(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

re: white gold wedding bands

hope to get advise from u mummies... whose wedding bands are made of white gold... I lost my platinum wedding band last year and had been looking for a replacement. But cant find one that I like among the platinum series leh... so we thought of expanding our search to white gold. But one of the sale guy told us that white gold tend to tarnish easily and discoloured into yellowish color after a while. Is it true?

toto,
From Shichida's book, babies should be happy and love to be thrown in the air
I think having 2 maids will need some employee management lor.. kekeke... my friend with two maids always quarrel, and she got headache, cos when they quarrel, they throw tantrums on each other and dun do their work properly. Very headache. When she got 3 maids, one will become an outcast...
I have another friend whose maid read books by Dale Carnegie, Donald Trump, Robert Kiyosaki, etc. kind of books...

lyn, ha ha, my maids also read my books on baby care as she would like to have no. 2 when she returns home next June. she uses Victoria Secret products, and is quite well to do. We always wonder why she wants to be a helper in Sing....

oops... hb here... going to ikea now.. shop shop for jake's new room... catch you all soon!

toto,
Yalor.. mothers are God's gift
My mum is back to help me this week
But she's going for travelling with her friend next week.

poohy,
wa... you are still considered young for arthrities leh... Doctor diagnosed one? Better take good care.
I read from a book that women should take less dairy products and meat, cos of the presence of animals hormones in these food that will upset our hormonal system.

poohy,

wow #3... keke think I'll stop at #2 then see how, cos age catching up as well.
I've white gold ring, didn't notice it tarnish hmmm...

angeline,
I'm in myGym at GWC already. keke wow great if you guys got class at GWC. at 12.30-1.30pm, thought that's their open gym time?

oh btw, I can bring 1 friend in for following week, its free for friend. anyone keen, PM me if interested.

poohy,
can always replate the WG ring when it dulls. Because it's a plating over yellow gold that can wear off, whereas platinum is usually throughout the whole ring.

poohy: mmm..not sure of the discolouration, but what i know abt Gold is that it is not malleable, ie, if u knock it, a piece of it cld possibly come off. Unlike platinum - which is malleable, so if you knock your ring, it may be slightly deformed, but the weight is still the same.
that's why plat is always more ex than gold !

k is also abt 71 cm ... so she's not tall but she's heavy !!

and my hubby and i are average Asian size ! wonder where the "big" gene came in ! haahaa
are u still bfeeding ?

can i consult u on flashcards, ie what to flash, what intervals, etc ?
i was thinking of going for those lessons, but me and hubby's schedules are not routine, so some weekends he may be working, etc ... hard to cordinate and sign up for one class

re: flash cards
i have 100pcs blank flash cards, it's the GD recommended size for dots cards. anyone interested? had wanted to use it for numerals, but lazy.. so intend to sell away

kong,

can flash single words for a start. Or factual pictures to form encyclopedic knowledge. As to how often to flash... really depends on the bb and your schedule. I flash once a day now cos too busy and tired at night. And I normally change material once a week... but may be faster or slower on some topic depending on how much my bb likes that particular topic. eg. Joelle loves picture of maps, country outlines, flags... and I can flash for more than 30 times without her fussing. each time she will pat her hands and chuckle with joy to see them.

If you wanna follow strictly to GD method, then gotta flash 3 times a day if i din remember wrongly... and each word card flashed 15 times, each pic card flash 30 times. But these are also just guidelines.... all depends on the individual bb

thanx to all your feedbacks on the white gold.. looks like I can look out for nice white gold design

lyn,

yea my doc said my joint pain at the knee there prob is arthritis but mild. It can get slightly swollen, feel hot and painful at times... especially when weather is cold or the cool air from the fan keep blowing directly on it for a while. Last time J kenna the UTI and stay in hospital, I was dressed in my bermuda throughout the first 2 night... wah my knees were so painful and cold. That's why I thought maybe go and eat those glucosamine will help.

sunflower,
Soyabean milk, sesame seeds, broccoli, spinach, seaweed, black beans, walnut, almond
I have stopped drinking milk after I read the book, cos I had problems in the womb last time.

mich : ok ! include u !
what colour ?

sunflower : u can take calcium pills - the minerals. look for natures' plus - it's a good brand.

Paula,
did u manage to get your bb einstein CDs?

