I burp her, she'll open her eyes for a little while and fall back aslp. Then when i put her down, she'll slp for mabbe like..2-3 min, then suddenly frown, stick her tongue out, and scream. Haha. Then I'll latch on again.

And I think my gal sort of think that day is night and night is day. Haha. She seems to slp more in the day...

Sandy, try to stay happy ba... It might be difficult at this stage but you have to try...I'm sure your baby would want you to be happy. And actually, frankly speaking, regarding the fm and bm issue, as long as you have tried your best, don't get too affected becos of that. I grew up without bm and I think im a healthy and happy woman. As for your husband, try to tell him that the things he do would really affect you alot, and that u really need his support now.

Regarding the MIL issues, hehe, I think im lucky, cos my MIL is very patient and in a way, keeps more to herself. She's helping me with my confinement now. And my twins are slpg with her at night. Appreciate that alot cos they still wake up for night feeds! And if i have 3 kids with me, i'll prob die. Haha. But ever since I gave birth, I feel that I sort of.. neglected the twins. Miss them alot actually, as in, the time we used to spend playing together, slpg on the same bed together, sending them to and picking them from childcare, bringing them out... And in a way, I'm quite afraid they will soon prefer my MIL. But well, I dunno.. she did put in alot of effort in helping to take care of them. But well, I'm sure they'll still love mummy.... ya... hopefully. haha.

JP,MTDT,
My bb also drink 10min, sleep, put on bed, wake up cry and ask for milk again...
It is true when you give EBM, much easier. But for me, i can't pump out enuf. i find it easier for them to latch on for more supply. but..... can be v tiring. my bb can drink really for 1hr and sleep, half hr later ask some more.
Oh yes, there was once when my first bb, didn't poo for 7 days, i went to see pead. He prescribe for me microlax. something to insert into anus. However, he also say try not to use as far as possible. Funny, after seeing doc, And buying the microlax,withint the next day,she ppoed. And doc says its ok(i fully breastfed ). There is a school of thought by the breastfeeding mums that believe that everything in the BM is absorb by the bb so got no poo. I am not sure myself.

JP,
same, my baby also. even though i feed him using bottle, he will do the same. look satisfied, put down to cot, cry again. End up one feed can takr very long, bcos first of all he drink quite slow, then plus this crying pattern, even longer.

liverpool,
how long u take to feed baby using bottle?? i take ~45min for baby to drink70-90ml. m i taking a long time?

also bcos of his funny pattern, his every feed bcomes inconsistent, cos sometimes top up 10ml, sometimes 20ml, sometimes 30ml. i can't tell how much he needs each feed.

Just went to the gynae. Gynae did VE and commented still the same leh and ask me go for CTG. While waiting for CTG realised I was bleeding. After CTG still bleeding and got feeling of menstruation pain - dun know is it due to the VE. STarting to feel contraction and virgina area very strong pressure. Gynae say tonight i might experience contraction. Asked me to monitor for 2 hours and if still pain to admit today.. Wonder is it because of the VE scan cos' before that I was still normal.. Hmm.. now have the feeling of "ban sa" but I sit on the bowel feel pain.. i got strong feeling that today will be the day..

I think the gynae did a "membrane stripping" - is it?? But he didn't ask me if i want leh.. I mean i did comment that I am very tired and hope that the baby will come soon lar.. However, maybe thats the correct choice... dun know. Cos I was 1cm dilated since last Monday and now still the same. Now just concentrate to relax. Waiting for my favourite tv series to start at 7pm. If need go in also must wait until I watch finish the show. ha ha

Hong - Good to hear that! Maybe its really due to shock!

liverpool - You are so right, its stressful indeed. I am still trying to get my milk supply to at least more (eg: 120ml - 150ml per pump) however, to no avail. Talking about choking problem, it may be due to the teats. Some teats has bigger holes than others. BBs do not know how to control the flow...therefore, end up choking lor. Its very different from suckling from the breast.

Sandy, Z-Lia, d Point, kin - So, what do you do leh? Me stroke his chin too...he still sleeps...lol. With regards to pumping (EBM), I am still trying and trying. Hopefully my MS will be A-OK tonite..at least can get 120ml. As for the mornings and afternoons...can't even pump to 60ml...haiz!!!

Hello all mummies!!!

How are you coping? Have been missing out on the thread for coming 2 weeks. Cham ah! Just to update u!

My bb is on formula since day 3 discharged from hospital. Always got engorgement, pain like hell, cried so many times, talked to hb, decided to stop. Also, bb always falls asleep whilst BF, think the milk flow was not very good, that's y.

