(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

kong:
In e morning, i wil latch my ger or pump (depends whether she wakes up). Then at work, i wil also pump too. At nite, i wil latch her twice. dun remind me of blocked ducts, scary manz. hehe

anyone give bread to your bb? oops now we shall call our bb "toddler" liao hehe

<font color="ff6000"><font face="curlz mt"><font size="+2">K ONG</font></font></font>
849800.gif

<font color="0077aa"><font face="kristen ITC">your bbleg is with me. PM me your address, i mail to u.</font></font>

kite: heehe sorry !! those were horrible days horrr ?? i'm so glad it's all over !!

yes, i accidentally let my toddler eat some italian bread at a restaurant when she was 10 mths !! she was walking ard, playing wif my friends, and when they returned her to me, i saw that she had some bread in her hands, and happily chomping on it !!
so ... i guess it's ok ??

what are your plans on bfeeding ? carry on ? till self wean ?

Kite
I do give bread..cos my gal will usually ask for her share when she sees us munching away. However for wholemeal bread, we will dip it in her milk.

kite,
ya finally broadband but old pc still slow but never mind la, better 1 thing fast then 2 things slow.

K_ong,
the land of sahm is full of challenges!! but its all worth it cause i was there to witness when my boy suddenly decide to walk all over the living room. i have stop bf. and the day i wean jz caught the virus make me feel 'guilty'. u very good...still bf. mine has dwindle to become a snack anyway so i stop. but sometimes can feel like something at the b, and my mind wonder if there's milk inside or not. i didnt 'slowly' wean leh, i was latching once a day for snack, then alternate days twice then stop completely liao. cause i see jz also didnt notice wether he was offered the b so i quickly stop before he notice.

sunflower,
thanks for the welcome. JZ is good, active as ever till my shoulder tendon inflamed...cham liao..biz is ok, in fact i'm having a playgroup on supplements that build immune system in children this sunday, did u read yr e mail?

paula,
u there? what happen to kelly? was trying to contact u so many times to pass kelly her bday present.

kite,
jz eats bread. in fact he eat a lot of other things... : P

wow so much discussion on food... I am real weak in this area...

on leave tomorrow ... its my brother's wedding... going to be v busy.

anyway my great grand ma just passed away on sunday... its S&J's great great grand ma... we cant attend her funeral though cos my mum said "chong" with my brother's wedding... sigh chinese superstition... though we are not that close but still sad that we cant see her one last time.... and S&J never even seen her in person! Its quite sudden actually cos she was so healthy at 98 years old just last year.... then suddenly got stroke and brain damage.

The rest of our extended family will rush down to her wake tomorrow night after the wedding. Its the superstitions again so since Sunday till now, none of us who are going to attend the wedding are allowed to attend the wake.

sigh just frustrated at chinese superstition at times... forsaking human feelings .. sigh last year my grandfather passed away while I was preggie also met with lots of objections on me attending the wake..

poohy: Sad to hear that your great grandma passed away. My grandma is diagnosed with end-stage cancer and has been staying in hospital for the past 2 mths. Both mil & hub don't allow me to bring my son to visit her. I'm really very upset even when i mention this now cos it means she'd never ever see my son again. Mil said my son cannot go for her wake (when she's gone) or any other wake until my son is >3yo.

rodeo,

ya i fully understand how u feel. I felt so frustrated over all these superstitions so many times.. even as a christian, we are not spared from all these even though we absolutely believe nothing abt it. The fact is the rest of the members believed lah. During my grandfather's funeral, was so filled with grief and yet they are busy there stopping us from even seeing and touching his body the last time at his deathbed. My uncle din want me to enter the room in fact... but I insist because I feel strongly about it. How can they be so cruel to neglect the regret we live all our lives of not seeing our loved one the last time...

I was 5 years old when my beloved grandma passed away and I remembered so clearly that they do not allow me to enter the hospital ward too to see her the last time. till this day, I was so sad cos from the time she was hospitalised I never seen her again and I used to be very close to her. That's why I detest the blind superstition that neglects the humanity part of life.

maybe they did it to protect us from "chong" or harm... but there are some things more important than living itself... human emotion... our feelings.

