(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

mum2be: all babies develop at their own pace, that is only a guideline.. "relak lah.."

btw, i jus taught mine to shake hands!!
BUT he cant wave too..

Just to share, my Irv can't shake hands, wave or clap. Grins ALOT at me though, hehehe. Verbally nothing more than mamababa, and it's not directed at anyone ie. I don't think he's "called" me yet. His greatest recreational goal in life now is to mouth stuff, haha.
Whereas my elder girl- at 8.5mth (same age as Irv now) could say "up" http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qjqz4sHZKZ4 , at 10+mths could say "ball, bear, book" http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nCQwBjZpgwg (note for ball she tried to stick her tongue out to get the ending "ll" sound, for book she tried to enunciate beginning and end sounds with "boo-ker"). Of course as her mum I'm exceedingly proud of my darling girl hehehe (sooo chubby cheeked in those vids! Awwww, now she's so "grown up" in comparison, sigh). But honestly, her speech is not more advanced than my gf's baby who didn't speak for the longest time

MTDT,
Trial class will be held on 7 April from 2pm to 2.50pm.

Dal,
Oops, sorry for the blunder! I had thought FI was you ... :0) Anyway, the list of mummies attending are:

1. MTDT
2. ViVi
3. Dal
4. Paula

Pawprint, my friends were telling me that gals tend to be early talkers ... my galfrenz's daughter was yakking away, stringing sentences when she was 20 months old! :0)

mum2b,

one reason is because cant find a slot that is conducive. The other reason is because she is at a stage where if she want something and i dun give her or take away from her, she will fuss and crank.. especially when she is tired. I dun want to have her super cranky when the teacher continually need to collect back the practise materials mah... so all the more important to get a conducive timeslot
Another reason is because her current fine motor skill not so strong... most of the SM stuff needs good fine motor skills. So its cheaper to me trained by mummy at home... anyway Samuel is still attending.. the same thing can be done with her at home by just making slight adjustment for her age. Economy of scale...
If first child and i am not exposed to the method, then maybe the considerations will be different.

poohy,
thanks alot! i'm so new so needs a lot of advise from experts like u

michele,
hehe i sound kiasu huh? so many ppl asked me whether my bb can talk simple words so a bit kancheong.. paiseh.

pawprint,
ur gal is soooo clever!! can say lots of things at such young age. did u do anything stimulate her?
btw r u registering Irvin for SM this April? which slot?

paula,
my bb is a gal, but doesn't show any sign as early talker

Mum2B,
pple who ask u whether ur bb can talk simple words at this age?! I encountered b4 too, those are usually pple who never had kids/ had kids tooo long ago, hahaha.

thanks for the compliment- I don't recall doing anything unusual for her. But 1 thing alot of friends commented when they saw her, was that she really liked to "play with her tongue". Tongue always flickering here and there. During meals, when a grain of food gets on her cheek, her tongue very dexterous can search for the food and reach it- even this, some of my friends commented on, hahaha. Sad to say, she's monolingual (English only), and her diction/ pronunciation rather "off". Not registering Irv in SM for now, I think getting him to pay attention to anything will stress myself/ place undue aggravation on myself. :p

Hello mommies!

my bb is finally discharged fr the hospital tdy! Thanks lots for all your concern

Amy,
hope baby jake is fine now

pawprint,

ya that's one of the reason why i din enrol samuel to SM when he was younger. He only first enrolled when he was abt 15mth old and even then, I was super stressed. Joelle can concentrate v well but at her age, she cant follow instruction that well and dun really know the concept of returning materials.. scared later stress myself. A good timeslot is not always available so if there is a good timeslot that is abt the same time same place as S's class, then i will sign up to secure the slot lor

maysatch,

happy for u... hope bb is recovering well

re AQ swim

nice meeting u mummies yesterday... we did enjoy ourselves... except i was v anxious cos late lah! I dun like to be late for classes... plus Samuel keep wanting to go down to swim
I am trying to see if there is a possibility of back to back swim class for him and J...

poohy,
they dun hav waiting list for SM slots I suppose? AD is quite accommodative of back-to-back slots... eg. my elder and younger have 10am/ 1030am slots. I noticed another sibling pairing on same day at 1030am (younger kid)/ 1100 (elder) slot. I dun advise so near noon though, it's REALLY unshaded there.

SM- I have hundreds of questions, it's all so bewildering to me!
1. How to train pre-writing skills in 2yr olds?

2. Can describe how they do photo-training for 8mth old/ baby? How is it done for 2yr old? I only read that baby "choose one", while 2yr old "choose 3 items" but I don't understand the process at all.

3. Process for speed-reading? I'm going to buy some kits for this soon, but the only thing I know abt this is that it involves 4-speeds, some cards?

4. Process for poem recitation?

5. Flashcards for baby wld be mostly picture cards, while for 2yr old is word cards + picture sentence? How do you flash, each card duration, what kind of repetition, when to retire the cards? What is "picture sentence"?

