(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

Dsii,
Yep, engorgement is really very very painful. I went to Mrs Wong, TMC Parentcraft, to relieve my engorgment on my 5th day after delivery. Both breasts were like canon balls. They used hot towels to massage my breasts then pump. Tears just rolled down when they massaged. Very painful and even took panadol at that moment.

just wondering for those who will be working after 3 months maternity leave, will you be still breast-feeding / expressing milk after that??

lala

ya loh..very painful leh..buay tahan....then wanna massage..but hor..aiyo...dare not da da li...cham ah.....at times can see green veins pop out from my breast.....

Hi decimalpoint,
I was told at TMC that if need to clean baby's nostrils, pinch out a small part of cotton wool, wet it, twirl it with 1 corner sharp and insert into baby's nostrils. Never use cotton bud.

dsii,
i thought the more bb latch on the milk supply u will get?

i am actually depress on the 2nd day of birth when my husband not there with me early morning. He only come for 1 hr then go open his shop. Then evening time ask him come early , he say wait for friends who wants to visit me.. hiazI die die also want to go home on the 3rd day..

Go home worst, my mother not encouraging one. First word from her mouth when i wanr to breast feed is .. aiya sure no milk la.
Then my wound pain and i even very weak feel like fainting if i stand too long.. the whole family member kept laughing at me. Repeating the words i kept saying " Pain (in chinese )."
Very depress ar !!

dsiitan,

you really sound like a happy-go-lucky woman, thou caught in between your dad and hub, you still handle the situation very well.

Hi Decimal Point,
My PD said cannot use wet wipes on NB cos too harsh. Just use wet cotton wool to wipe clean, then tissue dab dry. Follow by barrier cream. Cos at 1st I used wet wipes, then bb got diaper rash. Now after following PD's instructions, bb's skin already better.

dsii,
Me no choice have to "da da li" massage coz if not go TMC Parentcarft, they are super "da li" one!! Once bitten twice shy. Green veins ah ... mine have been bruised. Like we are abusing our breasts

Oh, heard that milk supply is most in the midnight till morning and volume will drop as the day approaches evening. Thus, best to massage during midnight. I use hot towel to massage. Actually don't like hot towel, makes me sweat, somemore during confinement, whole body is already sticky liao, with hot towel, worse ...

Hope confinement will end real soon ...

Hi NOIF,
Ya lor...actually I already went out during 5th day of confinement cos gotta bring bb to see PD for thyroid blood test. Then on the 6th day, I sneak out at night to follow my hubby & friend to prata shop..hee..hee...tat time confinement nanny sleep already mah...Then on 9th day, I went out to maken dinner...hee..hee...me naughty hor...scared let my MIL find out then die liao...

Anyway, bb Kaylyn's thyroid test report is out. She is FINE. SO RELIEVED!!

Hi Sandy,
Think hormonal changes make us esp sensitive and emotional + baby's latching prob + bm issue + cannot shower + hot weather ... nevermind things will get better.

My baby initially wailed whenever I wanna latch her on, after countless of trial and errors, she managed to latch on awhile after we feed her some EMB inadvance to curb her hunger ... at night, I give her FM too ... think all things take time, baby & mummy are all learning.

Hi JP,
Actually, I'll give my bb some water 1st before feeding her with milk. She'll be more willing to drink water then cos she'll be hungry.

Then if she still hungry after her feed, I'll feed her with more water instead.

Hi Hong,
At least ur MIL will bother to call b4 she comes...my MIL just show up unannounced. Then if I'm sleeping & didn't hear the door ring, she'll nag how come make her wait so long outside the door..sigh..

Hi decimal point,
There's no need to clean bb's nose. They will self clean by sneezing..same thing for their ears. My nanny will blow dry into my bb's ears after bathing though...

Hi Sandy,
My hubby also not around to accompany me during my 2nd day of delivery. Cos his boss asked him to go back attend an impt meeting. But no choice lor, cos work is more impt.

My 1st few days after delivery is also very jia lat due to the wound pain & engorgement. But dun worry, it'll pass away soon. My wound is not painful anymore, although it's a bit itchy. Engorgement is also gone. So now happy happy, except for MIL's nagging & boredom at home

aiya...my son at times dun want to latch on leh...then bo bian..must express out loh..if not i cham and my poor breast..hehehe...

no choice loh...then i try to drink lots of water loh...heard fluid can increase milk supply...hahaha...aiyo..me hor..worried no supply too....but pump out better than nothing loh...hope sooner i can be MU NIU...

aiya..happy go lucky??? hmm...no choice mah...me no choice one...if not i will ki siao...but still worried loh..once hb goes back to work...i cham liao

dsii, lal,
once the engorgement very bad, u have to massage and pump at short interval. Best is the use hand express. I find it is better to relieve engorgment and clear the lumpy area faster than using pump.

