(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Stellagwee,

My hubby is ok. Just that he don't like me to bring up the topic of going back to work lor. As for inlaws attitude, they feel it is just a waste of time for me to take care of my ger, commented that I am still young, should go out and work. My hubby was the one who asked them to shut up their mouths.

wen,
the pelangi books seem interesting. can u buy for me too when u r buying in KL? just pm me when u have plan to go there, i can transfer some money first if u like.

mich,
were u getting EDT too? how much is it in TW? do u like it?

celestine, stellagwee,
to be honest i give up job last time coz nothing much to give up, have job but no career (pathetic huh). but now have 2nd thought abt staying home.

mum2be: i did toy w the idea BUT i found it just too light!! i got maclaren techno instead. the price is about the same as sg i think. btw, u know how much the techno is in sg? the EDT is about $3990ntd i think...

mich,
i'm looking for hte lightest possible
dunno much abt maclaren as i found it's so heavy. can't manage alone. oh in TW EDT is slightly cheaper then, here it's $199

i_panda: i got my from US... original or not, dunno!!
cos some disc can be burn, some cant!! did u get my email? still waiting for ur response dear...

Poohy,
I'm eyeing ur type of shelving for my new place. Currently holed up at my mum's, can't buy for now! Kid's Loft (the PG my gal goes) uses that too, can store an impressive amt of items w/o looking too cluttered. Only disadvantage is that for space efficiency, it'd probably go much higher than kids' reach, so kid will need adult assistance. Can be quite trying :p if my kids bug me on a different compartment every 5 mins! I'm also wondering if active kids will attempt to somehow "scale" eg. pull drawers out halfway to use as steps? My gal not the sort to do so, but I have a feeling Irv will try when he can!

Amy, Lyn,
I'm curious abt what Level 1/ 2 too! BTW where can I find out info abt such "retail kits"?

SM flashing-
Sorry if I keep touching on this. But I somehow feel that my girl is already bored with the ppts I use- I've only used them for a few days?! How many times do u flash the same thing before u retire it? Shld I switch to something else even though I'm very doubtful she's familar enough with the current stuff? The other strange thing is that sometimes her attention wanders off, then I'd say, "ok, mummy switch off ok?" (not in a negative manner), and she'd run right back insisting she still wants to watch. *thinking out loud* Maybe I should quietly switch off and do some reading or what. Also, she seems to not enjoy "Numbers" and "Dots" flashcards, dunno whether it's boredom or incomprehensible to her. I read kids under 3yr can "understand" the dots but not older than that- personally, I can't understand the dots *at all*.

Wen,

Err, i just show the answer leh, I just flash card 30 and say 10+20....Oh ou, seems like i am not doing the correct way....Other SM mum can advise me?

I remember one mummy looking for bed rail in Taka baby fair, just saw the Isetan brochure, Isetan is having a great discount for Safety 1st Sung-Fit Bed Rail (fits mattressess 4" to 10"), usual price $79.90, fm Mar 26 till Mar 30 $39.90 only.

re: blank flash cards

anyone interested in blank flash cards? thinking of ordering some.

level 1 - 5: our conversation is on the i can read series

wen, for 65 days program, i just show answer. however in class, think sensei also showed A + B = C, all 3. this is GD format for EQ 1.

Sunflower,
Yep! 3 working days to process and approve. You will receive an email notification from them. You can bring this email (instead of having to wait for the letter), your bb's birth cert and your IC, and you and ur bb hv to go in person to collect. :)

Michele,
Ya lor, gotta go wif bb to collect. Very siong. :)
Sorry, MIA again, kekeke.... really tired recently wif car issues but mainly is jezoir maxing me out. He naps only once a day now and is actively exploring everything - touching the fan, TV and power points, pulling the curtains and chairs, opening drawers, climbing onto his toy boxes, looking and reaching under the coffee table and his playpen, etc. And recently he keeps getting into the yoga Downward Dog pose (ie inverted V). Very funny though. Hahaa....
Bren can do shake hands... cool! Jezoir knows hi-five and clap (but his clap is 1 on top of the other instead of palm wif palm) :)

Carebear29,
I got my bb's photo taken at a photo shop, just S$10 for both hard and soft copy. :)

any1 using those tiger food jar? coz this thur isetan got special price on it..thot of buying..any comment? does it really keep those porrridge warm aft few hours? how abt the brand 'ENDO' ?

tks alot..

