(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

Hong & Kin, envy you two have such cute girl. I wished i have a girl. But as long as they are healthy, sex doesn't really matter, right?

Hong, I feel the same thing about my wordrobe, yesterday just bought a pant from Mortan Bell (Orchard Point) with elastic waist can wear even after pregancy, about $55.

hong,
I stop wearing jean since noticed of my preg. now still can wear long pant but the waist is tight, got to re-adjust the button to loosen abit, in-order to wear for few more weeks :->

Zita,

If your baby is coorperative it shouldn't be very long, my baby was lying down on his back, kicking and waving but refused to get up and the doc try that for about 15 minutes and it was getting late so we stopped trying.

MTB,
when will the NT scan start? I can't rem my gynea do any scan on the thickness of the neck for my 1st two kids.

hope u dun mind if i 'intrude'.

YB,
wonder if u still remember me. i'm from ttc thread. just went to see doc abt thyroid yest. thyroid could result in high-risk pregnancy such as premature bb, permanent brain and physical retardation etc if it's not managed properly. my doc suggested that if preg, must monitor very closely. don't worry too much if u have been taking med to control the thyroid levels. u might want to go kkh as they have docs specialising in thyroid too.
hope this helps!

Shining, NT scan normally done between week 11-14.

Share with you all something funny in my office, about 3 months back we have 5 pregnant ladies giving birth in 2 months interval, 4 baby boys and 1 baby girl. My asst manager is now pregant and due in late May/early June, she is also expecting a boy. There must be something about the fengshui or chemicals in the air...

Hi YB, I am now at my 8week+, I do not have any MS (yet, maybe) *touchwood* ;p I am feeling normal, just that very easily get hungry, stomach will growl every 2 hours, so i am eating 7 meals a day now.. scarry.. however a meal can be only a glass of milk. if i dun eat, my stomach will be bloated bcos of wind. My appetite totally changed, previously I like more healthy food and hate meat, but now i dun like to eat fruits and eat alot of meat, so sinful.. but i especially cannot tahan fish smell now, which used to be my favourite.

My gynae list down for me the food to avoid during pregnancy. They are not myth but scientifically proven. However, avoid doesn't mean cannot take at all, occasionally still ok.Wish to share with u all.

1. caffeine
2. alcohol
3. smoking
4. raw meat (eg sashimi)
5. liver (becos of too high concentration of Vit A wich will cause baby deformation; but then i saw in babycentre website that it's encouraged to eat liver bcos it has rich iron which we need to produce blood.. strange.. doctor said other food that have Vit A eg carrot, is safe to eat bcos the concentration not as great as liver)
6. ginseng (cause miscarriage in mice, human not known)
7. shark meat (shark swallow everything in sea, thus may swallow oil from ship which has high content of mercury, it's harmful to baby)

Hope it helps. Your comments are welcomed.

Wow..going onto mater wear liao..so sad, my stomach still flat leh..y har? oway when norm scan, my baby oway sleeping,never move..heehee

Pepper..how much is yr scan? the scan at KKH cost $315/- leh, i cant imagine if dr told me cant scan the thickness of the neckline..heehee!

Hi shinning, the NT scan is normal schedule at week 11 to 14.

If u are looking for maternity wear, you can shop at Suntec tower level 3, there is a newly built area with many shops selling maternity wear and baby/ children wear. If not wrong about 4-5 shops selling maternity clothes (namely Perfect Mum, Spring Maternity, etc). They were having sales last weekend, think there might be more sales to come since it's festive season. I bought a few pieces of blouse and dress at $19.90, quite nice and worth.. quite petite look, not those big big piece typical pregnant blouse. Can take a look.

zita27, pepper thks for the info. So NT scan is specially schedule and not thru normal ultrasound scan huh ?

I got bad cough and flu last few days, lots of phemgh and difficult to get rid of. any idea what to drink to improve the condition...

Hi shining, u can try to drink fresh lemon juice, it is rich in Vit C to boost ur immune system and helps to combat cough and flu. I try to squize a lemon and mix with a glass of water, drink in the morning, empty stomach, very good and refreshing. Give it a try, if doesn't work, lemon is also a good source of Vit C..

welcome chrys, shining...

hi hong & kin,

yr gals are so adorable and sweet. I'll try to upload my ger's photo tonight. (if I am not too tired)

I have been sleeping since 7.30pm for the past few weeks...

