(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

missk,
i saw freezer tray with lid selling at seng shiong.very tempted to buy but i'm not doing puree.

anyone tried porridge yet? i dont blend the food cause i make small fresh portion, not enough to blend. so i find i'm limited to only soft food like carrot, potato, pumpkin when making porridge. any ideas?

amy,
thanks for the potty info. i like the idea of splash guard for boys and softer edging, less red marks on baby bottom.does the potty comes in size or one size fits all? choosing the size of the traditional potty is a bit tricky.

fi, I used to make fresh portion everyday. Ha, then it got a little tiring. Most importantly, I waste a lot of food. Hence, I decided to make a tray to keep.

I tried giving him sweet potato porridge. It got really gluey. Doesn't look interesting and it tastes quite bland. I am going to make some chicken stock this afternoon. Will let you know how it goes

missk,
hehe.. same here. i also tried to make fresh everyday, but so tiring. so now i mmake a lot n freeze. u gave porridge already? how do u cook, using slow cooker? u use how much rice and water? put anything else besides rice?

missk,

yes.. oic. Thanks will check it out

Fi,
sorry missed your question. My baby ST was given to me by my friend.

Tomorrow is monday. I'm starting to feel the blues already! **hiaz** no more flexible workweek as I've completed all my ML leave.

Back to reality of 5 days workweek!!

celeste blur,
thanks for the advice! think my boy recovering already..what a big sigh of relief. now his milk intake increase again. think he know bo pian already, frozen bm, better than no milk..hahaha

tinkle,
i was class of 97. did u guys go see the new compound in bishan? very big ya! if only they were in bishan when i was studying there. all the travelling time i took everyday cos i stay in northeast!!

fi,
i have a side by side freezer and a deep chest freezer (u're rite, like those for ice-cream wan). everytime our frens come over to spend time with us fuddy duddies, my hubby always ask them if they want ice-cream..bleah... i would love to give fresh ones, but now going to oos already. yesterday pumped 420ml after 60 hrs interval. when will the milk stop ah?? now my breasts loose loose wan le...very gross...i think i look like a papaya tree walking ard with a loa hong tummy...so much loose skin everywhere!!!!

anyone want a $3 off voucher for Friso cream - 300gm tin? I've 1 and its expiring 16 Jan :p.

Let me know if any of you wants it?

Mum2b,
For the kkh emergency clinic ah, the docs are pd? Did u have to wait very long? Cos when my kid was sick, I was really at a loss where to go. Din know whether going to the hospitals was better or just those 24 hr clinics. in retrospect, regret going hospital cos the wait was soooo long..

Tracy,
Baby when sick very clingy hor? U poor thingu were also sick!! Wah piang, thats damn shag la! my kid refused to sleep on his own. Must carry in upright, over the shoulder position, sing song, pat his back and rock from side to side! And then the whole time, he would teh like emmm, emmm, emmm today better already. Can sleep on his own again.

Recently, Ive noticed that tobey would always try to force himself awake even though hes very tired. We will put him in his cot and he will push himself up to the sitting position even though his eyes are closed! And he will be swaying abt cos hes so tired. So funny! And nowadays, his favourite sounds are like babababa he loves to watch our mouths when we make funny sounds and try to mimic us! So cute. Babies are so fun. Sometimes I mean

Tinkle,
Im staying at an em too! I just moved in 1 wk before I gave birth. My contractor was (in our opinion) quite good. He rushed the job for us within 6 wks cos we only got our key in end apr. everyday I go ka chio him, stroke my belly and tell him my boy want to come out, but no place to stay..haha...hes really a very responsible guy. Our family has done lots of reno work before and every contractor we had, we quarreled, except for him. If u want him to do quote, let me know. He always use my house as showroom, but its not very nice la, cos we design ourselves one..haha..just to show off his wkmanship.

mum2b: I followed my fren's recipe to do a sweet potato porridge. I tasted it and it's bland. Ha, no wonder my son doesnt like it at all. Tomorrow, I am going to try to cook porridge with chicken stock. Will let you know how it goes.

