(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Sunflower and Joline,
Thanks for the info! Can I get Eden pasta in normal supermarkets like NTUC or Cold Storage? Me headache how to cook pasta cos prob will not introduce cheese now, maybe will try boil the pasta with vege see my girl eats or not.

sol1dful,
I have seen a few brands of kids cheese in Carrefour, maybe can try that. There's a introduce solids to bb thread, the mummies there give the laughing cow brand or kiri brand.

Re: fish and vege and stock
I gave my girl threadfin(ngor hee) and cod fish, but without skin. I just chop into fine pieces and throw in with vege into porridge to cook. I never try using stock to cook porridge before. But the porridge turns out sweet and my girl finishes everything, so I reckon sld be fine,ha. My MIL not pro using frozen food for my girl, so i nvr thought of using stock. Know vege if steam separately better, but too much work for my MIL. For vege, I give spinach, carrot, broccoli and sweet potato.

spicegal,
what kind of beans you give? Long bean or french bean? Ya, Mrs Wong from TMC says tat nowadays, some bird nest don't cleaned thoroughly, may have some feather on it, so for small children, may develop cough.

babylegs : sooo cute !!! i cant wait to get mine !!!

Paw : party pics look fun !! My - u had 4 cakes and still NOT enuff ???

Mich: yeh !u're coming back !!! when ??

I've been terribly busy at work, and i think my P is coming too, so i've got a freeking headache, not to mention, my house hunt has come to a standstill ... so i have not been in a very good mood the past few days :p

spicegal/sunflower/Rodeo:
Yes travelling hot plate. Actually the Tiger food flask doesnt really cook the food, just that before pouring it into the tiger flask, i hv actually boil n cook it until abit soft for 5 to 10mins. So when pour into tiger flask n seep into it, the porridge & veg will naturally bcome very soft n ready to eat. I did my trial at home 1st before bringing there

Sunflower:
sms u tis morning n transferred the $ to you liao. Pls. check. Thanks
Yes, Chloe likes the Eden pasta. My mum will cook it with fish and e soup is yummy n sweet. Eden organic pasta is quite common, can buy from NTUC organic section leh. I wil cook the pasta w water 1st until boil n soft, then rinse it w cold water n place it on a bowl. Next, cook fish w water n once meat cooked n ready, pour e pasta in n cook together for awhile.

My mum always buy Ngor Hee without bones from wet market. Usually she wil buy that for my ger unless no stock, wil buy salmon. We never give codfish cos too oily liao. Yes chloe wil eat e fish meat. wow 3hrs to cook stock. So far i never try stock, usually wil put vegs w porridge n meat to cook together.

Chicken:
I havent started chicken yet. Now oni lean pork n fish. Wil cook it w millet or brown rice porridge. then add some vegs into it. Vegs she has tried quite a variety. Yest i just bot baby corn n lettuce for my ger to try, not sure she likes it anot since my mum wil be cooking for her today.

happymum, my mum gave french beans, i was asking her how you give? She tell me chop finely and add into porridge. I have also given J broccoli.

kite, thanks. I will try using my tiger food jar at home. ;p

happymum123:
I bought my Eden organic pasta from NTUC. The pasta is in colourful ABC alphabet letters.
I wil always cook the pasta w fish meat n e soup wil turn out very sweet.
Me too, i hv never freeze my food b4 as my mum cooks for her while i m at work. Wkends i wil cook fresh food for her as well.

happymum123/spicegal:
I give french beans n sweet peas. I will take out the peas n cook it w porridge.

Spicegal:
eh bird nest considered quite cooling.

Kite,
thanks for info on pasta. Me will go buy and try it out. Will intro french beans and sweet peas too, been hesitating about beans and peas cos so many types, dunno which one to buy!

Kite, I was abit sceptical when my mum told me she add bird nest in porridge, cos I have the impression that its for dessert only. Initially she give every week, until I tell her to give only twice a week and only in small amount. So far J is fine, so I also dun bother that much.

