(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

ooh!! thanks sunflower!

hope my boy wont be shock by the cold water! :p

sunflower,

thanx for the tips! Are the warm/hot water for bathing ?

MTDT,

the only thing I find a little pity is that Teacher April is a good teacher who cares. That's the only abt BJG that I still feel like considering.

Tinklebell/Fi:
i find Avent headoffice very inflexible. Plus oni open office hours 9 to 5pm that kind of timing. So Difficult since i m working. But wil try get it b4 end march cos we will be gg Genting n KL. But not sure got time to go down anot...Else hv to bring my electric pump bag n barang barang for my trip. But shld be ok since we r driving up there.

Tinklebell:
same here. recently chloe been waking up like twice in e middle of e nite. So shag rite? dun u? wat time does fiona slp? wake up around?

Fi:
I dunno whether chloe's feet is small or wat. Even e fox booties i bot for her last dec also loose! headache. Thus never wear e fox b4. The fox booties i bot material not soft one, like wool kind of material, find e material not so good.... Anyway i wil get a new shoe for chloe for her 1st yr bday.... not easy since her feet seems small....hehe Yup jack n lily one so sweet. i bot e pink color one w little lamb design.

vivi:
no wonder. my massage petal got problem, loose n can drop by itself leh n not much suction! U started barley cereal liao? which brand u bot?

no changing station uh.... then maybe i bring a pull up diaper instead. i havent master the skill of changing in the stroller leh! hahhaa :p

poohy,
your hub v good wor...
i guess washing clothes and refilling water will be major chore everyday. washing and hanging clothes also takes up quite a bit of time so what i did previously was to program the machine to wash before i reach home... once i reach home, just hang ...dont have to stay awake to wait for the cycle to finish..hee hee some tricks i learnt along the way

BUT worst chore is ironing
hate to do that!

kite,

ya and i bought it for < 2 weeks.
Dun know is it becos i sterilize it about 3-5 x in the sterilizer and soaking in hot water for 2x. hence the plastic degrade faster.

Ya i gave HT barley as i couldn get the HT oats.

poohy - so much good comments abt teacher april... I really wan to have a trial with her. will try to go for her lesson on the 17th. hope annie allows. :p

u help me to ask April lah.... can??? :p

poohy, mtdt

for bathing there's hot water. Its the fixed shower head type. I took some time to adjust down to correct temperature.

I'm also used pull ups for last week
quite ok.

Poohy, btw, are you joining us for the trial class with MyGym? I read in the latest issues of Mother & Baby that MyGym is one of the five most popular bb gyms in Singapore. TT is another one of them.

vivi:
ur boy stil on 2 meals per day? guess u hv started brown rice for him. morning barley cereal, noon brown rice cereal? wat is e difference between barley cereal as compared to brown rice cereal?
for oats, perhaps u can buy raw kinds n cook it.

ya, i read motherhood mag on the gyms too...

JWT, kindyroo are also recommended rite.

seems like more trials to go! hahahah :p

sunflower,
the 5 popular bb gyms are:-
Tumbletots, MyGym, JWT, Kindyroo & The Little Gym (hope i get the last one correct)
717919.gif

Re: sleeping
I let Aloysius sleep on a mattress on the floor at my parents' place. The mattress is at least 10 inches thick which I thought the fall might be significant. It is significant, but it's better after I put two pillows which is about half the height of the mattress. Aloysius can creep on the pillow and then to the floor on his own
Maybe you gals can consider this way. I am thinking of getting a mattress and put on the floor now. It's safer, in my opinion.

mum2B,
Okie. I will email to you later...

haha.. you know what... Aloysius is super sticky to me now. Really my shadow. I go for a shower, he also wanna follow. I go pee, he also follows. When I shower, and alone at home, I gotta play peek a boo with him as I shower with the shower curtain. hahaha...

pawprint,
Welcome
You are sending your baby to Shichida too? Mine is Sunday afternoon slot
Just believe the younger one will absorb everything you are teaching
It's so good to teach both togather. Your kid got buddy.

kite,
My MS dropped already, I think. Or Aloysius is having great appetite. He's often crying when he wakes up nowadays. He will suck and cry sometimes too
. I think he sucked and no milk, so cried... Dunno how...

tinklebell,
I also does what you do. Once cry, nurse. I am starting to wonder if I am now a human pacifier.

sunflower, vivi, amy, poohy, mtdt,
Wanna have brunch after your swim? I will have to go to Bugis area. And gotta meet Amy.

poohy,
So good that your hubby also do housework.

tinklebell,
Hi five! I hate ironing too! hahaha...

paula,

need to check with my hb ... if its saturday after 1pm ... we may be able to join the Mygym trial class cos gotta bring my mum to Woodlands for tui na and so will be in that area.