Hi Amy,

Is it the "Baby can read" series that Taka baby fair is showing? My sinseh never touch the 65 days program leh, seems like the SM class in TPY is a bit different fm SPF?

Stella, pawprint

The Level 1/2 is the "I can read" (wo hui du) chinese books. Not the "Baby can read".

dal,
Thanks. The last time I wanted to do, thought is 3 weeks! hahaha blur me :p

Stella,
My sensei does that too, only shows the answer card. She says the equation first then answer show answer card.

Do you do that? I tend to show the answer card and say out equation :p cos feel funny when nothing to show and keep talking le hahaha

Which is the right way?

KOng,
Enjoy your trip. So good can go travel. I drank my own milk before
Not bad...

sunflower,
I sent to your bubbles n snow hotmail last week already. Did you receive? I scared the files too big.
I just tried to send to you. I got an error.
I am on day 35 only :p Ooppss... 10 days behind...

mum2B,
I am really like old woman now ah...
Aloysius fell asleep on his high chair before too. hahaha... Eat halfway and slept.
These few days, due to my backache, we have been sleeping on a mat on the floor. Just now, Aloysius latched on, and creeped away after he's done. And I continued to sleep.

poohy,
SM term break is the last week of March.
I dun mind getting the cards from you. How many have you got to get rid? How much? I think I will need a lot.
Thank you very much for the encouragement

I think Aloysius likes to explore the house and play with normal things we use. He only loves one toy - a FP stacks of pans. I will try to tell him the colors of the things that he's holding, and describe as much as I can to him. Now, he's throwing and chasing after the cap of his sippy cup. Throw and chase... hahaha...

amy,
How come got 3 more classes? My sinsei said got 2 more only leh..

Paula,
I did not take epidural. Must be careful when carrying heavy things.

michele,
Where to get the thomas toy stacker? I might be interested. My hubby is into thomas and train

pawprint,
Are you going to start SM in April? Dun worry, there are many other things which you can do with kids
. SM is also not about PM/LM. There are lots of other fingers training activities, which are very important. Meanwhile, you can teach your baby to blow. Aloysius seldom blow during lesson. I am thinking of cutting soft fruits till very small and let Aloysius pick them up to feed himself. But thinking of the mess I gotta clean up, I have been delaying it :p Sometimes, I let him pick up black bean, brown rice, red beans, etc.

poohy,
Are you still considering a brachiation ladder? I am reading "How to teach your baby to be physically superb". It is stated that for brachiation to be successful, the ladder gotta be part and parcel of life at home
. But it's so expensive and no space at home...

i_panda,
Aloysius not only touch. He tastes the dirt too!

Celestine,
I will think of working sometimes, but I keep reminding myself that I gotta place baby as priority number 1
Maybe after he and younger ones grown up till after 6 years old, then I will go and work

mum2B,
Aloysius even bend down to taste the latch between the bathroom and bedroom! I seldom use any chemical to clean my floors now.

stella,
Yes, my sinsei already doing the 65 days program for many weeks already. Oh, Thursday got private sale ah... hmm.. maybe next time la... ;)

Wen,
I think GD maths is very good too. It's more extensive than the 65 day program.

Celestine,
I think SAHM is super busy. Most of the time I dun even have time for my own meals.

Angeline,
How much is the tiger food jar at Isetan? Which one?

Stella,
I am at TPY also. My sinsei does 65 day program

I used to say "10+20" and just show dots 30. The sinsei will say "10+20 equal 30" and show dots 30. At the beginning, I did the former like you. Now I changed to the sinsei's way.

sunflower,
I think we gotta say first, then when saying the answer, show the answer. Shouldn't be show the card and say equation and answer. It gonna be more than 1 second. The idea is to show fast for instant computation next time. Both SM and GD also stated that in their books. They gave me the impression that if I show slow now, next time, baby also compute slow.