Now I am much relax and happier, bb too cos he is doing well with the formula. He's taking Enfalac A+. Good formula! I have read that some of you are encountering some problems. Don't give up, there's always a solution to problem. Just need time to resolve...

Oh yesm my bb drinks milk superfast, he takes only 10 mins to finish up 3.5oz (100ml) of milk (now he's 2 wks 3 days), hahaha...little hungry rascal!!! Luckily the CL is around to help out and teach me lots of things, phew...

If any of u need any help, let me know, i can check with the CL since she is still with me. She's very good with bb.

lollypop

thks ..so long no see u here liao..aiyo...wanna disappear again ah???

haiz..me very sad again..sooner or later i will get depression manz..
think my dad got some misunderstanding (thinking/feeling)abt my hb...maybe he tot it was his idea not to get a CL for me...i feel that my hb very poor thing loh..haiz..like the laudry thingy..and hor..my hb going back to work on thurs liao..how leh?? how to shower bb without my dad knowing?? dunno lah..then just now another chapter of not happy with hb stuff again..i am getting myself nearer to depression liao..juz hope dad will leave us alone loh

btw today went to tmc for my bb checkup..jaundice level 12.1...haiz...2 days later must go back..if not reduce..then think will need to admit liao..hope he will get better....

JP,
I burp hom lor, then he will be a little more awake but have that drunk look.

Lollypop,
my baby also 2wks 3days, but he drink super slow one. 60ml also take 30min to finish. Rarely does he drink 100ml, most of the time if he can down 90ml I am very happy already. How big was ur baby at birth? Maybe bigger baby that's y drink more? Mine 2.8kg only.

My ss seems to stagnate at 60ml(big improvement from my previous 15-20ml), won't increase. Any idea why?

decimal
my initial plan was do it myself...he only cook but the thing is i dun really eat confinement food...he can cook anything he wants..me just eat loh...as per normal mah...

bathe bb? impossible..he almost 80 yrs old liao..he dunno how to bathe bb one lah..he dun even dare to carry him now..

then things turn out this way..me very sad and depressed loh..y like that? y cant he just let me do wat i want...

dsii,
me also same like u, initially thought mil only cook and do hsework, then end up also different like what i thought. make me upset. plus bm always not enough, add fuel to fire.
sometimes i toy with idea of giving up bf so that i can feed baby more. now i almost like a milking machine, always hiding away to pump and check email while i hand over my pumped out milk for others to feed because i try to get as much rest as i can.

decimal
the thing is dad dun want me to touch water..but how to avoid water? thats y he always tot hv cl then this kind of things can avoid...

aiya...if u got time..then u wait for me awhile..
try to pump milk..see got any or not..haha

dp,
my bb was 3kg at birth, but when discharged he was 2.8kg. What formula are u feeding him? Does he likes it? Does he poo everyday now?

dsii,
aiyo, your dad is worried for u mah. Heart pain to see daughter do so many things during confinement. Maybe u explain to him tat u din want CL, not hb, so lesser misunderstanding.

lollypop
ya lah..i understand that too..but at times he oso must find out the truth 1st mah..then jumped into conclusion.

i know he wants me to feel gd and rest well..but hor..i know what im doin too. but if he continues like this..he shld know i will become depressed and end up depression..like that it will do me no gd at all...he do all these actually out of gd will but who knows it will end up doing me harm....haizz

JP,
I am already using the smallest latex and silcon teats, still the same results. Most likely is he sleep n drink at the same time.

Decimal Point,
My baby taking about 30-45 mins for each feed, coz he got habits to drink 20 to 30 ml and fall asleep, will take the opportunity to burp him n try to wake him up.

Sandy,
For consitpation problem, my advice is to get your DH to buy prune juice for you, drink 3 times a day if u really got problem, if not about 1 or twice a day will do. Definately work much better than fiber gel.

dsii,
did u explain to him in the 1st place? Old ppl are like tat wan, they can't bear to see their kids suffer. Talk to him nicely lor.

Then your eldest son who look after? Aiyo, u need some help lah especially after hb goes back to work.

Sigh.. my elder gal is ill... Having fever. My boy and baby gal will be slpg with me tonight, and my husband will be home late, very late. I'm...scared.. haha. Afraid that both wake up and scream at the same time for milk (highly possible since my baby gal wakes up like..every 1 hour plus for milk).

Am so tired now. Feel like slpg but Germayn's feeding time is coming soon.. anticipate tt she'll wake up soon...

