(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

mtdt,

I cant comment whether it will improve. But with practise it prob will. Its afterall a right brain facility. The brain grow with use, the more u use it, the better it is. It quite easy for u to do photo memory yourself at home.. just get 2 similar image with slight diff and show
I think at SM, this is done the same way as BJG. Untill your boy have enough motor skills... like at Samuel's age, they have another type of photo memory.... where the teacher arrange 3 items and get the child to re-arrange back. As they gain greater motor skills, slowly it will be things like mandala cards where the child colour the right colours back according to the image they had seen.

poohy, sunflower, MTDT,
Thanks for the info re. SM. Wow, $700 per term is very ex. yah? How many sets of lessons per term? 1 term is how long? Each lesson how long?

MTDT, I also agreed that the photo memory at BJG is quite interesting.
Ya, the nurse say something like yr explanation. Must chk if he's allergy to egg, if not, cannot take the MMR jab yet.

Hello gals...
Paiseh... I MIA for a while already. Last week, went for another seminar for 3 days
Then very busy with Aloysius for the past few days, alone with him at home. No time to even switch on my laptop to go online.

sunflower, amy, vivi, stellagwee,
I received the notes for diet workshop already. If you want, I can scan them and email to you
To summarise, it's to eat more vegetables and fruits, and less meat. And one page of weekly menu recommendation for 1-3 years old.

Serene,
I just read from Shichida's book on diet. Eggs is no good for the brain.

kite,
I am going to start to give oatmeal again. Now thinking of giving more food for breakfast. Might add oatmeal for breakfast, cos only fruit does not seem to be enough, and my milk supply going down in the morning.
For spinach, my mum will buy from JB
Better dun get those from china.

ok, I gotta go... later all... today another busy day...

poohy - thanks.

are the babies expected to be still on chair in SM?

i v scare as my boy cant sit still one leh... :p
he will keep crawling here n there

Hi..

anyone got those cctv whereby u install to spy over maid or see what she us doing at home with BB via the internet.... must be online one... desperately need to get it.. any suggestion where to find?

poohy

bbloh from may thread organising a bp for the thermal suits..got 40% off..quite a good buy

Re: egg

hmm,my PD advise after 1yr then give egg yolk leh..he say coz to be on the safe side...

Celeste,
I've heard of it but not sure where to buy it. Hmm, maybe can check out classified? Aren't yr mum helping u to supervise?

lyn,
Oh dear! I'm confused now! The nurse says egg is good for brain. Both my mum and hubby says it's very nutritious too.

mtdt,
no need to sit still on chair in SM. hahaha.. Aloysius fell asleep yesterday for half an hour. Sometimes he will be watching the teacher while standing or lying on the table in front. Sometimes, I carried him and stand at the back. Whichever he's comfortable
So flexible. Usually I will arrive at the class before the lesson start and let him creep around and interact with other babies
. At the end of the lesson, will let him creep around to interact too. Very fun

hi mummies - lyn - i want the notes! please email to me!

sunflower, pawprint, poohy, serene, good to see you all at KM yesterday. bb jake was really sleepy, think he din enjoy the class at the end. i was quite tired too...

poohy, J looks so sweet and chubby, like jake. ha ha... S too... very sweet when he said bye bye to us...

poohy, what does S do in JG? Does he enjoy JG? Wanna send Jake there for Play Club in Oct this year. re MMI - do you like MMI's curriculum or LV? any comments?

Serene,
Last time my mum also feed me lots of eggs cos the nurses, doctors and everybody said it's good
But I believe in Shichida more
Newer research and findings. So I will try to follow Shichida's method.
My mum saw on TV on one Monday nite that eggs can only be introduced after 1 year old. Cos of allergy. kekeke... I used to be pressured to give egg yolk, not anymore now

angeline,

thanx... I think I may wanna get the bubbaducks one... thermal suit very difficult to get in and out of ... so those velcro may be good... btw, any of you remember where is the local website selling the bubbaducks suit? I cant remember leh...

Amy,

I din research into LV and MMI leh so I cant comment.... if u have more info when researching, let me know too.. I headache over where to send Samuel for his daily preschool end of this year or next year.

