(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Hi Amy, Sunflower, Lyn,
Thanks for ur advice, i shall says 10+20=30 then flash the answer fm now on....

Sunflower,
yes sae here, my boy has no teeth but bit me b4 w his gum, then he smile when i scream. I think really works if u tell bb it hurts mummmy.

Fi,
i can assure u tt it is worth it to be SAHM, u wl be very close to ur child n it is very enjoyable to grow w ur bb. It is just that i stay w my PIL +BIL+SIL, sometimes things just can't go like what i want to be.

lyn, i find it difficult to do PS as well. is it cos our bbs still young to solve problems, like what law mentioned? hmmm... i finished EQ 3 mixed operations, and started SM 65 days. GD now on standstill too...

Fi - i used nuskin while i was in Australia. i quite liked some of its products.

stellagwee,
so it works to tell bb it hurts mummy? JZ always like to play and pull at my hair when he's in my arms about to sleep. very painful leh...esp i just perm hair want to preserve the curl nice nice he keep crunching them up :p then i realise i'm the only one with long hair for him to play he probably associate that with comfortable mummy hence play when sleeping.

wah a lot of in law in your house....

poohy,
next gathering at your place lah.....

amy,
hee hee...which product. when were you in australia?

u all seen the my travelblog yet? can view?

amy,
Me SAHM for now..not for long though coz thinking familyto reenter the workforce. Like Poohy, I need to help support my family..

lyn
I am not sure if she understands the maths...coz when I tried problem-solving with her, she always go hehehe and grabbed both cards. Any suggestion on how to get the apple dot cards done?

But for photographic memory, she had been choosing all the right cards for 4 nights in a roll now. We do 2 sets with her each day for 4 days now. That means 8 correct answers...hmmm.. *scratch head*

Fi,
My biz is still good
For flabby tummy, I think maybe you will not wanna consider. First, it's not cheap to most people. Second, need time. But certainly can help with flabby tummy

Yours is a biz of women
My sis attended a seminar on marketing to women. Very interesting... Women make decisions and buy lots of things. kekeke... so you will succeed
Learn how to market to women and a bit of psychology

poohy,
I was browsing your blog just now for the Thomas rack. Is it all plastic? Are the sides plastic as well?
I like your white sorting shelves. Very neat. Is it from Ikea?
You have lots of toys! Sure will not be disappointed!
I think you gonna be disappointed if you all come to my house.
Aloysius is not in AD. I am deciding whether to buy the thomas rack. If not, I can go to AD this Sat.

Re: SAHM
hmm... I think SAHM got plus and minus points. To me, the bonding and the development of babies cannot be bought back with money. This morning, I was so happy... Aloysius sang! Yes, he sang the ABC song
with a tune and trying to pronounce the ABC. If I am working, I will not hear his first real singing

amy,
I tried problem solving with Aloysius a few times when he was 5 months old. He seems to know cos he got the correct answers. Then I stopped. Cos I am afraid that I will have expectations and now is just input stage. Sometimes it's very difficult not to have expectations inside my heart when really into problem solving.

Now my GD program progressing very very slowly. GD maths already "over" for now, mainly cos I have no time to prepare.

Wen,
Remember what GD mentioned in his book? Trust Gabby
Another tip from SM notes is to tell myself "I trust Aloysius, I trust Aloysius, I trust Aloysius." a few times a day... kekeke... I did not do that everyday, but when I get disappointed, I remind myself that

Print out lots of apples from the computer lor.. Or go and buy lots of stickers with apple.
Then use GD's maths method to DIY the apples cards. Make from dot 100. one day make a few
Or make organised apples dots. Easier to count for you too.

fi, was in australia 5 yrs back. long time lo. i used the toner, cleanser, eye gel, moisture white range... think most of the products.
but now using another brand...

wen - jake also, when doing PS - will smile and grab right card always. for PM and ML - his answers are always correct too.

wow... ya lor, must support family - filial peity is impt.

lyn,
thanks i received ur email. but ur subject says 1/4, does it mean u r going to send another 3 emails w/ attachments?
wow, Aloy is so clever, can sing already! My baby can only manage eh eh ah ah ha ha, can't even say mama yet. everytime felt so guilty n like a lousy mom because of this. i'm so useless

lyn, wow... aloy so clever! very advanced wor...

mummies - when you carry bb, do you sometimes feel pain near ovary? i felt some pain in my left ovary, esp when i carry jake to sleep in a twisted position... wonder whether should go see a gynae to do a scan....

amy,
I dunno how to get Aloysius to do PM and LM. How do you get Jake to do PM and LM? Even in class, Aloysius will skip LM. Maybe I havent tried hard enough.

