(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

amy,
It's at bras basah level 3, near the lift. The one that sells books for kids only sell books for kids. A small shop. Books shopping ah... Maybe Saturday morning cos afternoon I gotta go to Suntec at 1.30pm? Do you still have swim lesson at AD?

Can help me to get the cards from HiapMoh if you are going there to buy? Then I get them from you

wen,

heard can get pelangi books from their webby and delivery from Msia to your house, seems to be cheaper than getting here. Alt go to Popular JB with popular card 10% discount, also cheaper than here. Or look out for book sales.

Wen,
I think if you go on your own, also can get 20% discount cos you are a member

The salesgal knew me by the one who buy lots of Shichida books... hahaha... I help my friends, relatives, and myself to buy. So end up buying lots of Shichida books from there. kekeke...
Are you a member for Popular? Can get discount on those books. I think those make shift stalls of children's books are not cheap too. I prefer Popular cos nobody to force sell to me. kekeke...

sunflower,
very cham to hurt back leh...
I am lag behind the 65 day program already. I think more "siong" than the GD cards. hahaha... For last 2 lessons, my hubby went with Aloysius. So, I dun really know which day the sinsei is flashing. I just do at my own pace now

Oh yes, Popular member from JB can be used in Singapore Popular and membership is cheaper. I am not going to renew my Popular membership here. kekeke...

Stellagwee,
Okie... will email to you
Wanna meet up on Thurs at TPY? I am bringing Aloysius for 9 month assessment this Thurs afternoon. I can go TPY after that...

lyn,

take care wor, maybe u need a rest. tat time i was having backache too so i went for a massage. I felt great after that, do go to relax relazx...massage really helps me.
wat is the diet plan? can u email me too. hehe, also feeling fat. thanks

mum2be: nope, dunno her... always get emails from these moms doing online biz, dun u?? BUT have never bght from them.

no wonder the shoes look familiar, same brand? did u buy?

i_panda: sleep late n wake up late too!!
baby too...

fi,
ya agree w/ lyn, stay at home w/ bb is more tiring than working.

poohy,
J is so cute, got so much hair, can tie

backkpain:
i also had backpain a couple days ago. need a good rub n paste koyo, like an old woman already.

btw, my bb positively doesn't want her cot already. this morning she was so sleepy during breakfast till fell asleep on her high chair (v hilarious to see btw), but as soon as i put her down to cot, she'd wake up n cry. she'd also cry when i sit her down on highchair

amy: i want ur car seat!! i LOVE the color!!
good taste... heehee!! what is this hypermart? i dun even know where kaki bukit is...

Lyn,

can email the diet notes to me too

kekeke over there goes by Ringgit right

Today is Day 46 for me, so should be Day 45 for yours.

michele:

nope, haven get the wipes cos still have a few pack to finish. kaki bukit is near eunos there and near the many car mart. =)

wen,
what kind of books are Pan Asia books/Pelangi books? me looking for board books with pictures (not cartoon) but usually very expensive.

K_ong,
have good trip ya...

Fi : thanks !! am taking the direct flt to NYC, so sld be pumping twice on the plane - mmm... if too wasteful to throw , nmaybe i will drink it up ! haahaa
i intend to pump once in the morning, at noon, in the evening and at night ...
see how it goes la ..
maybe this is the time for me to wean her off too ... oh well
anyone wants anything from NYC ??

re: hiap moh cards

i got a lot of cards from hiap moh... 350gsm double side glossy type of different sizes like A5, half of A4 etc. So if u gals want smaller quantities, maybe I can share some of mine with u since I expect I may not need as much anymore now that both of them likes powerpoint better.

lyn, wen,

dun be overly concerned abt the home practise or the lack of it. Our babies are at a time where they have great mobility and are eager to explore everywhere. Babies have individual likes and dislikes too... some likes books, some like music, some like cards, some like toys... When Samuel was this age, I got into a hard time trying to make him see the cards too... I tried as much as I can.... till eventually I have to stop it totally when he was slightly over 1 year old. He refuse to look at the cards and I was busy with Joelle at that time. I let him explore the things he likes.... he can learn through reading, through toys, through lego blocks or just build motor skills too!
I taught him to hold his pen properly using doodle board and that was the time he was more into doodling.. building blocks. Hmm only recently I asked him whether he wanna join meimei to see flashcards, he nodded his head .... and the number of flashcards he see are also slightly lesser than J.

