(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

serene: we enjoy kindermusik very much cos it involves our whole family. guess depends on the teacher too to amke it interesting!! ;-)

missk: isnt scallop shellfish??

mothers: see how we contradict ourselves at time... anyhow i feel, it's our baby and we do whatever we deem fit and just use other opinions as guidelines?? u guys are lucky not to have tw in laws!! or to live in tw!! they give their opinions "freely"!!!

EXcerpt from http://www.drgreene.org/body.cfm?id=21&action=detail&ref=1485

More than 90 percent of food allergies come from just a few sources: eggs, dairy, nuts, peanuts, wheat, fish, and shellfish. There is controversy about the best age at which to introduce nuts, peanuts, fish, and shellfish because unlike other food allergies, these allergies often last for a lifetime. The official recommendation is to wait to introduce these foods until after the first birthday, but some allergists are now recommending as late as 3 years, especially if there are food allergies in the family.

Certain seafoods can carry a high level of mercury and other industrial contaminants that may affect a young child's developing nervous system. The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) have published wonderful information on safe seafood consumption for children. The Smart Fish Calculator is another great resource. It calculates the safe amounts of different seafood by the child's (or parent's) body weight.

Seafood is an excellent source of nutrition and these concerns should not deter one from feeding seafood to children altogether. Fish are rich in healthy omega-3 fatty acids, as well as protein and vitamin D. However, waiting until the child is at least one year of age is prudent to avoid allergies. Using the information from the EPA/FDA website and others regarding the best choice of seafood for your child will encourage excellent nutrition while avoiding unnecessary exposure to mercury and other contaminants.

Tracy/Serene:
We stayed at Berjaya Langkawi, initially 4 days but extend 6 days. We stayed at the premier suite built on water. Very nice seaview.

Its not really bb friendly in langkawi. Usually will prepare everything like change diaper, BF in e room b4 gg out. Did BF in res, rental car n hotel. Use shawl to cover.

Yes e hat bot fr pangbaobao.com. Find it cute.
Our room is clean, dun hv mosquito cos its newly built.

Show u some pics.

serene, despite what the website said, I am gonna give him fish when he's 8 mths old.

mich, haha ...did I say dried scallop is not shellfish? Lol, u said ikan bilis is not fish to you yah? Bren ok from ikan bilis stock rite? U want to try dried scallop next? lol..will let u know how it goes

Kite: feel liek going on holiday liao... pls dun torture me..

missk: i use silverfish... the smallest anchovy u can find and fresh ones. if u google check silverfish, it doesnt help much...haha!! (google check n tell me) keep u in suspense 1st ;)

zoe: i'm not trying to be funny here BUT maybe u can try the local pet store?? i jus went to my friend's pl teh other day and she has that!! but the square kind, she call it her son's play yard BUT i feel that it looks like a dog cage!! and honestly, she got it at the local pet store... sorry!!

u might wanna get those haenim play yards? at least they re colored and ve toys built on them?

michele,
Ha. My dog had one when she was a puppy but it's very different. That one could collapse very easily and didn't have a door. I understand how you think they're alike. I prefer this to colourful plastic.

kite: how much 1 nite? if me, extend to stay on FOREVER!! did u go spa n all?? shiok shiok..

tracy: come... pack ur bags n let's elope!! where u wanna go? let's meet up somewhere with the babies and no hub. my hub too bz to go anywhere!!

zoe: hmmm.. will test out my friend's the next time i go...

serene,kiki,

actually I brought Leia to Kindermusik trial today.
second time she did the trial liao cos first time I brought her there, she was onli 4 mths old and still dun appreciate..
fell asleep halfway thru the class!!!

today she manage to stay wide awake throughout..
hubby and I can tell she enjoys it so will b enrolling her..

kiki,
u can go for the trial and see if bran likes it a not..

