(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Address: Westwood Avenue (Jurong west extension, Floravale)

Attending:
1) Vivi (2+1)
2) Sunflower (2+1) (donuts, cakes)
3) Wen (1+1)
4)Fi (2+1)
5)Tinklebell

Pls make your vote
2) Amy (?+1)
4) Aishite (2+1)
6) mum2b (2+1)
7) Peng (3+1)

Pending
1) okipoki
2) Tracy
3)I_panda

Fi,

The swim trunk with attached diaper that I mentioned is the one i_panda posted.

I'm using a thermal suit, so using disposable huggies as I've some left. After that maybe will get the swim diaper

vivi,

you've got
647027.gif

If there's anything u need to check, just post here. but will reply u oni when back at home cos half day leave today. monday also on leave. going vivio later. ciao

wah....

I really hope i can go for the gathering... sooo many of you going.. thought should meet you mummies up at least once mah... let me go and arrange and push away my things see can go not.. hehehe

Sunflower, apple juice work well for my gal.. i also read that no juice till 9 mths but when you see she cant poo for soooo many days.. think you will try everything just to make her poo... I am quite against microlax cos dun want her to depend on that too much to poo..

celeste,

hope that you can join us for that day. Will be great if many can come & let the babies interact.

apple juice ok for yours. hmm.. ok will keep in mind. my friend used prune juice.

mum2b, fi,
I dunno what is baby oats :p I bought the normal rolled oats. hee... Today's menu for Aloysius is oatmeal with pumpkin
taste quite nice..

vivi,
If it's in the morning, or early afternoon, I can pop by for a while since my class starting at 4.15pm

poohy,
I will use the words behind
At least the cards got some use. I have selected out the pictures that I will use. Majority cannot use cos will be too strenous on the eyes. Baby will lose interest if it's too strenous.

I gotta dig out the small cards for linking memory from the storeroom... :p haven't got time yet.

Fi,
Cause after she moan for a while, I hear 'puu'..=b passing gas. And normally it is after she had some veges. So far the only safe thing is the Yu RenSeng brown rice, as much as I notice. That is why I am not rushing to introduce solid to her... going slowly.

Poohy,
I thought I saw the site before...it looked familiar and I did a search and found this...
http://www.sgparenting.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=1012

sunflower,

checked. its slightly Smaller than the Function room. My hb told me he lied to me. hahha.

Lyn,

maybe u could come after the SM class?

wen,
so what kind of food u've intro? i think going slow is good, but during weekend i'll itch to try new things. but usually end up didnt cause didnt have time to go market. mil always have his carrot, potato, apple in fridge for him only.

sunflower,
thanks for info. how much is the diaposable swim huggies? will baby outgrow swim suit fast, since its like rompers size is fixed.hb like trunk type but i scared cold.

vivi,
yr place got shallow ankle deep water pool for baby? the kind i dont have to wear swim suit to go in :p

lyn,
what i mean by baby oats is rolled oats that baby can eat.what brand rolled oats you bought? after that just cook right? no need to grind more right? are those quaker oats that need to cook consider rolled oats? but those are for adults.

Fi,

think its about $10-15 for a small pack. quite ex actually. can buy the swim trunk with diaper liao.

vivi,
potluck will be good? more on finger food as its 4pm tea time?

I can get donuts & cakes.

Fi,

So far, she tried apple, pear, pumpkin, carrot, sweet potato, banana, brown rice cereal, white rice cereal.... think that is about it. She prefers the sweet stuff such as sweet potato, banana and pumpkin. I try to mix them with cereal so that it is not too sweet. A bit worry now that she won't take greens.

Vivi,

Think potluck a bit difficult as have to carry baby and her stuff already. If you are thinking about dinner, maybe can cater and we all share cost?

hi mummies...sorry can't catch up on the posts today. it's home alone with bb jake today. just now... bb jake had a minor accident. knocked his head on the pointed corner of the abacus. cry... now head got a red mark...

re gathering... bb jake sleeps at 6 pm, so I need to leave 5 pm latest. No later than that... ok?

mum2b - i am using avent sippy. also have a thomas the tank sippy, both works. think need to teach bb how to drink lo. bb jake ever drank from a glass, also works for him.

green veg - i introduced broccoli (only the florets), green beans (i peeled off the sides), just made some spinach. also tried pumpkin, cauliflower, sweet potato, potato, carrots. green peas, i plan to intro as finger food soon.

fruits - apple, pear, apricot, peach, banana, melon (intro soon, yellow skinned honeydew melon). will also be introducing blueberry... v hard to get hold of organic one.