So dun be too concerned. I went through a period of feeling distress as I was so concerned that S dun wanna see his flashcards. But I had come to realise that there are many ways to learn. Flashcards are just one way. There are just 1001 things to do... colouring, sorting, puzzles, reading, building, dismantling, pretending... its all part of learning. There are more than one way. Key is it must be fun and both of u enjoys it.

re: Joelle's hairstyle

thanx for the compliments ;) Her hair is quite long... if dun tie... she looks REALLY messy!

kong: pls dear... u WONT drink it!! i threw away till heart pain when Brendan had surgery... wanted my hub to drink haha!!

pls take back the entire NYC!!!

JEANS!!

mic: you've got mail (can reply to my work email). Thanks for your offer. If troublesome, then nevermind.
723487.gif

kong: ya you won't want to drink it. Got a fishy smell..i drank once when i was in KL. Threw all away after that

lyn, you want A5 from HM? will arrange for free delivery if we hit $200? will email you re this tmr.

bras basah - what time they close? can sms me? i am now at city hall - can pop by if they close late - will be free after 7 pm.

still on AD - but will need to go home after that, cos SM starts at 2.30 pm. jake needs a nap in between.

sunflower - huh? i tot zander completed level 2? aiyo - level 3 - 5 how? maybe wait till he is older then flash?

poohy - we are in session 9 in SM, this Sat session 10. think 3 more classes, ending end March. JG term is different? joelle can start JG in late Nov 07 le. can request for earlier trial date also.

amy,

ya, completed. MIL says she'll rotate between Level 1 and 2. keke
so I told my MIL not to read the full sentences for level 2, just read the object words to him. So he seems ok with it just now

Michele,
I would prefer the Jack n Lily shoes lei

Poohy,
Kelly is extremely addicted to advertisements! Whenever there is an advertisement, she will be GLUED to the screen! Sigh! Must break her away from this habit!

I-Panda, FI,
Yea, having gals are wonderful! More reasons for mummies to spend more! Dresses in different cuttings, shorts, pants, jeans, t-shirt, blouse, hairclips, shoes, bags!

Lyn,
Yea, Kelly is happy baby. She can smile and laugh at the slightest thing! Quite bubbly! However, she can cry at the slightest thing that annoyed her too! Like when I took the toy away from her or when I touch other babies.

Carebear 29,

After the class, you will have to decide whether to enroll with them or not. If yes, then you would have to figure out what timeslot would work best for your and your lil bb.

Mummies who are experiencing backpain,
Hmm, do you think it has to do with epidural (for those who had epidural)? Im also having some very bad back pain! It hurts even when I lied down on my back.

i_panda: my ma. didnt u get my reply? i didnt get any more emails fr u after. no trouble at all lah... i love all ur icons!!

when did u see my blog? i jus uploaded Brendan shaking hands!!

anyone getting the thomas toy stacker? amy u were interested right? now only $80, u getting? I want!! BUT they wanna sell me at $169 if i ship to tw...

michele,

the thomas toy stacker v cheap at $80. I have one... but if u ship to tw like not worth it leh... i am sure tw got nicer stack rite?? I always think tw got all the really nice and cute stuff
I feel the stack cant put much things leh... u go my blog and see u will understand.... poohybaby.blogspot.com I went to get additional ikea racks to put my toys.

amy,

thanx... I will put J in JG end of this year then. But she will be in forums ... same place as Samuel...

paula,

somehow bb always vv addicted to tv advertisement wan hor... my god sister also... last time my mum even wanna record those adv for her ... hehee

my children dun have much chance to be addicted to tv adv... cos I seldom... really very rarely watch tv with them. My mum's house also... whole day if tv on... its always their DVD...
I always wait till they sleep liao hor... if i got strength, i will get up to watch tv real softly... so most of the time i only read sub title... dun really want them to watch with me... I am such a serial addict ... later they will watch all those things with me liao haha

oh and btw, i wanted to get 3...hopefully enuff to put all his barangs BUT at $169 each, forget it!!

btw, is it heavy?

michele..

hehee.. the loop is the main attraction why i still keeping the rack... else i am contemplating selling it! hmm buying 3 ah... wow... thats really exp to ship hor... like all the money go to shipping liao. Hmm the rack is not that heavy.. its just plastic... but its bulky if u r thinking of hand carry back to tw

The basketball loop is nice really.. my boy loves to throw ball inside and looks so proud of himself!