However, hand express is no joke. U got to press really hard on the lump then move the finger down all the way to the nipple like making the milk flow toward the nipple.

Take note of the area under the nipple that is the place where the engorgement can form easily and pretty hard to get rid.

Another way is the pump before bath then pump immediately after bath cos both breast will be leaking with milk.

These few days i pump more b ut i got to throw my milk away cos i'm medication.

YB,
I think my mood is pretty bad. I cant stand my MIL.

Sandy,
take all comments lightly. The more u stress the lesser ur supply.

my body react to my breast pump than my boy leh. Now while preparing to pump, my breast will start leaking. Body system siao liao.

hong..hehhe..today i use hot water to soak my breast...i mean hot..hahhaaa....after that slightly ok...later got visitors..so cant pump no..cos i use 1 hr plus to pump miserable 40ml..if gd supply lah...so always need to pump when no one ard..last nite my frens came to see me..stayed till qo 10mplus..wah piang..my breasts...pain pain pain till dunno how to describe..hehee

Hi Hong,
I will try hand express to see how is the effect. My friend oso said hand express faster.

you very funnie .. let down when see the pump machine ... kekekeke

Check with you.... say after confinement, I need to go out and resume life like shopping, baby doesn't latch, must bring pump out is it ??? Like very inconvenient leh.

Hi Dsii,
yaloh, when relatives / friends come, very inconvenient to pump, really buay tahan, will excuse myself to pump for a short while.

Hi dsii,lal,
Yah..I massage my breasts until blue black. But I find it's easier to massage when I let warm water shower down my body. Then after shower, I'll hand pump the milk to reduce engorgement.

Hi Hong,
Sigh...my MIL just came AGAIN!!! Really buay tahan. I'm going to my room to watch TV now.

lala,

really.. i see my pump and my breast start leaking. Gd lah cos i will be facing my pump.

u already wanted to go shopping? Hmm... one way is to restrict urself to certain hr. after that go home and pump milk lor. Can also bring ur pump along but must really find a place to pump milk. I find it very inconvenient.

Dsii, Lala,
Frds and relative visit ah. Same lor.. they come we have to entertain them. These few days my pumping session very fast cos need to try away milk so i took abt 20 min to pump both side.

Sandy,
u can continue to pump, SS will not come that fast but u just give wat u have. I have a forum frd who son also dun want to latch on and she still manage to give her son EBM for abt 1 yr althot she still give FM at nite.

fianlly all went baCK liao..finally can pump milk liao...wahahaha..if not tonite rock buns again..hehehe anybody want any?? hahaha

Mummies here,
I regret giving birth and endure all the ppl nonsense about me preg b4 customry.. i regret i never insist on abortion...
My HB rather spent time playing IRC still late night instead of sleeping early & go visit me in hospital early morning.
Ppl always says i so fierce to him... but he really made no effort in helping customry even just informing his mother about my plan...end up alot of frustration.. I am in early pregnancy that time.
Now give birth liao, he show frustration when BB cry at night and no patient. I pump milk until very tired ask him help , he help pump but very fast like rushing like that..
I really HATE HIM now !!

Sandy,

Don let you get to you and affect ur mood.Talk to your HB, tell him how you feel rather than to keep it inside you.

Im sure he will realise and understand once you open up to him.

re: cleaning baby's nostrils, I heard of both sayings,. lala i also hear from tmc what u say, i alsp hear the same abt what YB says, so I am not sure leh. But I don't think will have pi sai until the extent of cannot breathe ba....
YB i also prefer water n cotton to wipes.
actually i ometimes use cloth nappy to let baby's bum be more airy. But so small very hard to secure. maybe wait until 2nd month i will use more of cloth nappy.
at least ur mils got "come", mine is here 24/7...

Sandy,
I think this time we are more vulnerable, so more irritable.
tell ur hb how u feel, sometimes men r like that one, must say straight straight then they get it.

From what I read seems that it's better to get a pump before the baby comes out.. looks like I better go do some shopping tomorrow. Dun know still got sales or not. Saw Medala on 15% discount at Isetan but was told Sunday the last day.

