(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Lyn: hahaa, so i'm not the only one who wants to drink the EBM !!

FI: thanks so much dear !
will def enjoy the trip ! (and perhaps also miss the little one !)

if anyone wants anything from NYC, PM me ok ??
cuz i'm so busy at work, no time to log in to chat :p

Fi: also , i think it'd be diff to pump and freeze to bring back - cuz of the restrictions on the airplane now ... not sure if it's possible to bring my Frozen EBM in the cabin.

Michele,
just viewed ur blog, u're really pretty n ur mum really young!

dal,
are u interested in baby yoga? There's a book titled "Itsy Bitsy Yoga", sold in Babies n' Cream, GWC. It has illustrations on how to do yoga for baby throughout the various stages of crawling, standing etc. My elder gal was quite receptive to baby yoga from that book, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rxets9kr76k (stretch- aged 13mth), http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JD5p8vggM2E (butterfly- aged 13mth), http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KtgtGaSkwJI (upside-down- aged 14mth). It's uber-cute when u tell a not-quite-verbal tod "tree pose, or, down-dog pose" and the toddler responds accordingly
. Unfortunately, my boy seems to rather dislike such stuff when we tried on him.

Stellagwee/ Abt "Baby Can Read",
I have that, my elder gal loved it when she was a baby. She learnt how to clap etc from the song sequences in it.
Again, depends on the baby's temperament- my boy won't have any of it.

Toto/ Abt blank cards,
I'm interested in some blank flashcards, probably only 30pcs A5 size to try out. May be too small to add on to yours, let me know anyway?

Abt "I Can Read",
ooh ok. I already have the Level 1 and 2 then. I quite like it but til now, only L1 suitable for my 29mth old gal- she's already monolingual in Eng even at this age.

Lyn,
725325.jpg

Talking abt mess, can't resist posting this pic of my elder when she was 13mths just embarked on self-feeding, hehe. Agree ur Aloy is advanced- must video to keep for memory too
. My Irv still mamapapababa in a string, not "calling" anyone yet.

Mum2B,
My Irv hasn't called "mama" or "papa" yet but his motor skills devt was faster than my girl. He can crawl v. well and cruise v. steadily, just not standing unsupported yet. Rather resilient too, he'd take a tumble and get himself right up again w/o complaint. Whereas my girl at his age was not as active, extremely cautious in movements, wailed over the slightest bump... but verbal devt faster.

sigh.. din get to login cos' bz with work and fter work.. bz with looking after my boy. He's down with flu.. hvg fever since Mon... the fever subsided in the day but came again in the middle of the nite. So these few days stopped giving me porridge/ cereal.. only milk.. he seems that he has lost weight.. *sob sob*

duffybuff,
poor bb
but gd thing he's still willing to take his milk. hope he'll get well soon.

this is really terrible hor... so many bbs falling sick

Maysatch,
You are not alone ... I don't even know what SM classes are! I have yet to expose little Kelly to flashcards too ... I did exposed her to BB Einsteins VCD on weekends but
I'm trying to cut down her telly time! It's scary to note that she can be velcro-on to the telly as sooon as the advertisement is on screen!
My MIL brought a lot of boardbks for Kelly ... those with a picture and a word. I've left them in the car ... so during traveling time,
I will let her explore the boardbks and I'll read out the word. For instance, if it's a pic on Duck, I would go .. 'DUCK. DUCK. DUCK. This is a DUCK. What color is the DUCK? The DUCK is yellow color'
I speaked slowly and repeat myself twice or thrice ... if it's a boardbook on animals, then the Old MacDonald song comes in very useful.
Haha, it might sound ssilly but I'm having fun! :)

Mum2B,
I'm sure Feli will catch up soon ... each baby is different just like how each of our pregnancy is different. Don't be disheartened...

Michele,
Hope Brendan will recover soon. Re. runny nose, it helps to rub a small little amt of euclyptaus oil (found in guardian) on his chest ... it helps to prevent nose block and help in certain ways with runny nose. Read in magazines and found it useful!

Michele,
Yep! Saw the blog. Bren's really adorable! :)
And hope he recovers soon. *Kisses n hugs to bren*

pawprint,
I ever thot of introducing baby yoga to jezoir but dunno if he'll enjoy it though. Now i'm just doing simple stretching exercises wif him and even this i hv to cut short coz he'll keep trying to roll over and sit up. Sometimes he even skips the roll-over and tries to sit up! Haha.

Athena is so adorable in the video! :)

BTW, does anyone of you know where I could get those interactive placemat for bb? I saw that in one the threads advertised in the Business section ... but now it's gone lei. Thought that interactive place mat will be useful to keep the little one entertain when we are out dining and she is sitting on her baby high chair

hi maysatch,
sigh,.. in fact he refused some of his feeds. he still drinks but out of the whole day feeds, he will sure reject 1 feed lor or will not finish the milk.

hi Paula,
same here for my boy... loves the telly. will try to limit telly time too.. he loves baby einstein dvds.. so far we have 4 cds for him and he likes all the 4.

other than the telly, we try to read to him.. we bought a few cloth books for him. He even know how to 'meddle' with the pages and the detachable animals from the cloth books. Also, we try to sing nursery to him.. whenever we sing, he will also sing along with his 'ehh..ahh' and will clap along too!

