(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

celeste,

give your little girl more tummy time. Put her on her tummy as much as possible and soon she will be crawling

Michele

On topic of poo, i read ur earlier posting on Fri that your baby poo a lot ... so when mine poo 4 times on saturday, i thought it was normal. And then on Sunday, she poo-ed 5 times!! My maid then looked at me and said 'Mam, if she still poo 5 times on Monday, must bring her go c doctor"
Sooo ... on monday, this morning, she poo-ed 4 times before 830 am, and there's a bit of blood in the poo some more .. so I took day off and brought her see PD. And turned out she has diarrhoea. PD said there's blood cos anus is a little damaged from all the poo-ing and the diarrhoea came from putting some dirty stuff into her mouth. Needless to say, there is diaper rash!!

Just sharing only little, am sure ur baby is ok, but do watch out for signs like blood, if his tummy is churning etc lor. Thank God my maid is alert, it helps that she has 2 kids, and she said there was once one of them poo-ed 14 times a day .. until baby went all weak.

mtdt,
I used to tell people cos I really think it will benefit their kids. But well... guess I gotta just be more selfish :p
I just replied you :p

sunflower,
Aloysius was very good in the class
I made him nap for half an hour just before the class. And he woke up when we entered the classroom. hee.. I wrote my blog liao
Too excited he got 2 stamps in his little booklet...

hahahaha... your boy chasing after your dog, and your dog scared of him.... so funny... hahaha...

Celeste

Agree with poohy on putting baby on tummy ... and put something v interesting in front her, that will encourage to lunge/creep forward to get it. My baby luvs hp, and she crept like 3 metres to get it and puts the prize into her mouth when she reaches it. I suspect tat's where she gets her diarrhoea from.

aishite: thanks but i still bfg leh... bfg babies supp to poo many times a day?? that was wat i was told...hmmm is it true?

he poos about 4-5 times a day BUT it's not watery leh... how?

sunflower: no, use bm or water for bb rice. gonna switch to barley when he's 7 mths.

wondering how often and how do you all wash toys? i just rinse with water once a week, and non washable just wipe with water, wondering if that's enough i'm sure still have bacteria but think it can't be help till i read aishite's post about diarrhoe...

michele,
Does Brendan like the broccoli with water? I made broccoli with water and potato, Aloysius cannot swallow... end up I finish up

celeste,
Give your gal more tummy time. Give her more opportunity to move and once she enjoy the fun of being able to move, she will... Or give her a favourite toy a bit far from her reach to encourage her to crawl towards the toy.

Michele - I also bf, 100%. Not watery then good lor, suppose to be pasty or solid mah. Plus if no blood, then all shld be clear.

Fi - i think your frequency of washing/cleaning is fine, that's what my maid do also. It's me, allow her to eat my hp without cleaning it lor, my stupid fault lah ... but really poor thing, poo like no one's biz.

lyn,

I let him nap before class, but he woke up about 1 hour before class, nursed him then go class. He was very good for the 1st 5 activities, after that wanted to bite all his materials. so ended up gave him a toy to bite. keke he got 2 little stamps in his booklet too

good thing so far those friends/family I shared with are very positive. some friends I know not keen on GD/SM, I just keep quiet.

intro to 1 friend GD, they very keen but boy not interested le
maybe he's already walking so more interested in his exploration.

sunflower,

call bjg to check
There is only 2 other babies in Joelle's class... I was really happy about it cos more attention mah.. hehee...

sunflower..

when bb is walking ... there is a times .. most of the bb will become more interested in exploring the environment and everything else than flashcards
That's why for my boy... I do more puzzles, matching games these days...

aishite: no blood BUT butt red red from all teh pooing... hmmm... maybe should ask PD..

lyn: havent tried, not 7 mths yet!! ;) now still on the 6 mths recipe. my frozen puree.

michele,

then what do you use the fish stock for?
you mean use barley water mix with rice cereal? my MIL was telling me can use chicken stock or fish stock to mix with rice cereal.

talking abt poo, yest fed my bb with banana.. in the end he pooed 3x all watery.. think diahorea from banana. haha.. but normally he poo 1 or 2x..

tks poohy for the advice, i juz perserved.. but he always looks elsewhere except for the card.. i even tried to flash only when he looks at me.. i juz pause n wait for him..

