(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

michele,
umm.. u have't answered my question.. in the meantime how do u give water to ur boy? still using that 2 sippy cup or spoon?

mspiggy,
i self-write my flashcards! see below:

to share what i'm doing for my flash card sessions:
ya know i was pretty complain queen abt the logistics prob a while back. then my hubby told me i was so silly to let so many small little logistic stuff put me behind. realised it was pretty stupid too. in the end, i bought some a4 card case ($1.70 each) so that i can slot printing paper inside it, from popular bookshop and the gemini brand red pen to create the half cm font, sat down on my table and started to write on my a4 printer white paper in large fonts. tried to create as many categories with as many words as i could. voila! i was ready to start! has only been flashing 5 cards per session. tried to squeeze as many sessions as i could everyday. kept looking at the clock for 15 min to pass so i can flash the next 5.. haha..i'm sticking to 2 categories a day. when i'm more organized, think will try one more category. i always note the time and date on the sticky note that i paste behind the card case to keep track of the sessions. i hope this is ok. the 5 card session is really very short, but i guess any more and we will have difficulty holding their attention!

michele and mummies,
i have msn. please do add me if you want! [email protected] but i don't log on very often cos i'm not very good at multi-tasking. i do alot of work on my comp and i find it very distracting cos i'm always more interested in chatting. then at the end of the day, i always don't get any work done..haha..

Tinkle,
We also have diff tastes from the previous owners. Prev owners are my parents age. So u can guessKhaha.. think roofing cost us about 2k. we used the brick tiles cos hdb did not approve the Perspex? see through material cos of fire hazard. Think our contractor lugi for the roof.

Gate for the stairs. Dont think Im going to do it cos my cousins with little kids told me that they found it more hazardous cos the adults kept tripping on the beam. The one on the floor. They nearly fell quite a few times while carrying their children. So they teach the kids about safety on stairs and all. But we all still feel breathless when we see the kids attempting to fly down the stairs. Require constant vigilance!

My maid stays with my kid in one room upstairs. The other rm currently is spare bdrm, converting to study rm soon. Think if I have one more kid, will let my children stay in the same rm to foster sib relationship. Then the maid will use the other room. In my family, we are very pro keeping the kids in the same room till they grow up. To teach sharing and all that. I shared rm with my younger bro till I was 13, then I had my own rm. My hubby and his bro stayed in the same rm till they went army. Dont know whether it makes a difference to relationships, but we tryKhahaK

Re: airconditioning the lower level. We wanted to have 3 aircons but the piping was a huge prob. So in the end we have one big one and one small one. Honestly, when weather is hot, or theres lots of ppl, I feel that the air con is not cold enough even at 18deg Celsius. Have to supplement with fans.

We also bought our place above valuation. We thought we had to pay a lot of cash down also, but in the end, we only had to pay half of the expected cash amt. we used the govt grant to buy this place. Maybe that made a difference. Youre not taking the loan from a bank rite? we took 80% loan in the end.

haven't take photos of my place yet. give me some time..i can open house for you if u want! haha..

Michele,

The honey is well known in NZ haha.. i bought 2 bottles of 1 kg from NZ, and i consume everyday. I opened up one bottle, now left half only, after around 2 weeks. So if all finish, i got to buy over here liao.

Wen: my boy doesnt seem to like to crawl how?? he hates tummy time!!

Mum2be: ooops...i thght i answered... yep, in the meantime i use the avent cup. nuby hole too big cos i poked!! avent is ok for home use but not taking out as it spills... keep taking it out, put it in ziplock, in teh end all the water in the ziplock bag!! so if u're using avent and gonna take it out, fill it with water outside.

btw, what kind of water u give ur son?

kk: is the honey that ex in NZ? whats so special bout it? cannot eat honey n bf right? me love honey so much BUT sacrifice!!!

tinkle,
my sis also moved to a EM when she juz delivered my little niece. she didnt get any safey gate.. however, u must educate ur son on the danger of the stairs. i remembered my nephew fell a few steps down the stairs & had very jialat blue black on his back.

Amy/ Poohy,

the last time did u gals sign up for bb jumper gym class? I think i intend to sign up cos went for kindermusic trial.. think BJG better for my bb.. any discount for bjg?

wen and dal,
Oic.. tks for the clarification.. ok let my bb use the playpen since have it already.. tks!

btw, was juz thinking would u gals be interested to go for gymbree birthday party when our bb reach 1 yr since they r going to be 1 soon? i saw got party pack.. $370 for 10 bb to go for this gymbree birthday party.. plus will get 1 more trial class for all bb after that..

morning...

peng - from my understanding, only if u hv 3 person signing up together, then will hv 10% discount.

my boy currently attending the BJG Class on sat.

mum2b,
which level (mine has 4 level) is your bb cot at? i also cannot imagine how to carry up and down when at lower level while sleeping.

yest i was so touched by my bb..

i was sitting on one side of the bed watching tv while my bb on another side playing on his own; my hb on the other hand is in the kitchen cooking.. as the show was very excited, i screamed n felt a sharp cramp at my tummy.. so i was groaning n lied on the bed..

my bb seems to know that i was in pain, stopped playing n crawled to me to touch me.. then he screamed very loudly till daddy heard it n come to check on us..

hmm.. it seems that he knows mummy is in pain n knows how to protect mummy.. ha ha.. all cos mummy is naughty.. watch show watch until so excited hee hee...