6. Math- do what for baby? How does the 65-day prog work? What are logic games?

7. Sawako (sp?)- going to buy some kits soon too. Err, how to use ah?

I checked another forum but it takes a long time to be registered there, and it seems such discussions are in the member only.

pawprint,

will reply u later cos now i am rushing to prepare for work hehee... but one of the way to training pre-writing skills in 2 year olds ... is the chopstick trainer. Teaching them to hold chopsticks. Another way prior to that is to get them to do threading, or to string/place little pieces of item into a pole, another type of way is to get small little cotton ball and asked them to slot into a regular drinking straw. U will notice that all these requires the tots to use only the thumb and the 2nd finger.... the 2 fingers only. Someone told me the ladyrinth also helps in this area.

pawprint,
how to watch yr video clip? went to the link you posted, click here and there but it says have to login? dont mind the silly question, first timer...

amy,
hope bb jake is fine. last night JZ was crawling around, climd to stand up and down after dinner and he also vomit some of his dinner. i think after meal need to play quietly.

a colleague told me there's a strong virus going around need to take extra care for small children. bad cough, flue, fever woh.....

Sunflower,
Good to see you yesterday ... my thighs are now aching! Haven't been exercising much after giving birth ...

FI,
Yep, two weeks ago, many of my colleagues' child were sick with same symptons: high fever, bad cold, dry cough and diahhorea ... geez, might be due to the weather

pawprint,

for photomemory training, at 8 month old, bb shown a picture card, then 2 cards with some differences... and asked to choose or look at the one that was just shown 3 min ago. At 2 year and above, the above is done also. But the duration to look at the card is 1 min i think or less. Also, they are show a picture with 3 objects. Then they are given the picture to rearrange the 3 objects they just saw in the correct order.

Peom recitation is not part of the 2 year old cirriculum. Maybe 3 year old. Its not done in my boy's class yet.

For speed reading, just show the book and point to the words along with the narration from the CD. Normally, u can play at the normal speed, then repeat at 2x, 4x etc.
Just make sure bb follow your finger pointing.

Flashcards.... hmm I show my 2 children both words and picture cards. More of picture though. Whatever interest them. I show about average 200 a day. Picture sentence is to use the word and picture cards to form sentence. U flash some word and then maybe for the word dog, u substitute with a picture of the dog. u know wat i mean?

in the 65 days maths, u flash the dots cards or equations according to the 65 day programme... u shd get the programme when u go for parental enrichment class. just follow...

To be continued... meeting now

Fi,
hiaz... true... Fiona is sick again
down with fever, cough and runny nose over the weekend. She seems to be sick once every 2-3 weeks esp when she comes into contact w her cousins who r sick
feel so "sim tia" to see her sick.

Paula

Good to see you too
keke good exercise for us hor.

Tinklebell,
oh dear. Hope she get well soon.

Maysatch,
glad to hear your bb is ok now.

Hi mummies!!!
kao_kiss.gif

Long time no see!!! Hope I'm not forgotten ... sorry for the disappearance ... work's been just too busy ... lately cool off a bit by delegating (taking a paycut) ...

So glad to be foruming ...

I think I just missed a weekend gathering or something, huh?

tinklebell, so sorry to hear fiona is down with cold and fever. bb jake also down with running nose and has lots of phlegm. started on Sunday... so saw a dr then. understand how tough it is when bb is sick.

carebear, welcome back - wah... pay cut? how's your bb? can you refresh my memory - what's your bb's name?

pawprint - your Athena so cute and chubby. now more girly... and grown up.

Amy,
Jake is also sick? hiaz...
i hope they get well soon. ya loh v tough to look after a sick bb
Fiona kept clinging on to my during the weekend. Think she was v uncomfortable esp when she lies down.
Her cough is chesty
got lots of phelgm but cant spit out.
btw, jake's dr gave him antibiotics?
hiaz... v hesitant to let her take

Fi,
yes, still on TBF... thought tbf will have better immunity but she keeps falling sick

amy,

do you know when our CB products arriving? you know the thread where TLL started the spree?

re: leapfrog
hey mummies who has this dvds:
err what's the show like? is it alot of puppets? or which type of dvds is it similar to.
got a BP on this thinking to get
can advise me on this

Hi amy, my ah boy is called <font color="0000ff">Mathius</font> - coming 10mths old. How about yours?

