(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

hi decimal point,

the detailed scan at 20wks quite zun. can pick out deformities and all. no need worry la. with all the vitamins and good food we are eating nowadays, normal and healthy babies are more common than in the past. just be happy and positive...

kin - the lady at perfect mum told me the sewing and all is done in spore but the raw materials are from overseas. maybe that's why it's more expensive. afterall, spore is not known for cheap labour ;p

angelsky - being able to see sac doesn't mean can tell how many weeks. i'm no professional but in my case, saw sac but nothing inside. my gynae said maybe i ovulated really late...wait and see...so hang on till thu. i know it's not easy. i went thru 2 weeks of waiting in a slight daze and was mentally prepared for bad news, tho who wans bad news right? so hang in there. til thu...let us know...

may,
u worry too much?
How u define MS? must puke or not?
I have MS for my 1st child, mostly no appetite but i never puke. I think this is bad enough for me. Tell u i carry her till full term, 40 weeks. mY gyane even told me to carry her for another week but i decline. I wanted her induced! luckily man cos she is 4kg when birth. Imagine i carry her another week, i may end up c-section.

YB, kin,
prawn paste no gd? then i better stop. i dun really eat pineapple, if it happen to be in my food in small amt i still take. Watermelon? cld it be that we have bloatness so better not to take it? I still take watermelon, may be ok for me. Banana, yah i do heard the De monte banana are not gd for us.

Coconut - taken 2 week before the bb popped. It is true that bb is very clear when they popped.

Durian - dun over eat hor, cos bb will be big but very "pu" for mother and feotus. Baby are pretty strong also. My daughter is pretty big size among her peers. She is all the while 90 percentile (height and weight) now she is 14.4kg at her 23 weeks.

Last last was 16th Aug, last was 23 Oct. Test postive on the 6th but I used digital one, but subsequentlt the gp tested the line very faint. Then I went to see gynae he took blood & hcg level about 750 that was on the 8th dec

Hi May,
I think birdnest gotta wait till somewhere near mid-2nd tri. Actually also can't take too much because last time i took almost every wk for 2 mths plus around 6 mths and my girl now has sensitive skin, weak lungs, asthmastic (since 2),and had bronchitis every mth since she was 2yrs. Then, I went to the asthma society in Singapore and found that for Asians, the likelihood that we are allergic to peanuts & pollen etc is much less as compared to westerners. Instead our number 1 worry is bird's nest.So, I guess I made a mistake by taking too much , too frequently. My girl not only didn't have good skin but suffer fr rashes ever so often. Now, I boil red dates, dried longan to dink once a wk.

YB, will pray for you ok.keep us udated.and take care.

Hong,
got a good juice recipie to share from a friend from taiwan who recently gave birth to a healthy baby. Every morning, she drinks this concoction of juice. - Bittergourd, cucmber(small amt), Kiwi, Apple,soya bean, almond and Soy-lecithin. Of course we can mix others according to our likes, but i'm going to try.the soy-lecithin is the small granules which are v healthy. Pineapple, v small amts and cooked should be fine.For del monte banana, old pple say they are cooling(they call it green fruit, so can't take while those short small,stumpy ones(they call red fruit,indian fruit) can be taken.
Your girl really stong and well built. I took lots of durian and yes got a big baby (for my small size), however, now at 37 mths,she only 14 kg... ha ha and not even 90cm yet.

kin,
u got a daughter too? Mine quite tall and heavy.
I didnt know taking too much birdnest got side effect. I took birdnest at the last trimester after i nagged at my hubby. however, my daughter very tan! How i wish to have a snow-white daughter. hahaah

Well, look like everything got to be taken in moderate.

my mum told me bittergourd is cooling so she dun allow me to take it. U mean the small bittergourd? What is soy-lecithin?

However, i do take flower pollen granules mixed with honey during my 1st pregnancy.

I wonder who are not 1st time mother to be here.
Heh care to share ur little darling pic?

angelsky,
may be the sac will show up later. Dun worry too much ok..

YB,
if u increase the dosage will it bring harm to ur feotus?

BTW, MTbs i have side headache today. my left temple is pounding from the moment i alighed at the bus stop till i am typing here.. so sian.. spoilt my monday.. really very blue now!

Hi Hong, how to post photo? Yes, bittergourd is cooling but i think she took the small ones. Anyway, we can just alternate it, once a while should be fine. Even cucumber is cooling too. For Soy-lecithin, it is a natural food supplement, almost entirely extracted from soya beans. Personally, i don't think need to take it daily or all the time, as long as you do drink soya bean etc.
I'll give fruit juice a try, think it is really healthy! Yr headache may be due to lack of food, water or even rest. I suffer from bad headaches too. I;ve not taken any panadol but my gynae says it's absolutely safe to take the normal panadol tablet, most traditional type. If not 2 tablets, one each time should be fine. hope this helps.