Last night, I vomitted....only fluid. I have been feeling headache, nausea very frequently.

pooh,

I am seeing dr tham this coming fri. My hubby and I find him very patient and caring. He is also very experience.. How do u find him?

hi japepearl,

I try to drink coffee alternate days...but sometimes will drink everyday. Coffee can heal my headache for awhile.

Hong,
I am just wondering how you define strong heartbeat? Every scan the doctor just say that heartbeat is good, which is normal.

As for maternity clothings, since the day we know my wife is pregnant, I bought her to buy maternity clothings liao. Coz she also gain abit of weight before that, so might as well kill two birds with one stone. Ha ha. Most of her maternity clothings bought at TMC there. Might pop by to Suntec to have a look if it is really cheap as mention.

hi bearybear, YB & jas,

thanks...day time i m really ok...maybe nite time go home alone at home juz tend to anyhow think bah...Hopefully today will be better...

i try to sleep early so that i won't puke...hehehe...but hb always say me for sleeping so early as he is having his lessons on wkdays so when he come back at 10pm most of the time i m asleep liao...

My gynea didn't charge me anything extra for the scan, his usual charge of $86-$126 per scan is expensive enough. He only had one ultra sound machine there so i suppose it is the same as normal scan, and he does 3D scan maybe the machine is more advance? I think they will do a blood test, use the age of the mum and the neck thickness to calculate the risk, that's why it normally cost three hundred something.

littlebaby,

I find Dr Tham a v patient & careful doc. His charges is v reasonable given his prof grade. Did u have a c-section previously? I intended to try natural this time(if possible), but was not encourage by Dr Tham cos there are some danger. Any Mummies tried VBAC(vaginal birth after cesarean)bef?

liverpool,
to me as long as strong and hard is gd.

littlebaby,
so early. i cant sleep that time.

shining,
Jean? i cant fit in anymore. Cos very uncomfortable for my tummy.

Chrys,
yah i saw Spring having sale...

pepper, zita,
girls are very "tei" .. hahaha but we enjoyed it very much.

kin - Thanks for the red dates & longan recipe.

zita - Your BB always sleeping? Is it because you always go in the evening?

chrys & shining - Hi there and welcome!
Chrys - Thanks for sharing the info with us.
shining - Hope that you are feeling much better now.

dear & Jas - Same here...come evening, nausea + vomiting full blown. Y'day nite, I vomited at 3am and DH was so worried.

bearybear - Dunno why but I cannot tahan Ribena ever since I am PG. Its a good thing I guess - bb will not have phlegm. Wah, you lucky, when you have naseau, nothing come out. Me, everything come out.

YB - Glad to hear that your GP who used to treat your thyroid called you. Good luck in your search for a new OBGYN. Don't worry too much about weight gain right now as long as you and your BB is OK.

pepper - Wah, you can see the sex of your BB already? So lucky! I guess most prob. it will be a BB boy. Congrats! Wah, that's indeed good fengshui.

liverpool11 - Good luck with the NT scan next week! Pls don't worry too much about the HB thingy. I am sure your BB is A-OK. Maybe you can get a doppler to listen to the BB's HB to ease your mind? Also, you can ask Dr. Cheng to explain more about the heartbeat thingy. My DH always ask Dr. Cheng lots of Qs.

hong - I love the way you put it - Pregnancy is not an easy task, that is why mother are so "wei da". I am wearing drawstring pants and its very comfortable.

kin - Wah, your little girl is so pretty. Thanks for sharing.

littlebaby - That's good to hear that you found a drink which can cure your headache. I also tend to vomit at nite.

