(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

<font color="aa00aa"><font face="gungsuh">Keeping teeth clean</font></font>
Cleaning your toddler's teeth needs to become part of his daily hygiene routine, in the morning and last thing before bed.
Your aim is to clear all food debris from on or between the teeth. Use a small, soft toothbrush with a pea-sized helping of children's fluoride toothpaste and an up and down motion. Don't let your toddler get into the habit of sawing from side to side; it doesn't clean teeth and may damage gums.

Clean your toddler's teeth at least twice every day. Make sure that the last time is after supper so that food remnants do not stay in the mouth all night.

Cleaning teeth thoroughly is a great deal easier said than done. If your toddler would allow you to look carefully in his mouth under a good light, you'd probably be appalled at the number of bits of frosted flakes that had withstood your best after-breakfast efforts. If you can see them though, you can brush them off; do everything you can to persuade your child to co-operate so you don't have to brush blind. If copying you, or having a turn brushing your teeth, no longer interests him, try a mirror. If he will look at his own teeth, so can you. If he will point at them with a finger - to count, or perhaps name them - he might let you point with that brush.

"You could make cleaning into a game, using different coloured or different flavoured toothpaste or getting a small hand mirror so that he can see his teeth while they are being cleaned," suggests dental health educator Jo Horrillo. A regular change of toothbrush may also help to keep him interested.

<font color="aa00aa"><font face="gungsuh">How can I get my 13-month-old to let me brush her teeth? It's a struggle every time.</font></font>
The best way to avoid tooth-brushing battles is by starting a brushing routine as soon as your baby's first tooth appears at around the age of six months.

At this age the easiest way to brush is with your baby sitting on your lap, her head cradled in the crook of your elbow. Twice a day gently ease the toothbrush into her mouth and give her little teeth a quick once-over. She will probably chew the brush and make a grab for it. Let her investigate, but then gently take it back and brush some more. Turn it into a game if you can, like the ones that you play to encourage her to eat. Don't force her to open up - you want her to like this idea of brushing.

Use only a smear of low-fluoride children's toothpaste on the brush. Too much toothpaste can lead to fluorosis (white patches or mottling on the teeth). As your baby grows, right up until she is seven or eight years old, you will need to do the brushing for her. Try kneeling on the floor and asking her to lie down with her head in your lap to brush. In this position you can see all her teeth and she has something soft to lie on. When she wriggles you can easily move your arm and the brush out of the way. Best of all she can't run away and you don't feel that you are forcing the brush into her mouth.

But, as well as a good brushing position, it's important to remember that young children love to copy. If you want to encourage good dental hygiene, make sure that your children see you brushing your teeth every morning and evening.

895467.gif
895468.gif
895469.gif
895470.gif

oppps, i have to start brushing K's teeth ! she has 6 already and 2 more coming out ...

but i suspect she will bite me if i put my finger in her mouth :p haahaa

Lyn: no time to shop, we got into KL on Fri evening, had dinner with in laws, visited my Malaysia best friend on Sat, wedding dinner on Sat, then Dim sum on Sun and flew back home.
well, actually, i shopped a bit at DFS la ... heehee
and also got a cute sundress and tights from Padini.
Dont they have flash cards in Singapore's MPH ??

MTDT : heehe, no need la, good things must share right ? haahaa
glad that everyone is enjoying their rubbermaid bottles ! haahaa

<font face="tahoma"> me too have to start soon!

K Ong,
Wes confirm will bite me if I put my finger in his mouth! hehehe</font>

I tried putting celest to zz on mattress on the floor but tink i more tired..she currently zz in bbcot.she flips n turns alot during zzz end up she always drop onto the floor.my room only got a space for a single size mattress leh..oso hor,the mattres got a bit of height..i try 1 nite,i faint liao..cant even zzz for me..

how har

angeline
my gal still sleeps in bet us at night..she will also flip here and there and kicked us...tried putting her in the cot once, she sat up in the middle of the night crying and refused to stop till we carry her back to our bed....

<font color="ff6000"><font face="gungsuh">Step,</font></font>
<font color="0077aa"><font face="gungsuh">most prob will use both toothbrush wif First Teeth toothpaste (the one mtdt & sunflower recommend). If he doesn't like then maybe let him brush/play with brush w/o paste. </font></font>

<font face="tahoma"> Angeline,
Wes still cant sleep on his own.
I let him roll and roll... it's so obvious that he's tired already but he just cant sleep on his own.

I'm BTH (buay ta han) carry him up.. immediate he lies on my shoulder and sleeps.

how to make him sleep on his own????</font>

sunflower,

u got use the toothpaste liao har...does he koes how to spit out? i haven try that leh...only using the brush to clean only..