My wife is taking bird nest every three days. Hope it doesn't have much side effects. Anyway, my SIL also took bird nest during her pregnacy and her gal turns out fine. I guess everyone have different reaction. Hmm....maybe should try and ask my wife to take some durian on and off nowadays.

Anglesky,
Don't worry too much. Everyone here is praying for you. I am sure you'll be fine.

YB,
My wife also have thyroid on and off, I just hope it don't show up for this 40 weeks. Kinda worried after what you mention. But hang in there, I am sure your baby will turn out well.

kin,

can u see the Upload Attachment button?
Just chose a photo and attached it but must be less than 50KB and there is a standard dimension to follow.
i go lunch 1st will upload after i am back.

hi kin,

can we drink red date n longan drink now? thot is onli drank during ur confinement? how do u make it?can teach me? coz i dun reali like plain water...tks

Please see attached for the amended version.

mime_msexcel.gif

Antenatal Package Table.xls (20.5 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Hi zita27,
Is ur gynae good? Does she knows how to treat thryoid during pregnancy?? My gynae wanted to refer me to a specialist cos I think he's not very familiar. If Dr Tan is good, I'm thinking of switching to her ASAP.

Hi Hong,
I'm advised to increase my dosage from 100mg per day to 150mg per day. However, I think the max dosage is 150mg. We're not allowed to take more than that cos it will be passes to fetus thru blood stream.

I'm actually very angry with my gynae cos he didn't take my thyroid condition seriously. I even have to remind him to take my thyroid blood test!! The GP who treated me that last time used to monitor my blood test very mth. But ever since I got pregnant, I haven't been tested for more than 3 mths!! My gynae at that time even says my condition very mild, no need to worry. but all of a sudden wanted me to increase my dosage. I'm SO SO worried!!

Hi liverpool11,
Has ur wife's thyriod been controlled?? You may wish to tell ur gynae about the medical condition cos then ur gynae can monitor for you.it's better to be safe than sorry.

hong,

wow! yr ger is 4kg at birth.

I carried my ger until 41 weeks...ended up c-section. she is 4.2 kg at birth..

hi YB,

thanks for putting up the antenatal package table.

how? are u still having yr M/S? i m still feeling nausea.

any mummies drinks coffee or tea daily?

Hi angelsky,

Your experience sounded v much like mine. This is my second BB, I have been trying for this second for 2 to 3 mths. Finally got it after 3 tries. My LMD was 5 Oct, dun want to be too kan cheong, so went to see doctor on 22 Nov 05(supposed to be 6 week preg then). My doc only managed to detected a little dot. My heart almost dropped when he told me that it may be a etopic bb if based on my LMD. Took a blood test the very next day and confirmed by doc that I am v much pregnant cos HCG level v high. Went back to see the doctor one day after, so relieved to see a bigger dot. But the my doc told me cannot see the sac yet, heart dropped again. Was told to see him few days later..I see him the 3rd time on 28 Nov 05, was so relieved this time cos can see sac already, also with heartbeat. The doc confirmed that mine is a early prenancy due to irregular menses. So dun worry too much, it made a big difference to see the doc in few days gap..I fully understand how you feel before any confirmation can be done, but dun worry k..

Hi littlebaby Val,
yes, i'm still having MS. especially bad at night. have to keep running to the toilet bowl. It's a real torture...I also dunno if my MS is caused my hormones or my thyroid. Cos they have the same symptoms.

Hi liverpool11,
if ur wife still have thyroid, she has to be extra careful of wat she eats cos it will actually trigger her thyroid to come back again.

Hi littlebaby,

Yes, I am seeing Dr Tham, if based on my LMD, my EDD should be 12 July 06, however based on actual BB size, may be 10 days later (22 July 06). How do you find Dr Tham?

littlebaby,
u still wow! urs is even heavier than mine.
Luckily i still can go thru assisted natural birth. I dun want to end up c-section.

Ur got ur children photo to show us.

YB,
oh dear, so u still stick to this gynae?

kin,
the most recent pix of my girl.
348664.jpg

348665.jpg

Hi Hong,
ur daughter is so cute &amp; adorable!!
I'll definitely change my gynae but I haven't found another good one. Do u have any recommendations? Especially for high-risk pregnancies?? I'll still be seeing him this week cos I wanna get my test report.

Can I join?

