(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

hi duffy,
so sorry to hear abt your boy... can understand how you have felt that time. i'm already crying buckets when i saw my boy doing the therapy for his jaundice the last time.

hope he's fine now. *hugs*

duffybuff,

oh my gosh! I'm tearing as I read. If its me, I'll be crying right there in the x-ray room. Is your boy ok now? hope that the procedure does not affect him.

duffybuff,
OMG.. so poor thing! i can't imagine how u must feel. is ur bb better now?

fi,
yeah! we parents really have to think forward, v difficult to do for 1st time parents. at 5.5 months she can sit by herself from lying on tummy position already. now every times she wakes up, she would sit then stand. this mummy is panting trying to catch up with her development :p

hi mspiggy,
he was ok after awhile.. i thk bbies tend to forget very fast.. *phew.. think the xray shld be ok.. saw the urine flow downwards so hoepfully the report is ok.

duffy buff!! my heart almost leap out when i read about your story. which hospital is that? i would have make a complain, why didnt they explain the whole procedure to you before hand? what if your baby not yet toilet train, how to pee?i read already also upset...

Fi,
I puree apple and pear. For pumpkin, sweet potato, just need to scrap and mash. Oh ya, I also tried papaya, avocado and millet. She refused to eat papaya. She took avocado once and didn't want it at all after that. I am too lazy to cook millet now coz have to cook and blend. So maybe later.

chrysalid,
Oh, so poor thing! My girl fell once from our bed which is taller than normal bed, I think. I freaked out and brought her to see doctor. After that I told some of my friends and all of them said their bb fell before...hmm... Oh, I get really upset if my parents or in-laws comment anything about my way of raising bb. I still don't dare to tell my in-laws that I flash cards to bb. I am not ready to take all the comments.

duffybuff,

understand how u feel abt the MCU fully. Joelle went for hers last month. Before her turn, another older girl was inside and screamed so loud.. and vomitted all over. I was outside trembling and praying that it will somehow miraculously not be traumatic for her. Anyway the whole proceeding went on exactly like yours... I heard her cries so loud and when i went in, she was all strapped up, struggling to be free, screaming at the top of her voice liao. I also spent the next 10 min or so trying to calm her down to no avail..

I felt so bad towards her actually... since her UTI attack, she done 2 catheterization into the urethra, 1 IV drip, 1 MCU, 1 kidney ultrasound and 1 MRI scan (this one also gotta strapped and feeding the sedation medication is really no joke kind)... All these on top of the numerous flu attacks, hfmd attack...

really feel bad that I had put her through so much suffering.. and the doc is asking her to go back for DMSA again soon.... they will IV drip her for this one.... argh... I feel pained thinking about it...

lyn,

2 nights ago, I heard Joelle cried in her cot... and then I turn.. my heart almost drop... she had pulled herself up and standing by the rail liao... I mean our cot rail is raised halfway only cos never thought she can scaled that barrier so soon... I quickly jump up to catch her... *phew...

then the other day I placed her on the sofa where we had put a small safety 1st bed side rail... and when i turned my head, she was there lying with her head ready to fall down the small hole that is not being railed.

wen,
haha.. same here re flash cards. i also dun want to hear stinging comments esp from my sil. she once commented that bb should be left playing, it's not good to "force" then to learn when they r still so young, have to let them enjoy childhood. i said to hubby, after all that comments what she will say if i tell her abt flash cards? hehe.. lucky hubby is on my side (he'd better be .. hehe).

duffybuff,
My heart goes all out for you and bb reading your post...aiyo. I will cry too if I were you. Sayang, sayang. Oh, I probably would be scolding the doctor already. hope everything is fine with bb now.

wen, mum2b..

everyone in my family knows i do flashcards with my children... most read my blog. At first my mum and aunt will say things like .. poor thing so young gotta study etc... But I had given them a few stern lecture not to put negative remarks on my children's life liao... so no one will said such negative things to my children. Besides, I always tell them, human have an innate need and passion to learn. Study is one thing. Learning is another.

duffy: poor thing... i kniow how u feel n the sight... my Bren, his surgery and after...

chrysalid: are all mils the same? is there like a handbk for them?? urs sounds like mine boy!!

fi,

Joelle dunno how to sit up from lying down position yet leh...at least not that i know of... but she definitely can sit very upright when we help her... and she definitely loves to pull up whenever she can to stand.

poohy,

our babies are developing faster than our expectation. When we thought its ok & they will not scale the barriers, they will suddenly prove that they can do it! My hb & I were concerned about danger of a possible fall from our bed as he's very often on it when we are in the room. Since few weeks back, we've moved our mattress to the floor liao. Safer to sleep/play, even if he rolled off/creeped away, the height difference is lesser.

