(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

dal,
oic, that's ur necklace! i thought it was a tiara! LOL!
my girl also co sleeps w us in a small queen size bed! ya loh, heard over the program on Mon PD saying that it is not so good for bb to cosleep with adult. but i think it is up to individuals. i told myself aiya dont worry abt what the experts say so long as u r comfortable with it.
my hub was more concerned with Fiona crawling and falling off the bed!

missk,
u r in spore or jkt now? flooding in jkt leh.

tinklebell,

haha yalor, I think so too :p
I also thought its a tiara!!

lyn,
Taking care of our babies are really tiring n even stressful at times so hv to inject as much fun n laughter into it! haha...

And now playing wif him is even more tiring as he is into 'walking' now. So everyday i hv to let him grab my fingers n walk around the house a dozen times! Very taxing on my back coz hv to bend at 90degrees. Sigh... He's also keen to squat/ bend down to pick things up so i have place his toys at different spots in the house for him to practice this. :)

I dun hv bed rails so i jz pile up pillows on the open sides. And actually this is useless now coz jezoir wl either climb onto the pillows, if not he wl push them over the bed. So i cant leave him on the bed unattended now. I think when the mattress is on the floor it should be ok coz jezoir is now learning to creep down (he knows how to creep up onto a box and creep over door thresholds). :)

Co-sleeping: hv to go n find the link again, then pass to u. :)

tinklebell,
Wow your colleague won 200k for TOTO ah! So lucky! If i won 200k, i will quit job! kekeke! Hoping for that to happen lah!

lyn,
True enough, need to add more water to the potato, if not very dry!

dal,
You let your Jezoir sleeps with you yah? U never let him sleep in the cot? Last mon, my hubby went to kl for 2D1N, i also thought of letting him sleeps with me on my king bed, then thought it over, better not, so he sleeps in his cot. Reason being, i'm quite a light sleeper, if he sleeps with me, when he changes position, i will wake up and move his position or cover the blanket or give the pacifier if he dropped it etc...then i no need to sleep liao! Actually my neighbour or rather many had advised that to get a mattress put on the floor for baby is safer and more practical. Then i've bought the cot, thought to make use of it as long as i can lor.... Now i have to pull up the side railing already cos he can stand up with the support of the railing liao! Today, he's so cute, i heard his voice that he had woke up, but he did not cry or stand up on his cot, till he heard me and hubby talking, he quickly raised up his head/body, on his knees with the support of the railing and stared at us and smile!

To all mummies going for the TT trial at Sin Ming:

The trial is confirm on 25 Feb (Sunday), at 1.15pm - 2pm.

TUMBLE TOTS SIN MING CENTRE
6 SIN MING ROAD
#01-12 SIN MING PLAZA TOWER 2
SINGAPORE 575585
TELEPHONE NO: 6459 1462

dal: wow, jz can walk ! so cute !! yah it must be really bad for your back - do take good care !
my k is learning to pull herself up to stand in the bassinet - last night, i took her one hand and pointed it to the hanging mobiles and to my surprise, she let go of the other hand and stood for a short while !! hahaa, thereafter, she fell down :p

i also use pillows to block the open "face" of the bed - cuz my bed is against the wall,and i use my body to block the other side, but realise that it's not a very safe thing to do, esp when i get up to go to the toilet, etc ... tend to forget that baby is still on the bed ! i put her in her cot now, it's really truoblesome though, cuz we're still nuight nursing, so have to pick up, put down, latch on, fall asleep, and wake up and put her back in the cot again ...

mspiggy,
Did the sin ming centre told u this trial is free regardless u sign up or not or only FOC upon signing up?

Angeline_Goh,
I brought my ger to KKH twice when her fever reached 40 degrees. Then its my GP that diagnose her with false german measles. According to her, the baby will have fever ranging from 38-40 degrees for 4-5 days after that rashes will appear on the face followed by the body for 2 days. Then everything will be alrite

Mum2B,
Well, fortunately for me my boy doesn't do this often. Whew! It's only when his sleep pattern is being disrupted, like too long a nap in the afternoon, learning new skills, etc. He usually sleeps around 830pm. Like now he is babbling a lot. For the past week he woke up around 4am-5am a few times and jz sit there and 'talk'. A very funny sight indeed! lol.