Re: Learn Driving
am going down BBDC later to register for driving lessons. Been putting it off for quite some time liao but a bit scare leh when i think of driving on the road..Main reason i wanna learn is becos later if baby going to have enrichment class, easier if got own transport. Ha..hopefully can get licence w/i half year (or 1yr) before i try for no. 2

poohy,
Eat more seaweeds.. Can prevent arthritis

Michele,
Saw your blog that Brendan is sucking his toes. hahaha... Number 2 coming? kekeke... when I bring Aloysius around, and when he sucks his toes, those aunties will tell me or my mum next baby coming.... hahaha...

sunflower

yup...cozs thats the only slot that got no class...whens the free class? whens ur boi claSS? sat as well? can reserve for me? i see how the organising goes...if nobody then,i follow u..hehe

sorry only had time to read some posts...

poohy, it's very scary the amt spent on "enrichmt" classes mthly... I mean, read newspapers some families survive on that amt leh. I always feel very conflicted abt this. HB feels Shichida shld be balanced with PG-type of classes cos there's no peer interaction, not enough singing dancing type of stuff. Thanks for the offer to lend, no need lah I'm still experimenting what works on which kid hahaha, anyway such materials sure end up kiam-chye after used by my kids! Wah u change material wkly, hmm I estimate it takes me 30min-2hrs (research/ cut-paste clipart etc) per powerpoint topic, which flashes as quickly as 10sec, and by the 3rd viewing she will sian liao (Ahboy wun even look lah)... at this rate I can't keep up with her lah. So I must follow the moto "do what I can (forget what I can't!)". I can't always use ppts online cos she has specific interests. Wah, J's underwater dunk looks really cool! Eh I was once contemplating buying a cheap waterproof cam- kids OPEN eyes while underwater, darn cool leh, will be so gd if can capture!

abt #3, my mum threatened to run away from home if I get preggy again :p . Anyway I can't cope at the moment, time-wise and financially!

hipseat,
I *love* my hipseat. Even tho my girl running ard already, I still use it lots cos there's no "adjusting" compared to a sling, she can get up in a sec, and down in the next sec. Having her at my eye-level is very much closer, she often talks to me while we're out, I won't be able to have a conversation if she's in a stroller, and I can't hear her if she's walking beside me since her voice can't travel up high up. I'm crippled w/o it lah (someone shld pay me advertising money!), cos I can't handle carrying a child for prolonged period w/o either hipseat or sling. Arms will break! I'm starting to use a hipseat more than a sling even on the boy cos he likes cruising (need to get down).

Sunflower,
The babies were exposed to songs, dances, puppets, bouncing, swings, musical instruments and puppets!

Serene,
Join us for the actual class loh! J

Angeline,
Seems like different places got different rates lei! We paid S$30.00 but can start a class with four babies

I_panda,
Nope will be getting the cds from Disneyshopping.com!
Im sure you will do well with the driving classes! I passed mine on the second attempt

angeline,

oh, Lyn booked the slot liao. If the trial class not enough pp, you can ask the lady to join the current class for trial, cost is $35.
btw, have you gotten the asian cookbook for children? is it good?

paula,
ya, think they have different rates. That time I enquire at GWC, was $35 for trial and trial is join current class.
KM, nope, in the end never join, cos the timing a little rush for us. are you still organising Rhythminme? let me know if on
There's JWT gym at same place with Rhythminme.

lyn,
you stop drinking milk as in cow's milk or soya bean milk?

hi poohy,
yes go for GNC triflex.. good for joint pain! I hv the same problem.. at 1 point i couldn't even walk staright cos' of the unbearable pain in my knee cap! but nw it has improved alot! though it's expensive but it's the best so far that i've tried. i hv GNC card if u need to buy.

hi paula,
well.. his favourite is baby noah! of cos baby newtown as well. Haven't get the 2 tat u mentioned. heehee.. oh ya.. & he's oso watching Baby You Can Read! but still on starter video.

wow so late... mummies still online....

i_panda: jia you... am sure you can pass your driving by the end of this yr!

just came back from ikea, din manage to get what we set off to find. ha ha... no space at home, need to dispose of some furnitures to make space... now with bb... house like chinatown... ha ha...

Paula, waiting for MyGym's reply on the make-up classes. If I can make up for all the 3 days, I will sign up!

Kelly looks glued to the TV, haha..so cute, Jerica has short attention span, she will turn to look at us, smile at us, kick her legs, move around a bit while watching baby einstein, simply cannot sit still. I was asking my hb how come she behaves totally differnt at the gym class, act like very quiet and demure like that. Pretend only.

toto, ikea has nice colourful wardrobe and bed for bigger kids, for toddler and baby quite limited hor.

