(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

wen,
pediped and seekairun - are they hard sole or soft sole shoes? seems like there's a rubber layer beneath when I see the pic on the website?

Dal & Mich,
hope JZ & Mich get well! Tough when either party is ill, hard to take care of ill bb. Hard tfor ill mummy to take care of lively bb!
Irv still coughing, just went GP follow-up cos neurotic, turns out not considered asthma case, lungs clear etc, phew. Just a VIRAL cough... whatever that means!

Mich, sick after holiday ah...this means you cannot go on holiday...haha...take care and get well soon.

Dal, hope Jezoir is recovering..

Mspiggy, I am getting a pair of pediped for my friend, added in the list already.

Happymum, Famela's boy share the same birthday as Jerica so she is a June mummy too!

happymum
Pediped - think should be considered as soft-sole. Coz just a thin layer at the bottom (but slightly thinker than shoo shoos).

seekairun - if you read the 'about us' on their webpage. Think they wrote something about the type of plastic they used. It is very bendable. And I find the upper sole -leather very nice and soft. Gabby is using it for most of her outdoor walking now.

So far, I have got her stride-ride, oshgosh. But I didn't let her wear coz find them a bit hard. Before I got her seekairun, she was on munchkin. That is a bit hard too...but I didn't have much choice then. Seekairun is more like the mix of both world -flexibility of soft-sole + protection of hard sole. I have to be very careful with Gabby's feet because her dad is flat footed. Best is to let her go bare footed but she is running around so much now that I have to let her put on shoes when she is outdoor.

In fact, I prefer this pair to Pediped..hehe. Pediped is more for indoor walk so not suitable for walking outdoor.

Hope I am not confusing you...:p

<font face="tahoma">Hi Wen,
Can we find seekairun in singapore?

Need to get something slightly harder coz only have Shoo Shoos for Wes currently. Not really suitable for outdoors. You think Pediped is very similar to Shoo Shoos??</font>

pawprint,
hope Irv will be well soon.

Injections
I have yet to bring Gabby for 3 injections that is due - pneumococcal last jab, mmr, and another one I can't remember. So poor thing, she need to get the all 3 soon...

Anyone got MMR done already?

mspiggy
I am not sure if can get seekairun in Singapore or not. I asked a US friend to buy and send to me. Took a risk. Think I read some mothers wrote about it in one forum..can't remember where exactly.

Think pediped is quite similar to shoo shoos because it is all in leather and suppose to be 'closest to barefoot'. But it is with 'shape' so can wear like proper shoes, no need the elastic band. Personally I find it not very suitable for outdoor coz it is all in leather so may get spoilt if wet.

vivi
I got both from the US. First one sent by a friend. Later one bought by hubby when he was in US. I sold it off coz feel that it is quite hard.

<font face="tahoma"> Wen,
thanks! hmmm... in that case seems like Pediped is not a good buy since I'm looking for soles that is lightly harder.</font>

Good Morning ladies.

Lyn,
from pediped website
<font color="0000ff">It is widely known that pediatricians recommend children up to two years of age go barefoot (when safe and practical) or wear soft, flexible footwear. Doing so promotes healthy foot development, ensures childrens growing feet are not constricted and enables them to develop foot strength. pediped footwear have soft, cushioned leather soles and soft, flexible leather uppers. They are not only fashion-forward, but actually good for childrens developing feet.</font>

Oki,
Me too. Not planning for no 2 yet.

Dor,
Wow you have 6-8 BN pairs! I have 2. Maybe we should combine and sell them...

happymum,
Yes elephant brand brown rice does have both the light brown and red type. I also heard that the red type abit heaty, the elderly says. But the red one are more nutritious. If your gal is drinking alot of water and her bowel system is normal then i think you don't have to worry. Another suggestion is, give her brown rice on alternate days, the other days, u can give normal white rice or you can mix the 1/2 portion of white and 1/2 portion of brown rice.
Where do you stay? The shop that i went to is at blk 428 Jurong West, is an organic shop.

happymum,
Re: shoes
Hmm, but don't you think that when the baby can walk, it's dangerous to let them still wear the soft leather sole? Those shoes that w/o a rubber/hard base? 1st of all, there's no rubber friction, might slip n fall. 2nd being if he/she starts walking, there might be sharp objects on the floor and hurt them. So my personal view is, the soft leather type shoe like shoo shoo, J&L, Bobux or any other brands is good enough till 12mths old. Once they have started learning to work, these shoes are not suitable already lol.

<font face="tahoma"> panda,
am interested too.. hehehee BUT VERY EXP! The prices havent include the shipping!</font>

Vivi, Serene,
Vivi, I got your PM, thanks for offering to buy for me. I'm such a toad, after I read your mail, I suddenly realised the brown rice package has a website, so I go to the website, find the tel no. and call, and was told Bedok sheng shiong sells it!! Me feel so stupid, haha!! But so glad I found it man!
Serene,
My girl doesn't drink a lot of water, though her poo is ok. Think I will try give her alternate days first, then when she's ok, give everyday. Thanks for the suggestion!

haha, me so glad now, later will go sheng shiong buy before work.