1000 + 400 pcs flash cards - i selectively flashed some to jake.. he likes it. can take in 50 at one go. but of cos - i only flash the captivating ones...
actually, i preferred the cards in the second set.

jst came back from pump.

wen,
yr girl's menu is the same as mine except that mil used white potato, not sweet potato and haven't tried banana.maybe i should get these 2 soon.i also mix with cereal or porridge. how many times your girl eat solid? mine only lunch once but will intro dinner soon. we not very adventuroud huh but i think its ok.my hb has problem with milk,potato and brocolli so a bit careful of my boy. do you blend and puree or smash fresh?

was so upset...yesterday, tobey fell off my bed. i was going to switch off the room lights cos i thought he looked sleepy. took a step towards the light switch, then i thought to myself, better don't leave him on the bed alone cos he's pretty fast nowadays and might 'dive' off the bed. turned ard and true enuf, saw him falling off the bed! rushed towards him to try to prevent him from hitting the floor. it kinda happened slow mo, but when u ask me to recall exactly how he fell, i can't! it was all in a flash of a moment. i think i sorta managed to catch him a bit, but he did hit the floor i think and picked him up immediately. think he was a bit shocked. a very light bruise line across his forehead and nose and under the eyes. screamed at the top of his lungs. my whole body was trembling man..i was so scared. moreover, when i saw him fall, his neck was in an awkward position. so freaking worried! but he stopped crying soon after and when we play with him, he was smiling, responding like his usual self. when we put on the bed, he flipped over and cont to crawl and sit up as usual. hope he's alright man..

then after that, my mil called and asked me how tobey was. think i was still in shock so i told her tobey fell off my bed and she was like 'hah?!? how u take care of him one!'. when i heard that, i was real upset man. as if i purposely want MY son to fall off the bed!!! the thing abt my mil is that she can really shoot her mouth off. she's a nice person, but just the way she talks sometimes gets me off. i feel like telling her, u come and take care la. she's retired, but she doesn't come over often. not sure whether that's a blessing actually. i'm just feeling bitchy so just bear with me. i don't really have ill feelings towards her, just only during such moments. she's never taken care of babies, even her own sons cos when they were young, they were taken care of by other ppl. but she has this irritating 'know-all' way of talking..even my hubby cannot take it..

then this morning, she came over and saw the line across tobey's nose and asked 'why like that', then told her it's cos of the fall. then she ask the maid 'how 3(maid, me and hubby) of you take care one ah', then she pat the maid and say 'not you, not you' and smile in an embarrassed manner!! wa raos!!

wen,

u can give some tsps of spinach together with the porridge or cereal that u are feeding bb..
slowly increase amount.. actually veges taste sweet too

sorry ah..to cont the fall down story, then after that, my hubby was lying back against the floor playing with tobey who was sitting on his chest. then he one hand hold tobey under the armpit and the other hand hold the egg roll biscuit (yes, we're snacking on cny goodies already) and tobey leaped off his chest and over my hubby's head and hit the parquet floor forehead on. think he was trying to stand up and used too much strength, so became leap off. wah...so stressed to look after baby. play also so stressed!!! think better put him up for adoption. feel like lousy parents man..

tracy,
french beans is the long tube like one with little beans inside right.if chop finely will still be granular pieces, not paste right.can swallow? my mil ever gave my boy a grain of rice and small wedges of boiled apple in cereal.he not ready for it.

wen,

ya saw the thread before... but i think their BITS looks good.... I wanna fly over to hong kong to buy but they never tell me their retail address leh.

re: BITS

mummies who are doing BITS... can go to www.theclassicalmommy.com, perla shared her BITS collection with the rest ... very good quality images

chrys,

dun be upset.. its common for bbs to fall here and there la. cos they r busy exploring ma..
dun feel lousy k. i m sure all the babies here have their share of knocks and falls here and there.
that's how babies learn

and tat's how we parents learn too!! haha

tracy,
gotta cook... those no need to cook kind are highly processed ones.. even those that no need to cook, cannot add milk, cos not hot enough. Or those just add milk kind, are even more highly processed. The more processed food, the more nutrients are lost.

chrysalid,

dun feel so bad.... i guess accidents do happen.. I still remember how upset I was when my boy first fell off the sofa. He became quite withdrawn for a few days and I was so worried. But afterawhile, I got my cheerful fellow back and went on to have a few more worse falls... hehee... my hb always said i am v careless... for Joelle, we took more precautions with experiences gained.... so far so good... but falls are part of growing up i guess... inevitable.

chrysalid,

dun be sad... Just to share. My boy fell twice. All thanks to me.. once while BF while im ZZZzz, the other time @ tokyo.Somemore its our last day at Japan. really spoilt my mood n day. juz told myself to be more careful.

