(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

edksd, If its light contractions, she can still walk.. just that it will get more and more intense and painful.

Think if its not that bad, even if its contractions, think will not affect much.. unless water bag burst lah..

KKH should be never give antiseptic wash liao... baby cord spirit also dun give liao.. my last baby in Apr last yr, the nurse say one..

She claims that they research and realised that even if u apply or dun apply for baby's cord also no difference.. dunno how true...

hi zita, my friend's pain threshold is not v high tt type. she feels pain when doing foot reflexology.

i asked her to go home after breakfast and lie on the bed to rest for 1 hr and see how.

edksd, actually hor if ur friend not scared, she can still do whatever she wants now... if not deliver liao no need to do liao.. if she can go for breaky or do some light shopping should be okie..

I still went mac on the day I delivered my #1.. hahah

Lucida, i also read online that it might be more painful..dunno leh. I decided to induce cos i dont have enough annual leave. taking annual leave now... My maternity leave only starts the day baby is born. Didn't think i would deliver so late. haha.

Stephanie,
it's very nice to hear from someone who has gone thru induction.. cos i'm actually quite scared. haha. hope i wont faint on friday. haha

Z-lia, Induce got pros and cons...

I rem doc say everyday can only put 1-2 pills max, after 3 days if still nothing then can only c-sec.

For me, inserted first pill at 1pm, monitor till 2 plus in delivery suite, then sent to ward. Was told to call nurse if got contractions and if I think I should go down to delivery ward.

Started to have contractions at 4 plus, tolerated till 7 plus till my son visit me and go home then I went down to delivery suite... heheh delivered at 10:13pm the very day..

Dun worry too much... Just relax, you can get to see baby pretty soon...

YB,

I didn't manage to find ur previous posts, but re:BF, I also having problem. Went to tmc for treatment-pain! but seems to improve a little. now all blue black. i find hand express more powerful, electric pump not useful for me at all. but the way i grip gave me abrasions. sigh... just try try try... can try tmc parent craft for treatment, $42/time. maybe can help.

liverpool,

found ur re finally. me same, record everything - time of feed to how much, what he drinks, poo, urine....
re the orange pate thingy(if u still remember i asked!)- was uric acid. normal, after 3-5 days will be gone.
me now biggest challenge is bf. always not enough. supplement 50% fm. scared not enough as he grows bigger. desperate to try to increase ss.

YB,
At day 9 dont felt tat pain and can sit w/o the air cushion liao!

The air cushion can buy from pharmacy. U mean u all the while sit w/o air cushion ah?? Wow! Very pain and uncomfortable leh! I cant do w/o air cushion for the 1st week. Really painful especially need to bf baby. Must sit probably ma!

Stephanie,
Yalo! KKH never give antiseptic wash and baby cord spirit.

But no baby cord spirit also no problem for me cos my daughter and son baby cord dropped within 1 weeks w/o infection.

Lucida,
Just use warm water from water heater or tap water to wash the vagina area will do. No need use herbal wash.

Think really hard for me not to touch water. Early morning wash face and brush teeths already touch water liao! Then wash breast pump, wash baby buttock when poo or pee, clean my breast after bf baby....like whole day keep touch water lo! How to avoid?

NOIF, ya lor.. I was wondering too.. that's what one of my friend told me leh.. she actually didn't bath for 7 days!! can't imagine. Nowadays I'm already bathing 3 times a day.. very hot. Moreover I have long hair. she advised me to cut it short short but I dun want. I dun look good with short hair (I think) and I wanted to perm hair 2 months after giving birth. Moreover I think long hair can bun up so should still be ok lar..

Mum bought some herbal stuff yesterday so I think I will just use that for bathing and washing hair. I also purchase the shower gel and shampoo for littledreamers so will use alternatively..

Hi decimal point,
Yah, I also massage till i got blue black...I also find hand express better. Wat do u mean by TMC treatment? I attended TMC parentcraft lessons b4 & Mrs Wong taught us to massage, express, then apply cold cabbage. I put my cabbage in freezer, so it was SUPER COLD. But it did provide some relief for the swelling.

I heard engorgement will only go off after a couple of days, even as much as 2wks.

Lucida,
Wow! 7 days didn't bath. How she do that??

I hope i can be like her but i cant leh! If really did not bath, i will still wipe my body with towel using water from water heater.

