(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

mum2b,
how can it be, not doing a good job..cannot be lah...read before sometimes its a phase and does happen

did any of you watch the movie little children? its about sahms and how 1 of them had affair with a fahm that frequent their parks!

MTDT,
I'm interested to learn more about the marsden trial too lei ... can share?

Lanny,
Don't worry, I'm sure your baby has reserved a special place in his heart just for you ... I believe this 'subjective preference' will only be for a short while ... cos sometimes back, my baby prefers my grandma to me ... but right now, she is clinging on to me tightly before I left for work and refuse to let her carry...

Mum2B, my girl also, she prefers her daddy and my mum to me...dun be too upset about it, maybe because she seldom get to see your hb so she will feel like playing with him.

sunflower, our coach is ann ah? ha ha... tot mic...sorry... wrong no. but seemed to be the same coach as the one in pawprint's video hor?

Friday is Good Friday leh. PH!

mum2b,
Dun worry, in general, esp when comes to play, bb generally likes daddy, cos they seems to recognize that this person can play better with her. A daddy is a playmate, but again bb's moods change all the time. Esp u spend so much time with her, i'm sure she will recognize who is closer to her. Mummy is always 'most useful' person! cos she does all for the kids! haa!

toto,

yap, she's ann

tried to watch. the link cannot work le

BTW, is it common for your baby to respond to you everything when you call his or her name? Kelly reacted very fast to us whenever we call him or there are noises ... however, there are occassions whereby she will react to us when we have called her for a long time.

Paula, my girl will only respond as and when she likes to, sometimes we call her many times, she simply ignore us and continue playing with her toys. Sometimes, we just call her once and she will look up at us with a smile. I think depends on her mood bah.

Spicegal,
oic ... cos I was reading an article on autism in one of the magazines and was a little worried after reading that article! Believe I'm over paranoid! Haha.

sunflower

hey..the babies can dive already??? i wana let her go leh...hmm,go ask my hb again...yesterday brought my ger to a frens 21st bd chalet at aloha loyang..went to the pool n she doesnt want to get up..cry n cry..hiaz...btw,r u having ur boi 1st bd party at home? i wana book the aloha loyang chalet but full liao for june....
the chalets so big!! got 4 rooms..now tinking if got another place beside our house..

Paula, not yet lah...still scouting for nice stick-on photo album leh...not exactly doing the actual scrapbook thing..haha...but i have a rough concept of how i wanna present the photos already...

Btw, i am also doing up a poster size college of my girl's photos through the months, will try to do up softcopy on either powerpoint or photoshop and then get it printed at bras basah, can pin on the wall of the birthday venue, just an idea to share.

thanks tinklebell and mspiggy
I use point-and-shoot idiotproof cam, dunno how to use manual. Just spruce up in photoshop

sun2flower,
oops sorry sometimes youtube is down I think. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OAdZQvA8QQA

spicegal,
For #1, I did several posters using http://homokaasu.org/rasterbator/ (it created a "dotty" pic in very huge size, can DIY print each portion of the poster, trim edges and put together). Even did some as party favours (of the guest babies). It really kills the ink cartridge though, I'd be interested to know how much urs will cost at printer, keep us updated here pls? This time round am thinking to just do ONE single photo of Irvin.

747005.jpg

That's the largest one I did... now stored in wardrobe cos there's no wall at home big enough for it.
747006.jpg

The 2 other posters of bday girl- after the party, pasted 1 at PIL's nursery, another at my mum's room

pawprint - wow!!!
ur gals' bday party looks GREAT!!!

think in comparision, mine would only be a very simple affair...

pawprint,

WOW WOW WOW!!! I'm impressed by what you've done for your gal's 1st party.

For the posters, do you print bit by bits and piece it together like a jigsaw puzzle?

Thanks, watched the video.... great dive!

angeline,
ours not like what you saw with pawprint's gal. its nearer the surface. Even if you can't join us, try to bring her swimming as often as possible since she loves water so much.
I'm not having any party, just a quiet family celebration.

toto,
aiya, blur me.. this friday is Good Friday = PH!
what time you going to zoo?

pawprint: WAH!! love the balloons & the posters!! gonna do the same for irvine? cant see the cake though..love his expressions (at the pk), u are such a photographer!! cant see the cake though..
no i not ang moh.. (haha!!
) i know not this mich lah...

RE: taxi drivers... wow!! thought that only happens in tw!! COMPLAIN!!