Hi Good Morning!
Me having chills... since last night after Fiona gave me a big bite on the Ns!!!! I had to bear with the pain to pump the milk out... never had such painful experience

ipanda,
i wanted to get that rack but they only have 1 collection date... what a waste
U getting?

lyn,

I had already gotten a monkey bar cum balance beam. Its those small type meant for children. I posted the pic here.. u can look at the height versus window. Fixed height but it did serve our purpose with some minor adjustment... though not optimal like the GD standard. Its just $400 so we also cant ask for the type of flexibility that a $2000 brachiation ladder can give. I bought it 2nd hand from Eileen&Louis from sgparenting. They got it at $900+ i think ... it was sold by geniusexplorer previously. Previously we were seriously considering getting a GD ladder but worried abt the huge space such a big ladder takes up and scared later beocme HUGE white elephant.

however hor.... I got 1 concern leh.... for S its ok... but I keep thinking hor... J is a gal... later if she keep brachiating, will her limbs grow too long and her shoulder/chest become too wide etc.... like not good for a girl mah... hehe silly thinking but that's one of the reason I still din start her on brachiation at home though the monkey bar sit at their nursery room for 1.5 week liao.

u leh? u going to buy one? The good thing abt living in a condo is your condo should have a pretty good monkey bar rite? My uncle's condo got a good monkey bar just abt the right level for us to do _spotting_ for our children... those in hdb are just way too high.. I cant even reach it... how to lift S & J up to spot them.

for the cards, I will go back and check the receipt and divide out the cost .... I cant remember liao also. I got thousands of them.. so just let me know roughly how many of what size u need lor.

724414.jpg

Lyn,

keke noted.
Just now did SM maths, say equation then show and say answer same time.

Poohy got her brachiation ladder already

nope, I didn't receive. My email is gmail
keke..

My boy likes to taste the ground too! He will lower his face to the floor or big object that he can't lift and taste it!

morning ladies

poohy,
i like the gym you have at home! really cool... where you bought it?

sunflower,
my boy also likes to taste the ground.. he will lick and kiss while crawling ard! hahahaa

tinklebell,
ouch...must be v painful. Now that they got teeth, must be careful when latching on. No lah, me not getting the rack but its nice hor. I live in hubby's house together with PIL, don't have much space for me to put. How i wish my flat faster build finish, then i can have my OWN house, can decorate the way i like & bb josh can have his own room. then i can buy lots of toys for him...haha. but have to wait till 2010 then i can take my keys...sianz

poohy, i want to get the cards too. initially wanted to get from HM, but think cannot find enough mummies to share.

lyn, how many you getting? we share whatever poohy wants to sell? poohy, can pass to us at AD this sat?

re: meeting at bras brasah - maybe we meet next week? wen might be interested to meet as well.

re SM class: hee hee... think you are right - two more classes. so sad... ending so soon...

poohy - i love your ladder... has Samuel tried the ladder?

tinklebell, sorry to hear Fiona bit you. Hmm... hopefully she will learn to be more gentle to your n...

sunflower - i registered at Forum JG for Sunday 2 pm class. this is the latest slot available on Sunday. For Sat - classes are at Evans Rd. not v convenient, and prefer to keep Sat for SM slot and AD.

re 65 days program, i also show answer only. hee hee... must use calculator to compute the answer... next time can ask jake to give me the answer then i prepare the card. ha ha...

mum2b,stellagwee and celestine,
i am the opposite. i'm working mum but planning my resignation to be stay at home mom. when my baby couldnt recognize me after spending a week in JB and my popularity ranking slip to #3, it really hurts and it was a wake up call. hb says as long as i can earn some money and not to replace my salary, its really good already. so i'm going to join my sisters in Nuskin business. actually i dont even dare to tell other people what i plan to do cause a lot of pple have very bad impression of mlm but i just need to say it out, instead of bottling up inside me. i plan to stay home by JZ's 12 month and by 18 months i shall decide to put him at child care and go back to work if i dont see results happening (as in income coming in....)

k_ong,
instead of drinking i shower and wash face with my BM during my trip just to feel better that i didnt waste it

i was also clastrophobic while pumping inside the planes tight cubicle till so stressed no ms came out i had to pump at my seat! all the adventures.......