Updated:
<table border=1><tr><td>NAME</TD><TD> EDD</TD><TD> OBGYN</TD><TD> HOSPITAL </TD></TR><TR><TD>chrys</TD><TD> 02 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>zita27</TD><TD> 07 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.K.T.Tan</TD><TD> KK/SGH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Li May</TD><TD> 07 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.K.K.Lee</TD><TD> Mt.A </TD></TR><TR><TD>japepearl</TD><TD> 07 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.L.C.Cheng</TD><TD> TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>sleepygarfield</TD><TD> 09 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr. </TD></TR><TR><TD>liverpool11</TD><TD> 11 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.L.C.Cheng</TD><TD> TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>pepper</TD><TD> 11 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.K.H.Chan</TD><TD> Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mel</TD><TD> 11 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr Chandra</TD><TD> Mt.A </TD></TR><TR><TD>jurong gal</TD><TD> 11 Jul 2006</TD><TD> Dr. </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>kin</TD><TD> 12 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.S.C.Chew</TD><TD> Mt.E </TD></TR><TR><TD>NOIF</TD><TD> 12 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr. John Tee</TD><TD> KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pooh</TD><TD> 12 July 06</TD><TD> Dr.Tham</TD><TD> Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jasline</TD><TD> 15 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr. K.T.Tan</TD><TD> KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>lala</TD><TD> 17 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD> TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hong</TD><TD> 18 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr. Lawrence Ang</TD><TD> TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>May</TD><TD> 18 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr. Lisa Chin</TD><TD> Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>littlebaby~Val</TD><TD> 19 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr Tham</TD><TD> Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>YB</TD><TD> 19 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr Roy Ng</TD><TD> Mt.A </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dear</TD><TD> 20 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.L.N.Sim</TD><TD> TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

I had 2 scans at KK and the 3rd scan at TMC, the baby heartbeat seen on screen is beating, but i wonder why it is beating so fast.. feel like faster than my heart beat.. but gynae didn't comment on that, she just said baby's growing well.. i think maybe baby is nervous when so many pple looking at it ;p

chrys,
tks for your remedy, will go and to buy lemon tonight.
littlebaby,
U sleep so early.. I can only sleep after 11pm wake up 7am. Everyday I'm very tired like no energy ...

littlebaby. i am just like you but slightly better. When i first found out i'm pregnant i'm always in bed by 8pm, just tired and can't keep my eye open. Now i can tahan until 9-10pm. and I am amaze with some of the MTB posting during mid night.

not sure if you have read this before from baby.com. For your info :)

-------------------------
You're more likely to be carrying a boy if...
Your baby's heartbeat is lower than 140 beats per minute
you're carrying all out front
you're carrying low
you're blooming in pregnancy
you didn't suffer from morning sickness in your first trimester
your right breast is bigger than your left
you look at yourself in the mirror for at least a minute and your pupils dilate
you crave salty food or protein, such as cheese and meat
your feet become cold more quickly than before you were pregnant
you tie your wedding ring to some thread, hang it over your stomach and it moves in circles
your skin becomes dry
you combine your age at the time of conception with the number of the month you conceived and the resulting number is even
your hair has become more full-bodied and shiny during pregnancy
the hair on your legs has been growing faster during pregnancy
you are more prone to headaches
your pillow faces north when you sleep
you're asked to show your hands and you present them palms down
you lie on your left side when sleeping
your urine is bright yellow
you were the more aggressive partner during love-making when you conceived
you eat a clove of garlic and the smell seeps out of your pores
your previous child's first word was "dada".

japepearl,
Yar, so far my nausea hv not cos me puke yet ***touch wood***. I found it recover after my lunch and dinner and started in the morning and worse in the evening before food.
I think that's why we need to eat more meals but in small portion, our tummy need to be occupied. My nausea will come also if i sit in the car more than 10 mins.. I so scare of vomiting also control it....

pepper - Wah, you so lucky! I wish I can sleep at nite so that my DH can sleep too.

May - Thanks for the good read - very interesting indeed.

shining - Wah, you are lucky. After every meal, I often feel like puking but come nite time, its the worst time ever lor. So, I always stand-by plastic bag just in case I puke. Yup, I do crave for meat and whenever I don't have my fill of it, I start to crave for silly things...lol.

Thanks japepearl for updating the table. There's a correction, my EDD is 30 Jul, gynae Joyceline Wong, TMC. Thanks... ;0

Wah.. baby boy.. Congrats pepper!! How come can be able to see it so early? I was told around 16 weeks-20 weeks?

zita27, dun't be worried, is ok that ur tummy is still flat now. I heard that some pple 6 months already still flat but some few weeks only already protruding.. wonder is it bcos of the position of baby in the womb.

I found that most maternity wear are quite expensive, especially the long pants for working, after discount also about $70+.. almost broke..
I am still wearing my normal working pants, those that of larger size that last time cannot be worn.. In fact quite mix feeling.. happy bcos tummy is growing everyday, sad bcos seeing body shape changed 'ugly' and worried whether it can revert back to slim after birth... ;( especially i change to such a big eater now.. my hubby also scared of me.