I am not too sure how much water to use leh. I just do an estimation on the spot. I just use a handful of rice and quite a bit of water cos you need to boil for some time over the stove. I didn't use a slow cooker. I have bought one yet. I reckon a slow cooker will be useful esp when I have prepared loads of chicken stock now. What I intend to do is to throw the chicken stock and rice into the slow cooker and let it cook for 1-2 hrs. Will check out the price of the slow cooker first.

Hi everyone, it's been months I logged on!!! Been really busy at work & at home. Motherhood is really challenging. Time is no longer my own. Attached is one of my boyboy latest pic, he's 7.5mths already, wow ... time flies. Learning how to sit up by himself and can crawl 1-2 steps. Drooling a lot, now teething, his 3rd & 3th teeth.
641167.jpg

sunflower,

replied your email this morning already... I have no access to web mail in office now... so will reply if u any other questions when i go home later

mtdt,

I decided last minute not to enroll joelle first. Still feel its better that I teach her myself... I enrolled Samuel for the SM and JG this term. And I really thank God I only enrol Samuel. Each time I go to the SM class, I keep feeling its a waste of money hehhee.. cos my boy is too active to follow through the class still at 21 month old and not all the teachers in SM are good. Plus I always sit there feeling I can do all those activities myself even much cheaper and lesser stress

other mummies... updates? Not sure whether others have the same feeling..... I am going to make notes of the material and activities they do and do with J & S at home myself...
More important for me to learn...

JG yesterday was 2 hours... billigual class. Wow... I suddenly realised that my boy's chinese need to brush up much more... In the class, all of us including parents are not supposed to speak english... and cannot give translation for chinese words that the teacher speaks. I realise most children today speaks more of english....hehee... now I am trying to teach him to speak more chinese words more consciously. And he did learnt very fast... it was really fun. I am going to put J on waiting list for JG also...

Good Morning everyone!

Carebear, long time no "see"....

chrysalid, glad to find another school mate here
so, that makes me 4 yrs yr senior since i graduated in 93. ... making me feel old liao :p I havent had the chance to go back to the new campass to take a look though i have gone past that many times. if only they had moved to bishan during my time too cos i was staying at Toa Payoh when i was in jc! also have to travel a long way to bouna vista!
PM me pics of your home reno leh

How much did u spend on your reno? Looks like we cant spend much cos we may have to set aside quite a bit for the downpayment

poohy,

Thanks, received your email and replied you

SM:
Total 6 babies in the class. My boy was okay for the first 3/4 of class. Got 1 part he kept staring at the teacher instead of the TV screen. When he get his hands on the class materials, 1st thing is place into his mouth! **hiaz** That was the whole class's babies' 1st reaction. The last 10-15 mins, he got abit hungry, so cried when I refused to let him put the materials into his mouth.
They did alot of activites, flashcards categories etc. keke I got confused on what's the different activities about. But realised cards size very different from GD's specifications. He's not very interested in the computer flash cards - animals. But when show the cartoony songs, he will watch.

**hiaz** got the feeling that he's abit too young for the class and I felt the class was abit long to hold their attention. I personally was loosing concentration towards the end part, maybe also due to his fussiness! He's not really participating in the activities, I'm the one doing the activities and showing him.

But generally feel that its good as I'm not familiar with SM methods at all, so its exposure for me and gave me an idea how to go about doing activites and preparing materials for SM training.

Poohy, me too, thinking of writting notes and doing the activities and materials at home. Realised the materials are not difficult to prepare, time consuming though. But thing is I'm confused as to which activities is training for which area.

Vivi, Amy and Lyn, any comments/updates?

sunflower,

let me know what u would like to know about the SM class and I will do my best to share with u...
Btw, 99% of what you do in the class u just attended in yesterday will be done throughout the next 1.5 years or more I think. Each week its the same things but maybe done with different material

ya one of the most important thing is we mummies learnt. Once u know what each categories do and find time to do the material yourself.... u will know that till they are 2.5 years (or when the syllabus in the class change), u can save money by doing at home daily

Poohy,

do they do the same things and activities every term? now thinking should I continue for next term. When did you first enrol S into SM?