Dal

so sorry cant join u 2morow liao...paiseh paiseh..

mich

u back in TW? safe flt home..

stephanie

i dun like to let her zz btw us...coz i always cant zz well..always scare she will fall down,i always woke up in 'shock'..

mspiggy

celest now dun like ppl carry to zzz...thats a big problem when we outside..whenevr i put her in the position,she will struggle liao.now she can only put on a bed n pat her to zz..takes abt 15-30min.when she super tired,she can fall asleep at the count of 10.

angeline,

no le. think this is safe for consumption. different from adult toothpaste.

100% Ingestible Baby Toothpaste
Recommended by Dentists and Pediatricians

Contains Milk Enzymes...The Best Natural Protection for Your Child's Teeth
Fluoride Free
For Ages 3 Months to 3 Years
Real Apple-Banana Flavor
plus comes with Soft Infa-Dent Finger Toothbrush and Gum Massager
The sweetness of baby's breath is the result of a healthy balance of oral bacteria.

First Teeth Baby Toothpaste contains a unique natural enzyme system to protect your baby's mouth against harmful bacteria much like the way a mother's breast milk does. Physicians and dentists recommend gentle cleaning of babies teeth and gums to remove sugar and food starches. Plaque-like film on babies teeth is a breeding ground for harmful bacteria. Brushing your baby's teeth everyday with First Teeth Baby Toothpaste is a safe way to reduce odor causing bacteria - helping to prevent early tooth decay.

We use only the finest natural ingredients to assure you the highest quality and extra gentle cleaning.

Compared to Other Toothpastes, First Teeth:

Contains No Fluoride or Saccharin
No Artificial Preservatives or Colors
Made with Natural Fruit Flavors
Totally Safe if Swallowed
Naturally protects, like Mother's Milk.

Active Ingredients: Lactoferrin, Lysozyme, Lactoperoxidase (Enzymes are derived from milk and eggs)

Inactive Ingredients: Glycerin, Purified Water, Xylitol, Sorbitol, Propylene Glycol, Pectin, Xanthan Gum, Silica, Natural Apple flavor, Natural Banana Flavor, Calcium Lactate, Aloe Vera

angeline,

just use a little tiny dab of toothpaste.

mspiggy, kong,

i don't use the finger glove-type gum massager, use the toothbrush. Then you no worry will bite you

I started First Teeth toothpaste with the finger brush on Jerica for 2 months already. She loves it cos I think the toothpaste has some taste. Every morning I tell Jerica, come brush teeth, she will automatically open her mouth to wait for the tooth brush. She has only 2 upper teeth & 3 lower teeth.

Stephanie, my girl also behaves like your girl. Last night she woke up and cry, we have to put her to sleep in between us then she can sleep till next morning.

angeline
my gal not only loves to sleep bet us, but also to snug right beside us...normally we wld leave enough space in the middle for her...but she will always shift here and there till her body touches some part of us...so u can imagine how crampy it is for us especially when she is growing in terms of both height and weight....also wondering how to throw her back into the cot....

mspiggy
my gal will also roll and roll and sing ....can see that she's tired cos her eyes are closed...simply refuses to sleep......

spicegal
that's the prob..cos now we have shifted the cot to the lower level, so can be quite a chore to carry her out at night if she shd cry.... we were contemplated removing one side of the cot of that the mattress will be in line with our bed....this way she will be like sleeping beside us and not inside her little own world..wonder if this will help

<font color="ff6000"><font face="gungsuh">sunflower</font></font>
<font color="0077aa"><font face="gungsuh">I am the icon girl</font></font>
895516.gif

<font face="tahoma"> Re: brushing teeth
Wes knows how to do the 'action' of brushing teeth but we try to give him a toothbrush to do it yet. He will stand in his cot every morning to see me brush teeth... hence he's very familiar with the 'action' hehehe</font>

i bot the First teeth toothpaste n the Oral b baby toothbrush for Chloe few months ago. Will let her play w her oral b toothbrush n she wil act like brushing teeth. She has 4 teeth on top, 2 teeth on bottom.

At nite, she doesnt sleep on her playpen, she will sleep in between us on our bed lol. however, during daytime nap, my mum will put her to slp on her playpen.

<font color="ff6000"><font face="gungsuh">kite</font></font>
<font color="0077aa"><font face="gungsuh">where u get the oral-b toothbrush?</font></font>

Sorry to interrupt!

Re: Yoghurt

What types and brand of yoghurt are you giving your bbs?

Any idea where to get from?

How abt organic yoghurt?

sunflower,

okie. Where u get it??

I have not intro my boy yet. Want to do it soonest possible.

hmmm maybe my boy might like it as he loves durian!

sunflower, kissbb,
I am not going for 3pm Evans class already. I can only commit twice a week, so will be going to Forum 1pm class. Starting tomolo

Wen,
I taught A to say "gei" when he wants something cos I thought it's easier for him to say. Now he will say "gei", and my sis said it's so rude. hahaha... Now changed to "please" and he will go "peass".

sunflower,
A sometimes will grind his teeth too.

happymum,
I am thinking of letting both kids sleep in the same room with us when second one comes. kekeke...
Last nite, I put A in his cot, and in the morning, I found him on my bed. hahaha...

