(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

angeline... ha ha.. first time ma... think with few more tries, should improve. luckily he din cry...

spicegal,
Thks for your info. ya think i will make do with going to the shop to inflat the balloons.

pawprint,
Irvin is so cute! He really knows how to pose, realise he has got alot nice pics. Both siblings look so much alike. Infact u & hubby and kids all very alike.

toto,
bb jake also dive ah? u tube again, my place prohibited leh..when i shower jz hair, he kan chiong must sit inside tub already cannot shower out of tub. so i've to use wet clothe squeeze water over the head, water all drip down over eyes and face, i see already also quite scared but he not scared woh...is that how u all shower baby hair. until today, when i shower hair i tilt head backwards so water down run all over my face can't imagine how the baby feel or i just iamgine too much..

pawprint,

wow the photos are really v nice!!! for the flashcards, I will go back and chk ok.. most like the suitable type is those lateral half of A4

toto,

ya ya Jake and Joelle same birthday.... hey both J also haha... so coincidental! and I think Jake is a pretty good size bb like Joelle too... maybe next swim class, they shd take a pic together... hey .. maybe all the bb should take a group photo together hor!

ya lor me too cannot see youtube!!!

fi,

Joelle dun bath in a tub for a long time liao. we simply stand her by the bathroom wall, she will stand there while we wash her hair and her body using the shower head... she's ok with water all over her face and all... she v tolerant of water and holding her breath if need be... unlike Samuel gorgor... I gotta forewarned him that I am going to wash his hair and he gotta close his eyes.. else he will cry! The siblings are direct opposites of each other.

poohy - ah, remember to PM me your bank acct no. and amt to transfer hor...

yes... 2 Js... both good size and same BD.. ha ha.. yes - next swim class should take pics together.

re 65 days program - did you proceed past day 55 - matching numerals with dots? i am on it now. seemed like this should be after EQ 3 in GD - after mixed operations/multiple equations. Law recommended symbols and numerals together. J stopped at EQ 3 in GD. Now SM - he is doing day 55. you think ok?

poohy,
that means i'm like samuel! i also must close eyes..joelle can stand unsupported already?

recently i notice a pattern. jz has been rejecting his baby cot. usually will fall asleep on our double bed but when carry him to his cot, if he knows we are placing him there, immediately get up and cry, have to quickly carry back to our bed then he will continue sleep soundly. so end up he get to sleep with us most part of the night, of coz hb not so happy cause so squeezy with 2 pillow, 2 bolster, blanket, 1 jz, 1 jz's bolster.

toto,

J is not on numerals yet! Still on those multidinuous equations. I had stopped for quite a few days due to disruption on my PC (cannot start up) and some other happenings at home. I am looking forward to introducing numerals to her and Samuel also! Though both of them are slightly exposed to numerals on those brainy bb dvd... but I had never really started them on numerals yet.... keep thinking first 3 years shd consolidate their understanding of quantities... hopefully next week I can reach the numerals part finally...

fi,

me too! Samuel is like me lor... scared of many things... not a risk taker. Joelle is v different from us in this aspect. No... she cant stand unsupported .... gotta support herself by hands on the bathroom walls

poohy, so you never completed the 65 days Maths program? hmm... i intro numerals td, and J loved it. can really see him concentrating le... now cannot turn back lo... ha ha...

check this out - http://www.youtube. com/watch? v=MaJ4OvDCqkI

i wonder how i can accomplish this with J prior to his one yr BD. any suggestions?

toto,

i cant see you tube leh... what's the content abt?

ya ya I think numerals will surely be so refreshing change for them.... instead of all those red dots finally haha...

poohy - the you tube... when you have time, should take a look. it shows a baby gal, age 1 year old - reading from a doodle pad, and showing the actions of the words read. this is accomplished thru her GD program.

for us - we do GD without sign lang, so how to ask bb to read and show sign lang of the word? also, bb at 1 yr cannot speak yet, so how to read aloud?

toto,

reading aloud is an output function leh....ya I dun think bb is ready to read aloud at this point... Even samuel at 2 years old is only starting to read aloud with me. Samuel knows quite a fair bit of sign languages through the bb signing times... and we sign with him previously. For J, I seldom sign with her... but I do expect her to know her signs too through the dvd since she watches them occasionally.

poohy - ah... when i say the bb gal is 'reading'... i am not referring to reading aloud. she is 'reading' cos she understands the words and is able to reproduce them as signs, given bbs at 1 yr old cannot speak yet. hence, i am wondering whether teaching our bbs the ASL of the GD words will help them in output. then again... it's also early to 'expect' output....

serene,

hmmm... Mygym setup is much bigger than TT. Room size at least 4x bigger. They have alot of things. everyweek is different, some activities are repeated. They will change the placing of the equipment every week. Some equipment are brought out on weekly basis, meaning its only brought out for part of the session.

at MG some of the activities are higher level. overall ok cos teacher will guide the kids through all the activities.