Poohy,

Great, we can make notes and compare. Heehee, wondering if the materials/activities are the same for all the classes? If not, good then we can learn more ideas & mthd.

Let me go back and pull out all my memory for the class and will check with you later

sunflower,

great idea.... how bout we go and write down all the activities and material done in the class each week and we will compare with each other ? then we will have a reinforcement of material preparation at home and will be able to do the activities much more effectively with our children at home..
Ok will go and compile the activities and material..

I sent Samuel to SM when he was 15 months old 2 terms ago. At that time he was vvvvv active and also cant sit through the class. I know from other parents' experience that if we let him go for a few more terms, he will slowly settle down and sit through but at the back of my mind, I always wonder what I wanna get out of sending him to the class itself. If I can do the material preparation, I can easily teach him and J at home at a fraction of the cost. In any case I suspend him for 1 term... and he had just restarted this term
From what I see in the 2 terms he attended, its the same activities each week...
I heard from my fren whose bb is in SM since young that its the same activities each week till now... her boy is almost same age as samuel... only diff is when they were still babies, there is a small exercise portion...
But for that, i think we are more structured following GD physically superb exercises.

But when they get older .. say 2.5 to 3 years above... i think there should be change of activities... afterall, at 3rd year onwards, they expect some output like recitation etc...
so definitely will change activities.... I was telling my hb, in order to maximise the training and cost, I should suspend S from the class till he is reach 3 years old... then i can learn the new activities to do and teach J myself...

SM,

thought of writing notes. But they had specified that no taking of notes leh.. Think im gonna bring a tape recorder. C how 1st.

Same as sunflower, 6 bb in a class. Think the teacher not that good n experience. She did not capture every1s' attention b4 starting each materials. Also, her pronounciation isnt clear also her singing is not clear too.

Me also has the same feeling as poohy that its a waste of $. My art & craft not good. Sigh! Dun know how to go about doing it my own. Hope the materials given out at PEC will be useful.

Poohy,

Great!
Let's exchange notes. Will compile tonight

Btw, how do we and how long can we suspend the term? Meaning suspend term, deposit still held with them?

ooh.. seems like mostly not v good reviews.

if u all note down the activties done... can share with me. thanks.

re: sm notes

no problem sharing the notes... let me go back and quickly compile first... my memory is failing... hehehee... plus i went out of the class 2 times cos samuel crying when I dun let him play with the door knob. But I know what they do cos already attended 1 term before...

Hmm for the teacher hor.. really agreed... many parents also complained the standard of the teacher drop these days... many very inexperienced. My hb told me the teacher for S's class v hesitant like dat.. I really think so too.. which makes me feel even more waste money hehee

Last time they used to have very good teachers trained in japan... but i heard from the others that they find these teachers too costly so sent back and recruit new ones to train and teach...

Vivi,

his sensei not bad. She will try to gather the bb's attention when she finds them 'straying'.
wow, she can flash very fast though, sometimes got slip also la.
overall, finds her ok.

morning mummies

re SM class - me too, v disappointed. maybe i had too great expectations of SM. firstly, the teacher cannot pronounce properly, read words incorrectly, some misses in flashing, not v familiar with her materials, cannot engage the class, cannot write properly (grammar error).

bb jake did pay attention in class, except for some looking around (bored) and roaming eyes at certain parts of the lesson. i guess it's becos he has done some of the materials at home. at least, for flash cards and speed reading - bb jake had completed all the stories for speed reading alphabet and prefix (we had one prefix story in class). i cannot imagine how he can sit through the rest of the speed reading materials... he won't concentrate esp since he has seen the stuff - this applies to his home teaching - he won't pay as much attention to the GD cards when it's flashed the second time.