Another gym class I am considering is Little Gym but that one only if they have a suitable noon timeslot on sunday cos that will conincide with Samuel's JG playclub... then i dun need to travel all over the island. Nowadays must be v cautious abt planning else i end up travel whole weekend... i wanna have more time to bond with the children ehhee

lyn,

I cant stay for brunch leh... I gotta go to S's SM class in Toa Payoh. Wanna reach early... last 2 class I was late and i feel it wasnt optimal for him... he was a bit blur blur and stun stun kind when doing ESP

lyn, tinklebell,

me too lah i hate ironing.. and last time I iron all the clothes of the week... can take more than 1 hour leh! My hb dun really want me to iron these days... cos he say i iron toooooo slow liao.. he can do it faster.

Poohy,
Ironing is probably the household chores that I dread most! Hate those ceases ... no matter how many times I ironed, the ceases are still tehre.

kite,
Fiona usually sleeps ard 915-930pm. ya, v shag... plus i gotta wake up at 545am every morning to rush to work. hopefully, dont have to wake up so often once our bbs are older. i really look forward to the day when i dont need to wake up to feed
For aaron, it was after 2.5 yrs when he finally slept thru the nite

morning mummies, today baby jake vomitted 2 times, st after his milk... like merlion... poor baby... everything came out even from his nostrils....

i have seen 3 docs re his vomitting issue since CNY till now, all say bb jake v healthy. the last visit was 2 days ago, dr said lungs ok, all ok, very healthy... how? should go PD for checkup? panicking....

amy - ooh dear...

wat's jake feeding schedule like now? wat's the amt?

after puking, he is ok? in good mood??

Wah, seems like most of our babies are early sleeper. Little Kelly sleeps around 8.30 to 9.00pm and wakes up at 7.30am. Im fortunate cos she slept through the night since she was 3 months old. However, there are occasions when I have to feed her at 5.30 or 6.00am. She did went through a terrible period of separation anxiety from Dec to Feb partly because of my traveling schedule. I was on two trips of 10 days each and one trip of 5 days during that period. Hence, she was practically Velcro-ing on me whenever Im around and will cry when Im out of her radar screen however, it seems like she is better now cos havent been traveling since Feb and routine has pretty much been settled.

MTDT, okay you are in. Mummies who have confirmed their participation in MyGym trial classes on 7 April are as follow:

1. Fi
2. MTDT
3. Vivianne (Vivi)?
4. Paula

Two more spaces ...

amy,
sayang sayang. All docs say bb jake healthy but did they say what cause the vomitting? Did they give u any advise?

mummies, dunno why... all docs (even at A&E) said bb jake looked healthy and happy, and good weight. faint....

he is taking 200 ml per feed... on FM - the same FM since day 1, so dun think it's the milk. think maybe he struggled after his milk without burping? but since 6 months, i have stopped burping him le....

just rang raffles children's centre, the nurse said could be reflux, and said there is medication for that. asked me to bring jake there... hmm... but even if PD sees him.... he looks so healthy and happy...

Previously, drs said maybe he ate too much, overeat or maybe din burp, that's why vomit...

Amy,
maybe Jake has gastroeosphageal reflux??
maybe just too full?
Suggest u reduce his milk per intake but with more frequent feeds.
Add rice cereal into the milk. Alternatively, change to milk meant for bbs with reflux.
Let him sit upright after feed.
Continue burping him.
Avoid clothes too tight at tummy area

There is medicine for that and tests to test that but i am not sure if u want to subject a small infant to all these horrible tests. Normally not v serious. U can see a Gastro PD for more advice and to determine the severity of Jake's case.

amy,
sayang sayang... Aloysius also has been vomitting his milk after feeding for the past few weeks. But not from nostrils. On few occasions, he vomitted his semi solid food too. But starting from this week, he kinda reduced vomitting already. Yesterday, he did not vomit. I wonder if it's a passing phase?
To me, if after puking, still fine and happy, it should be ok. As long as baby is growing well and not weak, it should be fine rite?

Hi everyone, sorry if I missed some posts again! I am so exhausted running ard for the elder kid.

Sunflower,
Kid's Loft PG is a playgroup for older tods (Irvin's too young, I forget the min age)- I believe the owner/ teacher set up a thread in this forum under Biz section. Purely english, starts with freeplay of toys, hello song, phonics, storytelling, craft, music & movement. Works out to ~$140/mth (own est, based on 4 sessions/mth).

Drama class is at centre-stage http://www.centre-stage.com/Courses.php - there is a baby stage for Irvin's peers but I've never tried that cos it's 2x wkly. Only tried Playstage 1 for my elder, which is 1x wkly. They DUN operate on wkends at all and to be honest, everyone else in the class I brought her are expats. Their waiting list is very long too. It's similar to usual PGs with freeplay, hello, craft, etc. Except with a drama element (everyone usually pretends to be some sort of animal). Works out to ~$150/mth (own est again).

I cut those 2 classes off my elder's to "finance" her SM instead (also cos some timings clash).

poohy,
I agree with Tinklebell that u're very capable. I'm really very tired even tho I'm a SAHM w/ maid and my mum to help.

Amy,
I agree that ur Jake looks very gd. But yah, the vomitting is very perplexing. Issit cos he's active on a full tummy? I have a fren whose kid was sooo active, vomitted regularly. Stopped when starting walking
. Another fren whose walking kid can jump until vomit too.