From our dearest Gina Ford (The Contented Lttle Book of Weaning),

Fish (6 - 7 mos)
Fish is very nutritious but hsould be introduced with caution because of the risk of allergies. White fish, such as cod, plaice and haddock and oily fish such as salmon and tuna are equally acceptable.

tracy: we ve been to 3 classes so far... my son LOVES the class for the 1st 30 mins then he'll zzzzz... and daddy will zzz will him...

if only can pay half class... how much u pay for material? family time or village?

HA!! then pay onli $12.50!!!
U WAIT LONG LONG AH.....

but for yr case maybe can APPeaL?!
hee..

haven enroll la.. cos did not decide on the spot.
will join village.
material 60plus i think..
these ppl really noe how to make $$$!!
COMPULSORY somemore.. PIANG!!!

auntie... in tw 1 class $450ntd ($22.50sgd) materials 2600ntd($130)!!! dun complain ok... cos of air freight they tell me...

so far we missed 2 or rather 1 but gonna miss 2moro's class, village class. gonna call them n tell them to postpone till new sem. 2 diff. kind of classes, double the material and now just lying in the corner except for the cds.

tracy,

JG has trials...during weekday
Just called up and book one. For the weekends, I heard its a long waiting list for trial class...

kite,
u very cute leh.... even brought your bumbo to langkawi!!! hahaha!
wow! so nice to go on holiday
the room looks so so so cosy...think if i were u i wont bother to go out, just nua in the room for my entire trip!

missk,
I think dont try dried scallop... my mother gave Fiona porridge made with dried scallop stock and she kenna rashes for a few days!!!

serene,
ya loh consolation price 5010 ...aiya! why u never permutate! i usually dont bother to listen to the radio for 4D but that day i happen to be driving and the radio was on and they were reading out the 4 D nos.....wow so lucky ah... but never buy... i dont usually buy 4D cos v troublesome to q up!

hidora,
ya loh...long time no see

Morning ladies !!

i-panda,
I bot the same maxicosi carseat as u. Took the black reflection

Kite,
Little chloe is sooo cute.. haha u brought ur bumbo everywhere ar. I bought the tippy toes baby jane socks for my chloe as well

kite,
I've been to Langkawi in 2000, that time i went to Berjaya to check out the hotel too! I don't like those rooms in the Rain Forest, I don't like it so close to nature cos it means i will see all jungle creatures and i'm prompt to mosquito bites which is so irritating! I rem seeing those monitor lizards and hugh gecko on the ceiling, scary ah!!!! Anyway, for me, i don't think i will go back to langkawi again cos the sea is disappointing to me, not clean, not only that, the swimming pool at the 5 star hotel, Andaman resort is dirty! It seems that they don't maintain the pool, diappointed! Also, the hotel food not only expensive and not nice, and kena mosquito bites!!!

tinklebell,
me also lazy to Q for 4D, seldom buy also, i get my mum to buy for me.

missk,
Went back to see my car seat, there's a word there written 'omega' besides the word Britax. I checked out the instruction manual, just written Britax Safe n Sound...

Hi Hidora,
Long time no see. Your baobei is big bao bao...very chubby and cute and what's more, he can talk....

poohy,
Are you referring to BabyJumper Gym? Yes i also Q up for the weekend trial class but long time already, no reply from them! They have weekday avail? But is during daytime rite? No evening time i guess.

morning.

Kite : u r so lucky ur ger loves the bumbo chair, my boy cant sit more than 15mins there. such a waste so i never let him sit alrdy...
ur ger is chubby and adorable.

kite,
Yes the hat is nice so i bought for my boy too but never to expect his head big can't fit. His head doesn't look big to me! Even the traditional cny costume that my mum bought for him which comes along with the hat, also slightly smaller!

My boy greets early gong xi gong xi to fellow mummies, brothers and sisters here.