Hope J next test result will be a good report.

re: flashcards

good thing is my parents & ILs does not oppose. My mum helps me when I'm at her place to carry/sit with my boy while I flash the cards to him.

poohy,
that sounds like my boy's current seating and standing ability.so they can suddenly stand up in cot? i havent lower down my cot some more sometimes we dont click to lock it, just pull up high as barrier.i better go home tonight and tell everyone must click to lock and lower the cot...TONIGHT.

poohy,
Pray the bb Joelle will be fine after this last checking. No more checking needed coz she will be healthy and will forget all the episodes. Same to duffybuff's bb.

My parents are pretty supportive especially my dad coz he did spend more time guiding my brother when he was a baby and he was doing the best among all of us at school and all. I believe GD and Shichida works because I remember what my dad was doing with him. But in-laws....not yet. Probably will start reveal to them bit by bit. =b

wen,

thanx. my mum after much of my explaining had been quite supportive already. At least she help me by not letting my children watch those soap opera on tv these days. She used to watch those taiwan serials but nowadays she dun liao.. whole day if the tv is ever on, its those leapfrog, bb einstein etc... my in laws... they quite bo chap abt everything ... and we dun really go too often...

duffy,
glad he's ok now

wen,
it's so heartache to see him there... am blaming myself for it coz didnt wanna supplement FM for the first few days... hence he might not drinking enough

poohy,
haha..my parents aso..cut so much on soap opera. Only watch when bb is sleeping.

mspiggy,
I oso didn't want to supplement at first..tat is why jaundice...=b I cried at Pd when doc said have to admit. Then, cried at night couldn't sleep without her. Think maternity instinct super strong at that time..was crying bucket. =b

Wah...

Hope all BB are well... ANd think our bb are progressing fast.. its the "danger" period now as they can flip and flip put of bed liao.. think onite go back must lower my playpen too... am still thinking should i get a bed for my gal cos think my playpen too small from her soon...

sunflower,
He still have a red mark on his cheek
Later gonna face my hubby's "questioning" liao...

chrysalid,
Sometimes, just wish that they just eat and sleep... hahaha...

mum2B,
After this morning, I push his cot to the living room when he sleeps. And I put his anklet back, so that when he moves, I can hear. I wore a gold one for him, but my MIL said later get stolen, so she got a silver one. That silver one quite thick and cause blue black on his legs, so I removed totally. After the fall, I took out the gold anklet and wear for him already.
When I am alone with him and need the loo, and he's not sleeping, I will put him on the floor in my room. I will keep my door open so that he can see me. Nowadays he will creep to the toilet... gotta change liao... But I think the floor is the safest for now. Cannot fall further. Even when he's sleeping, when I go toilet, I will worry.

duffy,
Aiyo... If I were you, I will sure cry too. I read your story and your boy being bound welled up my eyes oo... aiyo... so cham leh...

Wen,
How to cook millet? I feel like getting millet too. But I myself havent taste millet before. What's the taste like?

poohy,
Wah... close escape leh... that's what happened in Aloysius' first fall. There's a small "hole" not covered and he fell there. This time is cover all, but he crawl or creep over all barriers! I think even with safety first rail is still dangerous for Aloysius already. Cos now he is fast in creeping over me on the bed. He woke up at 6am this morning to creep over me to and fro... Guess he must have sharpened his creeping skills over objects this morning...

Today I am very happy
Aloysius loved his flashcards
and was a happy baby this afternoon despite the fall in the morning. Fed him his pumpkin oatmeal and he finished all

mum2B,
I have a cousin who see "results" in her kids. They were left to develop and play on their own when young. Now, in Primary schools. She felt the regrets already... I dun wanna be in her shoes in future... Now she wanna spend however much she had on her kids' education to "wan3 jiu4". It's even more expensive and time consuming now.

poohy,
Just now I log into MSN and chatted with my friend in UK
Haiz... lucky she's not here making those comments in front of Aloysius. She heard from another friend what I have been doing, so she asked me. Then I told her... then get those negatives comments that Aloysius is poor boy
then assume that he's not a happy baby

Wen,
I dun do the flashcards when my in-laws are around. The most I skip one day
cos they are not receptive to the idea. Will get negative comments and I will not like it... So to prevent friction, I dun do it lor...

celeste,
I almost wanna get a mattress for Aloysius. But my mum was worried that the fall from the mattress also no good. Cos the mattress gotta be at least 10 inches high. So now stick to baby cot.