JG playclub is mainly art n craft, singing, free play, dramatic story telling, snack (can learn abt turning taking, table manners etc). Weekend playclub is billigual.. 1 hour english, 1 hour chinese. The english part will introduce phonics. There is a theme each week... like last week, the theme is GOLD.. so most of the thing they do will be related to this color. I will send Joelle to the playclub when she is past 18mth too.

Poohy,
Have you considered Carpe Diem for Joelle? Carpe Diem's curriculum is as follow:

Carpe Diem adopts the Multiple Intelligence approach in the planning of our curriculum and activities. This approach focuses a lot on hands-on experiential learning in a fun and meaningful way. Every individual differ in their intellectual strengths and weaknesses. At Carpe Diem, we use this approach to nurture a childs strength while allowing the child to be exposed to the other intelligences in which the child may be weak or has less interest in. Each of our learning centre is equipped with rich materials encouraging childrens play and providing opportunities for activities invoking the multiple intelligences in children.

Your child at 18 months is still very young and the younger children are more active and easily distracted with shorter attention span, therefore their activities are more hands-on arts and crafts, music and learn through play. The older children are better able to sit still for longer period and have better comprehension skills. Our teachers use brainstorming, discussions, mindmapping and projects in the process of helping the children gain knowledge.

A sample toddler time-table is as follows:

8.30 am Breakfast

9.00 am Assembly

9.30 am Kinesthetic (Indoor gym and exercise, gross motor skills)

10.00 am Blocks (to learn colours/shapes and expound on their creativity)

10.30 am Beethoven (music)

11.00 am Manipulative (activities to enhance fine-motor skills)

11.30 am Lunch

12.00 noon Shower/Story-Time

1.00 pm Nap

3.00 pm Tea

3.30 pm Drama (Role-play, interpersonal/intrapersonal skills)

4.00 pm Kinesthetic

4.30 pm Picasso (art & craft)

5.00 pm Shakespeare (story-time)

5.30 pm End of program

The focus for the toddlers will be on:

Basic self help skills e.g. feeding themselves, removing and putting on their own clothes.

Teaching them to verbalise their needs.

Toilet Training.

Introduction to alphabets, numbers 1-10 and basic Chinese Characters.

Identifying basic shapes and colours.

Exposure to both languages.

Social interaction, e.g., sharing, playing together, etc.

Mum2B, Sunflower,
Nice meeting you and family last Sat. Really happy to be able to match faces to Nick. And babies are sooo adorable.

Lyn
can email me the diet info too? I pm you my email add?

How is weaning so far? Mine still on B milk most of the time. Only one to 2 meals of cereal a day...sigh. She eats very little cereal and would 'request' for milk after 1 hour... But she is still growing well at 9.9kg at nearly 10 months now!

dear mommies,
my bb is down with cough and fever since fri night
gave him baby paracetemol but fever still up down so brought him to a 24hr GP on sat night. after tat been giving him brufen and paracetemol but til now fever still up down up down... can be as high as 39.5. can ask u all how high temp then must bring him to hospital?

now waiting for hubby to be home to bring bb see a nearby PD

Hi, MaySatch,

Kelly has just recovered from the fever. Her reading read 39.7 degree celsius. We had her nursed at home and she recovered on Day 2. If you are worried, you might want to bring her to A&E KKH. 39 deg is considered high fever. Brufen helps to bring down high fever. Sponge her with icy water ... if possible, get her one of those water filled mattress from Tom & Stefanie. It helps to!

Kelly's symptons are quite similar to yours: high fever; after medication, fever on and off, it goes on for two-three days. After that, recover. Now she is down with bad cold.

serene,

Yah my mum will still pop over to my plc every morning... to supervise the maid.. but was telling her she can come later id the maid is here.. she dun have to rush and reach my plc at 730 am everyday...

maysatch,
Think bb need to see pd if still fever. If I am not wrong, if bb is 'consistently' higher than 38 degree, need to go pd. Consistent means temperature of bb maintained high regardless of the room temperature (aircond or no air cond). While waiting for pd, can try those 'fever patch' on the forehead? Also try feed more cool water.

Mouth fungus
I just brought Gabby to see PD this morning and doctor said she has mouth fungus! Think she put too much things in her mouth. And her diaper area has rashes too. Any bb has this before and is it recurring? How long does it take to go away? How do you stop bb from putting things in her mouth? She even licks the floor if we are not quick enough to stop her!