Hi Jac
Received the bb leg today..thanks

But hor...the bbleg got a lot of mold spot inside!!
any mummies have this problem also? I am not sure whether Sam will willing to exchange a new pair for me.....just her replied to one of the mummies..she refuse exchange..

Hubby comment the bbleg "look jia jia" like fake one
849904.gif

yeah...look from outside very sweet..when i open it..alamak..a lot of tiny mold spot ler...i think is the same one with the mummies replied on the thread...

Jesline,
I nvr bring my gal to BJG, so can't help feedback on that. My girl goes to Gymboree now. I have brought her to trial class at MyGym at Marine Parade. After her gymboree lesson ends, I will bring her to MyGym for one term of lesson. I think the best is to bring your bb to a trial clas and see if your bb likes it, cos each bb has different preferences. And bring to the outlet you will sign up if you like it, sometimes each outlet can give different experience cos of setup and the teachers there.

K Ong,
I'm breastfeeding. My girl is on TBF since birth till now. I intro solid only after 6 mths. She will have 2 milk feeds, then 1 solid, 1 milk feed, 1 solid then last milk feed before bedtime.

Hi Poohy

yes..all these superstitions sometimes can really make me really mad! I dont mind following some but i dont like it when pple force superstitions down my throat!

My granny whom i am extremly close with passed away 1 and 1/2 months after i deliver my son. I was already devastated by her passing and next thing i know when i get back home, my mil want to bring my son back to her place till the funeral is over and me and my hubby are not allow to touch him during the few days of the wake. So i tot..ok a few days i ren nevermind....then the shocker came, my parents cannot visit my son until 49 days after my granny's passing...my gosh ..those 49 days are the most difficult period of my life! I think i cried almost everyday..
I really regret following such rubbish even if its in the name of "for the good of our son". I already make it point blank to my husband, in no way am i going to such rubbish anymore and as the mother i decide, the rest if they are unhappy so be it.

Ladies...

Rem that time I mention about some home based SM course? Those of you that had PM me to express interest, pls check your email. There is a preview coming up next weekend.

Keep me updated if anyone interested to attend.

paula,
thanks for ur reply. decided to give thermine n monitor first. felt guilty coz it's always me who pass the cold to my bb. i've been having flu on n off for 2 wees already.

soh1dful,
thanks for organizing BP mytoys, got it today! i'm excited.. btw those who order chelona, do check if there's any wood splinter that can cut into skin. mine got 1, lucky i spotted it first.

fi,
welcome back
i've also been not v active here. i just read postings and shamelessly ask questions here if i have any.. my bb has been v sticky to me after my trip to jkt. dunno bcoz of the cold or what.

Poohy,
Im sorry to learn about your greatgrandmothers demise. Can really understand what your family is going through now its hard to accept these sudden departures.

Rodeo,
Kelly was there at my grandmas wake for 7 days she took part in the ritual and sent her off on the last day too. My family also said the same thing about Kelly shouldnt be there cos she hasnt even turn one year old yet. But my grandma has played such an important role in kelly and my lives that I felt that no matter what, Kelly should be there afterall, she doted on Kelly a lots. I told my family members and relatives that my grandma loves Kelly so much that I believe she will bless her instead.

Soh,
It really never sank to me that my gran is not coming back when I was at the wake maybe we were kept busy with things and our guests the fact only sank in on the night before her cremation. After cremation, those feelings of emptiness, being lost, scared and regrets will then surface. Even now it has been the fifth week since gran has left us, the feeling of being scared of not forgetting what she has told me, how she looks like and so forth has never left me. Its really difficult and it get worst when we have insensitive in-laws. My in-laws are insensitive and Im really going through hell.

Thanks for organizing mytoys! Got my order today. Very fine wood lei

Hey Mummies,
Got this from the site that Sunflower has shared! Ha, I'm particularly interested in broccoli cos' I am always having problems preparing it.

The best way to cook broccoli

When cooking broccoli you should always steam it. Studies have shown that microwaving broccoli cause it to loose nutrients more so than microwaving any other vegetable!!