Fi, think it's not that bad being a SAHM, at least you can catch all the developmental milestones.... money cannot buy!
am sure things will work out well for you.

re: gym

mspiggy, I bought it 2nd hand from a couple in sgparenting forum. its originally sold by geniusexplorer.

amy, ya Samuel loves it.... he keeps asking us to "swing" him on the ladder... and he can hold on to the bar on his own ... but he cant swing himself yet i think.

fi,

ya being a sahm is great too.... being with the children are the happiest way to spend our lives. Btw, my popularity ranking with J is also no.3!
First is my mum who takes care of her in the day, then its my hb who takes care of her at night. Then me. And she really shows her preference! If I carry her, and daddy or ah ma wanna carry her, she sure lean towards them and stretch out her hands... if someone else wanna carry her from me, she turn to the other direction
I am glad to be no.3 at least... I am working towards being no.1 hahahah.. at least I am no.1 to my boy.

re: cards

ok I go back and take a look

poohy,
wow! it's so nice to have an indoor gym for the kids!!! my children would love it but i've got no space at home

ipanda/sunflower/ amy,
thanks for your concern. u all bf'g right? how u prevent your bbs fr biting? really been a nightmare bearing the pain! i try to deprive her of milk, she cries non stop and i cannot tahan. i try scolding her but she makes no sense of it and look at me and smile

Fi,
It's great to have a plan in place
Hope u enjoy your days as SAHM
I hope to but no courage.

tinklebell,
Oh dear... Hope Fiona will not bite you again. It's very painful with their sharp teeth.

poohy,
Wah... the brachiation ladder you got is very nice

hahaha... your description of long limbs, wide shoulder/chest very funny... I think should be ok one. Swimming will also cause wide shoulders.
I think it's expensive and furthermore, I have no more space at home
My condo playground dun have monkey bar. Haiz... I wish I can move house now.. hahaha... move to level 1 and have big space for me to build a playground I like...
Now my hubby wanna buy the Thomas rack, but dunno where to put.

sunflower,
So it's bubbles and snow but gmail?

amy,
Can.. We share whatever Poohy gotta sell
She can clear her stocks of cards too.
I gotta confirm with you again next week. I will go when my mum is not around
cos when she's around, I wanna do my work. I gotta ask her next week when she's coming...
Or you arrange with Wen first, then let me know when? The shop close at 6.30pm sharp. Gotta go early if wanna browse through and decide what to buy.

poohy and amy,
glad for your words of encouragement. ya time with our children money cannot buy. next time when i do product demo can i come show you then hee hee....
please la...entertain me also i dont mind.
cause closest friends will sure reject me but have to start somewhere....any mummy selling anything to justify their staying at home, come come...i sure support....

poohy,
yr house like very fun play yard. can our babies come play your toys? you know who's #1? my aunt in law, my hb is no#4. aunt in law comes every night to play with JZ in loud exaggerated voices, make me envious at times cause since she's 'visiting', me, hb and mil have to hand JZ to her to play and i already hardly have time for him myself, #1 get seem to get priority visits leh...so by 9.30pm i whisk him off to bed for my time with him but sometimes if he's real tired he fall asleep while latching and i go 'aiya...mummy havent read stories to you yet leh...'

tinklebell,
painful isnt it...:p like N inside jaws mouth.....my mom thaught me to squeeze their nose so they would let go.

tinklebell,
I stopped BFg for more than a mth liao..Since bb fall sick & doesn't want to latch on & my ss also not very much. So stop lor..but now when i press my N..got drops of milk come out. Anyone knows whether is this normal?