mum2B,
Oops.. yes there will be 3 more. Last nite only managed to send one. I will send the rest to you now.
You are a very dedicated and caring mommy. Just continue all the inputs
One fine day, when baby likes it, he will give you the output. Gotta keep talking and talking to baby. Play music, sing, etc...
For our babies stage, according to Shichida's book, should know how to say words that use the lips. For example, papa, mama, por por.

lyn,
wah...Aloysius can sing? have to video!!
so marketing to women easier? glad to hear that cause i quite like to do auntie things go gathering, have tea etc..now whenever i yak on phone can tell hb its business...

how expensive is expensive? share share leh...every night before i sleep if i can remember i'll do 20 sit up. s l o w l y cause the slower it is the more effective.

mum2b,
don't feel bad leh..i read everywhere that all baby develop on their own time, cannot compare. feli is already maturing very fast compare to all our bbs, she's the first to stand isnt it, bet will be walking very soon.

amy,
were you working in australia? ok we leave the women auntie talk on skin care next time when i do demo....

mil tells me JZ likes pom pom (bath). yesterday afternoon, he again crawl towards the bathroom, the passage was block by his baby cot and my bed, so he got up and cruise along the edge of the bed to try to reach bathroom till mil quickly catch up with him.. and he already pom pom earlier in the morning.

lyn,
Aloysius is really advanced! my boy can only say papapapa and mummmmmmm can even say loud and clear papa and mama.

fi,
i think you're very 'wei da' to give up your job for JZ! Dont think i have the courage to do it

fi
congras to be SAHM.. it's a luxury that not many of us have it.. so enjoy it..

Lyn
wow your boy boy so clever, can sing.. gosh.. mine can't even speak or call us.. he juz ah ah, blar blar n hey hey..

Mum2b,
me too. i feel lousy as a mom.. i tried to show him flashcards he juz can't sit down or wan to look at it.. u saw him how naughty he is at bjg.. but he loves books.. so now i tried to give him books to c rather than reading cards..

R u continuing the bjg? I m still thinking hard abt it..

Poohy,
need your advise.. what kind of books should i introduce to my boy? I realize he likes those books with a big picture n a word in each page, but quite hard to find these books.

even for VCD, he can't sit still to look at it. .he keep crawling to the tv n touch it..

paula and tinklebell,
not brave, actually quite scared to make changes to my life but the thought of JZ makes me do it.what more if want to have #2 next time so must make plans first.

SM & GD mummies,
wah now you all speak in codes and short form, so difficult to decipher. but never mind, cause i didnt follow from beginning that's why dont know head or tail.

i saw anna karmel book at popular the other day. didnt know its so expensive.

paula and tinklebell,
not brave, actually quite scared to make changes to my life but the thought of JZ makes me do it.what more if want to have #2 next time so must make plans first.

SM & GD mummies,
wah now you all speak in codes and short form, so difficult to decipher. but never mind, cause i didnt follow from beginning that's why dont know head or tail.

i saw anna karmel book at popular the other day. didnt know its so expensive.

peng,
i'm also looking for such books.sometimes feel like printing my own but where got time leh, some more have to make it a board book? me not yet SAHM but soon...looking forward to when i can rule and reign over the kitchen again. cause now leave kitchen things to mil.

ms piggy,
i'm not giving up career for JZ, must not think that cause it will make me expect something from JZ in return of the sacrifice and that's dangerous.

no one saw my travelblog yet? want to upload yr stories or not? i invite........

lyn, jake will sit through the class - quite attentive le. PM - he will look at the card, LM - when i input, he will look again. today, i work from home - just did PM and LM with him strapped in his chair. he can sit still for 30 mins so will do flash cards, LM, tell story, feed fish, etc while he is on his chair. this is after he wakes up from his nap. in the am, after his breakie, he is always in a good mood - so can do GD flash cards plus 400 pic cards SM style.

Fi, peng - kino has very good board books - very clear pictures, with few words on each page. some with flip and pop ups plus music. recommend you browse their babies collection. but all in English hor...

Hi mommies!
wow this thread moves really fast!

Poohy,
can share with me ur blog?
wld like to look at ur shelving/storage arrangement since the mommies here are all praises for it

Michele,
hee jus checked out ur blog... baby brendan looks so adorable in the shaking hands clips!

Wen,
hmm... hv only come across simpler head accessories... not as elaborate as the ones shown in the PinkBowtique site. hv u tot of DIY-ing the headbands? am thinking can be quite fun. maybe can get the flowers, materials, etc fr Spotlight at PS.