I can sleep at night, just that need to wake up 2 times for urination. just can't help.. last time used to sleep till morning never wake up.. |o|

<table border=1><tr><td>NAME</TD><TD> EDD</TD><TD> OBGYN</TD><TD> HOSPITAL </TD></TR><TR><TD>zita27</TD><TD> 07 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.K.T.Tan</TD><TD> KK/SGH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Li May</TD><TD> 07 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.K.K.Lee</TD><TD> Mt.A </TD></TR><TR><TD>japepearl</TD><TD> 07 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.L.C.Cheng</TD><TD> TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>sleepygarfield</TD><TD> 09 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>liverpool11</TD><TD> 11 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.L.C.Cheng</TD><TD> TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>pepper</TD><TD> 11 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.K.H.Chan</TD><TD> Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mel</TD><TD> 11 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr Chandra</TD><TD> Mt.A </TD></TR><TR><TD>jurong gal</TD><TD> 11 Jul 2006</TD><TD> Dr. </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>kin</TD><TD> 12 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.S.C.Chew</TD><TD> Mt.E </TD></TR><TR><TD>NOIF</TD><TD> 12 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr. John Tee</TD><TD> KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pooh</TD><TD> 12 July 06</TD><TD> Dr.Tham</TD><TD> Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jasline</TD><TD> 15 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr. K.T.Tan</TD><TD> KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>lala</TD><TD> 17 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD> TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hong</TD><TD> 18 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr. Lawrence Ang</TD><TD> TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>May</TD><TD> 18 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr. Lisa Chin</TD><TD> Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>littlebaby~Val</TD><TD> 19 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr Tham</TD><TD> Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>YB</TD><TD> 19 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr Roy Ng</TD><TD> Mt.A </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dear</TD><TD> 20 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.L.N.Sim</TD><TD> TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>chrys</TD><TD> 30 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.Joyceline Wong</TD><TD> TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

chrys - Apologies about the mistake. Wah, you are lucky to be able to sleep at nite. Getting up 2x to go to the loo is OK compare to having sleepless nites.

Would like to share with you all my package,pls give some feedbacks..

My next visit will be 9 Jan week 14, i have to pay S$500.00
Package includes : Consultation fees,
Urine test
vitamin supplements
Ultrasound scan
(except a detailed scan at week 20 - 22 , $105 i have to pay)

Does not include blood test $100 which i have done yesterday.

Normal consultation fee of $40 will be c harged if seen b/f appt date.

Normal delivery $1100 + 200 (hospital visit ) = 1300 - 500 = 800
Forcep / vacuum delivery = $1300 + 200 =1500-500=1000
Caesarian = $1800 + 200 = 2000-500=1500

But i think this is not inclusive of hospital charges depending to deliver at Mt A / East Shore...

chrys,
nowsaday i also being disturb by urination. even though not drinking much water at night also go so much urine ??
Btw, for so long i hv not been sleeping thru overnight, either disturb my ger else is my boy "alarm" very "ON" wan... now got to be wake up to urine too .. hehe... so i everyday also tired.

I have to decide which test to be done for down syndrome in my next checkup. May i know which test do u all go for? I was told the following options.

1. Amniocentesis - Accuracy 100%, however miscarriage rate of 0.5%

2. Triple test - Accuracy 65-70% (blood test at 16 week) $100+

3. Neck thickness (NT) scan (at 12 week) + Triple test (16 weeks) - Accuracy 80%

4. NT scan + OSCAR (blood test at 12 week) - Accuracy 90% $300+

May i know which test u go for and why? Thanks! oh ya, i heard OSCAR is so far the most advanced test with high accuracy to test down syndrome, but most expensive, it only available in 3 hospitals (ie NUH, TMC, 3rd one forgot.. ;p KK if not wrong)

DH and I were just talking...it would be quite easy to hide my PG during Xmas Eve dinner but come CNY, it would be difficult. BTW, have you all told everyone yet or only your immed. family?

japepearl, we only told immed family at the moment. But cannot hide for very long too, like justnow i told my colleague i wan to eat char bee hoon for lunch (while normally i dun choose food), already being teased by them i am expecting.. aiyo.. pms cannot meh.. see whether u pantang lor.. some pple wait till 2nd tri then say.

chrys - We prefer to keep mum till its too noticable to say otherwise. For us, we only told our immed. families.

