(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

mspiggy
yuppies...i stay somewhere arnd central to north-east. My house there if u enter the area during morning rush hrs still got ERP gantry! *lol* So when my hb drives me to work on Friday morning, on his way back he will delay until 9.04am when the ERP gantry switch off then he head home *lol* Otherwise kenna 2 gantries will be total of about $1.50 or $2 woh! Btw, where do u stay?

Actually i saw Serangoon Gardens got a donno is it BJG or Tumbletots of donno wat name (bad memory) there also

Celest-blur,
I stayed in Dover but in-law at jurong west while my work place is ard paya lebar area. Normally I will travel via braddell to lornie rd to enter PIE. Imagine every morning needs to take 2 expressways (AYE to Jurong then PIE to work) sianz...

hi amy,
how much do you give him (milk) after the cereal?

currently i give my boy abt 5 teaspoon full of cereal follow by 160ml of milk. this is for lunch, and dinner abt 5 teaspoon full of porridge follow by milk too.

do you give anything in between?

amy,

think there's quite a few brands for training pants, used to have alot of BPs for these. maybe can check with Bumwear? wow you toilet training bb Jake already

Angeline,

Sure, i will try to ask if they allow 1 more slot...

1) Serene
2) Okipoki
3) Vivi
4) Amy
5) sunflower
6) i_panda77
7) Dal
8) Tinklebell
9) MTDT (wait list)
10) Angeline (wait list)

Amy,

Do share with me how you start with the toilet training. I didn't even buy a potty for my boy, hoping he can make do with our toilet bowl with the help of those baby seat which can fix on. But i don't know when and how to start him yet...poor boy, sometimes poo until so messy and so smelly that i got to bring his bum for shower and shampoo so that it smells good again! haa!

okipoki,
wah..then everyday u are like almost go arnd the island one round?!? *salute*

mspiggy,
haha...i stay at the Boon Keng MRT station there. The North-East line MRT

Sunflower,
hehe its gymboree ah. I saw it when i went serangoon gardens tat time

Serene,
I also donno how to start potty training on my ger. That time got one weekend i tried to put her on the potty she gave me a funny look and started crying after a few seconds *lol*

serene, bb jake's SM is 2.30 pm on Sat. church is a whole day affair - 8.00 am we leave home. he'll stay at the nursery from 9 to 11.30, then lunch and shopping. 1 - 2 pm can be quite tight for us.

sunflower, i just missed a BP. i do hope i can get him training pants. i love the thomas and frens training pants. sign... bb jake is toilet train for poo poo... partial for pee pee... maybe 40% trained for the day. that's why i need to get him training pants soon... so there can be some progression in this aspect.

is bumwear training pants? tot it comes with some insert.... don't sound like pants to me. worse come to worse, i will get some underwear for bb jake.. ha ha...

Hi Celeste Blur,

For the custom T-shirt, what are the sizes available? I am looking for one which prints "I'm the Big Sister" suitable for 9-10yrs old girl.

Amy,
I will take note of yr timing, so means you prefer late afternoon for both sat & sun rite?

Celesteblur,
My mum bought a traditional potty for my boy but he refused to sit down and wants to get up all the time! In general, he don't like to sit down! If he learns to stand, i believe he would prefer standing than sitting...

Celestine
You let me know the chest width of ur ger then I can see if i have the size for her
I am coming out with a strawberry design at the centre with my ger's name on top for my ger...hehe

But u only want the wordings "I'm the Big Sister" w/o any graphic?

Serene,
I got 2 traditional potty of different sizes passed down by BIL. But even the smaller size like too big for my ger. When I put her on the potty her bums will sink in and i tink its uncomfy for her tats y she cries. So I guess I am going to start potty training her prob when she is 9 mths bah when her bums is meaty enuff to fit the potty *lol*

serene

i oso going to start potty train my ger soon..just bought a potty for her at kiddy palace..its those that is like a seat-type..i tried to carry her to out toilet bowl n hold her there to poo but she dun wan to poo.end up my hands always aching..so decided to get 1 seat-type..

Celeste, Angeline
So, means 1 step of potty training is to buy a potty huh?
My mum asks me to get 1 long time ago but i refuse, thought it's unhygenic, usually plastic made, smelly! haa!