MTDT: voted liao...

mum2be: bren says mum mum... liek to think he's calling me
see cats eat also mum mum... dad eat... papa mum mum...

michele,
once jz was playing with his diaper bag, he point to his teething biscuit and say mum mum
so funny.

pawprint,
yr girl bday look so happening!! how old is she now? how babies dive? cannot watch u tube at my place leh...

a lot of pple going zoo this fri?

Morning ladies !!
Juz came back from Genting over the weekend... Too much to catch up..

Pawprint,
Very nicely done posters for Athena !! Many balloons... guess she must have enjoyed !! Irvin doing the same stuffs ??? Kekekke !!!

Serene,
Studioloft took approxi 100+ shots

Tracy,
Yup the headband that Chloe has is similar to Leia... Went to HV & was sold out, my sis got it from somewhere for me

Morning gals,

Hi oki,
How's yr genting trip? Chloe enjoyed herself? Think shouldn't be too cold now yah? I'm going this friday.

Oh they took 100+ shots for my friend too! hmm, they dun return all, what they going to do with the rests that we don't select??? might as well give us!

Pawprint,
Hi, how did u do big poster for yr gal, the 12 pics from birth to 1 yr old??? U r so creactive! I only know to spend $ buying ready make decor stuffs! Really lazy mama!

Btw, u gals know where to buy those loose big alphabet letters for paste or hang on wall?

pawprint - lovely! you are amazing and very creative indeed! ha ha... can be part time bd party organiser lo...

did you inflat all the balloons yourself? did you get a helium tank?

toto,
Any place to buy helium balloons? Hmm, i ordered some BD balloons from the spree but needs helium tank so that the balloons will stand yah?

serene, go to concourse for inflating helium balloons. Inflation is about $2 - $3. Other shops that provide this service:

Magic Wand Lucky Plaza (11am - 8pm) 6736-2428

Magic Wand Great World City (11am - 9pm) 6734-4784

Magic Wand Tanglin Mall (11am - 8pm) 6887-3384

Party with Us Centrepoint #05-01 6235-0221

South Party City Holland Village Shophouse 277A 6462-6011

Various shops, Level 2 The Concourse (Beach Road) N.A.

yeah maybe i'm just too sensitive. but it sad me when my hubby carry her n when i want to carry she hold hubby tight n look away
hubby said maybe he's bigger so she feels good to be carried by him. or maybe he's more meaty so got lots of padding thus nicer

pawprint,
wow, ur girl's bday party looks very happening. i like the posters.

toto,
U mean if we did not buy the balloons from them, they willing to do the service for us? But of cos we have to pay for it. $2-$3 for some nos of balloons?
Thanks for yr info. great help!

toto,
is it expensive to get our own helium tank? thought it's worth it and convenient if we get 1 ourselves esp if we have many balloons.

Fi, Toto, hahaha..you are May mummies too...my girl was born on 27 May in TMC...this date not bad leh...Angelina Jolie, Faye Wong, Lina Ng's babies also born on this date....hahah...was joking with hubby that imagine all these babies lining up in heaven waiting to be reincarnated (like in movies)

Dor, my girl's rash started on the 3rd day and went off by end of 4th day. Think it was itchy for her and she kept scratching, very cranky. My paed gave her medicine to ease her itch...think it does help a little.

CG, hihi...see you in this thread too

i'm thinking of having a small celebration for my girl's 1 year birthday...only inviting immediate family...picnic at Sentosa Siloso Beach...heeheh....we did not want the buffet thingy...thought baby is still too small to really appreciate a birthday party...maybe for her 2nd birthday....planning to bring a little food and a birthday cake, then get sakae sushi and buy drinks from 7-11 there. She can indulge in some sandplay and of course, not forgetting, the bubble machine...lol

Pawprint, thanks for sharing the photos, your girl's bday party looks really fun with all the balloons and huge posters! Very nice and professional.

My sister told me can go to bras basah to get the poster printed, dun know how much it'll cost though, will let you know once I check it out.

I have emailed greg from http://www.grefio.com.sg/Balloons/Balloons.htm asking for quotation to inflate balloons with helium. Find that his charges are quite reasonable. If you have a lot of balloons to blow, maybe can check with him.

Serene,
Genting was great !! No fuss from her... guess she did enjoyed tho' she felt asleep in the ferris wheels after 3 rounds. Kekeke !!! Wow didnt know u love genting !! Heee... the weather was ok lah

Thanks ladies

Mich- can't see the cake in the pic posted... there were 3 cakes cos 3 sessions. Baked 2 myself, but not nice to eat, LOL.