Here's a list of maternity wear websites (I am sure there's more
):
http://www.pumpkin.com.sg/index.php
http://www.newmaternity.com/main.asp
http://www.maternityexchange.sg/
http://www.springmaternity.com/v8/home.asp
http://www.lolamaternity.com/index.htm
http://www.maternity-online.com/
http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/otherclothes.html

chrys, i was very surprised as well when the doc ask if i wan to guess wat is sticking out between the baby legs, I think the baby would really want to show it to you for you to be able to see itat this stage? i even have one of the scan pic of that and doc marked it as "??" haha...

Haha.. pepper u r so farni... ;p I think u r overwhelmed rite.. congrats..

Japepearl, just told my PIL last week, in fact i wan to keep till 3 months, but my hubby cannot wait liao, so kanchiong.

Hi all, Is there a need to buy maternity/ breastfeeding bra?

Perfect Mum intro to me, one at $59.90, buy 3 at one go, 3rd one will be 50% discount. meant to wear when going out, got soft underwire, for breastfeeding too. Another type is for wearing at home/ night time/ breastfeeding, 1 for $39.90, 3 for $60+. How do u find it? I think it's expensive and dunno whether we need it, so didn't buy. Later i saw at Spring, their night bra sold at $20 each. Do we need it?

Im in my 11th week but has gained 3 kg liao, nw im 51 kg, feel that my whole body become very fat

I tend to get hungry every 2 hours and if i dun eat i become super nauseous. in the end, eat alot per day lor...
I wonder any other MTB face the same problem ??

Hi jurong gal,

Me too in 11th week..but i only gain 0.4kg...now 48.4kg...i do feel hungry very often like u do..in fact i have to constantly eat small amount of bread...to prevent my stomach becoming bloated and burpy...but the problem is i feel that i look fat especially my tummy, and face, breast too..

eeeh.. last sat i went suntec look for mater. shop, only manage to find prefect Mum leh..the rest at where har?

japepearl..so far my scan done on the day leh, but bb didnt move leh, stay at same position...izit normal?

shining.. at KKH is specially schedule n done by specalist dr in this area. the cost is $315/- scan plus blood test..90% accurate.

Chrys..I am taking No.4.NT scan + OSCAR (blood test at 12 week) - but kk have diff. name! I feel accurates is veri impt ..no point going for a test that is 65% n put yrself in doubt if bad news. dont tink dr will recommend Amniocentesis unless are at high risk after going thr. the basic test.

jurong gal n mel, me tii wk11 but didnt gain weight at all..me still skinny 41kg n tall..Frez say i seem to lost weight..same oso need take small meal every 2 to 3hr interval if not stomach feel bloated n lots of wind. Need to wake up 3 time at night for toilet trip : )

Hi everyone, another new July MTB joining this thread. My EDD is 20 July, currently seeing Dr Yvonne Chan at TMC. Have been reading the thread quietly. Lotsa of useful info, thanx for sharing!

Hi Hong &amp; Bearybear,
It's really true that it's not easy being a mother. I now appreciate my mother more..I didn't really regret getting pregnant but just feel depressed because of so many bad things happening....

hi zita27,
Thanks for the information. I'll call KKH up to enquire about the additional costs of ultrasound. I've also thought about the complications that may arise and also believe that KKH may b a safer place to deliver.

Hi erin00,
Yes, I remember you from the ttc thread. How r u?? Actually, my thyroid has been controlled &amp; within the normal range before I gotten pregnant. But soon after my gynae took over the maintenace of my thyroid &amp; change my medication, my thyroid has come back. I seriously think he's not familiar with treating thyroid, y else would he wants to refer me to a specialist?? I've been treated by a GP all along, and has been controlled then!! My gynae used to be from KKH till he comes into private practise. He should be very familiar with all these things. It upsets me that he doesn't treat my condition seriously. Sometimes, it really depends on one's luck to find a good &amp; responsible doc.
Does KKH has specialist treating thyroid?? If I choose a gynae from KKH, will I be seeing only 1 doc? I think it's more appropriate for my gynae to be also treating my thyroid since he/she will know wat medication/treatment I'm taking.
I'm very reluctant to c a specialist for my thyroid cos it costs more &amp; each time only get to c specialist for 5-10mins. My GP has been treating my thyroid since last time, if need be, I wish to go back to him.

Hi chrys,
Lucky you!! Glad that u r enjoying ur pregnancy. I guess the list of food that u mentioned are very common things to avoid during pregnancy. Please also note that blue cheese also has to be avoided cos of bacterial contamination.r