Celestine,
Wow....the wordings still can...but the drawing of the sister and the baby a bit complicated lah...haha cos I am doing hand-painting not printing out on those color printers n ironing on. Dont tink I can draw so well yet...hehe. For now I sticking to simpler designs

Serene,
Yuppies best to get a potty

amy, serene

my boy doesn't like to sit on his potty. he'll struggle to get up. So my MIL hold him over the potty & let him poos into the potty. and whenever possible let him pees into the potty as well.

hi mum2b,

will try my best to answer your questions

maybe poohy, amy, lyn & vivi can give their views as well.

Q1: I've yet to decide

Q2: Ideal age - keke
this I'm also not sure. Some says as young as possible.

Q3: All of us except Poohy just started this January. So now only few lessons. From what I know/thought, not expect results so soon and not advisable to test the child(?) as this is inputting period - anyone of the ladies above can comment on this?
Alot also dependent on daily home training, cannot just rely on the weekly classes.

Q4: Amy & Vivi

Q5: If depends on what you are looking for & expecting, the instructor/trainer you get, whether your baby enjoys the session. So its difficult to say which is better.
haha like never answer your question hor.

Personally, I've try Gymboree and BJG.
Gymboree -although I'm looking for a gym+music&movement class, but I don't really enjoy the activities conducted & when we were there, my boy doesn't seems to enjoy himself much except he's very fascinated by the bubbles!
BJG - I like the gym portion but not the flashcards sessions. I feel that he enjoys the gym portion more at BJG rather than gymboree.

Hope the above helps

poohy,

can I check with you. Yesterday at BJG, the trainer show babies 10 EK cards on flowers. after that she went to each baby and randomly choose 2 flowers and ask bb to identify a certain flower.
question - is this consider memory training or is actually testing baby? what's the purpose of this ?

amy,

re: junebb home playgroup
- flash cards
- stories ?
- music & movement
- gym activities
- games ..uhmm?

wonder can we book places like BJG gym area for private gathering 1-2 hours heehee

sunflower,
I find the flashcard session at BJG very fast! It this the normal and correct way to flash the cards? As for the memory part, recognizing the pic and chose between the 2 almost similar pic and the flowers pics, do u think for their young age, they can identify? I find it even too fast for me! Not to mention they were so young!

did anyone try making their own baby biscuits? most of the brands in the market contain a lot of flavouring and additives i feel and shouldnt be on the baby food shelves.

Serene,
BTW, i find your hubby familiar. Prob have seen him somewhere before but cant recall where. maybe ex school mate or colleague?

sunflower, re june bb home playgroup... yes, i think we can do flash cards, stories - will be like story telling, music and movement, we can just play some songs and do hand movement, gym activities... hmm...

not sure about BJG gym area, think not very possible, as they have full packed classes over the weekends...

re potty, think gotta teach bb to fall in love with his potty, maybe intro regular sessions of sitting on potty, sometimes can read book or show cards? i do that with bb jake too.. but most of the time with poo poo... it's very fast...

fi - think training pants are better than cloth diapers, as can pull down and pee pee/poo poo... very fast ma. diapers still need to unfasten and remove... training pants are washable... so think will need 10 pcs at least. stella suggested going with underwear st away... hmm... might try this...

mum2b... will answer your questions to my best knowledge... from my perspective only...

1. they say it's recommended to enroll kids for at least 2 years to see the result. are you girls also planning the same?

Yes... at least 2 yrs for jake...cos he enjoys his class and can sit still in class (although sometimes his eyes roam elsewhere... possibly cos some of the materials are repeated, and he probably got bored....)

2. due to limited resources , we want to know the ideal age to start joining. better to start when bb is slightly older, say 1 or 2 year old (keeping in mind the crucial first 6 years)? i dun think now my bb can concentrate for full 75 minutes

i believe start should start as young as possible, esp below 2, bbs can absorb heaps of info, and right brain is most susceptible to learning.

3. when do ur bbs start joining? have u seen any kind of results so far?
I was particularly impressed by the speed reading, it's like too good to be true. is there any shichida sgp kids who can do that?

bb jake just started this term - near to 7 months old. think this is a good age, as he can sit by himself and is not so mobile yet, so will not run around in class.
re results, dun think you can expect results so early, better still, dun expect results, so the learning environment is stress free for the child. as long as bb enjoy, and mother and child bonding is strengthened.

4. anybody attend the springleaf center? are the teachers good n can capture young bb's attention?

i attend spring leaf center, some teachers are quite in experienced. capturing attention wise, not v good. but on the other hand - it depends on the bb. some bbs in my class cannot concentrate at all...