Dun worry, fiona is probably very keen to learn as many skills as possible so she's very active. But maybe u try to inject some schedule into her bedtime. Over-tired n over-stimulated babies will get more n more fussy n cranky after each sleep cycle. And every baby has different thresholds for stimulation. I used to not play too aggressively wif my boy 1 hr b4 his bedtime but he stil woke up and cry between 830pm-10pm. Then my PD asked me to try 2 hours and it helped. :)

K_Ong,
u still BF and going for holiday? Bring the pump and milkbags. Then freeze ur milk. And remember to bring a cooler bag with ice brick. Then u can transport back ur frozen EBM to SG!

K Ong,
we signed up for the tumbletots trial at Sin Ming.

serene,
no leh... the lady told me they will waive it if we sign up on the spot.

celeste : yah, thinking of holiday w/o the baby :p heehee, wanna break la. i'm not sure if the hotel has a freeser
so am prepared to pump and dump - till maybe the second last day, and bring the 2 day old milk back to Singapore.

Mspiggy: yah i know a couple of you did right ?
how do you go about it ? must call them up to enquire ? i missed the posting cuz was not online for a while ...

Angeline,
Re: Nebuliser. My boy used it before. Quite effective in clearing the phlegm. Have to use it for abt a week, every 6 hourly. After a week, back to cough mixture. Rental of the machine is about $8-9/day. The medicine is $80+. Even the procedure (nurse will explain & show u how to use) cost $25. The equipment (to keep. see below) $11. So total quite ex. but maybe diff PD charge cheaper. Bascially connect the other end of the tube to the machine. Have to mix diff medicine & put into the clear container below the mask. The machine will blow out air & bb will breath in the 'medicated air'..will loosen the phlegm. Initially bb will struggle & cry cos the machine very noisy. Can use when bb is sleeping also. Err...hope i am not scaring u with the long procedure.
684648.jpg
684649.jpg

K ong,
yeah you just call the center and tell them you wanna go for a trial class. for tumbletots the trial cost $23 for 45 mins.

if you have find 6 babies, you can form your own class else you join in with the existing members.

K Ong and Serene

When u put your babies in the cot, do you use the bumper as well? For me, my gal has been co-sleeping with us on the queen sized bed. We are thinking of putting her back to her cot but prob is, it might be very warm and stuffy for her if we were to put the bumper.

mspiggy: ok thanks !
stephanie: yah, i put bumper, cuz she tosses and turns around so much that if the bumper is not there, she will "bump" into the wooden sides of the cot !!! i turn on the aircon as well as a side fan for her so it's not too stuffy

angeline... my boy also use Nebuliser

my GP Charges
Machine - $10/day
mask & tube = $15/set (same as panda one)
medications = 3 kinds. abt $10/day

BB had tat for 1 week, same as panda - 6hrs once.
after tat clear all his phlegm. dun even need to take cough syrup after tat.

try to do it when he is sleeping... then no struggle from bb.
684692.jpg

684693.jpg

angeline,

hope your ger is better now.

dal,

very cute hor to hear them 'speaking' now

must ask your hb to massage your back for you.

cot - i dun use bumper...
but i will put pillows n blosters ard the cot to "cushion" him.

same concern, scare stuffy as we dun on the aircon at nite.

also notice tat my boy likes to peep at me during the nite. scare if put bumper, he cannot see me, will cry. :p

see pic - the bloster will be always there.
basically he hv 4 bloster, 2 pillows in the cot. but all for protection, not for him to hug. :p
684709.jpg

seems like you gals have already moved the cot to the lowest level... i havent, still on the highest one. wesley still cant sit up on his own but you think i shd lower it soon?

mspiggy

my cot is still at the second level. but i think its time to move to the lowest cos she has started to pull herself up using the railings.

Re : Neubiliser
Actually i keep seeing u all using this term but what is this machine for? Clearing phglem? As in when they have a bit of sounds in their throat when coughing then must use liowz? Pardon my ignorance.

tinklebell,
Haha, tiara? No no, i dun hv any. Keke...

Can't remember wat the PD said abt co-sleeping in the program. Think she also didnt say much. I read abt it some time back. Yeah, i agree dat its up to individuals. So jz wanna refresh and then decide. Keke..