Thanks Paula
hope ur gal will hv a full recovery soon.

yah think its a gd idea... will go get the water filled mattress for him cos can see he's in great discomfort when sleeping... will wake up and cry every 15mins or so
tried sponging him but he absolutely hates it! oso totally refused to drink water so gotta resort to using syringe which he hates as well but no choice. really heartache seeing him in pain

Wen,
Thanks for the advice
yah today bb's temp hover between 38-39 aircon or no aircon. think will quickly bring him see pd.

oh dear.. but how to prevent bb fr putting things in their mouth? cos they're at the age where they'll jus stuff anything they can get hold of in their mouth. guess can only try to keep everything as clean as possible? needless to say my bb oso like tat. hope the mouth fungus is not serious.

poohy, i visited MMI @ west coast two weeks back. i quite liked the centre - it's big and airy, and the centre is just 5 mins walk away. but the academic part is quite short - only 1 hr in the am, another hr in the pm. the rest is free play. think LV has more structure in terms of curriculum, and it prepares the child for pri 1. maybe gotta find out more from other mummies with kids in MMI and LV.

amy,

what's LV stands for?
btw for Leng's CB products where is the pickup point huh? oops never find out le.. keke or if you pick up and help me pick up also haha :p

wen,
my boy is having rashes, red area with pimple like dots near anus area.is that diaper rash? i just put desitin. don't know why it happen, used to be fine with diapers all this while. is yours like that too?

bf mommies,
nowadays JZ wake up middle of night, and refuse to be pat or pacifier will cry louder and louder till i latch him back to sleep. this happen after cny holiday week where i spend the entire week with him, so he picked up that habit.this can happen twice a night. i'm so sleepy at night so afraid i'll doze off and baby might fall off the bed. what should i do?

kite,
yesterday when after latching on 3 times in the morning, 2-3 hours apart, i gave JZ fm and he finished 140ml.so i've decided to supplement with 1 feed 140ml in the weekend. does chloe wake often at night and need to latch back to sleep? i use to just give pacifier, he'll fall back to sleep. thought will try to see if he can fall back to sleep on own but now he needs the B, like backward progress..

last fri when i went back jb to see JZ, we were in the car, he couldnt recognize us!!!! it was so hurtful that my baby was crying in our arms cause he didnt recognize i'm the mother!! kept looking for mil. pil says maybe cause the car was dark can't see properly, but voice also cannot recognize?

serene, I gave K egg yolk a few weeks ago. It seems alrite. I think egg white is the one we should avoid till abt 1 yo rite? I mash the yolk and mix into his porridge for dinner. Ruth Yaron recommended one egg yolk every other day. You decide if it's too much for your child.

poohy, hehe...u talked so much abt JG Playclub that I think I am going to sign him up for it. How much does it cost? Ok here, it's abt USD 600 per term. Issit abt the same price in sg? We also have MMI and LV here. But I think JG is a good bet. It's a lot of good fun I think.

Paula, yah ... I heard abt Carpe Diem too. I was colleagues with Francis'(the owner) relative. He talked so much abt CD.

Maysatch, its tough for the parents when the child is sick she should be feeling better. Get her those Kodomo ice packs for her forehead. Let her sleeps on the waterfilled mattress and make sure the fan or the aircon is on Give yourself another day, if still persist, do bring her to A&E.

Missk, CD is good I toured two of their branches. The teachers are equally passionate. And the thing about my tour is that I dropped them a surprise visit (without any appts).

maysatch
my bb had fever at abt 37+ last wk, up n down.. yeah brufen is given for high fever. i had one for standby purpose. Try to let bb sleep in air-con room.. I find my bb fever goes down with aircon n lots of sponging n water..

mtdt,
nice meeting u at bjg.. how do u find annie? sorry, my boy is a real naugthy, keep disturbing all the other bbs.. he juz can't sit still..

I agree with u that bb tends to look at right side for photo memory cards, my boy too..