Lyn,
gosh hope ur back feels better soon! U're right, really have to wait til class starts cos despite reading abt PM/ LM, I still can't quite visualise how to carry out. :/

Poohy
heh ur photo was a great tip! Took ur idea and tried with both kids in highchairs at dining table. My ppts are a mix of pics and words, was hoping equally appealing to both kids. H/e, my Irv (restless one) was sooo thrilled to be seated next to his sis. He kinda idolises her, more happy to see her than see me. So most of the time "ah-ah-ing" to his sis. Athena (attentive sort) kinda got distracted, haiz. And she kept bugging me to let her press the "arrow key" on laptop (I use manual instead of auto-timed cos easier to control). Usually easier when she's lying in bed next to me with the laptop, I let her press the key but ask her to keep eyes on the screen.
I *think* I shld try flashing Irv in highchair alone, and Athena in bed alone. Pity can't save time by flashing both tog, haha!
BTW can u tell me how you put GD 65-day Math in ppt? What to use for the "dots"?

SM mums-
I collated below data from several sources (incl. from u mums here!). But dun ask me to put "credit" references, haha. Err, I haven't read a single SM book nor attended any class yet, so might have errors hor! Just sharing for other beginners

<u>SM activities</u>

Eye: Baby- eyes track moving toy. Apparently, blowing bubbles into the air is another method- baby will track the moving bubbles! 2/ 3 yo- track, circle object (eg. find the 5 tigers out of 5 tigers, 4 leopards, 5 lions scattered over A4 paper). 4 yo- draw zigzag.

Writing: Baby- almost none. 2/ 3 yo- prewriting by practising use of thumb & 2nd finger (eg. chopstick trainer, threading, or string/ place little items onto pole, or slot little cottonballs into drinking straw, or labyrinth toy.). 4 yo- writing numbers & short stories (image play- homework).

Photo memory (PM): Baby- 1 picture card flash 3 min, then ask to choose/ look at matching from 2 cards (1 has some differences). 2 yo- Same but flash 1 min or less. Also, flash picture w/ 3 items, then give picture to rearrange 3 items in order flashed earlier. 3 yo- 4/ 5 items. 4 yo- 5/ 6 items.

Linking memory (LM): Baby- 2 to 6 cards, each flash 5 sec, to choose (or look at) card in response to question(s). (eg. Flash apple & car picture cards, saying, The apple jumped over the car, then place on floor in correct order asking, Which is apple/ car?. For beginners, flash another apple card, to find matching card on floor.). 2/ 3 yo- 50-150 picture cards per set. Flash individual picture cards in order, or, point to a chart of 50 pictures as you narrate the storyline. Then toddler recite/ name all pictures in correct order, from memory. 4 yo- timed recitation, as fast as 150 words/ min.

Speed reading: All- Show book, point to words along to narration at normal speed, then 2x speeds, etc.

Poetry: Sensei (teacher) hands out a poem every few wks, for kids to practice reciting. Parents may recreate the poem into 2-4 line flashcards or a poster, dressed up with pictures/ colours. Baby/ 2 yo- no output expected. 3 yo- to recite short poems. 4 yo- longer poems.

Flashcards: Standard is A5 size. Some people use ppt instead- do mind to use laptop/ LCD screen as the young can detect the "refresh rate" in other screens. Baby- picture cards, few word cards, 200-300 daily. 2/ 3 yo- some word cards, some picture sentence cards (eg. Cow picture + eat word + grass picture). 4 yo- more word cards.

65 days Math Flashcards: All- flash dots, equations as to program kit (SM version or GD version).

Math: Baby/ 2/ 3 yo- mostly logic games (no idea what?). 4 yo- start 23 math matrix, much more maths games (no idea what?).

Linguistics (sawako): All- as to program kit.

ESP: Baby- 1 picture card, 1 blank card (eg. Swimming pool picture- touch & feel coolness of cards to sense which is the image. Alternatively, think of the card and send telepathic message to your baby.).

Mandala: 4 yo- Flash 1 colour mandala (geometric shapes graphic) for 1-2 sec, then ask child to close eyes. When eyes open, provide box of colour pencils and the outline mandala (same graphic but in outline, without colour). Child gives indicative stroke of colours on outline mandala in 10 secs, corresponding with the colour mandala seen earlier. Beginners start with simple mandalas (eg. rectangle split into 3 coloured portions).
Note: Impt to flash quickly as Right Brain takes in entire image at a glance and forms an after-image that child sees when he closes eyes. After-image will stay for less than 5 sec initially and gradually build to 10 sec or more. This ability to see and retain after-image is grown over time and repeated practice. When its burned into childs mind for more than 1 min, even after seeing the object for only 1 sec, photographic memory is achieved.

