(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

morning everyone, has been busy!

amy,
Your boy had 7 teeths already so fast! my boy has 2 teeths only so far...but my mum says it's better to have all come out 1 by 1 rather than stop awhile and later another 1 come out....pain at 1 go is better than numberous of pain lor.

tinklebell,

I thought i envy that your gal is close to you but hearing what you said, think i should be contented that my boy likes my maid. I was actually feeling jealous...
Agreed with you, now my boy also 'alot of hands', want to grab this and that and i also realised that he prefer those electronic or other things rather than his own toys! He loves to grab remote control very much now and i prevented him from taking and he cried sometimes. Very busy now hor? Must keep an eye on them at all times! Now in the bb cot, he don't sleep nicely already, twist and turn around everywhere.....

missk,

Hi, genting is fun. Oh, been busy, hasn't load the photos. will show u soon.

wen, so you are SAHM now? so good.. these few days... so busy, only see jake for 1 hour in the am, then go to work. by the time i reach home.. he zzz... today i played his new toy with him... he seemed to have grown so much... chubbier...

Sunflower,
haha! yes REMOTE controls.. her favourite "food" too!
Fiona ever eaten a big piece of paper and it came out in whole pc in her bowels!

Amy,
i am considering a safety gate upstairs... necessary for downstairs? frankly, i find it q ugly leh. We r carpeting the staircase to cushion the falls if it ever happen.

Jake has 7 teeth???? wow! Fiona has 2 only.

Wen,
Gabby also like that? can be v tiring hor
sometimes i wonder when they will outgrow this phase! i got an elder boy also v sticky to me... everyday will bug me to play UNO with him when i rather rest
i suppose they r only close to us in their younger days.... once they grow up, they'll prob lead bochap us

Serene,
ya loh v busy looking after bb

sometimes i wonder who is the maid..haha!
both my kids dont like my maid... even the elder one wants me to bathe him instead of the maid..... maybe i dont need a maid after all...hahaha!

tinklebell,
haha... paper came out in whole pc? mz be very gd quality! :lol

yeah, its gd dat our kids are closer to us now. time flies and b4 we know it, they wud have grown up and leading their own lives and close to their bf/gf/hb/wife liao. :)

sunflower,
haha, my boy same same too! simply cant resist grabbing my hp, remote controls, laptop mouse, digital camera and put them into his mouth. keke.

tinkle, for me, bb jake loves my helper. instead, it's me who din want my helper to help out in anything related to bb jake. playing, bathing, reading, all done by me. but i do appreciate my helper, cos she has lots to do already lo. wonder how she can cope if she has to babysit as well.

re safety gate - i will need one upstairs, maybe not downstairs. but hb said will need to child proof stairs, cos there are sharp edges.

leappfrog activity table - yes... i looked at the toy, seemed interesting. yet to open for bb jake to play. i also got the animal farm magnet, with 5 animals to match head and tail, like jigsaw. the bonus is that it's bilingual - eng and french.

re GD program - anyone on couplets now? was revising how to teach your baby to read, and saw that for colors - we can flip the card to show bb colors, and for actions, we can perform the action... but in GD baby's set, there is no color on the flip side... how?

anyone perform the action alongside the action cards? like Jump... mummy jumps? then how to flash 1 sec and jump... hmmmm.... any ideas?

hi five sunflower.. ur bb sounds exactly like mine.. i always ask him whether he wants to be a scout, keep pulling string and eat it.. even bolster string is not spared..

Amy, like u, i also tend to do everything by myself instead of the maid cos i feel that we shd play with them as much as u can..

But wow.. jake got 7 teeths.. mine still none but seems to have itchy gums, keep wanting to bite..

Serene, ur one eats remote control only.. mine worse, eat plus change setting, channel etc for us!!

Now that he keeps wanting to walk, we r even more busy, keep protecting all sides to prevent him from falling.. but he is so cunning.. he will go to the cupboard or wall or door etc to hold onto and stand up, making us even more stressed...

Got gathering ah?? I want to join, can? feel that our bbs are now more alert, can let them socialize n know more friends n play..

wow... all your bbs like v advanced le. bb jake May bb, not chewing or biting things le... maybe no potential to be a boy scout? ha ha...

peng, your boy so clever, can change channel? bb jake just touch touch feel feel the remote control... no further action. hmm...

peng, how's your preggy?

Wen, of cos - May bb welcome to join if we have a gathering. when will that be ah? any ideas?

Wen, funny how come there are many inconsistencies between GD and GD Baby. Like sunflower pointed out as well... some contradicting materials. anyway, i just customised accordingly... dunno correct or not.

i showed bb jake colors with pic cards, but just colors in box, not the words. that was about the same time i flashed GD's colors.

like you - actions - i also point to them, and show them in everyday life, not part of GD program.

GD mentioned not to intro alphabets...but to focus on words. however, we have been on GD for a while, do you think we can do that? was thinking of doing what poohy suggested - show one leap frog alphabet per day. anyway, bb jake has been watching letter factory... maybe he already knows some of them?

poohy, lyn, sunflower, any comments?

amy:
I'm still at Vol 1. Not completed showing all the cards yet! we have to finish all the Vol 1 cards before moving on to Vol 2?
you flash card and ask hb to jump? keke, not sure too. hmmmm....must think.