MTDT

Is the BJG good? I went for the trial class once quite liked it but wanted to explore on other courses.. but in the end found that BJG still the best

peng,
wow your boy very 'teng' you
very heartwarming right.
Last week, at 5am, I suddenly woke up. The minute I opened my eyes, saw that my boy was awake and sitting right beside me and he gave me his sweetest smile and immediately came nearer and lying down beside me when he saw that I was awake. aiyo, that moment my heart just melted.

BJG - not bad lah. mixture of flashcards, music, movement, gym. i like also becos not all movement. at this age when our bbs still not tat mobile, v tiring to keep carrying them n move.

so far, i only went for another trial at babies&cream. hv to keep carrying bb n move. v tiring. so i think for the other class like gymboree, kindermusic etc, will go for trial when bb is more mobile. let him walk himself. :p

BJG Charges at Bukit batok:
$350 for 1 term (10 lessons)
$100 for deposit (refunable)
$10 for the t-shirt

Tks MTDT, for kindermusic, must also carry n move.. i was so tired on sat carrying the bb.. err.. but my bb is very mobile.. he is so busy crawling everywhere.. so i scare BJG, he will be very mobile n not listening.. but i really need external help for flashcard cos my bb now can't sit still for flashcard..

Poohy, need help on flashcard again.. my bb juz won't look at it.. instead he snatchs my cards n play with it.. but more picture books, he is quite ok though he gets distracted easily.. he is so busy moving these days, no way for me to make him look at the cards even if i carry him..

Sunflower, no idea abt the age group.. but thot it would be more fun if same age grp.

for BJG - minimal lah.
only one song needs to walk in circles (for the pass 2 lessons)

n of cos during the gym where they will hang bb for 10secs, the monkey bar n some swining session.

but good thing abt BJG is they allow both parents to attend. so daddy can help with the swinging movements if mummy no strenght. :p

but sunflower - ur boy attending SM now rite? still wan to join BJG?

oh crawler 1 is for below 9mths, crawler is above 9mths.

peng - my BJG class mainly apr babies. they are quite mobile too. keep crawling ard. the mummies hv to catch them loh. ;p

flashcards - my boy also getting distracted. worst is he keep looking at me instead of the cards!!! in BJG also... when doing the photographic memory exercise, he keep looking at the teacher! hahaha :p

bjg - at times my boy also distracted by other babies etc.

but i not tat stress tat i need him to pay attention. think as long as there is exposure, he will absorb.

sometimes he more interested in the baby beside him. then just take it as social development loh. :p

mtdt,

ya lor, heard that the trial waitlist v.long. you know which teacher is good at BJG?
babies & cream got trial class?

gian to go for JG trial class if they have :p you keen?

go for trials good, can compare
I got 1 free gymboree trial. not go for it yet. thinking bring him trial feb/mar

BJG - during trial, our teacher was Annie. Now is Shihui. ok lah.. both also not bad. :p

Poohy mention tat April is good n she likes it. but since I have no experience with April, so cant compare. Anyway April only teaches Crawler 2 i think.

Babies & Cream - went for their positive babies trial class. whole session just singing n carrying baby to move. v v tiring for mummies! then after 30mins of singing... i getting quite bored liao! haha. one baby actually slept during halfway. dunno good (v good environment) or bad (sounds boring to the baby too! haha).

JG Trial - think i will go later... anyway, their playnest class are during weekdays. so not possible to join as i need to work leh. will consider when Zav turns 18mths.

Sunflower - r u SAHM?

mtdt,

keke wish that I am at times. Nope same as you FTWM. so must choose classes to go carefully cos only got 2 full days with bb, very precious lor.

ya loh... but i dun wan to load him with classes on both days leh. esp not similar ones.

next one in line is swimming class... thinking of waiting till next term when the weather is more sunny.

mtdt,

ya lor, also don't want to overload cos mummy will also overload :D

swimming is good. I'm not signing him up for class but I've brought him for weekly swim until end dec last year when he got fever, then the rainy days came.. so no chance to swim liao. Sunny days Pls come back !

ya, so far only hv chance to bring him to pool 3 times.

but each time, we only "float" ard.
so tot of joining one session to "learn" wat they do. then can do myself with bb.

peng: still got few mths before 1 yr lah... my kindermusik is in the morning, at 10am. which one have u signed up for and how much do they charge u for material?