Paula,
aiyo my bb too! think sooner or later he'll become a couch potato... jus like his mommy! u're better than me... at least u only let her watch vcd on weekends... im guilty of letting him watch vcd everyday! but i cant imagine wat else to keep him occupied leh.. i mean of cos i spend alot of time reading (my fave) to him, playing with him, bringing him along for grocery shopping etc... but there's still so much time left in a day!

oh and thanks for giving me the idea of putting a few of his boardbooks in the car
hehe i nvr tot of tat. btw it's not silly at all... cos i oso make the animal sounds when introducing the words/pics to my bb

Duffy,
yea, those sights of him singing along are sights to behold. I'm really cherishing all these moments ... I brought those wall stickers with music from one of her bulk purchase ... whenever, I carried Kelly to her nursery and when she saw those wall stickers, she will have the widest smile and will egged me on to tap on the wall stickers so that the music will be played. She will then be very happy ... waving her hands, kicking her legs and will keep on turning to me and smile ...

Duffybuff,
dun be disheartened... at least he's still taking some milk. how abt try some barley water? jus ensure tat he's hving plenty of liquid to prevent dehydration. and dun forget to take care of urself too

btw, my bb oso used to love to watch the mothergoose vcds with all the nursery songs... but now he sianz of them le... prefers his blue's clues -_-"

Halo Sunflower and Maysatch,

So excited to be chatting with u all here...My boy is currently turining 9 mths soon and he cant crawl on his knees yet except using his tummy to crawl....Is there any ways that i can teach him or is this ok?

hmmm i'm oso not sure if there r actually ways to teach bb to crawl on knees... but i guess we jus leave it to bbs to learn to crawl on their own
im sure ur bb will soon upgrade his commando crawling style to crawling on all fours
actually i find bbs doing tummy crawl v cute ;D

KOng,
I think I should not expect baby to drink or eat what I dun like

pawprint,
hahaha... indeed messy eater. But well, babies need to have opportunity to learn

Did you do any balance activities by GD for Irv?

duffy,
Hope your boy recover soon.

Paula,
You are very creative..

Hi Jasmine,
Welcome...

To teach baby to crawl on his knees sooner, maybe you will be interested to read "How smart is your baby" or "How to teach your baby to be physically superb". Both books are by Glen Doman and other authors. There are some balance activities which you can do to stimulate the brain development.

Good morning ladies

jasmine,
can read those books as recommended by Lyn

dal,
if you are getting the wall stickers let me know. Think they have an online webiste, but I forgot liao. saw the BP before.

hey mummies with blog,
sorry to add work to you, know some of you have link to my blog.
I've just changed my URL to
http://xanlee.blogspot.com/
:p heehee

Jasmine,
welcome...my boy also crawling on stomach like swimming

K_ong,
i havent tried storing EBM in the plane's fridge. did plan to but the time i was there i was pumping in public toilets n everywhere and i didnt think it was hygienic enough to keep.

duffybuff,
hope your baby get well soon...

lyn,
did you buy and grind your own oats? which brand of oats?

sunflower,

will go update the link!!! hehee...

re: flashcard from hiapmoh

Amy, Lyn,

I do a quick check... I think I should be able to part with abt 1000 A5 pcs for a start. The original price should be $63 for 1800 pcs of A5. Both side glossy 350gsm. Each 100 pcs pack will be $3.50.

I have other sizes like 3x4" (single chinese words, linking memory), 8x8" (bits suitable for our normal printer), half of A4 (the long side, suitable for single english words, 3-4 word chinese couplet phrase... I use this for SZJ phrases). If you need other sizes let me know.

pawprint,

did u asked me how to do the maths programme in powerpoint? I vaguely remember I had not reply this but cant remember who ask me. What I did was, I go to the online forum where they share the BITS 1-100 in powerpoint, I took those so that I dun have to create the 1-100 dots myself. Then I do custom slide show. U go to powerpoint help, do a search on custom slide show and u will know what I mean.

one of the sites offhand that should have the powerpoint of 1-100 dots is

http://www.palmchristy.net/baby/

morning lades!
Has been busy, didn't log in for some time! Guess i won't be able to catch up the thread for the past days!

sunflower,
how u change yr url? I oso want to change mine leh, but dunno how to export all my existing postings???

poohy,
how come the palmchristy link has foreign symbols all over? is it in chinese? can't read in my laptop.

any dentist to recommend? for myself, not baby. just for general check up. i used to go to my dentist in penang twice a yr but now with baby i don't go back as often as before need to find dentist here. do they give mc for check up? important...

Fi,
Now I dun grind the oats already. Can cook till very soft and Aloysius can eat. I also wanna give him some texture to "train" his tongue development for speech development. I bought rolled oats which is big grain and need to cook quite long one. That is least processed which is most nutrients
For a start, you can grind in a blender, add into cold water first and stir, then boil and stir.

poohy,
Ok. Amy and me will get all the A5 cards you got. I am interested in your half of A4, and 8x8.