Toto- I rented 5ft helium tank (the size u see at carnival events), will never do that again! Quite unnerving to have balloons bursting all the time while filling, plus they last only 8hrs so really need alot of hands *just before* the party. We did several bouquets of balloons, and a balloon arch... cheap considering a professionally done arch alone will cost a bomb.

Serene- definitely cheaper to rent helium tank (I suggest the size smaller than 5ft, another gf did, cheaper and more manageable). U need steady hands to handle and lots of effort (best if u can rope friends/ cousins in to help or u'd be too busy as the host and mummy). Places charge for helium filling, several dollars for small mylar (metal foil) balloons to more than $10 for bigger sizes. My gf engaged someone to come over to her place for her gal's party- charges by per balloon basis with a min to cover transport.

okipoki- to be honest, 1yr olds don't really care abt the party haha. She enjoyed the inflatable ball house I bought and placed at the venue, that's abt it.
Now if I ask her, she doesn't even remember her 2nd b'day just 5mths ago, let alone her 1st b'day. But we like to show her pics cos she'd now coo over the cakes and balloons.

Fi- it's assisted diving, the coach holds the tod, swim down to bottom of pool to retrieve a toy and surface up. Girl's 2.5yr old already. In beginning as babies, only dunking (dip baby's head fully in water).

Tracy- yup there was catering for lunch, tea and dinner.

MTDT, Paula- thanks!
More impt to be a gd host, people will remember the host's warmth and consideration, rather than the frills... unfortunately I don't have the warm touch, haiz.

No, Irvin not getting all these, LOL. Only 2 small posters, 2 ordered cakes (not baking any myself!), book photographer (friend's contact), order catering, book venue (venue people will decorate, provide a few balloons... will pass them my mylar balloons provided not disintegrated haha, and they conduct simple activities for the kids too). I'm celebrating for him to "cover my backside", lest he turns around yrs from now and asks why his sister had a big bash and he didn't. Take more *nice* photos... try to hide the fact there'd be less DIY element this time round, LOL.

Spicegal- thanks, cos DIY printing is costly in terms of print cartridge... keep us updated how urs cost

DIY Big Poster- http://homokaasu.org/rasterbator/
U need penknife, metal rule, cutting board (using scissors will not make it, heh) to remove the borders of each A4 page. Each poster can be 20-40 pages... my girl's big banner was maybe 80 pages? Piece each together at the back. If you don't like the "dotty" look, then download the free rasterbator program (it's in the link), that gives u the option to set "dot setting to size 1" to give you the smooth normal looking type of colour poster.

Cheri,
hee..he...ya when i was preggie i always on look out for news on Angelina Jolie and Tom Cruise's baby cause we sama sama preggie...
my boy born on 30 May at KK. Toto, bb jake when? our babies can play sand already? how to avoid them throwing sand into their eyes or rubbing their eyes when playing?

pawprint,
thks for yr info. looks like it's quite a hard work to inflat those balloons with the helium tank. dun think i'll have so many balloon since gonna hv the party at home...no space for all that.

Fi,
I know what u mean, LOL, I can't quite swim myself n hate even dunking my own head! The coach emphasize we need to dunk our own heads and give a *big smile* :p , to reassure the bb.

Serene, if you dun have that many balloons, then you can just pump it up at concourse or florist that sells balloons. Cost $1 to $5, depending on the size of balloon you have.

I have enquired about the helium tanks. Small tank is $65.00 approximately 60 balloons (Deposit 100.00) you can keep the tank for 1 month. Big tank is $135.00 approximately 430 balloons (Deposit 200.00) you can keep the tank for 1 month. Delivery charge $15 for orders below $100.

Spotlight also sells helium tank for $59.95, can pump up till 30 balloons. But currently no stock.

Add on abt helium tanks- the small one hard to move, the big one almost impossible to move by urself. It's the cooking gas cannister type, extremely heavy. In case anyone thinking of lugging it to separate venue.

748013.jpg

I'm thinking of using this as party poster
, small one, abt 6 pieces A4 size put together.

748014.jpg

recent pic of my girl... sooo different from her 1 yr baby pics. Face less chubby, eyes smaller, features quite different already!

pawprint - your posted v nice. you using rasterbator again? i just printed out 40 pgs of dotty look. will go home and piece them out. think the poster look with 1 pt resolution will look better huh? what do you think?

bb jake's mini dive - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ydx8vEIs83E

fi - jake is born on 22 May, same as joelle.