MTDT: haahaa, i also went for the babiesncream class, found it really tiring (for mummy!!) but am continuing for this term.
quite cute to see all other babies there, and good interaction for mine too.
Swimming: yah, need to wait for the waather to be better before starting swim class, it's sooo cold nowadays !!

mum2B,
Aloysius is very scared of falling. He knows where to fall. So he's very careful when on the floor. He fell many times before too. It can be quite worrying though...

peng,
I also agrees with you about letting baby explore the house.

chrysalid,
Yesterday, I was speaking with Aloysius' classmate dad while waiting. He also has lots of friends who said he's kiasu, and other similar comments about our babies which we constantly get. hahaha... same as me
Well, I dun deny I am, but it's for the sake of baby
It doesn't hurt to be labelled "kiasu". He also stopped telling people about it already. I dun tell nor share with my non-shichida friends anymore...

Lyn - same as u... i dun share much abt my flashcards thingy. i think as long as me n my baby are happy, it's ok already.

dun need to bother so much abt other pple lah.

oh ya.. how was the 2nd SM Class?

lyn,

2nd class was good. The activities are the same but with different materials, so able to follow better compared to 1st time, new & blur! after lesson got some time let him explore the class abit. He's very fascinated by the carpet :p cos my house no carpet. This week also no abacus. How's Aloysius in the class & your second class?

after hearing your experience, I told my ILs not to share the flashcards thingy with the relatives at a gathering last night, in case get negative feedback from them.

re: exploring
Yes, my boy exploring the whole house now. Doesn't want my ILs to carry him, struggle to get down & explore on his own. If hes in the play-yard, hell push/knock the door, signalling my ILs to open for him. Last night, so funny, he tried to chase after my dog! My dog saw him coming, quickly ran off. He doesn't know so tend to pull her fur, so my dog scared of him already. but generally she's scared of all kids as they tend to be more rough with her.

sunflower: me teasing k ong ;) tw very cold lah.. 8-9 degrees!!

k ong: u started solids yet? u bght high chair?

do you babies poo alot now that they have started solids? how many times a day??

re:exploring
if crawl on the floor tile do you all find it too cold? esp now cold weather so mil dont encourage so i took out my abc mat and lay on floor for him, but i only have 12 pieces so its like the size of his baby cot mattress only. but he's fascinated by this new toy that's bigger than him. was thinking of buying more then turn mil's bedroom into a babysafe crawling area.but do you all regularly wash the abc mat, finds hair tend to stick to it. and have to mop floor more often.but when i use vacuum, my boy dont like the sound.

vivi,
not going to swim at your place already, too cold, no woder no one interested.. might as well wait till sunny to buy him his swim suit, maybe his size will change then.

just came back from lunch.chicken cutlet with tea. yummy...

hhmm...start to miss baby already.

wah... looks like all mummies here very excited about sending bb to classes..

What is BJG huh? sori ah me mountain tortise .. ahha

And regarding Poo... my gal worst... she poo one a say but its like 1 prune size hard hard stool... dun know how... gave het lotsa of water / prun juice / allple jucie.. but she dun like to drink water... so think she got a hard time pooing...

Anyone here got the same problem .. bb poo only once a day or 1 every 2 or 3 days.. and its super hard.

peng,

I just brought Joelle for her first class at BJG crawler2 under Teacher April last saturday 12:30noon. I think the class is not too bad and I like teacher april very much... She assessed Joelle and let her join crawler2 class though its for bb 9months and above... I am so glad cos April only has this slot left and it happen to be crawler2. The teacher is very important to me... I always feel a very good, passionate and experienced teacher make my money worth it... else I am better off teaching myself. Most important is I want Joelle to be with babies slightly older than her... it will spur her development more.

Joelle was very attentive during her first BJG class last sat... I was very glad.. she love to crawl the red long tunnel at the gym.

for your boy, maybe u can explore flashing more BITS card? flashing less, more or faster, slightly slower or talking louder or more dramatic. Catching him at different time of the day, placing him on high chair? I think each bb is different and you just have to keep experimenting. My boy is running everywhere now and I also can hardly catch his attention AT ALL. I tried to do it on powerpoint for him... and if i can, I do other activities like puzzles etc.

Joelle is v mobile now but she still allow me to place her on high chair to see the flashcards.

MTDT,

how's it so far at bjg..? which teacher is your boy under?

if u r going swim class, ask me along hor.. I also may wanna bring joelle for swim class exposure... though she already is very well accustomed to water and swimming in pool... she is so different from Samuel.... when i bath her nowadays, I just use the showerhead and spray wate right at her head/face/ everywhere and she is very ok about it.

wah looks like the progress for all your bb is fast... mine... going 8mths next week... but she is damn lazy to flip... always flip half way.. surrender.... let alone crawling... dun know when she can start crawling.

How old are all your bb.. how caome so fast can crawl.. or is it mine.. super slow huh?? sob sob...