Serene,
I think you can go to the settings to change. No need export, just type in the url you like.

Zao An ...

Hi Jasmine, welcome ... I'm a wished-to-SAHM-but still-wkg-mum!!! ;) Hee ...

Tks, dal. Already took digital pic for my boy (against a white wall at home) what a struggle we had.

Wow ...poohy, a personal monkey bar at home ...

Hi Fj, just picked a dentist near your mum to begin with. No ... no MC unless it's causing great uncomfort and affect your work performance, such as removal of wisdom tooth.

Hi Michele & Paula, join what? I may have missed your posting ...

lyn,
what is the brand of this oats? can find in common supermarket? why have to add into cold water? boil how long? hee..hee..so many questions. i like to cook JZ's oats this way but can only find oats for adult in the supermarket eg. no frills, quaker etc.can use? have you start on yogurt, tofu or cheese yet? i like these food but hb don't so can't wait to see who JZ will take after....

carebear,
i make JZ's passport when he was 3 weeks old, took pic of him lying down then crop out and insert blue background (msia passport) in photoshop. now he look so different. when we cross the custom, the officer just glance to see if there's a baby to match. he dont look like the pic at all already.

poohy,
Thank you very much for sharing the link to night safari
I asked my hubby to print out a few coupons already.. kekeke... Now thinking when to go.

Fi,
hmm... I bought Lowan rolled oats from NTUC. Quaker also can, but gotta be the one that need to cook long long.
If you add to hot boiling water, gonna clump. So add to cold water, stir first then boil. Gotta stir while cooking, else "chao da" at the bottom. I boil till the oats are very soft. I give Aloysius 1.5 tablespoon of oats for breakfast now

I will not feed yogurt nor cheese to Aloysius
I am afraid of those animal hormones in these products. I might start tofu soon, but dunno when yet
I will be starting brown rice porridge with different vegetables after we come back from Bintan

lyn, sunflower,

thanks for the directions.
hope i can share mine with u gals next time...frankly, i'm lazy mama, very little posting inside only. :p

lyn,
thanks..i'll look out for Lowan the next time i go grocery shopping.mil tells me brown rice takes very long to cook till porridge texture.how long u need to cook yours? do you still puree the vege? till now JZ has not tried leafy vege cause....mommy dont have the blender!those white cauliflower babies can eat already right? did you try peach and plum?

Lyn,

I'm also thinking of starting BR porridge this weekend
haha need to go and buy first. short grains easier to cook is it?

mspiggy,
can add my blog link to your blog
just that I've an additional step to log in and read :p
keke

serene,
*high five*...i'm also in the midst of creating a blog for bb josh. Actually the blog is up & have already posted events for Feb & March..still a lot of back-tracking to do. Now every night go home, while PIL playing with bb or when he's sleeping, i will be busy 'blogging'....hahaa

serene,

when you log into your blog to post, there is another 2 tabs. Settings and Template. Click on Settings, then click on subtab 'Publishing'

sunflower,
how to tell its short grain? actually the rice is red, not brown right cause there's 2 types red and brown.

Fi,
Yes, brown rice porridge will take very long to cook. Maybe 1 hour. I just bought a thermal cooker. I will be using that
I tried to cook my own brown rice porridge and it works well. Just boil for 10-15 minutes, then keep the whole pot inside the thermal cooker for 2 hours. Bingo!
I did not puree green leafy vegetables. I steam and mash them only. No need blender. Just steam, can mash already. Vegetables such as spinach, broccoli. Cauliflower also can mash. I tried plum, but not peach yet.

sunflower,
I think those very red ones are more nutritious, but most difficult to cook. I normally eat the red brown rice. On the nutrition part, I only hearsay, havent got time to go read and find out. kekeke... I will be cooking those for Aloysius. Then add 5 colors of vegetables. I need time to go shopping and buy the different kind of vegetables.

panda, serene,
Wah... What are your blog address? More and more people having blogs for babies
So exciting and interesting...

Dal,
I got those wall stickers from one of the bulk purchases last year. Its known as wallables Ill see if Im able to retrieve the website url for you.

Carebear,
We are referring to Disney Stack Rings and bowling sets.

sunflower,
Thanks! i got it! now then i know i'm still in the old format haha! can imagine how long i never go in liao!

Re. Blogging!
Im so ashamed I didnt have time to create a blog for Kelly! But I do make an effort to handwrite her letter whenever she achieves new milestones like when she turns one-month old, she learns how to flip over, she crawls, after trial class during festive seasons and etc I will label the date and how old is she on the envelope and place it in a box. Intend to present these to her when she turns 18 years old.

i_panda,
sama sama. i'm also doing back tracking! haha! so much, requires alot of time leh....

lyn,
paiseh, nothing nice to share yet, sure will share with u when it's more ready!

Brown cos the red husk is removed
I like to go for least processed :p Brown rice processed already become white rice lor... It's the outer layer of the rice that has a lot of nutrients. hee.. Shichida's book got describe that in details, but I read already forgotten, havent revise :p