Poohy,
where can u get photographic memory cards? my boy is really too active. he can't sit still to look at my cards, be it taught by me or bjg aunties.. how ah? how to instill discipline on him? I tried to put him on a chair but he can't sit down for a few minutes. Even if he sits down, he looks away.. Sigh..
Paula,
can u pls give me some details of mygym trial class? Tks

sunflower - leng leng pick up is in Seng Kang. I am unable to pick up. last time i ordered from her, i arranged for local mail. will see how, given this time i ordered quite a lot.

PP stroller - think it's more sturdy than my Maclaren XT Classic.
More comfy too. for parks - if it's a stroll, still ok. not for jogging though. should get 3 wheeler like quinny.

missk - JG playclub is $504 for 10 weeks, once a week, 2 hrs.
think just JG once a week is not enough - that's why i am considering MMI for weekdays.

Sunflower,
Yep, 9 branches in total and two more branches will be opening soon.

Blk 219 Tampines St 24
18 Punggol
Blk 318 Bukit Batok St 32 (Visited this place; passionate teachers but found the place a little small)
100 Yishun Road
153 Yung Ho Road
144a Jurong Kechill (Enrolled with this cos its huge with two adjourning bungalows kids sleep on level 2)
3 Lorong G Telok Kurau
Blk 739 Jurong West St 73
1B Royal Road (off Alexandra)

The thing to note about CD is that the centers are not air-conditioned cos the school felt that children of such young age should not be kept in air-conditioned room for prolonged period Im of this thinking and hence, am okay with placing Kelly there. Check out www.carpediem.com.sg

Peng,

Our children will be placed in the waddlers classes.

Waddlers Crawlers and new walkers, 10 18 months

Discover your infants natural movement abilities in this delightful program for parent and child. Share the excitement as your baby crawls, climbs, hangs, swings and tumbles for the first time. With an emphasis on development of social skills, this program is geared towards the exploration of movement. Toddlers are elated as they are introduced to a vast array of fantastic and stimulating new experiences.

lyn, missk,

Thanks so much for yr info and sharing about egg.

Btw,
Besides fish, pork, pumpkin, spinich, carrot, potato, sweet potato, corn, any other nutritious food that we can introduce to our babies now?

Sunflower,
Not too sure ... you can call and asked. Good thing abt Carpe Diem is that they do offer enrichment classes such as Kindermusik for their students too. Believe these will cost extra $$.

hi angeline,
ya i used zambak. but if on face then will apply only in the nite cos my bb likes to touch his face then put fingers in mouth or if in nite.. then can minimise the chance of him putting fingers in mouth.

hi mummies who brought yr bbs to studio,
i'm just wondering whether i shld bring my bb for photo shoot now or wait till nearer to his 1yr old birthday...hmm..

paula,

thanx.. ya carpe diem is one of the option i am still considering.... i think they have one in jurong west
u mean u place kelly in the jw branch waiting list ah ?? its that difficult to get in... hmm ok if i want better hurry

maysatch,

think above 39.5 if u r unable to control or bring down bb's temperature effectively with sponging or fever medication, should bring to hospital. But even at hospital, i think they also will do sponging. The last round J's temperature hit 39-40deg, they also give panadol + sponging only. But they will do urine test, blood test all those to find out the cause of the high fever to give effective medication.

My GP said that other that oral medication, suppositories inserted through the anus are supposed to act faster in bringing down very high fever. I gave those to Samuel when he had very high fever. Its v effective and save me the heartache of plying open his mouth and forcing medication down his throat only to see him vomit it out all over.

Paula,

KKH A&E nurses advises us NOT to sponge with icy water ... should always sponge with luke warm water. Do not want to stress the child's body further by putting icy cold water.... those of us who have high fever before knows how uncomfortable and painful the body will become when cold wind blow much less icy water.

Indeed those water filled mattress are great! Most of the bb staying in kkh with fever lies on those...

Poohy,
Yes, I placed Kelly in the Jurong Kechill branches and I'm on the waiting list.

Oh, that was the advice I got from my doc ... yea, I agree that the water filled mattress helps!

Fi,
When my girl has normal rashes, it will go away after applying desitin/mustela and with frequent change of diaper in the matter of one day time. But for this fungus infection, it didn't subside that is why I brought her to check with pd just in case. Also, her mouth has white spots that looks a bit like dry peeling skin if you don't look careful enough. She is at an early stage. But pd did mention that if more serious, the rashes can appear to have puss in them...like ripe pimples.