Broccoli is not a good choice for one of Baby's first vegetables as it may cause gas and may be a bit hard for a young infant to digest. Broccoli is best given to an infant between 8-10 months old. If your baby has had any digestive issues, it would be best to introduce broccoli into the diet later rather than sooner!

mum2be: return it! there shouldnt be any spliters at all... well, that's how i feel!

<font color="ff0000">LADIES ANOTHER BP/SPREE?</font>

www.mudpuppy.com (puzzles!! floor ones!!!)

got 15% discount! BUT please... someone take order ah... mtdt? Thanks!!

FI,
Sorry lei ... really wanted to return your calls but by the time I get home and settle Kelly and myself, it's already 10ish ... will try to catch up with you this weekend. Thanks for everything.

shell,
haha, u still remember our conversation! now when we go shopping, he leads and i follow. haiz.....

sunflower,
haha, now jezior will help me to open the coffee satchet too! i will tear it halfway and he'll tear the rest, then throw the empty sachet into the dustbin. he's also helping me to take the rice and carrot from the fridge to cook his porridge; and he knows how to use the MagiClean floor wipe! (i remove the top portion so its short enough for him to handle). every time he does dat i'll laugh like mad. luckily my ears are there to stop my mouth from splitting up! LOL

shell : really!! mold!! i didnt unwrap your pair to see. Yes, i read that Sam refused to exchange it claiming that he has checked on every pair before despatching them. Perhaps you can take a picture and post it on the thread to show him.

<font color="0000ff"><font face="ravie"><font size="+2">K-Ong</font></font></font>
sorry, yest din go home, slept at mum's plc so didn't send your bbleg out yet. Will do so by tonite or tomoro. Err..i din open your bbleg & check leh. Hopefully dun hv prob.

<font color="aa00aa"><font face="ravie"><font size="+2">Shell</font></font></font>
aiyo...so many problems on Sam's bblegs. I didn't open all my bblegs & check leh, hopefully dun have problem. Can try washing away the mold?

dal,

You so funny, 'ears are there to stop my mouth from splitting up'
JZ so cute!!! can help you tear open the coffee. You so XIN FU! son wait on you le hee heee

My boy also likes the MagiClean floor wipe! haha always want to play with it. Good training for JZ hor.. :p

Poohy,

Sad to hear that your great grandma passed away. Superstitious can really get in the way. Do be strong.

Shell,
got mold! oh dear, I just received it last night and dumped into the drawers!!! I better go check it out tonight.

Wen,

Got your bblegs
when you back drop me a post or email

Morning gals!

Paula: My hub & mil quite pantang & superstitious 1 loh. Sometimes really bey tahan them. When they said my son can't visit my grandma at hospital, I was really angry & upset that I even said to myself, if my mil were to go hospital then I won't be bringing my son to visit her either. Even when grandma was at the newborn baby ward at SGH, they did not allow my son to go. I retorted my hubby, so if i give birth to another baby, my son also can't visit me & his sibling at hospital?!?! This whole thing just makes me boil.

Dal: Your son is so clever. Hehe, I can imagine how cute he is with the magiclean floor wipe :p

Shell: Checked my babylegs last night, they are ok. No moulds but diff pattern diff lengths :p

Morning to all!

Hi kite,
Last nite, i passed by an organic store and happens to see the alphabets pasta that you had posted here so i bought it. But hmmm, how to cook it? We still boil the pasta till it's soft but how about the sauce? Don't think we give the same tomato or cheese sauce as what we adults eat right, will be too much MSG.....

Got milestones to report, hehe.
Irvin can stand independently, finally. For split-sec, and buay zhai lah. Can parrot "dirty!" cos he stuffs everything in his mouth (including his sister's SHOES) and I keep screaming, "no no no no! dirty dirty dirty!". LOL.

Oh and rec'd my Photobook yest- hmm, ok lah. Can't complain cos already know that the paper is not actual photography paper, so has "texture", hence not "as sharp" as photos developed normally. And find that colours not vibrant... again cannot complain, cos the shots taken with flash are vibrant enough, just that the ones taken in natural lighting INDOORS aren't. So photographer (me) fault lah.

Re: cheese

What type of cheese u gals gave to your babies. Mrs Chng mentioned a brand the other time but i couldn't find them off the shelves of supermarket. Can our babies take those normal cheese that we used to eat, like kraft brand, cow brand etc.?