Tomorrow seeing gynae again. LAst week he mentioned I 1-1.5cm dilated. Hopefully tomorrow got good news. Now every morning wakes up hoping that today is the day..

dec point & red_hidden,

I talk to him liao.. he like never take it to heart. I even ask him go tend shop when he came to visit me at 1200 pm... next day discharge ask him come early help he also never. Guess what he say, your doc haven come, wait until doc come first. I hear already very heartache. When confront him infront of my parent, he will say stay in hospital also nothing to do..
I saw my neigbour husband, come early to company wife.. carry BB when i am all alone. Wound pain cannot reach out to BB or even to put BB back to cot after BF. so depress...

sandy
dun mind me asking..u and hb got married becos of bb?

u dun think so much leh..very stress one leh..now u got bb liao..must think positive..maybe ur hb just not used to have a bb ard yet...maybe u give him sometime loh...things will sure gets better

Sandy,
i can sense u are coming into depression. Talk to ur hubby, if not focus on urself and baby 1st.

NB is never easy, even i have 2nd one i also find it tough with breastfeeding and having to guess wat the NB wants.

May be ur hubby doesnt know how to bond with the child now. Tell him u need his help and presence very much. Even holding and feeding the baby is a great help to u. Dun expect too much from them, stime wife must show a little appreciation when hubby did something right.

lucida,
me also 2 cm dilated b4 the day, then go n induce when one day overdue. i think u have a gd chance of short labour!

Sandy,
u got pple help u with confinement? take one day at a time, there r gd days n bad days. focus on baby n bf, at least dun hav to think of so many thgs. like i m so fed up with mil staying here 24/7, but i try to focus on my bf prob, at least take up my mind n not keep thinking y she doesn't want to go home when she stays across the street n does not take care of baby at night.

my emb is increasing! can see the improvement though still cannot keep up with baby's dd. thanks for the encouragement earlier on. just pump pump pump pump pump, if can 3hrly, if not 4 hrly or 5 hrly.

Hi Lucida,
I am selling off my medela mini electri pump, used it a few times after I delivered, then HB bought me Pump In style Advanced. If you are interested, let me know yah ...

Hi decimal point,
happy for you ... "jai you"!! in pumping

Regardg pi sai - Few days ago my bb had a big one, we tried using wet cotton cool to pick it out but too big and hard, so left it. Then the next day, she sneezed the whole thing out ... thankfully

Sandy,
After delivery, we are more emotional now, try not to focus on the bad or unhappy things coz will get more depressed. Agree should juz concentrate on bf and bb ... other things can wait ... you don't wanna go into depression yah coz have a bb to take care. Am sure when you are feeling better after a while, you will not regret having your baby ...

Hi deci/eeyore, My edd supposed to be 26July. If by 26 no news I will ask for induce. Been having sleepless night. Somehow I sleep better during the day and I just woke up for my sleep ;P

Hi lala, I'm looking for a dual pump. Yours a dual?

Hi Sandy, What you described reminds me of a close friend.. Yup. Don't get too stressed up cos' that will affect milk flow and not good for yourself. During this confinement period you really have to rest well else the effect probably will be seen soon. My friend did not have a good rest and now, a year later, she looked really tired and get sick easily - now doctor say she's having low blood pressure (well, possibly also she got to work and still faced her MIL everyday since she stays with her hubby family)

lucida, i oso got the same problem as u... but if I'm overdued, i still prefer to wait, dun feel like asking to induce unless no choice

Hi decimal point,
Guess we can only endure till end of confinement lor...sigh. Yesterday, MIL came again at night & switched the TV channel to chinese prog, although I was watching English prog at tat time.

So I shut myself in my bedroom to watch TV. Then before she left, she went into my room & nag at me again...sigh...

Hong or any exp moms.
got question here:

my boy poos is GREEN! is tat normal?
i am on TBF.

also, he seems like really having a difficult time shitting. he can "gek" from 5am to 10am...n finally poo out. the poo is watery one, not hard, why like consipation huh?
is this normal too?

aiyoh.. so stress everytime he poo... he will gek until fedup n start crying. like v painful... heartache.

Hi Lucida,
Yep, mine is a dual electric pump

Everybody says confinement must rest, but we are expressing milk day in & out, very difficult to rest leh, only try to rest in btwn pump ... even midnight have to wake up twice or thrice to pump.

Hi YB,
My situation is different. My in-laws simply bo-chap. They visited me & bb once in hosipital and never asked about us again. My HB was so annoyed, called them twice and told them off. Thereafter, they came to visit us another time. Initially I was upset why my in-laws were like that, anyway, me don't care liao ... better don't bother me & my bb.