Tinklebell,
oh dear hope u're feeling better. my bb oso likes to bite and pull my Ns... really v cheeky. scold him will only make him laugh louder! pengz

Fi,
me oso a SAHM and i thoroughly enjoy it
but of cos there r moments where i feel bored and sometimes even useless... but they pass v quickly... esp when i get to witness my bb's every new development

Peng, Fi,
hey can oso check out the board bks at Popular... jus bought a series of such bks ie each page with one single picture and one word. i oso bought quite a few books fr wonderbox

Re: SM
seems like quite a no. of mommies here hv sent their kids to the SM classes... wonder if my bb will really lag behind by alot if i nvr send him for such classes??

maysatch,
r u the one who is also looking for handheld blender? i can't seem to find the philips blender leh..maybe s'pore don't carry. If i come across, i let u know.

lyn

the model is MCW P090,900ml. it comes in a set together with the 500ml tiger hot water flask..$40 only..but only 200set n with coupon..

sigh!! Brendan has a fever and runny nose!! dunno if it's because of the pneumonococal jab...

have to hug him to sleep on my chest. poor baby!!

maysatch: thanks for the compliment!!

fi,
it's hard not to feel lousy, most (if not all!)june bb can say mama already. but i try to pacify myself, i read somewhere that bb who is advanced or good in one area, may be lacking behind in other area. i think feli's gross motor is pretty good, so maybe she is too engrossed in it haven't good time to practise talking.
btw jz can say mama papa?

lyn,
thanks. wah so according to shichida my bb is v late talker huh.we already talk n sing alot to her, but she doesn't seem keen to imitate any soound

peng,
so ur bb can't say mama papa yet? *hi five* hehe me so bad ah.. coz i read here most of june bb can say mama at least.
err.. my bb is not attending bjg.

re: porridge container
i bought zirojushi, quite good, can keep warm for 6 hours. now can go gaigai after lunch n go back after dinner

re: baby board books

I also buy most from popular.... Samuel used to love those small one with picture and word on each page. Till now, he still will bring them to me to read for him... but these days, he read for me ... cos he knows almost all the objects liao.

maysatch,

my blog is at poohybaby.blogspot.com

lyn,

aloysius is sooooo advanced
J still only say ah ah ah now ok! hehee... Unlike S, I dun really do that much talking to her I guess. My hb is generally a silent person so being taken care by him means she prob will not get much talking to also
Samuel used to develop faster in speech. But I am not too worried also cos sooner or later they will all speak
Being a mother of 2 hor.. sometimes really gotta close eye slightly... else my hb and my mum will complain I am too anxious again.

Amy, i dun feel pain near ovary lei ... just that nowadays when my menses come, i'll have very bad pains at the lower stomach area ... and my flow is very heavy.

michele,

hope brendan get well soon! Samuel was coughing v badly the night before also... vomitted 3 times in the middle of the night, I gotta sit beside him and standby a towel each time he start coughing badly. Lucky now seems better after taking cough syrup. Joelle also... cry for no reasons for an hour at 1am yesterday... maybe she teething...

Fi,
yep.. the recent ones i got fr Popular cost abt $7+ each... got 4 books... Baby's First Words/Toys/Animals/Colours... hardcover ones. oh wonderbox is an online store selling children's books http://www.wonderbox.com.sg/index.htm can find books by popular authors like Karen Katz, Sandra Boynton, Eric Carle, etc and oso by popular characters like bob-the-builder, blue's clues, strawberry shortcake etc

Poohy,
Thanks for sharing ur blog
hehe.. baby Joelle is so chubby :D

Amy,
oh cos my bb loves to watch Blue's Clues (BC) so i bought quite a few BC board books for him
... i oso got him 2 books by Sandra Boynton (her books ryhmes so when reading to bb more interesting), oso a recent buy is Eric Carle's The Very Hungry Caterpillar (supposedly v popular with kids but my bb doesnt seem to be v interested) and other miscellaneous bks. u oso buy fr wonderbox? hee do share with me if u make any interesting purchase! cos i jus love buying books

mum2b,

hey great must let them meet... they prob understand each other's language
J can go ah ah ah for hours! And its vvvv loud kind. She only does that when she is happy though so I also love to hear her ah... means she happy

Talking about books.... My hb allowed my bb to tore away the pages. I scolded my hb and he said he dared not to stop her, scared that she will cry.

poohy,
so cute.. my bb also blabs when in good mood only, bad mood whimpers. if there's any gathering in ur place, i want to go n see ur monkey bar

Celestine,
ummm hehe actually im oso guilty of allowing my bb to hv his tearing-magazine playtime... cos he really enjoys tearing up the pages so usually i'll jus let him play/destroy those unwanted magazines. my hb oso chided me but i was thinking jus let him tear to his hearts content... cos i notice each time after a few mins of tearing he'll lose interest and move on to his other toys

Poohy,
hehe by my standard she's alr v chubby
... cos my bb belongs to the skinny category

michele and poohy,
hope brendan and S get well soon.

mum2b,
JZ only say mama and papa when he feel like it, not directly to us.Sure feli will be ok, dont think too much about it, go with the flow.JZ physical development quite slow actually. he only recently can stand inside his cot after that cannot move cause dont know how to just stand there. if hand not enough support, use armpit to hang there but still can't move. soemtimes he hold not proper and come crashing down hit face on the bars etc leh...either that or just let go off hand thinking he can stand.when he just wake up still blur blur want to stand already, my heart will skip a beat i jump out from bed to hold him cause in his sleepy state will miss his grip and fall. this protective mummy...but later baluku mah....

michele,

oh dear! hope he gets well soon. send him my hugs & kisses.