5. saw from the posts that some of u r attending bb gym trials. compared to other bb gym/activities like kindermusik, bjg, tumbletots, etc, which one is better?

think diff classes emphasise diff skills. think SM is good as it trains the right brain, which should be evoked early, in my view. to train adults in photo memory or esp will be quite diff now, though not impossible. think other gym classes or music classes can be achieved through playgroup or home practise.

in general, for SM - parents have to follow up during the week.. i do practise with jake what we did in class... like abacus, speed reading, esp (guessing games), blowing (i will make my own art and craft), memory linking (make my own cards... tell him story, though still working on this), flash cards for image training, and foreign lang CDs for exposure.

serene,

dun koe leh..my neighbour say can skip buying potty n straight away put her on our toilet bowl holding her..but abit hand ache lah..i lazy mum so buy a seat-typr 1..haha...:p

been trying to wean my ger these few days..manage not to latch her on during the nites now..hopefully it will persist..but hor,i quite sad leh to wean her.kinda miss the feeling n picture of her latching on..i can now only pump out ard 250ml after avt 15-20hrs after which i will feel the engorgement...wonder when can the ms stop totally..try not to pump out but got engorged..

Btw,cny coming...thot of going to colour my hair..but if i still got express out,can colour?my hair now looks so lame n lifeless...oso,i am still dropping alot of hair!!!!how ah...

Hi Amy,

Will tell you the training pants after i received them. you and lyn still meet up for dinner b4 SM this Thurs?
Wow, you can do sop many SM thing w your boy liao? Have u started the dot program? My boy usually get cranky in the mid of the class leh....

amy,
are the traning pants waterproof, what if pee inside? if yes, its like diaper? if no, its like underwear? how much each cost?

Hello gals...
Was busy whole of this morning... Phew...
Is the BJG trial class fun?

Oh.. potty training already ah.. I haven't been successful yet.

Is there a gathering going on?

lyn, hi hi... thursday we meet for dinner? if i can knock off earlier, maybe we also go to popular to buy some art and craft materials?

fi - the training pants should be able to hold urine, so that bb feel the wetness, but will not leak through. i also dunno how it works le.. am getting 2 pcs from a mummy this wed... will let you know...
but i really need at least 10 pcs le... each pants cost about $10.

stella, i did the GD program with bb jake. nearing the end soon. will take a break then go on SM 65 days program. but sensei have not started the program yet. think will start soon. re SM talk, wanna join us for dinner? lyn?

oh nooo!!

i already colored my hair...

How? Am still TBF... Forgot the fact that im still bfg..

Anyway, read somewhere that it shldnt pose problem..

lyn, read that you are not getting the SM dot cards. how come? i tot you wanted the other 2 sets, but will not buy the random dot cos we have GD ones? any advice? we need to pay next week le...

vivi,

u colour ur hair liao har?how much n wats ur hair length?

any1 got lobang for furniture moval? want to move a sofa set to my mums house...

serene,

GD recommends 1 second per card. So actually I find her flashing a little bit slow. And she tends to mismanage her cards. Like say words but card not out yet or say words & show 2 cards at the same time. This is not advisable. Should only say the word when card reach the other hand holding stack of cards.
but then I also not pro in flashing cards too so cannot complain too much hor hahaha

Memory, show 1 card & let baby choose the card seen from 2 similar cards - this is Shichida's memory training method. Good for training baby's memory.

As for the 10 flowers cards & later ask baby to point to the flower from choice of 2 cards - this part I'm not too comfortable cos thought this is more like testing the baby. So I'm checking with Poohy on purpose of this.

Celestblur,
u bet.. every morning i need to travel at least 1hr to work tho' i drive.

Re: training pant
I bot my training pant from jshopper. According to my colleague the pants are quite good.

Angeline_Goh,
I was considering weaning my ger off too. But hor even my GP asked me to continue cos she said got supply then shld continue...so I am still giving my ger EBM now although I give her 1x FM a day. According to her, if u wanna stop juz try to stretch the interval between ur pumps and take lesser fluid, then gradually will stop

oki, thanks for your suggestion. i just ordered my training pants via the jshopper webby. very lovely leh... how do you find the quality of the pants? are they soft? do they hold urine well?

ah... what size did you get? is 90 ok? tight? worried 90 will be tight, as bb jake quite chubby.

BJG - uh? ur trainer so fast "test" the kids?
tat's never done in my class.

show 10 cards, then ask the kids - i will consider tat as testing liao.

Hi Vivi,

It is alright to dye/highlight hair when u are still breastfeeding. Had done some research b4 I start to do so.