chrysalid,
oh no..so sorry to hear of the drama.my boy also once almost roll off this way while i step away to look inside wardrobe drawer just 2 steps from the bed.lucky i caught him in time.

chrysalid,

dun feel bad. mummies & daddies are multi-tasker when comes to taking care of our little ones.
tobey, sayang sayang.

amy,
jake, sayang sayang.

haiz.. all the talks of baby falling... my boy just fell from bed this morning again
hit his right cheek.. I think he stood up and crawled over all the barriers to get to the edge of the bed and fell. When we looked, the barriers are not disturbed at all... Not sure how he crawled over the barriers ah... Now gotta put his cot to lowest position and "cage" him in there already.

thanks so much for the support and for the sharing. it's hard to remain glum with u guys around...
..this is really not an easy job man...used to think everything so easy..now then i know..haha..but i resent it when the elders tell me 'now then u know not easy'..maybe i will be less resentful if they say it less gleefully?? haha...so xiao qi!!

wen and sunflower and others?
sorry man...haven't had time to catch up on the posts. thanks for the replies regarding flashing. only read up till 10th jan only..haha...will catch up on the thread later!

lyn,
your boy can stand up already!! wah...mine trying to, but can't really..the more active they get, the less we get to rest hor? sometimes wish they're still newborn, just sleep and eat...hahaha...so evil!

tracy,
ok will keep that in mind for my weekend recipe experiments.

chrysalid,
my mil even say no need to train them walk too early, more work. but i know she dont mean that, the next day she cannot resist supporting my boy by the armpit on the walking toy or kicking ball even though can strain the back.

chrysalid,
u have my sympathy. my bb also have knocked several times when crawling, lying on bed, etc. hubby wonders if her head is big becoz of that.. haha.. i can laugh at that but secretly in heart i also worried abt that possibility!

lyn,
i've positioned the cot in the lowest position 2 weeks ago, and the next day i found my girl standing holding the bar of the cot! she's learning so fast..
btw when u r at home alone w/ baby and u need to go to bathroom or kitchen, where do u put ur boy when he's not sleeping? do u have the playmat and the gate or playpen?

any more interesting stories mummies? i do my work next to my laptop so now and then see if there's update.thanks for keeping me company in the office.

i'm drawing a contour plan now till eye very siap cause last night cry after bb reject my milk then midnight eye swollen cause i rub it hard in my sleep.so today have a blood shot left red eye.hb says he has 2 children, 1 is me the other is baby

hi chyrsalid,
dun be upset.. my boy had a bruise on his face too. that was early tis wk. dunno how he hurt himself. we suspected that he knocked himself on the baby cot. it was quite a huge bruise about 20cents coin big.

oh btw, i was so traumatised yesterday... brought my bb to the doctor for the 'MCU' x-ray procedure. if u rember, he had urine infection few mths ago.. and this test is supposed to test if there's a reflux of the urine. what the dr will do is they will insert a very fine tube into his penis! YES! ouch, right!??! anyway then fill his bladder w some coloured water and then using x-ray to monitor/ take down the pics of the flow of the urine.

ok.. so now back to yesterday.. prior to the x-ray, the nurse wanted both me & my hb to leave the room.. only my bb with them. they said they hv to insert the tube. imagine, we cld hear bb crying out loud but cldn't do anything. after abt 5-7mins, they called me in (only 1 parent is allowed to enter). when i stepped in, i almost burst out crying.. i saw my bb being binded onto the xray board - a slim board which can rotate so they can turn bb to the sides for x-ray.

my bb's face was so red and he was trying to struggle. only his hands were free. his head was also 'belt-up'. he was crying until no voice & almost breathless. i kept pacifying and talking to him but he kept struggling. this whole thing lasted for 10mins.. until i finally asked the dr, 'is it done? my bb can't take it anymore." u know what?! then he told me.. "we are waiting for yr boy to pee."

can u imagine.. when my bb is using all his might to struggle, how to pee?! And tat dr shld hv told me earlier so that i cld try telling my bb to pee. so after hearing what the dr said.. i immediately told my bb 'bb, u shh, shh lah.. shh already can go home". *Phew and immediately after he pee. i cldn't wait further, asked the nurse to unstrap him and i hugged him so hard!

once out of the xray room, my bb & me cried when i saw my hb... so drama right?! but i was so heartached!!!

mum2b,
so scary can stand right after u adjust height, what if you havent adjust? she can change from sleeping position to sitting position by herself? jz cant so we havent adjust baby cot height