other than that - the ESP (which i think is silly, but will be able to practise this with jake at home easily), memory linking, flash cards (their flash cards are very clip art type... cartoons vs. real images in GD - maybe it's good for bbs to be exposed to diff forms of the same thing), art and craft (quality not amazing) and toys (poor quality too - like what you get from the market, as compared to what we buy for our bbs - fisher price, leap frog...)

anyway, after the class, bb jake looked really bored... till we reached home, then he cheered up. ha ha....

but i did got some ideas on home teaching. i have just set up a study table and chair for bb jake, and will run thru his speed reading materials, pointing to the words, with the use of CDs. Have also ordered the sawako set, so he will be exposed to diff languages. i also got him a giraffe abacus - so i can teach him maths and counting (like what was done in SM).

sunflower,

good then. Ours does not gather every1 attention. And she will like flash, sing on her own delight. Forgetting that she is teaching. Mine also slips.

vivi - ha ha... since we are stuck with her... i think we should give her feedback after every lesson, and teach her how to teach... ha ha...

i will also need to remind her not to have her back facing bb jake.. she should alternate her position so the whole class benefits...

also, she should mention the purpose of the activity prior to introducing it. i.e., speed reading, ESP, memory linking... so we, as new parents, know the purpose of those activities. of cos, after 2 - 3 lessons, we will know better...

vivi, amy,

dun worry about seating position... each lesson, the teacher will reshuffle where the bb sits... so they wont sit in the same place... Everytime u go into the class, the teacher would place the name of the bb sitting in each respective seat there liao

its fortunate that at our bb's age, they are still not very mobile yet... hehee if they are already vv mobile... crawling/walking... will have more headache
hehee.. that's what happened to Samuel... I always look at my watch when I bring him for class last previous term... he likes to explore the material given and wont return...

amy,

i have the girrafe abacus too... how does the teacher teaches with the abacus? I hold J's hands and just count each bead.

poohy,

oh is it.. Then thats greatz. Cos the teacher focus at those sitting at the centre. Hence, i find my boy's attention not on her but at the mummy beside me.

sunflower - re courgette & swede, i did not intro these two vegs as i cannot find it in the local organic stores. as Ford is UK based, i think we should also consider introducing kai lan, bak choy, etc.

re karmel recipes, i have looked thru the book, but have yet to intro to bb jake - as i only intend to start at 9 months, cos the food is mainly western type...chicken, fish as main dish, vegs as side dish, spaghetti, sandwitches, etc. or cos, i will still customise the recipe so that i would have covered the food in stage 1 of weaning.

re retiring categories - i add new card into existing category when retiring - but for cards of diff size (Chinese cards), i add new category by itself, and continue to retire existing category separately until there are no more cards.

re porridge - i think i will start 8.5 months, so at 9 months, i can intro chicken and fish (stage 2 weaning).

re BBLP - i got from motherswork at Tanglin for $19. Amazon and Drugstore sells as well. i think i will need to get another one for downstairs as well for travelling.

yesterday bb jake communicated to me he wanted to poo poo... but we were at Toys R Us, and we ignored him as there was nothing we can do - Mr Potty is at home. He went in his diapers almost immediately. I felt bad, cos he communicated to me, and I did not make an effort to bring him to the loo. So in future, I will bring Mr Potty out.

today i am cloth diapering bb jake for training pee pee.... still experimenting...

vivi, amy,

my sensei tells us the activities prior to doing it. But this mummy cannot remember everything

hmmm. seems like we have slightly different activities, I did not have abacus session, and our SRM is from Alphabet 'N'

agreed with amy, the quality of some of the materials not fantastics. the SRM print very small and not clear but the Sawako set is much bigger than the ones I have.

btw amy, do you tried Sawako with Jake yet?
I tried yesterday, nearly dozed off, the speed so slow. But I was comparing it with speed reading. also its jap then followed by the foreign language. I don't understand at all.
Oh, the last set is out for order. Did you order?