tinklebell,

my boy still no teeth. so can't really say much. but he bit me before with his toothless gum! it hurts, I screamed he look at me then smile! **faintz** then tell him it hurts. He repeated it 2 more times, but after that never bit me again. so not sure if it works. Try telling F gently that "it hurts mummy when you bit" everytime she does it. Hopefully she'll not do it again.

sunflower,
haha! i also screamed... like Xander, she looked at me and smile

ipandan,
Think it is normal. previously, i still have a bit of milk coming out even after 2 yrs of BF'g...so strange that i had to take blood test to rule out some malfunction of certain hormonal glands.

fi,
ya loh, bitten by jaws..LOL!

http://www.pinkbowtique.com/product_info.php?products_id=228{3}5
Anyone know where else to get? Looking for good quality bows for my girl.

Lyn,
I did GD maths till finished 3 step equations. Then started with sequence then all the way downhill. That is why thinking about SM maths. Gabby don't want to see dots anymore. Maybe my programme was too inconsistent at that point. I am thinking to create new 'dot' cards with pictures of apples.

tinklebell,
ouch! So far Gabby only have 2 lower teeth...so I am still spared...

amy,
meet at bras basah? Let me know when.

SAHM vs FTWM
Someone told me that it is a modern mom's dilemma. Always pulled in between the 2 roles.

amy,
hahaha.. just noticed your last comment.. next time ask Jake to give you the answer... I am thinking of that too.. hahaha...

Fi,
Things should work out well
Just gotta persevere and dun give up
Jia you oo...

tinklebell,
Aloysius used to bite me every feed when his teeth just came out. Now, he rarely bite already. I screamed and he cried. Then deprive him for a while. I will explain to him that when he bites mama, and it hurts mama, and asked him not to bite. When he never bites, I will say thank you to him for not biting mama

Fi,
wah... so good.. You even do product demo. Thumbs up. You are very hardworking indeed. Are you going to bring baby around with you?
Do it with your heart of helping people instead of for the money, I am sure you can go very far

Just enjoy the latching on moments
I think it's very special time during latching on. I also never read sometimes. I think reading at this stage is also mainly for the bonding rather than teaching.

mummies! esp K_ong who's going to New York this Monday..

http://travelbaby.blogspot.com/
i've decided to share my travelbaby blog even though its not ready (only managed 2 post so far). i'm collecting travel experiences with baby from other mummies too but havent figure how to open up posting to you all yet. but do keep all yr travel pics and notes ok.....

tinklebell, bb jake stopped latching when he is 8 months old. i pumped exclusively till he is 9 months old. for the past few days, i stopped pumping - sometimes still have milk drops from n. think it's ok. initially when he bit me, i tiak his cheek. he cried, bit xin tong. but after that, he stopped biting me. but i know i cannot force him to latch on - if he don't want, he will bit.

wen - meet at bras basah - sure! see when lyn can make it. lyn, you keep us posted. wen - you SAHM?

Wen,
You have done very well since you have finished 3 steps equations
Maybe Gabby already know, so no need to see anymore. kekeke... Have you done problem solving? I am trying out problem solving by putting 2 cards on the floor and baby creep to the answer. Haven't been successful though. He creeped elsewhere. hahaha... Gotta try again when I got time and my back recover.

lyn,
i put reading time after last latching at night to kick the latch to sleep habit. cause reading is a slow activity help him calm down for bed. have to do product demo, but i don't know how yet cause still under tutorship from sister. now is use and learn product myself first. actually tried a skin care on my mother in law. its called 180 system for anti aging and can see result on her, now she look better less hagard, face more fleshy and taught less droopy even though have to run after JZ everyday.

how's your slimming business? anything for flabby tummy?

fi,

bring bb come my house to play lah! We can have a mini playgroup
but hope i wont disappoint cos my house not that much toys also lah.

lyn,

btw, is aloysius in the AQ swim class on saturday morning.. I din remember seeing him leh...

wen,

ya that's the top dillemma... everyday I keep feeling torn ... cant be sahm... else hard to support my mum.