MDTD, ipanda, must be tough on you - seeing your bbs on the neubiliser. i pray that all our bbs will be well and healthy.

dal,
yeah my gal is felicia

i agree i think it's due to her learning new skill. she also likes to learn to walk but still enjoys crawling n standing more now. sometimes i wonder why other bb so good, 7-8pm sleeps, my bb always past midnight one since day one. no matter how i tried like reducing activities b4 bed, dimming light, no talking, etc doesn't work. now i give up already, let her be. coz like u said, i ended vecome tired trying to put her to sleep. just hoping for miracle that suddenly she can sleep and feed better.

lyn,
ur boy also have problem sleeping at night? an share his sleeping n feeding schedule? my gal cannot follow any schedule :p

MT,
Chloe was on neubaliser too.. had it for abt 4 days. Anyway, u a cute mummy.. even take pic of him on neubaliser. keke !!

Hope everyone is well. Just came back from East Malaysia. No time to reading postings yet. Very tired but such a wonderful trip! Think both mommy and baby enjoy ourselves at the different sights and wider space there.
684909.gif

tinklebel, yah lor ...flooding. No food at the local mkt for a few days liao. Today is a lot better. People are beginning to go back to work. I hope to go the supermarket tomolo.

Serene,
Jezoir used to sleep in the bassinet of his playpen but changed to sleeping wif me since 3mths old. I'm also a light sleeper, but when jezoir changes position, i'll jz open my eyes to see where is he and as long as he's safe, i'll go back to sleep. He doesnt use a blankie and pacifier. :)

But now if brayden changes position or loses his pacifier wouldnt u also need to get up?

Well, if brayden still can sleep in the cot, then let him be for the time being i think. As long as the side rail of the cot is strong n high enough to prevent him from toppling over.

Haha, brayden so adorable and so gd boy. Dun wanna wake daddy n mummy up. Heart melt liao hor? And dat jz-woke-up baby face very beautiful isnt it? Keke.

celest blur - nebuliser are usually for more serious case. not those usual cough with phelgm.

for my case, my boy had been coughing for abt 1 week. then one day, i heard him wheezing away. so brought him back to the doc. think doc mention tat the phelgm had went to the lungs. so need to clear asap. thus being ask to use the nebuliser.

understand also prolong coughing will lead to asthma in the long term. so better be careful now.

he kept having this wheezing sound right after he's born, even after they clear this throat passage way. me in a blur blur state then... didnt really ask.. but PD said will go away really soon... then i saw midwife put this on him.

K Ong,
It's very joyous to 'walk' wif him around the house coz he'll be looking here n there, and I can take the chance to intro certain thgs to him. :) But really very tiring on the back. Wl take care. Thanks. :)

Haha, more pleasant surprises wl be coming ur way! When jezoir started to creep, i thot i'll have some rest coz he probably wl be too excited abt this new found mobility. Who knows abt a week later he found out dat he can pull himself to standing position and there comes the 'walking' desire! Haiz... Keke...

Yeah, using pillows to act as barriers are not safe, especially when the bb can crawl/creep or strong enough to push the pillows away. Dats y i'll put the mattress on the floor soon. :)

Tosca,
yup long time no see here
PMed u!

Lyn,
We're still co-rooming with the elder 2yr 4mth girl, as well as 7.5mth boy. Just have to juggle bedtimes- usually knock out the boy first at 7pm. Then the girl at 8pm (cos she gabbles LOUDLY for 30mins-1hr before dozing). Boy wakes for feed 11pm, then another at 5am. 5am he usually stays awake an hr b4 asking for milk again to sleep. Girl sleeps throughout, wakes 7am. I use 2 play-yards as beds for the kids cos they thrash about in sleep, but side by side with us adults (tilam on floor). This is how we're surviving...

Dal,
pillows as barriers definitely wun work with our almost-tods. My elder girl fell before, long time ago, while co-sleeping on raised bed with us... the sound of the thud is frankly, very scary.

MTDT,
okies...understood. So the coughing is like those prolonged coughing that wont go away even with cough mixture given by doc?

Mum2B,
My boy used to sleep around 10-11pm but I really wanted him to sleep earlier so I went through a period of adjusting his sleep schedule.

Well, maybe as feli gets older the situation wl improve. Jezoir is also a light sleeper like me so during his initial months as a bb he didnt sleep/nap well enough. Now he's much better. :)