Sunflower,
Yep, Kelly eats the fish. You have to mince up the fishes I started feeding her with fishes when she was about 10 months ago. Used to mince it up finely but these days, the fishes are not minced up as finely is in small chunks now so that she can chew on it. No fish skin for now. We need to encourage them to chew food now cos its good for oral development. I cant remember who tells me that.

Do you have to peel off the skin for the tomatoes?

Kellys running nose and coughing have stopped. She is getting more active and cheeky these days so I think she is recovering. She has to go for another review this Saturday. Hopefully, this is the last review that we have to go!

Lanny,
Im a kiasee mum I will rush Kelly to the PD.

Spicegal,
Do you mash up the sweet corns?

Soh,
Thanks for the updates. Ill be receiving my toys this afternoon. Thanks for everything.

Paula, glad to know that kelly is recovering.

I will chop up the corn kernels.

Are you going mygym this Sun? I have yet to pay you and collect my inflatable chair.

Spicegal,
Not too sure about this Sunday yet. I will sms you okay? We are concerned on whether she could handle the whole session or not. If not, I'll drop by your place and pass it to you cos' it's quite near to my grandpa house.

Hello Mummies....

Food

Basically in regards to food, most our babies here are either 1 or turning 1 so alot of food now is consider safe for them to eat liao.

I had let andrea tried a variety of food from 6mths onwards ... was afraid that she will be fussy about her food as she grows up so let her try almost everything liao

Fish
Ngor Hee, Cod Fish, salmon, tuna
(the oil in cod fish, salmon, and tuna are very good for children as it helps to develop their brian cells.)

Meat
Pork, chicken, beef

Veg
French beans, celery, button mushroom, broccoli, cauliflower, sweetpotato, butternut squash, pumpkin, leek, potatos, tomato, cai xin, spinach, xiao bai chay, sweet corns, peas, carrot, zucchni,onions, ginger

Fruits
apple, pears, prunes, grapes, lychee, banana, avocado, papaya, honeydew, rockmelon,

yogurt and cheese as well

as andrea is eating on her own now, i has now since shifted cheese for her snack, will prepare some cut out veggies like celery and broccoli for her to hold and dip in to the cheese dip and eat durig her snack time.

am thinking of trying out orange, any mummies try b4? worried about rashes.

spicegal: I also bot the normal ABC pasta. Have not even opened it up yet :p

Mrs Chng: Wow, andrea's really taking a huge variety of food. My son only taking very few types. A bit scared of giving him new stuff cos his stomach seems very sensitive and then mil will nag if he gets diahhrea as a result. He had diahhrea yesterday after eating sweet potato on Tue 8( Tough to be adventurous with mil around loh.

Re: Fish and Vege:

I only feed my boy with threadfin (Ngor Hee), intend to try cod fish, but always concerned that I'll buy the imitation instead. I'll need to chop until very finely cos my boy will always choke himself...sigh...at this age he still choke himself very often, even when drinking milk, he's still using only 3 holes.

For Vege, we are giving him - Pumpkin, Spinach, potatoe, carrot and Broccoli

And to make the porridge tastier, will add Ikan Bilis powder or dried scallop or lean pork to the porridge..I also embrace no table salt diet for my kid till older...

Oh my boy LOVES soup, esp herbal soup...so he'll join us at our dinner table with soup...he's favourite soup is cordycept...and he also take bird's nest occasionally, but I don't really like to let him take bird's nest as it does not have much nutritional value....

Paula,

The broccoli has avery stong smell, some babies might not like it that well.

I will steam the broccoli florets first and add it last to any meal that i had prepared eg her fish porridge or pasta.

staeming helps to make them very soft but be careful not to steam for long as it might tuen yellow very fast.

Perhaps for the first time for kely, you can mix it with some of her favourite food like fish, pumpkin, carrots so that she can get used to the taste first.

When she is ready to accept that you can give it to her as finger food, to encourage her to self feed.