Me too have long hair cos just like u wish to perm or rebond my hair after confinement. Better dont cut short hair cos cannot change ur hairstyle after confinement..heehee! Think will look like aunty..

Xaria Soo Thoo is born on 16th July at weight 2.72kg...

She's on BF...

Dis is her Pic... Will share my labour story some time lata, can't stay here for long:D

466829.jpg

Jul04, no loh.. so sian... but should be starting my ML tomorrow.. then can start buying young coconut liao.. hahahha

Cause when I work, I tend to neglect my fridge.. hehehe

Me sure bath during confinement.. hahahh. I cannot tahan not washing hair one..

Z-Lia,
I think one pill will take longer time for dilation, that's why your gynae allowed u to go home and wait first.. anyway, u going to see ur bb soon.. must be real excited ya! Wish u have a safe and smooth delivery!

Lucida,
Me too have the same tot as u before give birth to bb alfred.. the late pregnancy stage is real tiring.. but after he came out I started to regret.. hehe.. u'll know what i meant when u see your bb crying loud when wan wee wee, poo poo and gets hungry.. and sometimes bb can be cranky when they feel hot/cold or discomfort.. do treasure the time when bb is in your tummy, keke..

After you give birth the nurse will teach you how to take care of the washing part.. use warm water to rinse after urine and pat dry with clean towel or toilet paper.. then wash with the antiseptic lotion prescribed by your gynae/hospital..

hong/YB,
I see.. how long nd to be on medication? I'm using ameda dual pump oso..

steph,
was telling dsii that if you pop also then today left me liaoz.

i also sure wash hair. long and thick some more...how to survive in this weather...

Jul04, I think I and you will be the last few survivors.. hahah My both kids was late by 2 days... now hoping this one dun be late also.. else I have to wait till 29th or even later.. sian ah... lol

ya lor, as more mummies pop then i getting more impatient...telling boy that i like the date 20th. tomr will be a good day to come out...hahaha

My son every morning before going to school will hug me goodbye and goodbye didi... keep telling DiDi "thurs, fri, sat, sun... Sunday u coming out k?" Lol

your son soooo cute!!! my hubby also everyday asking me got signs not, is boy boy coming out today? haiz...how i know....pengz

Me too!! I have been telling speaking to my tummy and told my husband to do the same thing too that 20th July is a good date and kept telling baby to come out tomorrow.. hee hee. However, just now my colleague came to talk to me and say if come out before 23rd, horoscope would be Cancer (the most emotional and sensitive type of all horoscope). If later, then he will be a Leo.. heard Leo are very ambitious. My colleague say Sun Yanzi, SM Lee, Wong Faye, etc.. all Leos.

Lol... the night before when I had pain.. hub keep asking me "You need to go? I bring u go now lah..."

I was like, not even confirm if its contractions.. dun kancheong... If its contractions, no matter what I do, the pain won't go off one.. we'll wait.. hahah we end up chatting wee hours in the morning cause both of us also cannot sleep.

Luc,
i dun care what horoscope...he come out i happy liao. but would love for him to come out in July and not overdue into august...

steph,
ya ya. my hubby same reaction when i had false alarm twice. every 1/2hr ask me want to go hospital not. i was telling him also not regular, wait a while then see how...

Step, I think your hubby more gangeong then you. My hubby has been feeling very tired lately - work stress. Once on bed, within 1 min doze off already.. haiz. Me, no work stress.. ha ha... rather stress having nothing to do. Dun know wat to do leh.

He ah.. dunno gan cheong what..
Father for the third time liao..

He work also very stress... everytime headache one.. but always cannot sleep.. sigh.

Me now dunno what to eat.. sian ah..
Dun feel like eating anything opposite office...

lucida,
you on ML already? my hubby also super tired, hit the bed only, sleep liao. i toss and turn, he also sleep like log. he every night tell me that if waterbreak or got contractions, must kick him hard or pour water in his face to wake him up...lol

Hi Joline,
I can't BF cos I'm taking anti-thyroid medication.

Hi Lucida,
Thx!! I'll ask my hubby to get it for me..Do u know roughly how much it costs?

Hi edksd,
Ask ur friend to go hospital immediately!! I also didn't feel pain even though my contraction is at 2mins interval..but my labour starts 3hrs later!!