Shoes
Wen makes me gian gian the seekairun shoes too!! Panda, I was looking at the same website as you!! Ya, but so ex leh...... like not worth it.... even without shipping, I find it ex, S$50+. and will outgrow soon....

Serene,
Hmm, I never think about the hard objects on the floor. But my girl wear her Disney soft sole shoes outdoor, so far ok leh, there's still some friction beneath cos of the small dots on the sole. Actually, my girl does not wear shoes till she' 12 months old.

Serene,
accidentally posted msg before I finish writing.
My girl does not wear shoes till she's 12 months old. Mayb I should get her a pair of hard sole shoes then. But I have a pair from cerisi, find the rubber soles really hard leh.... Mm... maybe should go look around for softer rubber soled shoes.

happymum,
As long as the shoes that she's wearing has a layer of thicker protection. Previously, my boy is only wearing shoo shoo, WEE step, those leather sole which i feels it's not suitable for him now. Now he walks very well with the hard sole.

Glad that you found where to buy the elephant brand brown rice. Think I will go and get the red brown rice too.

Morning ladies....

Re: shoes
Still have 3 pairs of BN soft-sole shoes for ER, supposedly for 18-24mths. Hmm, agree that soft-sole kind don't seem v suitable for outdoors, maybe get those that has really soft & bendable rubber soles.

panda: the SeeKaiRun shoes ex ley.

seekairun
Paiseh...think I tickle the shopping worm on some of you...lol. If anyone want to view the shoes before buying..coz it is really quite ex, can arrange grp gathering again so you can see first lah.. hehe..

I normally don't spend so much on her clothings but willing to spend on shoes coz want to make sure that her feet grows well (at least I do my best)...not like her daddy got flat feet. Kiasi lah...lol..

mspiggy,happymum,
haha...gian hor. I have an idea, suggest babetitude.com to seekairun (under suggest a store) then we can all buy fr babetitude...hahahaa. I siao liao..
903747.gif

happymum,
If u dun mind price abit ex., clarks is very beautiful and the leather is soft. Esp the designs for gals, very nice!

panda,
SeeKaiRun shoes indeed quite nice but not sure easy to fit in, soft or not???

angeline,
Which montessori u going for trial? I thought youngest age eligible is 18M?

<font color="ff0000">panda</font>

buy BOTH! haha :p
but never see SeeKaiRun shoes before le
at least I saw Pediped shoes before.

just my 2 cents worth, Pediped will be good for outdoor dry weather. If wet weather, then no good, my current Clarks or sandals will be better.
So far, my boy using Oshkosh soft soles to walk, think pretty similar to Pediped, went shopping centre, playground etc, no problem. With Clarks hard sole type, good friction but I tend to worry that he may twist his ankle when he get from sitting on floor to standing position cos its harder & not as flexible compared to Oshkosh.

wen,

I want to see SeeKaiRun
haha so meet you can??

<font face="tahoma">wen & sunflower attending the same church?! small world!

then the rest of us how?? dont tell me to meet in church also hor! hahahahahaha</font>

re: Pediped

btw I finally measured my boy's feet last night. after printing the chart for so long :p
think must get L size liao. cos chart says must add 1/4 inch to feet size plus I wear socks for him so must add slightly more allowance. Problem is my boy kept curling his tiny little toes, so can only estimate.

sunflower,

hmm... As long as we dun let them wear tight shoes, it should be fine rite? Cos the floor also hard leh... I let A wears hard soles shoes now. He's fine with walking in them

sunflower,
ok. I hope can remember. Now working, brain getting cramped with all the new info..keke. sms me, can?

Mspiggy,
Me and Sunflower neighbouring church..haha. Where are you? Can arrange outing lah..wahaha..for babies or mommies, then can see shoes too..lol..I say so much about seekairun sekali all of you buy and say no good. Not earning commission leh..lol..

lyn,

I've a hard sole, a soft sole, and a sandal. Haha... he's ok with all but prefers the soft sole
talk about preference! err think barefoot walk on ground diff from feet being confine in shoes.

sunflower: Your boy can fit into L size? My boy's feet quite big, about 14cm, so can't fit into the XL which is 142mm in length.

<font face="tahoma"> Wen,
Am staying in AMK... where's your church? Can meet after your service though

Actually Wes still not walking very well... still prefers crawling. hehehe</font>

<font face="tahoma">
sunflower,
Good idea... I realised Wes loves children. He's super friendly to kids we met at the neighbourhood. He'll call them if they didn't say hello to him! hahahahaha</font>