I like mygym. are you going for the trial at mygym at woodlands?

toto,

me not v good in soliciting output from bb... so far I dun do any problem solving and such thus ... the output if any comes on their own accord when they are more than ready. One of the way some of the GD babies give output is by pointing to the card
If you say a word and give 2 cards, by pointing to the right card is already indicative that bb is reading the word isnt it? I rarely do that though cos I generally concentrate more on inputs in the initial 3 years. Already not much time to cope with 2 babies' input liao.. hehe first 3 years are golden input years ...

poohy, hmm... agree. so far, bb J has been pointing to the correct answer - think he picked this habit from SM. initially, he is not very willing to point, only laugh when i show him 2 cards. now can point and can pick cards from the floor when i ask him a question.

agree first 3 yrs v impt... input input input...
but to be fair - bb J's ability to reproduce the output does amazes and motivates me further...

wow so many ppl gg genting hehe.
Okipoki:
hehe hows ur trip? weather i find not that cold hor....as compared to last time i went. I brought Chloe to indoor theme park for Merry Go Round & ferris wheel rides, she is very brave and enjoyed those rides. hehe

spicegal:
may i know which shop u hv enquired regarding the helium tank's pricing as stated? my hb said its more worth to buy a tank rather than bringing it to shop leh as i think we planning to hv alot of balloons for my ger's bday party....

mothers, how big are your birthday cakes? how many kg and how many can it feed? how much did u pay for them? Thanks!

toto,
the very dotted version is "graphic/ arty/ abstract", rather Roy Lichenstein. U printed already, I'm sure it'd look very interesting once u lay it out on the floor, take a big step away to view! I find for this, use any normal paper will do cos it's not dependent on fine resolution. An image with high contrast, or, black and white images, seem to work better for this too.

Most pple prefer the smallest "1 dot" colour resolution... u might want to use slightly better paper but no need to shell out for photo paper unless u like the finish of it. Resolution will not be as sharp as normal photos cos it's been blown up to such a big scale. Careful ur ink cartridge, LOL, very siong $! :p

The vid u're referring, is it the one with dad using doodle pad? Quite interesting to note the kid can recognise from handwritten words, another mum shared with me she simply took a stack of paper, handwrote single words and flashed GD style... and it worked! Maybe handwriting nice, LOL!

Poohy,
thanks, whatever u can spare will do
. I may be turning up Sat at AD cos my kids need to do makeup classes... been trying to get hold of AD people. I want to check with them whether I can get back-to-back Sat morning classes for both kids. Sunday timing not working out for us.

spicegal: 2 kg enuff for 30 pax? oh cool!! anyhow, all the food, cake eat abit enuff. we'll ve bout 20 adults + 20++ kids was gonna order 4kg cake haha!!

heng heng u tell me! tw cakes very ex leh... elmo 3d cost bout $4800ntd!!

wat flavor is ur cake?

sunflower,
No i'm not joining paula & the rests for trial @ mygym woodlands, can't make it that day. But i was thinking to go to great world or woodlands to take alook. Seems that they group the waddles differently. Woodlands is fr 10mths onwards but great world city is from 11 mths onwards??? U r with great world yah? how much is their charges?

i_panda77,
No i'm not taking with foto-u, i'll be taking the PS with thestudioloft.

Mich...huh...dun have to order 4kg lah...still got other food right? Moreover most adults scared of putting on weight so dun really eat the cake, the cake is more for the kids lor..the 3D elmo in Taipei so expensive, Singapore only cost $180.

Most likely I will take chocolate cake with fresh cream.

spicegal,
wah ur girl very pretty has eurasian features, reminds me of a HK actress... I see whether I can google cos can't recall name!

pawprint - i laid all the papers together and loved the poster! now trying to figure out how to mount them. should i be getting a bigger cupboard base to mount them? hmmm.... i printed out 3 sets le... so now first set is my trial set...

AD - ah.. you joining Sat class? so might be seeing you lo?

re the you tube clip - ya lor... how amazing hor? can try doodling next time also...

spicegal... J v pretty le...
v slim and fair - surely grow up to be a pretty gal...

spicegirl, you bb looks so demure.