Peng, Fi
try to look for for those book sales. I got quite a few of those type of board books from book sales at expo at very good price. Its all my boy's favourite now. He can read through it few times at 1 go.

Lyn,

Aloy is so clever, can sing
did you manage to video it down. That's the joy of being a SAHM, don't need to hear it from the caregiver, but can see it 1st hand!

Fi,
be courageous. You will make it!

Angeline,
That's a good buy. Its quite big though for our baby current consumption.
If anyone wants to buy, I've an extra set to let go

Amy
oh dear! better go check up .

Fi,
He only sang for a while, no time to take out video to tape it leh... cos he will only do it when he likes. Not easy to coax him to sing, talk, etc while holding a camera.
hmm.. marketing to women can be easy if you know how to
It's not easy to market skincare products to women! But once you know how to, it's very easy cos women buy and buy. hahaha... market skincare to their hubby, maybe very easy.. and the hubby go home get scolding or nagging lor... hahaha...
I used to yak on phone from morning till nite! But now, no time to even pick up the phone sometimes!

Re: babies speech development
Let babies creep, exercise, or walk as much as possible. Swimming is also good for lungs development, but its swim on his own with head dunked inside and up to breathe. This tip, I read from GD and Shichida books. The lungs need to be strong and developed before baby have the qi to talk.
From Shichida book, give baby more solid food to train their tongue for speech development. And wean off the bottles. I dun really know how though. Gotta go find out. So far, I feed Aloysius with strawberries, grapes, plums, pears, apples, etc. by him biting them to swallow. But need close supervision.
From both Shichida and GD books, no baby talk. Talk to baby just like talking to an adult.
I kinda regretted stopping dunking. I just saw a picture of a baby really swimming at the institute by GD. So envy Swimming will build the lungs to improve speech development.

Amy,
Very envy you and Jake can do so much in a day
I hope my Aloysius can also do that too. Maybe I gotta strapped him to his chair too. Maybe I havent done something right from the beginning. Gotta learn from you

Angeline,
Thank you for the information and picture
. I am very tempted to buy that.. kekeke Looks good and has two compartments.

Michelle,
Hope Brendan will recover soon. Sayang sayang

Mum2B,
Maybe one fine day, she will decide to say everything out accurately! Shes observing and taking all the inputs now
. Aloysius is suddenly yesterday became very talkative. Then this morning decided to sing. Just now he was playing and talking to his little duckling

Poohy,
After looking after Aloysius alone for the past few weeks, I am having second thoughts in having number 2 already. Hahaha.. I am not confident that I will have the time and energy to keep up with babies pace.
I think you are really doing very well. You are my model. At least you consistently prepare and show them the flashcards, bring them everywhere for classes, do lots of things. I am quite lag behind in flashcards already.
Last weekend, Aloysius ah ah ah with another baby at the playground, and ah ah ah to another baby at the nursery when changing his diaper. Very funny to see both babies ah ah ah to each other.

Sunflower,
No time to get the camera out to video leh too happy till forgot already.
How much you letting go the food jar? I am interested

ok.. later all.. gotta go accupuncture already...

lyn, no need to envy me. diff bb good at diff things. aloy is so advanced in terms of motor skills and speech development. maybe that's why he refuse to sit still. jake, on the other hand, is quiet by nature. likes to sit still and observe...

lyn,

its only 1 compartment. different from the Zuji brand. The top is just a very small container to put some 'titbits' haha.

Toto,
very envious you can do so much with Jake. my boy doesn't like me to strap him in anything! he knows there goes freedom! hahaha

amy has become toto?

Sunflower,
thanks...
have to persevere.

lyn,
ya when take out camera, that shiny square thing they know and stop performing. i usually yak on the phone with my sisters (when not with baby) till hb cannot get through then he will scold. drag me to the phone shop to see why my phone don't have call waiting. actually i have just didnt switch on. everytime when he call i've to quickly pick his call cause i either didnt hear it ring when outside or left it at home....like today.women business, think can be done just don kan chiong and have fun lor. after all get to go out meet friends as part of doing business woh...well, if they want to see me.not surprise if all run away...