Kong,
Theres more variety of flashcards in KL.

Teeth:
Recently, A will open his mouth and let me clean his teeth with a cloth
It wasn't smooth

Has anyone thought of bringing your toddlers to a dentist? In Canada, toddlers at 1 year old will go for their first dental check up. I wanna bring A to a dentist, but dunno where... Anyone knows?

re brushing - J is now using stage 3 pigeon toothbrush w 1st teeth toothpaste. he has 16 teeth already. started brushing since 4 months old.

Lyn, you wanna let no. 1 and no. 2 sleep in the same room with you? what if they have diff sleeping schedule?

J has been sleeping in the nursery since 3 months old. we intend to move J to the study, which is supposed to be his room, given we painted it blue for him.
end yr, we will go shopping for furnitures, and J can select his own bed, cupboard, etc.

dentist - i think i should bring J to the dentist too... any child friendly dentists around? let me know k?

lyn, sunflower, re GD Chinese cards - do you have Step 3? Mine no step 3, st to step 4. wonder whether i am missing any cards.

stephanie,
We removed the barrier of the cot, so it's like his cot is joined to our bed but lower.

toto,
Hmm... I haven't thought of that though...
My hubby's dentist told him gotta bring baby to dentist at 18 months old. Dunno that dentist will check for toddlers or not. I wonder how the dentist is going to get A to open his mouth.

mommies,
sorry to interrupt. may i ask what kind of activities do your toddler do daily now? my baby seems bored at home, but it's been raining so can't go out as often as she likes. or is it me who can't engage her enough? any advise?

vivi,
i used to give organic barambah yoghurt, it's plain so i mix w/ fruit. but now i just give adult yoghurt from ntuc. paul's yoghurt, plain version.

wen,
wow u r ftwm now. hope u can adjust well soon. gabby is so avanced in her speech! well done.

rubbermaid bottle:
read abt this here n been trying to look for it to no avail. so hubby said try any botle that can be squeezed. we bought ketchup sauce bottle (don't laugh at me..) n cut the hole bigger for the straw. after squeezing for 2 days, now my bb can suck by herself. so happy.. will try w/ mag mag later. all thanks to KONG

waking up at night:
my bb has been waking up at night for the past week. once at 12.30am, then at 4am. v tiring.. is suspect the culprit is molars that are coming out.

toothbrush:
i'm using pigeon step 2. my bb also likes to act brushing, but it's more like biting it mercilessly. honestly, i'm not sure if i do a good job cleaning her teeth coz she'd bite every now n then when i'm brushing.

lyn,
i also read that it's good to bring 1year old to dentist, to let them see that going to dentist is not scarry (as opposed to go to dentist when they have toothache). but dunno where to start with..

mum2b,
A seems very busy everyday. Maybe my house messy, got lots of things, so he's entertained. hahaha... He will walk everywhere, bring something everywhere the house. And I will be cleaning and tidying. He's not bored, and me too..
Your hubby is very innovative...

Mum2b
I brought my gal to those EC shop to cut.....at first wanted to bring her to a shop at Compass Pt that has a car for toddler to sit in, but they actually charge $7.50 for sitting in the car itself. In the end, i just popped into the EC shop beside it.

lyn
i think we actually have to unscrew it somewhere? hubby was afraid that movable railing will misalign thereafter and next time cannot slide the barrier up and down.

stephanie

haha..my gal will kick here n there...thats y i dun let her zzz beside me.

lyn

A so clever..can say so much liao...celest still babbling...only say mama/dada (hit) in general..not to me..

toto

J got 16 teeth ??? wow..so many..celest still 7 only...hehe

mum2b

molar? hmmm...celest oso been crying at nite waking up for the past few weeks...nv thot of that..coz his upper 4 tooth out liao..the next shd be the molar rite?

dentists-
i brought my elder at abt 1yr but w/o charge. ie. when i see dentist for myself, after my checkup, i request her to look at my girl's teeth just to get her comfortable. the child lies on my lap and we "recline" together on the dentist chair.

child-oriented dentists cost alot more.

Brush teeth
think I am super lazy mom leh. Got 1st Teeth toothpaste long time ago but only used occassionally...she is eating more solid now...think have to be more diligent then..hehe

pawprint,
Great idea! I need to see dentist soon, will try do the same..keke.

yogult
Still giving her the baby yogult...think yoplait brand. She loves it.

Mum2B
*wave* long time no see. Gabby is generally very 'busy' everyday. Like A of lyn, exploring different areas of the house. Actually, no need to play with her all the time now. she will entertain herself. We have this big playpen that can be opened at one end. That has become her play house/hiding place. She would bring toys in and out...sometimes hide pieces there. Or throw balls, kick them etc. She thinks of new way to play too. One day, she put my dad's belt around her and go to my mom and put one end of the belt on her chest and said 'cek,cek.' Initially we didn't know what she was at until my dad figured out that she was imitating the doctor doing checkup with the statescope..lol.