Poohy, toto,
Do you know when does Shichida's next term starts? What time slot are you getting? I am thinking of enroling Gabby since she is turning one in May. But heard that need to waitlist is it? Haven't call them yet...still thinking coz originally wanted to enrol her afer she is 1.5 years old. But recently have been really lax in flashing cards etc..so thinking better let her go class so to motivate myself as well..keke. I am running out of cards and really quite lazy to make new ones. =b The worst is the maths programme...totally on stand still...

spicegal,

your girl got beautiful eyes leh..

wen,

i am not so sure abt the term also but it shd be in the mth of june/july period. I had not put J in the term yet... placed her in wait list for the same timing as Samuel... gotta wait for good timing... Samuel's timeslot is 10:45am on saturday in hdb hub.

I am also reconsidering whether to continue shichida or JG or etc... cos I am thinking putting Samuel in half day daily programme in Pat's school house.

wah...

after seeing what pawprint had done.. the posters n balloons etc.... really make my hand itch to get more deco ... hmm.. I've booked safra tanah merah for my gals bd.. so think should get more stuffs to deco deco abit...

wen, term starts this week. if you want, you gotta contact them soon. after this week, they will not take in any more students. i dun think there is a wait list for SM la. they can just open more classes ma...

For JG - yes - their wait list is for real!

Poohy - you heard of Jolly and Zoo phonics? Someone selling her Jolly phonics kit.. wonder whether we can easily teach bbs at home

http://www.jollylearning.co.uk/

any comments?

Celeste,
Haha, my gal's birthday party will be held at Safra Tanah Merah too ... our bungalow number is 36 ... there is a pool just outside the bungalow t oo ... and it's also a concindence cos her birday party will be held on 3 June and the bunglaow number is 36.

toto,

for the phonics part.. I am not strong in it cos I belong to the generation who dun learn phonics.... J & S picks up their phonics from the Leapfrog and brainy bb dvd. Samuel knows almost all the 26 alphabets sound I think. JG and shichida classes also teaches them phonics...

i think zoo phonics uses animals shaped like the alphabet... I heard that some kids will be confused... meaning they cant recognise the alphabets without the animals leh... read that jolly phonics is better in that aspect. Guess it depends on the child.

pawprint,

ya my hb drive us around. Its not that rush actually. 9am is the swim... 9:30am we bath her... then we go straight to hdb hub which is at most 15-20 min away i think. At times we still can have short breakfast before his class at 10:45am. Last time when J has BJG class at 12:30noon, that is the big rush! Samuel's SM class always end later than 12noon... we always have to rush off immediately to bukit batok for the BJG.... now that no more BJG, my life is more relaxed haha

Poohy, I see. GUG teaches zoo phonics huh? hmm... me too... never learnt phonics. so wonder how I can teach J phonics. SM class not strong in phonics, at least for J's stage. maybe i have to do more research on phonics. there is a phonics trial class as part of early childhood learning, maybe i should sit in... ha ha...

toto,

ya GUG teaches Zoo phonics. JG also teaches phonics. They introduce one alphabet a week
SM is not strong indeed. Can also try zoo phonics classes... they are much cheaper than GUG and teaches the same phonics system.

Joelle is immersed in phonics dvd since she was 4 months old or younger... cos Samuel was learning phonics at that time...I sing phonics songs to her from the letter factory also. I am quite keen to see if it did help her pick up phonics actually since bb learn and picks up faster when they are younger. Me waiting for J to be able to talk and I will know liao haha....

poohy, maybe i should show J leapfrog more often. only seen maybe 3 times? i teach him one alphabet a day, revising again after the sequence is over. i use the leapfrog fridge magnet... as you suggested...
yup... only when they can talk then we'll know... in the meantime, input only.

Fi,

my girl loves playing with sand, touching them, scratching them and she loves swimming too...but gotta watch her very carefully when she plays with sand as she'll put them into her mouth at times...but i think no good to restrict them from touching as they are curious now and the sense of touch is important to them...someone told me that if they are not exposed to touching or walking on sand from young, they may dislike it later

celest/paula

u manage to find for me? paula- how much did u pay? me now looking for places to book..sian..mostly fully booked liao.is safra tanah merah= NSRCC? tink only member can book right?

i check already...still got rooms at 23/26/27 on the days i want but i cannot book coz i not member...u koe who can book? NS men can book?

long long time never post liao... times really pass very fast and soon our bb gonna celebrate their 1st birthday liao...

Spicegal,
ur gal is so pretty.

Poohy,

How are you??

kite,
u still enjoy breast feeding your gal?

Michele,

Yea, my friends who have hosted birthday parties for their children have also advised me not to get such a big cake cos there will be lotsa of leftovers in view that other foods are provided.

I ordered 3.5kg for a guest list of 80 people