Poohy, sorry to hear about your grandma's demised. Be strong.

Did some supermarketing at JP last night, bought the Eden pasta, laughing cow cube cheese, petit niam yoghurt and cod liver oil (bottle type). Will let J try out this weekend.

Let J try the cod liver oil last night, was surprised that she loves it! Cos hubby & I hated it when we were young.

Went to Shop & Save also, mamy poko selling for $15, pet pet $11.90.

Dal, i was laughing when i read your post, i can just imagine Jezior using the magic clean wipe, must be very cute!! He is very 'ti tie' to help you make your morning coffee. So sweet!

Hi Paula

yup..the reality will slowly gets to you after all the funeral preparations..its gonna be my gran's 1 year death anniversary soon and i still have not gotten over her passing..will cry myself silly (beside my snoring husband)whenever i think of her at night

Till date i still have not forgiven myself not being able to see her for the last time before she passed away. Its an eternal regret.

Not too sure if my gran knows i am feeling bad, i had a dream of her 2 weeks after her passing that she came back to visit and i was holding on to her hand and hugging her...i knew in the dream she is gone so i really hang on to her in the dream as long as i could.

To tell you the truth, i really HATED my mil then. I am thinking, how come no one bother abt how i feel! How can people be so insensitive to my feelings! How would they feel if they are the one in my shoes!? Now our r/s has since been mended, i try to tell myself because she is brought up in a pantang environment (her side and my fil side), hence this is the only things she knows. And i know she is a good nature lady, she is not those evil mil kind that bully her dil..in fact she dotes on me alot..hence i try to balance out my feelings towards her.

Actually my mil also quite poor thing la. Her dad passes away in an accident 3 days before her wedding. My fil side refuse to let her participate in the funeral and she has to pack her stuffs and move to my fil place before her dad's body arrives back at the house and she is not allow to visit her family for 49 days. she told me she everyday cry lo coz she feel so sad, cannot even see her dad for the last time but at the same time also cannot cry too much coz her in laws not happy.

Serene,

I read about cheese in another intro solid to bb thread. cottage cheese is lower in salt content than cheddar cheese but cottage cheese taste a bit sour.

Some mummies give the laughing cow brand, think it's called La Vache Qui Rit, and another brand kiri cheese. I have seen both in NTUC. Kraft has kids cheese stick too, supposed to have natural sugar or something. And I have seen a few other types of kids cheese in carrefour.

soh1dful,

so sad to read about your mil. And you don't feel too bad too. Paula too, take care and hope Kelly recovers soon!

Poohy, condolences to your family.

ladies, have u all brght babies for their 1 yr old jabs? what are the jabs in SG? Thanks!! we went for chicken pox last nite. does sg have JE?

happymum123,
Thanks for your info. I will check out the supermarket again...Cottage cheese, brand is cottage?

spicegal,
How u intend to cook your alphabet pasta? Care to share?

poohy
Condolence to your family.

Mich,

what's JE?

pawprint,

Congrats! Irvin so smart, can parrot 'dirty'
haha always hear from you huh..
Athena so clever - chope seat in library! and wait for you

Serene, most likely follow kite's method. Boil in water till soft, take out. Cook soup using fish/meat & vegetables, when almost ready, add in the pasta and cook.

happymum123
GC
Thanks for your inputs !!
My girl takes cereal, 100ml milk, lunch, 100ml milk, snack (biscuits), dinner, then direct latch on twice at night before sleeping.

Yup, she is a BIG girl ! ahahaaa

FI : you will slowly adjust to it !! dont worry !!

Panda: no worries !! send it out anytime u are free ok ? and email me your acct details !

Baby K can now walk really well all around the living room !! Thank goodness i bought 2 sets of the playyard, cuz she can't be kept in a confined place for too long ... very active and cheeky little girl that one ...

Mich: MMR is compulsory - then you have your rotavirus and pneumococal (SP ??) if your child is exposed to other children frequently.
when u get back, i'll bring u to see my PD

Fi,

just replied your email.
Glad that you are enjoying your SAHM-dom

Yes, its rewarding that you are the first to see all that JZ does!

mich,

hmmmm keke ???!?