721635.jpg

Ya lor, take a paycut, in order to be more flexible in timing and not so stressful so can spend more time with the little fellow.

amy: so u on leave to take care bb jake? hope u take care urself too...i understand ur feeling when my bran fall sick tat time.( felt so helpless )

hope all the bb are well by now.

carebear,
long time never hear fr u.... Mathius so big already! if i recall correctly, he was born in Apr right?
i also feel like asking my boss if i can work 3 day week. But how to put it across?

kiki - me not on leave. mum came over to help last nite.

tinklebell - no antibotics. only med for flu and phlegm. dr gave fever med to stand by, but no need to take. hee hee... dunno whether his flu was caused by his AD swim. very cold, and no time to warm him up cos i was late, so just rushed into the pool... he cried cos v cold...

sunflower - LL mentioned 3 - 6 wks. she will update the thread once arrive. will keep you posted.

re: leapfrog - dvds like cartoon. v cute... only saw 2 - the phonics and the other on sentences i think. think bb will grow with those dvds.

poohy - any comments on I can read series? what chinese books to recommend bbs? Wanna get some for jake.

carebear - ha ha... my bb is jake - 9.5 months old.

amy,

great.

poohy,
just wondering, you have Leapfrog also right? is it similar to BST?
My boy loves BST but not the Brainy BB. so if LF more towards BBB not sure whether to get.

Hi tinklebell ... Mathius is born on 19th May (37th wk), he is supposed to be June baby ... tat's June MTB thread still closest to my heart ...

Btw, I'm not on shorter work week, I just gave up some roles in order to leave on the dot, all in all is to maintain equity in the team ... it's really difficult to balance motherhood and work!!! Arghhhh ...

Kiki, ya lor ... I gave up on BF upon starting work, so ah boy only on BM for 3.5mths. I tried to express during work, but it's simply discouraging having to express in a toilet cubicle ... the thot of hygiene is enough to make me abandon plan ...

Hi amy, can Jake walk already?

My boy boy very poor thing ... haven't joined any group baby activities since ... cos this horrible mummy been so busy with work ... hope to make up to him ...

<font color="0000ff">Any of your babies are suspected LEFT-handed? </font>

carebear - jake cannot walk yet. can pull up, can stand, can take side steps when holding on to rails. dunno whether he can do free standing. never tried.

sama sama ... he walks round & round his execsaucer and enjoys standing up with support. Last few days, I think he was trying to do free stand by raising his butts real high, but failed ... hee ... practice makes perfect ... ; )

Is the June MTB on any group swimming? gymboree? etc events?

It's time I compensate my boy boy ... feel really bad when I was told by friends on the no of activities their babies were on ...

Wen,
oh dear!! 39.8 is v high!!! so CGH wont entertain paediatric cases? didnt know abt it too. Think must have been a whole nite of mad rush for u!
Good thing her fever came down.... Fiona had fever on Sat but ard 37.5-38.
Brufen v effective, can bring down fever in less than 1/2 hr... BUT must take Brufen with food hor... v strong on stomach.

vivi - no need lo. thanks.

tinklebell, jake was 38.5 on Sunday am. but at clinic, went down to 37.2, so dr said no need to take fever med. only after 38 then take fever med, rite?

wen, re home practise - i do flash cards (SM 300 cards, GD 50 cards), memory linking with small hand held cards like in SM class, sometimes play some ESP and do some eye training. also do speed reading and foreign lang CDs. need to work on photo memory. hee hee...

carebear,
you mean you have to demote in title or something? i FTWM, office says can work flexible, bring home work to do. but when i do, they turn into wolves watching my performance so i dont trust them already, no such good deal in the work force.
do not feel bad about lack of activities, i didnt sign up for classes either

tinklebell,
you are thinking work 3 days a week? what will the pay be like? think civil sector can, its called part time. pay prorated. my sis encourage me to tbf as long as i could leh cause she talked to a lot of mothers with more than 1 children and could see the difference between longer bf babies in their immunity. any difference you can see in aaron and fiona? how long aaron bf?

me still looking for baby sign dvds. any ideas anyone? cause over the weekend, he quite like to watch scooby doo the movie when it showed on tv. usually he dont pay much attention to the tv. and he like hand action activities, so its time to intro baby sign dvd.

wen,
didnt know other hospital a&e dont accept baby. u mean next time if its a&e case should go straight to kk?hope your baby is ok.

carebear: i also suspect my leftie... how and when will we know?

amy: jake sick?
is that why he's been throwing up? hope he gets better soon!! SAYANG!!

tinklebell: take care & hugs to bb fiona... i also still tbf!!
will u be stopping soon?

wen: how's bb? Brendan also has the 'mouth fungus' aka oral thrush... sigh!! from all teh stuff put in his mouth!!
into our 2nd botle of medication BUT he hates it!! so very hard to apply...

bought Bren a walker... he loves it!!

michele,
is it a walker or an exersaucer? at 9 months check up nurse ask us not to use the walker anymore cause this is the time they seriously learn how to walk. i was glad nurse say that to mil (she brough bb to check up) cause i never knew how to tell my in law side that. so now we seldom use anymore unless for a brief while when we're too busy to watch him. with so many stories on walker my conclusion is its ok to use till when they seriously learn how to walk then should use the push cart.