Hi Jul04, I'm back to office today. My boss say if baby not yet come out maybe I come back office first lor so dun waste maternity leave mah.. so last 2 days treat as tho I work from home lor.. hee hee. good also lar.. now shake leg, chit chat with colleague if they are free to chit chat, serve net, etc..

Hi Step, You hungry or not? If not then just drink something first lor. Else take a stroll to the canteen then pick anything that you fancy. Me just ate nasi lemak - the only edible food over at my office.

hi yb, after breakfast, she went home to lie on bed. she said still feel the contraction when on bed. but the contraction interval is not consistent, still fluctuating between 5 and 10 min.

i asked her to call her gynae to see what he says.

Hi Hong,
My lumps are around the outer area of my breasts. Today is the 3rd day already & it's still lumpy although I massage for 2days already. I tried using Avent Isis pump but nothing comes out...have to use hands to express.

Hi YB, Guardian have two types - one $20+ and the other $30+. I'm thinking of getting the one from TMC when I deliver there cos' they have one that cost only $10 - but it's not very nice type lar, like a small tyre.. Guardian ones can inflat.

My side only opposite got coffee shops... and food all I sick and tired of it liao..

I think its just me, yesterday flu now not fully recovered... Yesterday had Mac in KKH for lunch, didn't even finish the Fillet O Fish, end up rest of the day felt like vomitting..

Now just ate bread which I bought for tea time... think later if hungry will make maggi mee... Sian ah..

I hate waiting.. can't doc induce me or something.. lol

Hi YB, did you bought the pump before you give birth? i still haven't got my pump.. dun know need to get first or after then get. Wanted to buy electric pump leh but alot of people say Avent pump is better.. more comfortable. So now considering maybe get the Avent Uno or Duo pump (have the manual option so dun have to get the manual pump separatelyy) - but the cost expensive..

Hi NOIF,
yeah, till now I never use air cushion. Tat's y so painful. I've "tahaning" quite well huh...hee...hee...Sometimes I'll put my legs underneath my bum when I sit.

liverpool - Thanks for the info!

NOIF - I guess all of us same-same...can't wait for confinement to be over! Are you engaging the massage lady?

dsii - Can't wait to hear all about your birth story and see the pix!

Z-Lia - Congrats!!! Wah, another mommie going to see her BB soon!!! Sending over lots of ELVs!!!

Mich - Glad to see that mommie and BB are both OK. OMG, she is sooooooooooo CUTE!!! Thanks for sharing the pix with us!

Hi Lucida,
I'll bathe with herbs in the morning, but wash off with water heater. Then at night before I sleep, I'll take a warm shower & wash my hair. Otherwise it's so hot in S'pore, my hair will be sticky!! Can't really stand that!

Anyone selling their Air Cushion har? me a bit cut cost so was thinking of getting a 2nd hand one.. else to live w/o one since I didn't use it for the past 2 deliveries.

YB,
Think u better faster get ur hubby buy the air cushion for u. Really different sit on the air cushion.

JP,
Malay Massage ah! Yup! Already finished all the 7 sessions last Thursday liao!

Jul04, I think can but you need those bicycle pump to pump it back. Not too sure cos' I only have a glimpse and didn't take it to have a closer look when I went for my annetal class.

Anyway, I not sure about the Guardian one also :p It's put in a box and not pump up whereas the TMC one it's like those small rubber tyre.

Hi Stephanie,
It's good to start drinking coconut water. I drank 5 times before delivery. My baby is very clean during labour. Only got a bit of blood on her hair. Otherwise, her body is very shiny & clean.

Hi Joline,
I need to take medication for about 12-18mths...next mth will be my 12th mth.

Hi edksd,
Yah, better ask ur friend to call doc. Better play safe. Am sure she doesn't want anything to happen when she's so near to delivery already.

Hi Lucida,
I got the 2nd hand pump from my sis. She said it's best to start pumping when u r still in hospital to prevent engorgement, although milk only starts to come in after about 3days later.

If u wait till later, u might be in too much pain. I personally feel that engorgement is even worst than labour pain.

Hi NOIF,
Think can still tahan the pain a bit...anyway, even if hubby buy the float today, still gotta wait for him to come home at night. I think engorgement pain even worst!!

hi yb, actually does it matter if bb comes out clean or not har? coz anyway, the nurse will clean the bb right?

my friend called kkh. they asked her to go down. she intend to go at 4pm. i think she just didnt want to go too early, the her labour hours will be v long.