Me too having MS and worst still, whole bady aching at night until i keep tossing and turning, just couldn't fall into sleep.. but so far only feel the nauseasiness with no vomitting.. i could hardly find any food and drinks i like.. dun like plain water either.. heard some mummies here mentioned about the red date and longan drinks.. can we take during our 1st trim? How about those glukose (pu tao tang) sell in the market?

Wah, the thread is moving really fast these days!

bearybear, Pooh &amp; lovingbb - Hi there and welcome!

YB - Aw, that's so sweet of your DH.
I am sure you will be A-OK with the proper medication. Hang in there, OK? Thanks for the updated antenatal pkg chart.

pp02 - Wah, No.3? Congrats! I did not know that young coconut will ease us into a smooth and short labour. Thanks for the info.

angelsky - Hang in there, OK? You may get a wonderful surprise on your next visit! Keeping my fingers crossed for ya.

May - Wow! You don't have MS at all? Yup, you are one of the lucky ones. For me, still having MS &amp; vomiting. Nope, I have not taken birdnest yet.

hong - Hope that your headache is gone already! Whenever I get headaches, my OBGYN advice me to take sweet drinks as it helps. So far,it works for me. Your daugther is so pretty and cute! Thanks for sharing!

littlebaby - I do drink tea now and then when I really crave for it. According to my OBGYN, 1 cup per day is OK (in moderation).

Chart Updated:
<table border=1><tr><td>NAME</TD><TD> EDD</TD><TD> OBGYN</TD><TD> HOSPITAL </TD></TR><TR><TD>zita27</TD><TD> 07 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.K.T.Tan</TD><TD> KK/SGH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Li May</TD><TD> 07 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.K.K.Lee</TD><TD> Mt.A </TD></TR><TR><TD>japepearl</TD><TD> 07 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.L.C.Cheng</TD><TD> TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>sleepygarfield</TD><TD> 09 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr. </TD></TR><TR><TD>liverpool11</TD><TD> 11 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.L.C.Cheng</TD><TD> TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>pepper</TD><TD> 11 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.K.H.Chan</TD><TD> Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mel</TD><TD> 11 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr Chandra</TD><TD> Mt.A </TD></TR><TR><TD>kin</TD><TD> 12 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.S.C.Chew</TD><TD> Mt.E </TD></TR><TR><TD>NOIF</TD><TD> 12 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr. John Tee</TD><TD> KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pooh</TD><TD> 12 July 06</TD><TD> Dr.Tham</TD><TD> Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jasline</TD><TD> 15 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr. K.T.Tan</TD><TD> KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>lala</TD><TD> 17 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD> TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hong</TD><TD> 18 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr. Lawrence Ang</TD><TD> TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>May</TD><TD> 18 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr. Lisa Chin</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>littlebaby~Val</TD><TD> 19 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr Tham</TD><TD> Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>YB</TD><TD> 19 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr Roy Ng</TD><TD> Mt.A </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dear</TD><TD> 20 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.L.N.Sim</TD><TD> TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Japepearl,
sweet drink! really! ok i go and try..
BTW, i think quite hard for u to update the list like that. May be we make it into excel file later.

YB,
thanks. I am waiting for kin and littlebaby's child photo too.

Sorry i cant suggest any gynae to u. The 1st one i went is quite KS. U wanna try Dr KC Yeo from TMC.. asking us to check so many things...
U prefer very careful gynae? his package is $550 at 12 weeks but i dun know with ur blood test will it be more.

lovingbb, pooh
Welcome..

hi Japepearl,

I'm delivering at gleneagle. Tks for the update. I hope to share with u gals my antenatal package cos I dun have info now.

I would love love to eat durians but cant seem to find durians these days. Only place is CArrefour but I guess I'll be thrown out of public transport if I buy durians. HAHHA...