So april is good.. ok i will try to c whether i can get him... tks! was thinking whether i shd start on him now or when he reaches 1 yr..

sunflower: HT barley cereal, not barley water...
i feed him like soup. or can mix with porridge?

aishite: when u were bfg exclusive, did ur baby poo alot too?

sunflower,

i guess it still depends on individual child and how we make the session to be interesting for them
Some will eventually settle down and be able to concentrate on activities again, others may learn better through other means. We just should observe and provide the opportunity for them to learn.

aishite,
what medicine dr give for diarhoe? my boy's favourite is also hp and remote control. so we wash an old remote control and gave him as a toy.

Michele

100% bf that time ... once a day, or worst record is 1 in 8 days :)
Now bf with solid
I think brendan is ok, as long as he's active, eating well, u dunt hear tummy churning noise, and no blood. Diaper rash is cos he's poo-ing so much, that one have to air his butt lor and use Desitin. This morning, i tried to air her butt but she poo-poo whilst airing, totally grotesque man!!

Fi

PD gave 2 medicine, 1 for wind, for diarrhoea.
Wind - Colimix
Diahhorea - Loperamide

Haha, dunt know why babies like gadgets from a young age, mine prefer these to books also.

aishite: tell me about it!! happened to me many many times... so i ahrdly 'air' his butt... heehee... but he doesnt poo in the day leh, mostly later in the nite!!

sunflower: then u'll have to wait till 8-9 mths recipes... ;) no fun if i tell u now right...

Michele
Just went to your blog, lovely updates. U really furnee, use kobe/wagyu beef, super ex man.

And thanks to your piccie the braun 300w blender, i bought the same too .. looking fwd to us it soon. Btw, do u blend porridge wif it?

aishite,
can hear tummy churning sound? so once in a while must put ear to tummy and listen huh? could it be his food? i quite conservative on food intro scared tummy upset cause bb can't talk so can't tell us.

fi,
my cot only 2 level, hehe so no choice, cannot use the upper one then must use the lowest one.
my baby also likes abc mats, i put in living room. but even a-z mat, it's still too small for her so she also crawls on the bare floor.
feli still drinks 6 times a day in addition to 2 solids, coz she can drink 120 max occasionally 150 ml in the morning. if only 4 feeds then it'll be too little coz in the first year milk is still v important. how much milk ur boy can drink per feed?

feli also loves remote controls. i have 3 remote controls in ikea cloth strorage hanging on my sofa. she now knows the location, every time will crawls there to pick one by one.. hehe
she also loves newspaper n magazine, to crumple then eat! worried abt the llead content in newspaper if swallowed. u know once she placed w/ magazine n swallowed bits of it. luckily she gagged n threw up the bits of paper. v worried n hubby said try to put the pieces of magazine together to see if any parts is missing (i.e. in bb's tummy). but how to do that everything is so messy n gluey mixed w/ her milk :p

celeste (celk),
my bb's poo has been v hard too for the past couple of weeks. but just now suddenly her poo is so soft, dunno whether it's because now i give more rice cereal than veggie/fruits. btw she doesn;'t like water too! i've tried 2 sippy cups, glass, spooning water, but still don't like. yest i bought yet another sippy cup, hehe mommy is still trying.

mich,
now u r interested in poo :p btw i've a girl, not a boy.
my bb used to poo 4-5 times a day, but since i reduce her veggie, now poo 1-2 times only.

aishite,
thanks for sharing. i also worried when my bb poo so often. so now i know the sign of diarrhea in bb

poohy / aishite / lyn,

Thanks for all the advise on moe tummy time... my gal liv HP too.. think i will go back try today.. but past few days whenever I make her turn on her tummy, she stayed there less than 5 seconds, then she give me a lazy look and turn back to lie comfortably on my bed again... she is a real lazy gal..
650702.jpg

hey celeste, my son too. Where did u get the prune juice?

sunflower, I use chicken stock to cook porridge. I finished my first batch of chicken stock. Now, I am using vege stock. Today, I intend to use ikan bilis. You need the recipes for the stock? I just used those recipes from Gina Ford, Anabel Karmel or Ruth Yaron.

aishite, you mean u can hear tummy churning noise ah? Mine not diarrhoea but I think constipation. The stool v v little and a little hard.

Mum2B,
When you say you give her fruits.. what fruits you gave her?? and how you feed her?? smash it and feed her or just ket her suck the fruits?

Now adays whenever I ate fruits, i will let her suck to taste... i wanna train her to eat more fruits.. so next time her snacks will be fruits and not all those biscuits / cookies or sweets etc.. hope it works.. but am worry its too early to start her off with fruits..

How old is all your bb huh??

Fi - wah lau, ur words make me laugh!! No need to place ears to the tummy, it's very loud and audible, I can hear it whilst bf-ing her. It's like the sound our tummy makes when we are hungry.