654762.jpg

serene,
why u dun wait till CNY then let hime wear? wear 'xin yi fu'...hee sorry happen to see his finger...did u notice?

panda77,
No lah, that day when my mum bought, we let him try on to see if fit and i find it so cute so took my hp to snap down lor, never wear to go out yet. Aiyah, his fingers always like that, happens to point point haa!

tinklebell,
so far wesley is ok with porridge and dried scallop. he's taking it for 4 days already... *touchwood*

i guess it's very subjective coz some babies are more sensitive than others.

Fiona had some rashes after eating them, and ok once you stopped giving?

missk,
hehe i know lah, don't worry
it's me who sometimes feel not really good at handling my own bb.
can share w/ me how ur suster managed to convert ur son from small drinker to big drinker? does she feed when ur son cry for milk or just follow schedule strictly? give when ur boy is fully awake or when drowsy? talk or sing to and look at bb or just keep quiet during feeding? how's ur bb position when feeding, cradle hold? sitting on her lap or carry around when feeding? feed at the same room and chair everytime? can he drink that much when going out to unfamiliar places like in food court or restaurant?
sorry ask so much, i want to see if i can train my bb to drink more at one go. how i wish i live in UK then can hire Gina Ford to train my bb's feeding and sleeping pattern. my bb never seems to be hungry, just want to play all the time

btw what do u do to ur chicken n veggies after u make ur chicken stock? throw them away or eat or give to bb?

where to get dried scallop? how much is it?

serene - JG is julia gab. not BJG.

For BJG trial, why dun u all combine a group n arrange with annie for a pte trial. think like tat faster.

CNY clothes - serene, where u bought tat? hubby also suggested tat we buy something like tat for CNY. :p

mspiggy,
I agreed with you that it's really individual case. For my side, my mum feeds my nephew with dried scallop, fish, meat with porridge when he's 6 mths old, he's ok. My relatives' kids too. Only for myself, now he's 7 1/2 mths, i still hasn't start with these food...me abit more careful.

i_panda & okipoki,

I also got the maxi cosi XP

michele,
not sure of the difference between SPS & XP. SPS (side protection system) more cushioning on the sides of carseat? haha ;)

MTDT,
I'm not too sure which shop my mum bought these costume but is from those alley shops at chinatown (near chinatown MRT)...in fact there's alot of these traditional chinese shops selling the same thing there...can check out.

serene,
i also quite careful... told my mum to hold on when she wanted to try at 6 mth. thought he's 7 mth now so let him try else worried he will be picky when come to food.

am happy that mum told me he LOVES it... i think quite sweet. :D

I think SPS is the older model of XP... they are the same, when I checked with the SA at hypermart.

sunflower and okipoki,
how much did you gals bought the MC XP? i know panda bought ard $349

mspiggy,
U r rite in the concern that baby maybe picky if we start him too late...also i'm thinking whether the present cereal, puree vege n fruits are enough for his needs, i mean calcium, protein, iron etc???

MTDT,
Re: BJG
Actually I've talked to Annie over the phone...she asked me to just signed up if really keen. Then to me, i just feel like going on trial or rather ad hoc basis, don't wish to be restricted, maybe i still find it not necessary for him to attend these lessons now.

serene,
their main diet should be still MILK for the 1st 2 yrs according to my PD. hence he told me not to be too eager to replace a full meal with solid. guess MILK has the all the nutrients they need now.

currently, i asked my mum to give abt half a cup of cereal followed by milk in the morning. And in the afternoon, abt 2 tablespoon of porridge followed by milk.

Tracy/Michele:
We booked fr agency. We actually booked the premier suite on rock in Spore, but when we reached Langkawi, they automatically gave us a free upgrade to premier suite on water.
Paid S$2k for e room.

Serene:
Me too i dun like e old rainforest rooms in berjaya, so booked the newly built suites. Those suites were completed last yr 2006, very exclusive n peaceful. Yup as compared to redang, tioman n bintan, the sea in langkawi quite disappointed but e main aim is to relax

ipanda,
think i paid $350 lor cos I took those colour with the word "reflection" (cos material abit diff) else will be $330.