I just custom made a wardrobe for my girl in pastel pink, good enough for me to store all her clothings, toys and books, my guest room is overflooding with her things.

i_panda, hope you can pass your driving at 1 go, I took up advance theory once or twice, in the end never go ahead with the actual lessons, i very nuah one.

sunflower,
I drink soya bean milk. No more cow's milk. Last time, I dunno, when in UK, I drank cow's milk for my 3 meals everyday and also eat cheese daily! Maybe that's why I got health problems after I come back. I think my miscarriages before Aloysius is due to my haywire hormones.

pawprint,
Where to get a hipseat? I might consider one cos sometimes I need to carry Aloysius a lot.

Hey Mummies,

Teacher Thiaga has responded:

Dear Pauline,

Great to hear from you. We would be glad to have all of you (4 or 5 is not a
problem though we would prefer 5 to 6). If you cannot get the additional
number I can include a parent who is interested, if that is ok with you.

Makeup session is available. However, the parent need to make up during the
actual class at 9.30am during the weekend.

There would be 3 instructors if there are 6 children. However, if it falls
to 4, then there would be a minimum of 2.

The songs and games and skills taught would be different each week. However, there would be some repetition to the activities (eg swings).

I hope I have answered the questions to the best of my knowledge. Do enquiry
more.

Questions asked:

1. Could we start our own class if we have four babies? There might be one or two mummies who would like to join us we are okay with it as long as the class is kept to a group size of not more than 6.

2. Please confirm if there will be a minimum of 3 instructors in a

3. Make up classes: if a mummy is unable make it for certain lessons, will there be any make-up classes or can we attend other sessions? As an example, supposedly we take up the Sun class, the dates that one of the mummies is not available would be 29th Apr, 20th May & 3rd June
4. Would the gym theme, activities and songs be the same throughout the 8 weeks lessons?

Morning,
yesterday went with my hubby's sister to register for driving lessons...finally..haha (i nuah very long liao)

Paula,
kelly looked so engrossed. Will she sit there guai guai till the whole show finish? bb josh din't really enjoy the bb einstein show leh..or must i let him watch more often. I have these 3: baby da vinci, baby neptune & baby newton.

toto,
thanks..hope i can pass w/i 1yr too. why u said ur house like chinatown? a lot of things??? I'm also thinking of donating some of the baby items (new ones never used before) to some welfare assoc to help the poor families. if u interested, visit this website http://www.passiton.org.sg/site/passiton/donate.shtml

spicegal,
ha i like u also very nuah...shld have gone before i got pregnant

Paula,
Sorry, too much posting, i'm abit lost! I rem u telling me that the rate @ MyGym is $300 for 8 sessions right? Each session is 50mins? Which day and time have u gals chose to begin the class? I'm quite confused about you saying making up class and not avail. 29th Apr, 20 May & 3 June???

Hmm, i haven't get to go and take alook at MyGym b4 deciding on joining leh...

ipanda: yeh ! all the best for your test !! is this your first time trying ?? i passed on my first try - just be confident !

Paula: wow, kelly is so engrossed !! i have not let mine watch telly yet ...

Mich: Ergo carrier BP is almost confirmed !! let me know colour, i'll fwd you the organizer's details tonight.

pawprint: really admire your dedication to your kids !! being a SAHM is not easy !! and to keep them occupied the whole day must be tiring too !!

hipseat : it looks cumbersome though ... i'm more a sling person, prefer to whip it out when baby wanst to nurse/sleep. Hipseat - how do u cqarry it when it is not in use ?

i_panda77,
No worries, it's never late to learn driving now. Am sure you can pass very easily.

Btw, the last time u have provided me with a few caterers. Have u heard of Empirefood? Actually, i've post to check with the mummies of March & April thread cos i know most of their babies had already turned 1 or are turning 1, sure can give me their comments and opinions but never expect them to be unfriendly and not helpful at all, didn't response.

duffy

thanx for the offer, I am trying to order the triflex from drugstore cos I heard its much much cheaper even with our gnc card discount.

pawprint,

I agreed fully with your hb that its insufficient to just attend SM alone. That's why to me, Samuel has the best enrichment combination of SM + JG billigual playclub. Next year onwards, I will add on a music instrument class for him. I have yet to decide which instruments... prob hope he can choose himself.