<table border=1><tr><td>NAME</TD><TD> EDD</TD><TD> OBGYN</TD><TD> HOSPITAL </TD></TR><TR><TD>zita27</TD><TD> 07 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.K.T.Tan</TD><TD> KK/SGH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Li May</TD><TD> 07 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.K.K.Lee</TD><TD> Mt.A </TD></TR><TR><TD>japepearl</TD><TD> 07 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.L.C.Cheng</TD><TD> TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>sleepygarfield</TD><TD> 09 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr. </TD></TR><TR><TD>liverpool11</TD><TD> 11 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.L.C.Cheng</TD><TD> TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>pepper</TD><TD> 11 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.K.H.Chan</TD><TD> Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mel</TD><TD> 11 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr Chandra</TD><TD> Mt.A </TD></TR><TR><TD>kin</TD><TD> 12 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.S.C.Chew</TD><TD> Mt.E </TD></TR><TR><TD>NOIF</TD><TD> 12 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr. John Tee</TD><TD> KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pooh</TD><TD> 12 July 06</TD><TD> Dr.Tham</TD><TD> Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jasline</TD><TD> 15 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr. K.T.Tan</TD><TD> KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>lala</TD><TD> 17 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD> TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hong</TD><TD> 18 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr. Lawrence Ang</TD><TD> TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>May</TD><TD> 18 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr. Lisa Chin</TD><TD> Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>littlebaby~Val</TD><TD> 19 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr Tham</TD><TD> Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>YB</TD><TD> 19 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr Roy Ng</TD><TD> Mt.A </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dear</TD><TD> 20 Jul 06</TD><TD> Dr.L.N.Sim</TD><TD> TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Hong - No worries! Me have the codes in my notepad, so, just cut and paste only. Hope the sweet drink will work for ya too.

May - You are most welcome! Maybe you can try the Geylang Road...always heard my PIL saying how good the D24 is, etc, etc, etc...

YB,
My wife thyroid is once in a blue type. It don't happend frequently. But I guess I will remind the doc on the next visit to monitor closely.

hi Hong,
wait for my photo ok. all too big!!

Hi Angeline and lovingbb,
red dates and longan can be just boiled over slow fire until thefragrance and taste comes out or over the slow cooker overnight. amt is according to your likes,however, more longagn means sweeter. get the red dates without the seeds, someone in this thread said it is less cooling and more bu. Sometimes can add ginger if you want

Hi YB..

I am not sure whether is Dr Tan good cause every session wif her is less then 5min, n i didnt ask much question. But she is those motherly type of Dr. n i feel quite comfortable wif her.

Dr Tan is recommended by my colleagues, 2 of them have complication during their pregnancy n they are grateful to Dr Tan for seeing them thro. a smooth delivery.

For yr condition ,maybe is a better idea to seek treatment n gynae at KKH..Cause they have all the specialist Dr under one roof. Much better then refer here n there. juz my opinion : )

Can call KKH to make an appointment..should be able to c dr. within 3days.

takecare, relax n dont worry too much : )

Hi hi.. can I join? I have been quietly reading all of ur posts and they are really very useful for me.. especially this is my first pregnancy, and is an unexpected one.

My EDD is either 30 July or 2 Aug.

Hi angelsky did yr gynae did a V scan or tummy scan? cause if u small size using tummy scan cant really detect the sac at early week leh.

Dr use tummy scan cant detect anything..so i have to go thr. the V. scan till 10wks. My Dr. say because i too skinny.

Hi mtb,

Since 2 wks or last wk, I realise I can eat alot during day time but when come to dinner really dun feel like eating juz feel like puking. Everyday even wkend also the same.

Sometimes really wish evening/nite time dun come. The feeling is really so xing ku that just now I almost want to cry while waiting for bus.

anyone same like me?

pp02,
Wow, u have 3 children? How do u cope wif all 3?

may,
For my 1st one, i started taking bird nest weekly, then gradually twice weekly. My son is very very fair now.
Can get durians at upper serangoon rd oso.

YB, kin, hong,
Watermelon cannot eat cos very liang. But moderation shd be fine. However i avoid it during 1st trimester esp since i'm spotting now. I ate durians rather frequently oso during my 1st pregnancy but my son very small leh.

lovingbb,
I used to take ribena or glucolin cos i couldn't stomach plain water. After my frens told me dun take too much ribena cos may cause bb to have phlegm, i reduced.

dear,
I have the nauseous feeling thru outthe day at times. ALways make the vomit sound but nothing comes out. Not much appetite either.

Hi Zita27,
Thanks for the information. I'll make the switch after I get all my reports from my current gynae. Have discussed with my hubby &amp; family. They all agreed tat it's more convenient &amp; safer for me to deliver in KKH if complications arises before/after delivery. I'll most probably c Dr Tan too cos I understand she's the head of dept??

The GP who used to treat my thyroid called me this afternoon to enquire abt my thyroid. I asked him many questions cos he's very approachable. He said probably my gynae doesn't know how to treat thyroid tat's y wanted to recommend me to specialist. He also said normally gynae should be able to treat thyroid together with pregnancy. I felt SO much better after talking to him. At least he bother to call me personally rather than my gynae asking his nurse to call me.

Btw, is ultrasound included in the premier package of KKH?? If not, it seems much ex than delivering in Mt E leh.