I think at this stage, before we know it, babies will be climbing sofa already. Aloysius stood up by the sofa himself and was trying to climb the sofa just now.

the more baby eats, the more he poos? Bren's been eating & pooing alot!! so much so till he has diaper rash!!

mummies, so sorry to hear of all those falls. think i will also lower my cot tomorrow. baby jake can't crawl forward, only backward, but he has fallen few times in a sitting position, fell front and fell back - hit the playmat, hit his toys. luckily he din hit the floor...

our bbs are growing so fast, always surprising us.

lyn, poohy, wen, i also believe in GD and SM. my mum and mil are supportive, but not brother and sil... so kept it a secret from them too.

Hi mommies, so sorry to hear abt the falls.

michele, mine's also having the same diaper rash symptom, mum said its bcos bb's too heaty.

mspiggy, my collick lent me this 6-vcd flashcard which she bought from Popular, which cost abt 60 plus, maybe u'd like to try.

shame to say, i haven't been able to finish the first disc cos mine start looking elsewhere before half-time. think gotta start training him heheh...

mich,
so while u r scouting f/ the right sippy cup, how do u give water to ur boy now?

i've reduced the veggie to just 2 cubes a day, n voila .. my bb only poo once or twice a day now
hubby said maybe bb too young can't digest all e fibre. this silly mummy thought e more veggie e better **blushed**

lyn,
i c.. but for my bb i can't leave her alone on the floor coz several times she falls when trying to stand or when sitting. thinking to buy playpen just for emergency i.e. go to loo etc.

anybody sell unused playpen?

so sorry to hear abt those falls n infections.. ethan has been suffering from knocks all thnks to mummy who is very careless.. yest nite he hit the door n cupboard cos of mummy again... i feel so bad..

i am fine with KTV room but juz wonder where bb can crawl cos i doubt our kids or maybe only my bb can sit down quietly..

mum2b, is it good to put bb at playpen? i have one but haven't used yet cos feel that we shd let our kids explore the hse rather than confine them.. But i am thinking of getting a playyard or fence type so that i can ctrl where they can be, but hestiate cos feel that shdn't restrict them.. any advise mummies? tks!

mum2be: i ve 2 sippy cups now,avent n nuby. dun find them gd... wanna get 1 good one that doest spill n holes nt too small. think i'll try aprica. but ex leh..

hiya michele,
i got a walker for my ger ger...actually i didn't want one either [saw dis article b4], but my hubby bought it ;p ... Previously i wanted to get a rider cum walker type (eg Fisher Price), but decided it was too dangerous if bb don't hold on tightly to the handles. So, after a month of her standing & holding on to the edge of the playpen looking so bored, i finally gave the greenlight for my hubby to get a walker for my ger...

Not sure if it poses any of the problems stated here, but hey, i myself used the walker as a baby ;) And i turned out ok. =P

michele,
i read about how walkers are bad too but since 5.5 months with in laws around and hand me downs from them, he's already inside them and now its saviour for mil for some break.all of us also grow up using walkers.and i heard from certain age when babies are actually learning to walk they don't like to be confine to walkers already, have to hold them to walk anyway which is the real walking exercise.

wen,
since yesterday my boy has poo, i decide to intro banana at lunch today, mix with cereal just 2cm slice.at his last spoon he poo a little already. then just now poo again.what's millet? think i need those kiddy picture dictionary on vegetables :p i'll like to intro avocado next weekend. hee hee...follow you.

amy,
my boy not toilet train but from today's observation, he does give cue hmm hhmm..i should have listen and quickly bring mr potty but i wasnt sure. now i know...

lyn,
what kind of barrier is it that aloy can creep over? thought barrier is like fence, quite high?

lyn and mum2b,
usually i'll put jz inside his baby cot when need to go toilet. even though he don't like i just put some toy inside for him to entertain long enough for toilet break. even if i doze off on bed these days i dont dare to leave him on bed with me, have to carry him into his cot then only i sleep. when he's on bed with me i'm afraid i'll doze off before him, that'll be dangerous.