I was thinking aiyo wasted money liao. But thinking on the good side, at least get some ideas on home teaching.

poohy, amy

where did you get giraffe abacus ?

hmmm not true sit in centre will be more attentive to teacher. The baby sitting beside got the centre table, but he kept looking at me! :p

amy,
thanks for answering all my questions

sunflower,

ya ya at least after attending the lesson, u will know what to do for home teaching..
I wrote down the things done liao plus the main thing Samuel did in the last previous term. Now I am quite excited abt doing my own material for Joelle.... But hor... most of the things are matching games...
I am looking out for good matching games these days...

Samuel never likes the sawako though I also try to show him... hehee even i myself not interested

sunflower,

i have yet to receive my sawako set. din order previously, but later, tot maybe should, as SM is also using. is the malay frog flash cards used in class from sawako?

re the final set - suffice - i just ordered as well. will put them in leaflets like what SM did.

re SRM - yes.. nippy nick.

i also think it's a waste of money... maybe will just finish this term, and join JG.

re: sitting in centre

sunflower, agree with u... if the stuff the teacher is interesting to the bb, he/she will look at that direction no matter where they sit
hehee... I am concerned with sitting position only becos i find it very squeezed sitting in the centres... but if sit at the side, my S will sneak off and go to explore the door, the teacher's material etc etc.... headache.

re: giraffe abacus

got it from toys rus... I saw some a really big one at learning thru play IMM... wanna get it in future... will be so fun
self indulgence again.. heehee

poohy, abacus set - the teacher just counted lo... show bb, counted 1 - 10, then 11 - 20. nothing fantastic la.

sunflower - toys r us.

poohy - yesterday i got a ride on from Cars cartoon from toys r us for jake. like thomas and frens one, but more interesting - with music and there's a compartment for handphone, lcd screen, and you can turn the steering wheel, unlike thomas and frens. same price - $60. now on discount with the coupon.

amy,

JG's great!!! u shd bring Jake for a trial... I just love it there and keep feeling so happy that Samuel finally got a place there. The only pity is for the weekend playclub they only accept 18mth and above. Else J will sure go there no need to think liao. The trials samuel attended were when he was below 18month and weekday playnest... it was sooooo fun. The most interesting thing I am looking forward to is.... when J turns 18 mth, there will be a time she and S can attend the same class... cos the playclub is 18m to 3 year old.... so fun for the siblings to attend the same class hehee

JG is well rounded class... and it foster social exposure unlike SM where there is not much interactions. I really like their edu-drama concept

U thinking of sending Jake for weekday playnest ah?

poohy, yes.. think JG will be more fun hor? SM now v commercialised, and no longer hold up to its reputation.

contemplating weekday playnest - cos i will not be able to send bb jake, but mil did mention she is happy to send him, but i dun think she will be able to sit in the class le... it will be such a fun experience, and i dun wanna ask my helper to sit in... maybe mum can sit in... but mum can't drive... hmm....

amy,

I see some of the bb in the weekday playnest accompanied by their maids too... its great bonding time for parent and child too. I wanna ask my mum to send S and J to the JG weekday from next year actually cos S needs to attend the Nursery 1... and I really like him to go JG... and at the same time, J will go to playnest or playclub. But, I am concerned abt the distance... its very tiring for them to travel to and fro orchard every day... the last time I bring S there on my own for the trial playnest during my ML, I was so peng san.... took cab there, then after class, walk from forums to orchard mrt to take mrt back to jurong west... then wait for bus to go back to my mum's place.. S knocked out the moment he get home hehee
The distance is the problem.

amy,

my class no malay frog flash cards. Not sure if in Sawako. I've not look through all the cards yet.

Yes, learnt put cards in A4 leaflets easier to flash
I'm also thinking just finish this term. Thinking of GUG. Poohy, any comments?
JG - long waitlist right?

poohy, : learning thru play IMM
thinking of getting the xylophone from there

they have wind chimes also, thinking of getting, My boy loves to see anything that's hanging from ceiling!