I also prefer to do everything myself, playing, bathing, feeding, cooking etc

re: teeth
My boy is still toothless

re: gathering
keke
I'm on too. Good to let our babies socialise with other babies. but need a place first le. Wonder if Lynn can book the function room for us?

amy, wen,

For reinforcement of words learnt, we can point to items that we saw on road/home etc to baby and tell him this is blahblahblah. But thought to a certain stage, we have to link words to the items in the session? That's when we bring out the retired cards and link to picture/actual items.

Alphabets - think only intro very much later according to GD, but not sure when as well

But SM intro alphabets already.

amy, ya lor, was also thinking of getting the Leapfrog alphabet like what Poohy was doing. Does robinson or JL stocks the item?

re: gathering

Any preference of place & timing?
North, South, East, West?
Morning, afternoon, evening?

keke think sat abit tough, poohy has morning class, amy & vivi has afternoon class, I've evening class!

re: alphabet..

I introduce alphabet to Samuel when he was about 1 year old only... for Joelle bo bian.. cos cant very well close her eyes when Sameul learns
Anyway if u believe that bb has infinite potential in their brain, then it should be in line to introduce anything. As long its worth learning, as long as bb want to learn... its just another thing to learn

I regretted being so rigid at first... should have intro Samuel much earlier in fact. Now I am looking forward to J having strong foundation in things like phonics... since she is exposed to it when Samuel learns...

sunflower,

I dun just have class on saturday morning. Right after it, I am bringing to Joelle to BJG for class. I decided to bring her there... under my favourite Teacher April. Its more for a personal bonding time with her as I am very busy during weekdays tending to my clingy boy. I am not sure whether she will join the class whole term cos Teacher April wanna assess her development since the class is Crawler2 where most bb are at least 9months and above. Then sunday 11:30am, Samuel has 2 hours of JG playclub.

tinklebell,
Your gal swallow paper? My boy also! There day @ Genting during dinner time, he's sitting in the baby high chair, when the waiter bring the cutlery, he so fast, move fw to grab a fork and i snatch it from him, he cried! So my mum gave him a box of sweet, again he put inside his mouth and bite the box, never expect he eat some papers! When we saw it and snatch away fr him, he already swallow abit, but i think not much...also never monitor if it come out in the poo... haa!

peng, your boy changed the programme channel for you all ah....haa. My boy attempted to but b4 he did, we snatched away from him. Now his action is very fast, whenever i turn on a programme for him, instead of his eyes on TV, his eyes is on my remote control....so i will hide it, so that he will not cried for it! Very busy ah! U know now that he behave like a 'worm', twisting and turning around, some nites, i had to get up and put him back in nice position...sometimes, he's on his tummy squeezing at a corner of the cot or 1 leg is outside of the side railing!

Chrysalid:
"lol...are u flashing too? the cards i mean... haha.." i am "flashing" but not cards... heehee!!

leapfrog activity table looks fun... hmmm maybe i should take it out of the box now.

amy: jake likes?

Michele, have yet to show him. will show him on weekend. today show him the activity house.. put in cube... says baby... then there is mummy and daddy... he play with the cubes and the bus. dunno how to press them yet.

vivi - ah... conv for me.

went grocery shopping for Brendan's 7th mth menu... gonna make
1) beef stock
2) fish stock
3) pumpkin soup
4) broccoli with cheese
5) broccoli & cauliflower

lots more... pls see blog if u want the recipes, gonna update later this week k...

bought kobe/wagyu beef... heart bleeding!! so ex!! $414ntd for like 6-7 slices (thin). gave Brendan biscuits too, seems to like them. those jap rice crackers.

Vivi,

A bit far lor... likely that I have to bring bb alone on MRT from Tampines (or Expo, if we start from after church) to Boon Lay MRT, with her stroller and supplies... a bit challenging - never try that far before... let me think first. =b

Michele,

Wow, bb Brendan very blessed hor..so many diff food on his menu. yum yum... Gabby is still on pumpkin, sweet potato..most of the time coz her mommy lazy to cook.

wen: come come... i'll cook for her!! i havent started pumpkin. i started yogurt!! baby yogurt.

sunflower: only bght his share...
dun bear to spend on myself!! so ex!! those few slices, not even enough to fill 1/4 of my tummy!!

Wen, next Wed is SM PEC.

Vivi, Lyn, Sunflower, wanna have dinner together next Wed? Somewhere near the venue?

June Babies Gathering:

Date: 21 January 2007
Time: 2pm
Venue: Vivi's place (West)

Attending:
1) Vivi -
2) Amy -
3) Sunflower - 3

Any suggestion to above timing & date?

amy,
wow, Jake has 7 teeth liao..that's fast! So far Josh got 3 teeth, 4th one coming out...oh btw i went to the WC organic shop last sat...bought sweet potato & pumpkin. josh prefer sweet potato..

wen,
ya..if still BFg bb no teeth better. I ganna bitten by bb before, until N bleed, so painful!

i_panda? josh bit you till bleeding? like little dracula? think he not used to BFg with teeth yet.

at first bb jake also bite... but now better.

amy,
oni once la..when he bite me, i quickly pull out, then saw blood. so pain until i wanna cry. u still BFg? Me thinking of stopping..