Hi dear,
Dun feel so sad!! You r not alone!! I also feel the same way as you. My MS seems to be getting worse, especially in evening/night. Cannot tahan cooking smell. Even looking at food commercials also cannot tahan.

I also feel very miserable. Cos have to worry about how baby is doing, wherether my thyroid is affecting baby, findin a good gynae on top of fighting off my nausea everyday. I almost regretted being pregnant in the 1st place!!

I discovered that I tend to feel even worst when I'm hungry. Which happens abt every 2 hrs. So I try to munch on biscuits everytime I feel bad. So worried that I'll put on unnecessary weight.

The ONLY consolation is that having bad MS could mean that baby is doing well.........let us all pull thru these together!!

Hi chrys,
Warm Welcome!! Glad that we're helping you on ur "journey". Do u encounter MS too?? This is also my 1st pregnancy &amp; also unexpected cos I'm not supposed to get preg until 1-2yrs when my thyroid is controlled.

I went to see Dr Chan KH for the first time yesterday, very patient and nice doctor, glad that i switched to him.

And we saw our baby's feet, hands with tiny fingers, nose, eyes... and something stick out in between the legs, doc say we are probably expecting a boy. This is our first baby and we were so amaze about how active the baby is, the strong heart beat and most of all how excited the baby is and not wanting to hide his sex. I was thinking i am carrying a girl, and the doc say he can't be 100% sure at this moment but very likely to be a boy.

But he wasn't very cooperative for the doc to measure the neck thickness, so the NT scan wasn't successful. We will go back to do the triple test in 4 weeks time.

Hi dear,

I also. I monring puke once and evening puke once. Sometimes whole day got that nausea feeling. I always feel like puking at a fixed time. That's why I cannot go home late. The moment I walked out of the office, I feel like puking liow. So I eat biscuits, it does help but for a while only. At least I can tahan till I reach home then puke. You can try.

YB,
Dr Tan is the head of dept?? I tot John Tee is the head of dept leh. Or changed recently? Heehee! Nevermind, i find out when go for my next appt.

Pepper,
Wow! So fast know the baby gender liao. So envy!

Wow, pepper so fast know liao. Congrats. I am going for my NT scan next week. I don't know if I am paranoid, but I am very scare the heartbeat would stop at the next appt coz wife now and then always complain stomach pain.

Hello there... i'm new here. I'm on my 8.5 weeks now. starting to feel nausea too.. especially when i see anything related to pink colour ...my nausea will become stronger.. very uncomfortable...

liverpool,
i dun think bb heart will just stopped like that. Dun worry too much. Hope everything will be fine.

pepper,
so fast u know the gender. Look like 80% is a boy. congrats!

Hi to all the new comers.

YB,
why regret? I think all the MS and ur thyroid condition have make u rather blue. Pregnancy is not an easy task, that is why mother are so "wei da"

kin,
when are u resizing the photo? I am waiting leh.

pp02, how abt u? care to share ur darlings photos?

YB,
Dun feel regretful abt having a bb okie? It's a blessing to have one

liverpool,
Mebbe u wanna bring up ur wife's stomach pain to the gynae? But a little is fine cos the uterus?/dunno wat? is expanding.

hong,
Forgot to add yday. When was the 1st pic of ur gal taken? I've seen her 2nd pic b4. She looks so grown up.

Hi YB, It didnt mention whether is scan included, maybe can call 6294 4050 to enquiries. Scanning cost $28.90 in KKH.If u choose Snr Consultant..the pricing is equa. or more x then private for out patient visit.

But if got complication n need to stay in then it might b a cost saving, u can actually seek help from social worker or downgrade yr ward class ...!

My frez son had complication n required to stay in those high dependency unit..social worker immed. contact my frez whether wan to change ward class.. cause the cost maybe high.

Another Dr. u might consider is Dr John Tee, he is veri renowned in KKH..The queue is always veri long... The reason i choose Dr Tan is beacuse i prefer a female gynae.

Kin,
She is so sweet! very sunshine girl!!!

bearybear,
urs also 2nd pregnancy right?
1st one taken at Istana.

Liverpool,
how is the heartbeat of ur bb? Strong then shldnt worry too much.

MTB,
today i look at my wardrode and i wonder wat i can wear to work... my bottom are getting tighter now but i dun want to go into maternity pants yet. U girls having this problem?

Hi pepper, wow u have went for yr NT scan liao, heehee, my next week, abit scared. btw how long is the scan?

Noif, ya caught me in surprise i thought John Tee is the HOD, juz went to surf KKH website..found out that the HOD change to KT Tan.

Hong &amp; Kin...gal gal so adorable..so envy ; )