<u>SM resources</u>

http://www.shichidaparents.com/rc/index.html Website forum under construction but the resource link working- free d/l of poem flashcards, mandalas, LM etc.
There's a singapore parenting forum that seems to discuss at length, but err, I still haven't got my registration approval there- most posts locked in members only! I wun post the link here though.

pawprint,

the forum is very useful all of us GD and SG parents... sgparenting.com
Previously it existed as yahoo group but these days they had mostly converted to the forum. I think it was locked to registered members only recently because it was spammed by those prankster posting porn sites... happened recently.

another vvvvv good resource for bits is www.theclassicalmommy.com You can also see the link on my blog.

Poohy,
agree that flashcards are just 1 method
. I have a list of "to-do" to remind me, hehe, though alot of time we just "nuah".

Oops, edit to add my list mostly refers to my elder, hehehe. All Irv wants to do is explore places!

"to-do" list :p
Reading
Music movement
Singing
Role-playing
Craft
TV
Toys
Playground
Pool
Playdates
Gai-gai & Excursions
Daily 3hr nap
Wkly swim, music, drama, PG classes

pawprint,
was reading the SM activities on Baby- eyes track moving toy...was thinking, does watching ants count? haha..cos bb josh likes to use his finger point & follow the ant moves on the floor..Now even dirt on the floor, he also likes to touch...*faint*

Recently I have been thinking of going back to work. But on the other hand, no one can help me to look after my ger, unless I were to place her in the infant care centre. Hubby strongly disagrees. How?
Do/Does any SAHM here, sometimes think of going back to work?

i_panda,
hehe ur boy sounds like my girl. dunno why since this week got lots of ants. my bb likes to chase after them and touching dirt on the sliding door track..

celestine,
in what line r u at work? i'm also thinking to look for a job, but no relatives here so left with 2 choices, maid or infant care. i visited baby inc over the weekend, their program is very interesting, i think my bb can learn more w/ them. pity it cost a bomb

yes poohy!! thinking of carrying bac to tw...
BTW, wat color is ur quinny?

i_panda: dunno, i jus hit the reply button.

mum2be: u thinking of buying stroller or 2nd stroller? we jus bought another one over the weekend, one that reclines. EDT, very light!!

Lyn,
Tis Thursday Isetan got private sales, i may go there...what time is Aloysius' check up? Reg 65 days prog, ur sinseh got do in class? Mine never do the 65 days but got show variety dots or dots cards.

Sunflower, Amy,
What is the level 1, 2 things u r talking about? I m interested to know, finding new things to try on my bb...

Celestine,
Me SAHM, i enjoy being able w my bb all the time. But sometimes i do thinking of working again as u will have ur identity or some respect...n can be yourself.

michele,

my quinny is dark blue i think. Bought 2.5 years back i think. At that time they out of stock.. only left dark blue and birch colour
I thought dark blue wont be dirty so easily. Anyway I hardly use it. Think maybe i shd start trying it out again... with 2 children, gotta use stroller more ... hehe last time when only have my boy, we hand carry him all the time even though we already have 3 strollers back then.

pawprint,

Thanks for the wonderful resouces and ideas!

i_panda,
Gabby not just touch the dirt. She would try to transport it to her mouth!

SM mommies
Can help me check if Tensai got variety dots in red apples?

Thanks. Got to go. Chao!

Stellagwee,

Yes, I do agree. Maybe I have been working for so many years, always busy travelling around, and suddenly got to cut down my personal activities like clubbing,gym and etc.
Maybe I need more time to adjust to be a SAHM. Able to work, means able to earn own money, hee hee! Actually because of this, I argued with my hubby.

wen,

the ikea shelf cost $79 each i think. The containers are sold separately so it depends on how many u buy and wat size.
I may buy one more in time to come.... now I am trying to sell away some of their toys to clear space first. I like the shelves a lot! And I can draw and label on the boxes... when we change the content, I just wipe away the label and relabel ... Its compatible with their nursery theme.... Almost all their furnitures are white though they are now in different parts of the house (they dun stay in their nursery room yet). We had deliberately make sure we always choose white colour if there is a choice.

Hi Wen,
I hv the Tensai variety dots card, they r in different object every 10 numbers, like 1 - 10 is ice-cream, 11 -20 is ballon, and yes 41 - 50 is red apple but i think u r looking for all 1-100 in red apples right?

Celestine,
Yes hubby attitude is very important, what make me feel likes go back to work is because of hubby and in laws attitudes.