Hi MTDT,
The 1st few days, bb's poo will be black in colour, then subsequently, yellowish like "tau suan".

Poor boy ... let's hear from other mummies who can help.

YB,
let her nag lah...i cannot afford to let her stress me until i no milk, i already need to put in aot of will power to stay positive re: bm issue.
i cross out one day by one day on my calendar. 12 more days for me...
i think my hormones really all haywire. find everthg abt mil irritating. n it's only her, from the weird and act cute noisesshe make to her laughter(sound like witch to me) n her body language(hovering over baby). but other pple like my fil or my parents i m quite fine to let them play n carry baby. y huh??

MTDT,
initially when i tbf(despite not enough), baby poo is yellow yellow n watery. maybe he not gek sai lah, just that his expression looks like he gek sai?

lucida, eeyore,
best is can let nature take its course. but ifbaby big enough already n overdue, then i think induce also ok.

Hi decimal point,
ha..haa..I also like u..Find my MIL's actions very irritating now...so I try to escape to my room whenever she comes by..I also cross out the date in my calander..hopefully my confinement will end SOON!!

lala - my bb is already 5-6weeks old.
but u r right abt the nb poo..

dec pt - cannot be not gek sai leh... he will make the sound, then his legs will come up or straighten n v tight/hard. and after awhile, if he cant poo out... he will cry in fustration n it's look like he is distress.

at times i will help him by massaging his tummy, do bicycles movement for him then press his legs on his tummy to help him. everytime sure got lots of gas or poos.

but these 2 days, like more difficult and it's green. dunno wat's wrong? is it my BM not good for him? sigh...

oh, i do give him wind drops 2 a day. gripewater is it the same as wind drops? if give wind drops, can still give gripewater?

YB,
U know when i m online means i m pumping. so just now baby cry,i went to see, she was carrying him n asked me "nai leh? you mei you nai?" n reach out her hand. i felt vry offended. she must b thinking i m a cow.

Hi decimal point,
Ur MIL must be anxious tat u bb is hungry lah.
Do u express & store BM? Might be easier for u cos then ur MIL can just take BM from fridge when bb is hungry.

My husband just give my MIL the keys to our house yesterday cos' we thought it will be more convenient in case I need to go out somewhere and she can come to our house to take care of the baby. Now, I am starting to regret.. What if she comes to our house without informing me first and comes whenever she likes.. ah.. how.. She stay quite near us leh..

Hi Lucida,
Ur MIL allows u to go out during confinement? Whenever I wanna go out, I always afraid my MIL will pop by unannounced & catch me not in the hse. So I always have to wait till my MIL goes home then I dare to go out.

Actually u can call ur MIL to come over b4 u leave the hse mah..Then no need to give her the hse keys.

Hi YB, I have a CL during confinement. I was thnking of after confinement as I wanted to go for postnatal yoga and once given green light to start my exercise regime.

Ya lor.. but now give house key already. how to take back.. cannot already right
wrong decision. sob sob. Hopefully she will not anyhow come. During my pregnancy she never ask me anything nor do anything special for me so I hope she's the type that don't really meddle with other people matters.. However I'm not too sure if now the case is her grandson. hmm...

YB,
I express but not so fast . i take abt 1 hr to express. but baby wake up earlier than i thought, so cannot take from fridge.
last time i dun let her feed, but after that put down a bit,, baby gets different stimulation from different pple. so her witchy sound also can stimulate him. just that it stimulated a different part of me.

lucida,
since now u hear so many stories abt mil from us, maybe you try to adjust ur mindset so that when she really comes over u can accept it better. for me, i was very unhappy with her constant stsring at me during my pregnancy. despite knowing she wld come n stay 24/7, i was not prepared enough.

YB,
Think wet wipes really not suitable for NB. My baby got diaper rash everytime i used wet wipes on him. So now when he poo or wanna change diapers. I bring him to basin to wash his buttock area.

The baby wet wipes I use it to wipe my cupboard, table instead!

MTDT,
My baby also "gek" sai like have costipation but the poo actually soft one. I also dont know y?

Sandy,
Think positif way. The more bad things u think, the more unhappy u will feel! Talk to ur hubby or maybe close friends or family. Relief ur stress and unhappiness!

Ask someone look after the baby and go out with hubby w/o baby. Then talk things out with him. Maybe he can understand and more sensive to u aftertat.

YB,
Wow! Went out so many times and sneak out at nite with hubby somemore ah? Me so envy peoples can do a "relax" confinement. My hubby's friend even play mahjong everyday with her relatives during her confinement. So peifu her! No need to stress over her baby one!