The PD told me it's the germs tat's causing her tummy to churn and causing the excessive wind. Daily, she's having only BM, HT brown rice cereal and a 3rd item that I control so I can check her allergy. For the 3rd item, she has had sweet potato, apple and carrot and all are ok.. so i can safely say it's not food.

missk,

My PD say can give those prune juice that we drink... I bought the del monte one for supermarket.. but mus add water hor... maybe 10ml of Prune juice to 20 or 30 ml of water..

celeste (celk),
my bb is 7 months tomorrow. i cook n puree apple and pear, but she doesn't like. she likes banana and papaya, these just peel, cut and mash with spoon, no need to cook. once i ate pear n let her suck it, n she love it.

missk,

I've the Gina Ford book. was reading it yesterday cos need to plan ahead mah
will follow the chicken & vege stock method. Maybe geting the Anabel Karmel book later

celeste, thanks..ok .. i need to go get it too! Quite worried..the stools has been quite hard for the past few week.

I am thinking of buying a car seat for my son. The current one can only be used till 9 mths. What do you recommend? Any mummies using maxi cosi?

btw, since my bb likes to stand now, she would stand with her toes folded, so this monring i found her big toenail is chipped, quite a big part of it
how to prevent?

Mum2B,
For banana i think there are several ypes of banana right? is it all types they can eat? which one you gave her? sorry if i asked too much... cos i wanna to try her and see she poo or not.. hehe

Celeste - BJG - www.bjg.com.sg
Ya, more tummy time. My boy just started to "crawl" to the front now!!
Been on 2 weeks of reverse gear! :p

Poohy - oh, ur class only 3 kids huh? Good leh! But all can crawl v well already?
My class hv 6kids now, 4 of them are april kids, 1 aug kid. So Zav is consider the younger one there. He is in the Sat 2.45pm class. Teacher is ShiHui. Generally she is ok. She tries to get the attention of the kids etc. Heard any comments about her? So far Zav have been attentive in the class. He will only start to KPO ard when teacher is doing the photographic memory thingy with individual kids.

Flashing at home - actually I hven start BITS. Scare he dun wan to see words after tat. Also, think my character also v difficult to make the session dramatic leh. I find that the way I read stories to him also. I myself also bored?:p

Swim class - ok ok?will see if our timing match. I also intend to go to marsden. Feels tat it's better compare to one at suntec. But maybe will go for trial at both places to confirm.

aishite - ooh, hope bb is fine now. My boy also loves those remote control, hp n camera now!! All toys throw one side! :p

Lyn - thanks for ur email. regarding GM/SM, I will mention abt it to new mummies, ask them to read about it. But wont ask again until they ask me. If they dun ask me, means they not interested loh. :p actually even this BJG class, some of frens already give me a look - huh? So young hv class?? I simply brush it off n says for fun only (which is true also. it's no stress from me... jus wan zav to be expose n enjoy). Mummy lazy to entertain him! Sigh?:p

sunflower, great!! Try the chicken stock and vege stock. My fussy son loves the porridge. He has it for dinner every evening. Ok, the karmel book is so so lah. But it's a good investment I guess. Gives us ideas. Mine is top 100 puree. Which one are u gonna get?

Celeste
Ur gal soooo sweet ... and slim too. I picked up a food guide from Nestle NAN HA2 and these are the fruits recommended according to months and likeliness to cause allergic reaction:

After 6 mths and least likely to cause allergy:
pear, apple, prune

After 6 months and occasionally may cause allergy:
apricot, plum,banana,peach,cherry

From the 9th month and most likely to cause allergy:
Berries

Extracted all fruits off the list oledi. My PD also say it's better to let baby try all permissible food before 9 months cos after that they get v picky. I am trying to do that now, cos I regret i didnt practice this approach with water earlier ... now getting the little gal to drink water is such a chore, it's like fighting world war 3. She's now 6.5 mths.

aishite,
yr 3rd item food intro sounds quite safe so could be germs? i used to think let bb anyhow bite no need too clean so can build immune but now you have proven otherwise so have to be careful huh..esp when he goes outside and sit at those cafe/restaurant's high chairs he'll like to gnaw the handle bars etc i would cringe and quickly pull him away dont know how many kids saliva already there and dont think the chair is washed for ages. my sis used to wipe the chair outside before her baby sits on it, cause they touch and bang everywhere and suck the hand, maybe its not too kiasu to do it hor...and i used to joke to hb we dont have to go to the extent...