SM,
those in SM, kindly guide me if u can
. I'm absolutely new to it.

Positive Babies at Babies n Cream in Great World City-
just brought Irvin for a trial there this morning. My elder used to go there for Baby Yoga and Tots Yoga, but management has changed since then. I find the new Positive Babies "style" is very similar to Kindermusik, except w/o instruments. Priced slightly cheaper than KM, primarily bcos no course materials cost. Lesser yoga element compared to the old Baby Yoga- which is more ideal for active bbs (Irvin will probly NOT like the old Baby Yoga structure).
But still not signing up, very difficult to catch him in my lap to move his limbs!

Too many postings today....can't catch up with reading. Anyway,

Book fair at Bras Basah
It is on starting today. Just came back from it and got some books for Gabby. Lots of children books at 30% off. If you want stuff from Mahayuyi, it is at 10% + another 10% for members (membership fee S$8 for the first year). But they don't have the Shichida book I am looking for. =(

sunflower

i oni managed to get this from JWT
The trial is $39.00. Each session hold abt 6 babies.You can make up a class of your own if u hv 6 babies, if not u will be joining the existing class at the designated timeslot

u can chk out their webbie

www.jwtkids-singapore.com

pawprint,

we all share info on what we know for the SM or GD... good to have another mummy to exchange pointers with

amy,

Samuel used to vomit every other feed also. Sometimes its big time like merlion kind... sometimes moderate. He has gastro reflux... nothing can be done... I brought him to PD and GP all say he will outgrow. So now he is older liao hor, outgrew it already finally at abt 14-18mth (cant remember exact).... as he relies more on solid food, his milk feed was thickened with rice cereal... it helps i guess. But ocassionally he will still vomit/regurgitate his milk feed here and there... even at this age of coming to 2 years old. Last time I gotta carry lots of extra bib and hankies out .... cos he sure vomit each time he drink milk ....

Wen,
Last week, I bought 5 more books on Shichida. kekeke... Bought for my cousin one. There's one which I do not have and read it and gonna buy it. I think it's very good, cos there's a chapter telling what to do with baby at which month

Lyn,

That is the one I am looking for. I read it before, borrowed from library. They are out of stock...I got the one on teaching reading, maths...not sure if it is useful. HAven't read.

Vivi,
sent you an email. Pls check.

the thread moves so fast..

amy
my bb used to puke when he is born cos of reflux problem..so PD prescribes special milk.. it's called something like milk for reflux problem. only found in guardian.. till date i am still giving him though i mix it with the normal FM. But this reflux problem shd go away as they grow older cos their tummy becomes stronger.. hmm.. it seems strange that jake has this problem now..but if so many PD said that jake is ok, perhaps he is really ok..

sunflower, wen,
Oops... Sorry.. Just now in a hurry cos Aloysius woke up, so forgot to include the title of the book.

It's titled "cong1 ming2 ying1 er2 pei2 yu4 fa3"
I will highly recommend this book. I gonna buy this book, cos the one I read is for my cousin. For our babies' stage, balls and balloons to teach colors, sizes, shapes, weight. If any of you see cheap balls of different colors and sizes, let me know. I wanna buy.

I will also recommend the book on diet - "nao3 nei4 shi2 pin3 ruan3 ling2 zhi3". It's about the general diet. Applicable to adults too
I am still revising this book. kekeke...

I also have the book on read, maths, write. I browsed through it and find the book ok only. Maybe the tips are not applicable to me now.
I am still waiting for the salesgal to call me when new stock of Shichida books come in. I need to buy more for myself and my cousin

lyn,
wow.. u can build ur own shichida library in ur house
pity i know nuts abt chinese.

poohy,
why do u want to defer J's SM to next term? is it because it's better when she's older, n not so useful for a 9-month old? hubby also thought of deferring to 1 year old, which is next term. btw if i registered already, can still defer if the term is not started yet, can't I?

amy,
oh dear, hope bb jake will be well soon.

bb 9 month check up,
there are a list for parents to fill up on bb's deelopment in the health book for the 9-month check up right. All except language is fine, but my bb doesn't really talk in syllable, more err ahh ohh. she doesn't imitate my clicking sound too. quite worried, does it mean my bb's language is lagged behind? what should I do?
read that ur bbs already can clap hands, wave, etc. my bb can't do it even though we showed her so many times already.

mummies, thanks heaps for your concern. din see PD today. cos Jake seemed well.
went to bb hypermart to buy Maxi Cosi Priori XP for Jake. :p Now he can sit more comfortably. BB Hypermart din sell the Little Tikes Coupe. Think gotta wait for apirsin.

Ah... Kino has 20% off for members. Signed up as member just now. Got Jake many board books... so fun...

Taka BB Fair - nothing much. Just got huggies diapers and pigeon bottle wash.

tinklebell, pawprint, poohy, thanks for your reassurance re the reflux issue. i also think so. cos i realised when jake stays still after his milk feed, he does not really vomit. will monitor carefully over next few days...