So sad that I have to leave my elder gal (Lycia) with my MIL cos I have been taking care of her everytime she was ill... only now... Then just now when i was carrying her Germayn cried for milk..so i gotta to pass her (crying) to someone else to go bf Germayn... feel so bad..

lollypop
my older boy big liao.my dad will bring him to and fro fr sch...less than 5 mins walk...actually my boy's form teacher wanna help me ..but since my dad can help he goes exercise..

then shower will wait for hb to come back loh..if my dad dun interfere that much...i can hv my own timing and plan mah..now whatever i do i will think what my dad will say...think..again...i become very tired leh....not becos of bb..but becos i need to think what will happen next if i do this or that...wah...cham manz...

hi dsii,
hugs to u. can be v stressful. but i guess u hav to decide what you want. I incur the wrath of my good-intent mil but they get so offended n complain to the whole world how stupid i am (that was what happened for my no. 1). Now, my own mum doing confinement for me. My MIL also come ka-poh n now, there is war!!!! With my mum, also super stressed. can imagine how you feel....

Suddenly, today my girl refuse bottle n screamed n screamed. i think i'm so stressed tat my MS have dipped. i let my bb latch but she cries as if not enough. Also, my mym spoil my bb so much that now at 2.5 wks, she refuses to sleep on her own. need to rock to sleep n cries each time i put her down on bed.

dsii,
actually old pple do thgs out of gdwill. i m sure none of the mils we complain abt here hav ill intentions. but we cannot accept the illogical thinking they hav. the thgs they do a lot they also cannot explain but was hear-say or "last time like that do". maybe we too educated liao until everything must have reason n despise their ignorance.

lollypop,
my baby on NAN. He doesn't seem to mind it. He pass motion 2-3 times daily, I think because I still supplement with bm. My baby discharged 2.7kg. But I think wt drop is normal- i was told 10% wt loss for 1st 10 days ok so i not very concerned. sometimes i hav this struggle abt bf, want or dun want. like u say, no big deal. i believe motherhood is more than bm, but on the other hand i hope to give him as much bm as possible bcos of all the gdness that has been said. btw when u stopped,how did u stop the leaking and engorgement problem? 2 nights ago i was sick so i did not express for 12hrs, n i woke up with whole t shirt wet. must slowly stop rt? n how abt the lumps?

Hi lollypop,
my baby also drinks superfast ... less than 5 mins, she can finish 3 oz of ebm!!! But if latch on, suckles 10 mins, then dozes off, put back to cot, yells again, then gives her EBM. She has 1 feed of FM in the middle of the night, we are giving her Friso since in hospital. Till now, she seems ok with it, thus we didn't change. Enfalac most ex FM in the market ... anyway, as long as your baby is happy and loves it, $$ not so impt

Hi Decimal point,
I am like you, have this struggle of to continue BM or not, sometimes feel rather guilty ... like everybody says, better to have a happy mum with FM than an unhappy one with BM.... I think I will give BM till 3months and after back to work, will stop liao ....

lollypop - Glad to hear that you are much more relax and happier. My BB also sup with Enfalac A+. Do you know anywhere sells cheaper Enfalac A+? 10 mins to finish up 3.5oz (100ml) of milk? Same here...

Sandy - I latch 20 mins for each breast.

dsii - Hang in there! Maybe you should chit-chat with your Dad. I know that talking it out will make you feel better...this is from experience, ok? Me broke-down yesterday nite. Could not tahan MIL's cursing and put-downs plus BB kept crying even though have fed him 120ml of milk. I just broke-down and cry like a baby. DH was shocked and urged me to tell him what's wrong. Believe me, it really helped alot. Take care, ok? Jaundice level 12.1 not too bad lah. My DS also like that. Just take BB for an evening walk about 4-5pm. It works. As per ML, mine is COD. Not to sure about others.

d Point - lol...same here! But, my DS hor...after sleeping for 30 mins can suddenly wake-up and cry till I BF him again. 60ml good liao. Mine hor when pump in the morning or afternoon, 30ml - 60ml if lucky...haiz!!!

liverpool - OIC, if that's the case, not to sure liao.

Z-Lia - So sorry to hear about your DD being sick. Maybe you can talk nicely to your DD and explain the situation. You will be amazed how kids can be mature when required. Of course you have to tell her that she is being loved as much, etc, etc, etc hor. That's what my cousins do with their older kids.

Question:
Does your BB pass motion while feeding? I can see that it really irritates my DS but what to do...haiz?

lala - Same here, same here! Suckles, doze off, put back to cot, wakes up, yells his lungs out and up he goes to latch once again...haiz! You are right, as long as BB is happy and has no side effects, $$$ is not impt.