Mrs Chng,
Okay, so, we will only feed them with the florets and not the stems right? Cos I find it very messy the florets will dropped everywhere after it has been cut.

Paula

My gal loves broccoli and cauliflower. So far she is ok with the strong smell leh...sometimes i also cannot tahan

hallo mummies,
i'm back from long absense cause i just got broadband at home.before that couldnt surf with dial up. how's everyone?

Hi mummies, I'm ordering from jshoppers. Let me know if you're interested to share shipping. Will be capping total order at 28k yen to max shipping cost. Thanks.

travel cooking method:
Btw for those of u who asked me abt my travel cooking method, just want to remind you all, not all grains n food/veg can be used using this method. Have to select those grains n food which are easy & fast to cook else it wil stil be hard after 1hr or so. For me, i brought along potato, sweet potato, carrots n etc which are soft veg. Potato i bot the one fr USA which is fast to cook. Dun buy indo potato, too hard. for grains, i was using Thai brown rice grains (the one w elephant label), cook very fast too. I tried other grains like millets, too hard n took very long time to cook.

spicegal:
the Eden organic ABC pasta looks like this. Spore is selling in packet, not in box as shown in the pic.

849655.jpg

Paula:
For tomatoes, i do not peel off e skin. For broccoli & cauliflower, wat i did it i place it into hot water for 5 mins cos some insects or bacteria might trap in between the florets. After that then i wil chop into pieces n throw into the porridge.

K Ong

Ya, i do initally i add it in her meal, lately i just gave it to her as a finger food.

Paula

Yaya just teh florets only not the stems. cut them from their little stems part and stem the florets as a whole, they turn very soft ahfter steamming and you can mash them for kelly, this way it will not be messy.

Fi:
Welcome bk again. Glad to hear u have subscribed to broadband.

Stephanie:
I just add a few small cubes (like less than 5) to the porridge oni else it wil be very sour. The rest i eat it hehe :p

paula,

didn't peel off the skin of tomatoes.
For broccoli, it does gets alittle messy
I cut off the florets, soak in water and use sieve to drain off water then dump into porridge.

Fi,

welcome back! was wondering how come you MIA so long, thought you very busy now with your biz

how is JZ?

mummies: after seeing you all sharing all the food that you have prepared for your babies, i feel so guilty.. I better buck up at the meal preparation for Gabby.

Only let her eat porridge, Pasta.. etc... me a failure... :-(

Kite, thanks for posting the picture. I am going to jurong point tonight. Will check out the NTUC.

Shetland, its not too late to start Gabby on more choices of food. Be creative and have fun!

Paula

glad to hear that Kelly is recovering

May be good to keep her away from group activities & outing for few more days to let her fully recover and build up her immunity.

mrs chng: oh and she likes it raw ?? good girl !

FI : welcome back ! how's the land of SAHM-dom ? haahaaa
btw, are you still bfeeding ??

anyone still bfeeding ? i have cut down my pumpint (at work) to once a day, so i only give K 200ml of bmilk while i'm away. at home, she latches on twice - three times a day.

wld like to ask how you alternate your semi solids and milk feeds ...
Lyn: u are still bfeeding right ?

is there any website that has baby recipes? running out of ideas what to cook manz!
sometimes i think my son food more healthy than what i eat..wahahaha

mrs chng: oh and she likes it raw ?? good girl !

FI : welcome back ! how's the land of SAHM-dom ? haahaaa
btw, are you still bfeeding ??

anyone still bfeeding ? i have cut down my pumpint (at work) to once a day, so i only give K 200ml of bmilk while i'm away. at home, she latches on twice - three times a day.

wld like to ask how you alternate your semi solids and milk feeds ...
Lyn: u are still bfeeding right ?

i;m from august mum 06...

any mummies had enrol/enrolling baby for BJG or My Gym... what your feedback so far?? worth the $$?? thinking of enrolling baby either BJG or MY GYM... can give some comments??? or there better choice other than these 2??

many thanks