Maybe if it is just redness and go away after caring for a day or so, you don't have to do anything more. Otherwise, bring for a checkup?

Sleeping on bed
I moved bb to sleep on a matress on the floor now. We got a super single so I can squeez with her if she needs comfort from me at night. I find it easier since don't have to worry about her wake up at night and fall from bed without us realising it.

amy,

ya i have heard learning vision is geared more towards MOE syllabus. Also heard not bad review of them... i think I should visit them to see...

missk,

wow... no its not as exp. Its $480 or slightly more... (I cant remember liao) per term only

peng,

hmm u can just do it yourself.. like what they do at BJG. get stickers and paste on the cards. OR get a clipart and change a color of a small portion for one of the copy. There is a series of books which offers quite good picture for photographic memory is the Chao Bu Tong series of books ... u can buy from www.mylittleones.com.sg I got 2 set from them

Most of the babies at this stage cant sit still for long. Last time my boy also like dat... when he was 2 month old, he used to look happily at the cards I flashed to him, when he was 9 month old, he is creeping around. I need to be very fast to catch his attention. And then as he grew, he dun even wanna see the cards at all, he turned to other directions. I stop flashing cards regularly to him then ... now, slowly, he is gaining more patience and focus again at 23month old. so the flashcards are back again
Give your boy some time... when he is active, then learn through other means. Learning is not just through flashcards
Joelle is the more focused one.... each time the teacher flashcard, she will just freeze there and watch. At least when its flashcard time, I am not so stressed with her.

Poohy, peng,

As much as I would like to start doing photographic memory and linking memory with my girl, I find myself unable to be consistent with it. Mainly because she just grab any/both cards and bend them or mouth them though she did play along with us when we first introduced them to her as a game we play with Daddy. But all the way downhill since then. Until I just gave up..How are you doing so far? Any tips?

The Chao Bu Tong - is it suitable for a 10 month old?

poohy,
thanks for the compliment
. A was quite jealous actually... halfway have to let my FIL bring her gai-gai at bookstore. Ur S remember having had KM lessons b4? Mine doesn't remember anymore

swim/ thermal: really depends on ur kids' tolerance. I've seen angmoh bbs barechested and perfectly fine in SAME class as my thermal-suited A who's still shivering away. But your J is chubby, yah?
Anyway AD's thermal suits are q. reasonably priced (more of the diversuit material- some other suits dun have that on sleeves etc). If u're planning both kids lessons one-after-another, can share thermal suit? My 2 share same piece :p .

Sunflower,
thx for organising! Ur Xander seems receptive to KM class, u thinking of signing up or trying others first?
My HB said Irv has a "crush" on the teacher, haha.

Serene,
nice to meet u & Brayden! U'r a very pretty mummy!
B has a gd wt and ht- for the egg yolk, I fed Irv at abt 6mths (2nd kid less careful, hehe). Make sure it's hard-boiled eggyolk, then add to usual porridge/ cereal
. If feed just the yolk only, may be jelat for some bbs. I'd avoid eggwhite til 1yr tho.

Amy,
Ur Jake is a big boy!
U're so enviably slim (and still can handle a heavy bb, hehe).

Celeste,
oh dear that sounds very worrying- breathlessness from? Marmite is saltish, maybe she developed a preference for more seasoned food instead of usual bland ones.

maysatch,
GP din prescribe suppository? It brings down fever fastest but have to remember instructions (timelapse betwn other meds/ subsequent suppositories if any). 39.5 is considered high to me... I would sponge-down ALOT and use suppositories. They do this in hospital too.
Fever patch is less effective than sponging btw. Sponging really means a bucket of water with washcloths- cloth MUST be wet to soak up the heat. Change/ rinse cloth frequently so that more heat can be taken away from body. Sponge forehead, neck, armpit, groin. I sponged my girl when she had a high fever even tho she cried- the focus is to bring temp down.

paula,
will revert on mygym once I check with HB. Cos mite be tough to run from Suntec (morning swim) to Woodlands.

duffybuff,
I sent Irv for 5 studio sessions. Every 2mths since birth. Helps capture his growth