i still havent lower the cot yet. the 3rd level will be difficult for mil's back, so going to bring sarong over liao then only lower the bed. hb says my boy lazy how to from sleeping sit up then stand up.usually he open eye, straight away cry. but then hor.. when i'm home usually i'll train him to wake up play by himself before i go in see him, so i keep finger cross he dont suddenly stand up in cot leh...

mspiggy and wen,
my boy also had to be admitted for jaundice last time. has it anything to do with not supplementing with fm? but his case was on border level also they admit him, i should have insisted i dont want to.

duffy,
wah...hear your story i also want to cry already..nowadays very sensitive to these baby stuff. watch on tv how babies suffer also want to cry, hear the news of the pregnant lady being stabbed to death, then the baby died in her womb, i also feel affected.

poohy,
must be traumatising and stressful for you, all these tests..hang in there! these treatment procedures are really pretty unnerving for mummies and daddies.

re: not telling ppl i do flashcards. i totally understand how u guys feel man..i also don't feel like telling other ppl. but my dad is pretty supportive, though he likes to let baby stare at the pic cards. no heart to tell him that's not the way and anyway, tobey seems to enjoy it, so i just leave it. actually, to confess to you guys, when i first read abt this flashcard thingy from this forum, my reaction was no different from those negative ones i fear. my first thought was 'so kiasu!' haha.. then u guys educated me and i went to read up more and researched and i realised that i would only be doing my child a disservice if i deny him such opportunities. so there u go, thank you mummies, for opening my brains! haha...but i still fear neg comments from other ppl still la....haha..

but tobey is always the encouraging factor. everytime i show him the cards, he will smile happily and lean towards me with outstretched arms. he reassures me that i'm doing the right thing..i hope. anyway, i'm only on the program for the 3rd day...haha...but so far so good!

peng,
I let my boy stay in the playpen when i need to go away for a short while. Otherwise he is on the mat playing wif his toys. When I play with him, I also allow/encourage him to move out of the mat and onto the bare tile flooring. Think it wl be good for babies to experience different textures wif their feet too. So I help him to 'walk' on the floor, sofa, door mat, etc. :)

Mum2B,
If u r getting a playpen and ur bb knows how/is learning to stand, put it to the lowest level. Today my boy fell out but fortunately I was there to catch him! Whew!

Fi,

I try to feed Gabby solid during lunch and dinner. But I am not very disciplined. If we go out, or if she is grouchy, I just let it be...the truth is, I am lazy...hehe. Millet is a grain. Read that it is easier to digest and more nutriteous, also used by gluten-allegy ppe to substitute wheat. See link below for some more info. Btw, it is a bird feed turns 'healthfood'...haha.

http://chetday.com/millet.html

Lyn,

I read somewhere...can't remember where...just cook it like cooking rice porridge on the stove until it is soft. Then I blend it using blender. It is for me a substitute for cereal.

Lyn, Poohy and mommies who are doing GD, Shichida,
How do you store your cards? Do you have a cabinet for it? My cards are 'overflowing; and I am looking for a storage system whereby I can retrieve them easily. Any ideas?

Michele,
I also read similar article on walker before. And I read that it is banned in Canada as it was the major cause of bb accidents in the country. Most accidents could be link to lack of supervision while a child is in the walker. So I am not buying walker for her. Plus GD encourages more creeping so I am not too worry about late in walking.

Mum2B, Peng,
I have got a playpen. BUt so far, she was only in it when we are home-alone and I need to go toilet. Just such a short time and she would be wailing already....

chrysalid,
Good job! Bb tobey enjoying flash cards! My Gabby's is not as interested anymore...I need to reduce no. of cards again. But that is alright lah. Need to adjust to her pace. JiaYu!

wen,
so when u r using ocmputer, having meals, shower, etc who supervise ur baby? do u have a helper at home?

dal,
thanks for the reminding. my bb also can stand because my hubby likes to encourage her.

fi,
since i lowered the cot base, i have back pain already
esp i have to carefully transfer my bb to cot after she dozed off after milk feed. break my back..
btw on putting toys in the cot, better don't put big toys like big bear n the like, coz when bb can stand, he can use the toys to climb out, can be dangerous.