(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Stephanie,
thanks for the information

Re: Sleeping
Mich, you have the book by Dr WEissbuth rite? (think wrong spelling). Have u tried following his methods? K also sleeps 3x a day and finally his bedtime abt 7-8 pm. You try getting him used to a schedule first?

Yah, cannot take away his naps. The bb will get super cranky because he is overtired. I hate it when it happens. Nothing can stop him from crying .

How abt reading TRacy Hogg? Or the Sleep Lady System?

michele,
Like that, you be very xiong!

These 2 days, my son got cranky and this morning my MIL told me that my bb dun like the exersaucer and other toys and ask me to buy walker. i have already got 1 but leave at my mum's plc as he goes there every mon and fri....thought i have an exersaucer at home so leave the walker there to entertain him while at my mum's plc...... Imagine to buy another walker, then total got 2 walkers next time! Think my store will be packed! I think we can sooth him in other ways but she just get very affected when my son makes noise....

serene,

Hmm maybe u can explain to ur mil that walker may not solve the problem? Has ur mil really seen ur son in walker and it is effective?

My ger stay long in exesaucer, compared to walker. I think she enjoy the music and the colourful lights. Ever since she touches and grabs things now, she love to be in there

When she is in the walker for long, she makes noise. There was once when she was placed in walker, she started to walk backwards and screamed for rescue haha!

hi every1.

Organic Plain Rice Cereals

Any1 has any idea which brand carries this?

My boy will be starting his cereals tomorrow. So now a bit kan chiong....

The thread moved so fast.... no time to read.
Me on leave today... just came back fr the dentist.

Hi May!
Nice to "meet u"
welcome

afternoon mummies,

long time never log in liao...

Bb Ginelle is still on TBF... will be bringing her to bkk next week ..hope that she wont b so cranky while on the plane...
i have put 1 scoop of heize plain rice cereal into her EBM... have tried to spoon feed her ..wat lau..very messy..

Any mummies tried gaving avacodo to bb..coz my gal has aready tried tat.. wonder is it good??

Talking about jar food.. i saw lots of flavours for heinz.. is figs good for bb?? What about blueberries? Strawberries? I have yet to try all these. I am always on the safe side.. apple, banana, pumpkin, sweet potato, carrot, etc.

serene,
I will add some EBM. I will steam. If boiled, some nutrients will be lost. If boil, will let baby drink the boiled water... ;)

michele,
Maybe when he suckles, remove from latching when he's about to close his eyes. This might kick away the pacifier habit.

vivi,
There are a number of brands for rice cereals around. The difference is what are added into the rice cereals... Yesterday, I saw Barbara brand has rice cereals at TPY NTUC.

MOAP,
Avocado is very nutritious and good

wow tinklebell,
You on leave again ah...so shiok!

kk,
surprisingly when i put my boy in the walker, at least he can't walk but very fast, he knows to walk fw already. Usu baby who learns to walk in walker will walk backward 1st but he never walk backwards at all...He enjoys himself in the walker at my mum's plc. Then again, i dun wish to buy another walker at home.

lyn,

any ideas? I dun think i want bellamy cos it contain tocopherol. Dun know ifs its natural or synthetic.

Healthy times does not have plain rice cereals ah.. Think they have brown rice n others.

Im looking for those gluten free as well.

lyn:
thanks for e info. I wil check it out when got time. Hmm but abit far cos i stay in the west

Btw any idea what is the difference between plain rice porridge n plain rice cereal?

MOAP:
hey enjoy ur BKK trip. Avocado is good, contains alot of fatty acid

missk,
no lah. I learnt alot from the mummies here (poohy, lyn, amy etc) and at another forum where they very 'on' on GD & SM.
All the mummies very helpful
will answer all your queries.

moap:
avocado nice & nutritious. avocado milkshake even nicer ...yummy !

kite,

yup. No la.. Cos i wanna know the source. Whether its Nat or synthetic. If natuaral, then from where.

Same as Vit C.

Im not really into antioxidants.

vivi,
I think Barbara has plain rice cereals. hmm... but I did not read the labels for that yesterday. Tocopherol got 2 types - alpa or beta. Alpha is natural.
I saw some labels with "ascorbic acid (Vit C)". hmm... I haven't find out more details on that. "Ascorbic acid" sounds like chemical to me... ;)

kite,
I think porridge is not as fine as cereal.

sunflower,
Which forum? I wanna join also

lyn,

not necessary.. It depends.. Anyway, think i will just buy organic rice myself and do the cereals on my own..

Any idea where can i get those Short grains organic rice???

Ascorbic acid.. They do have natural. Tats y im thinking of writing in to the makers n check it out b4 giving my boy..

So stress now...

Yet to buy blender..

Re: Blender.

Any 1 can give suggestions??

lyn,

not necessary.. It depends.. Anyway, think i will just buy organic rice myself and do the cereals on my own..

Any idea where can i get those Short grains organic rice???

Ascorbic acid.. They do have natural. Tats y im thinking of writing in to the makers n check it out b4 giving my boy..

So stress now...

Yet to buy blender..

Re: Blender.

Any 1 can give suggestions??

kekeke
our june thread mums very on ... few of us join the foreign language CDs BP already.

lyn, you getting? saw your name above but not in list.

Afternoon mommies!

wow this thread sure moves fast!

Kite,
i oso jus introduced solids to my bb not long ago. fr wat i've read fr the other threads, ideally to give cereal during dinnertime (for wat reason that im not too sure of.. paiseh). for me i'll replace one of his meals with cereal. as im giving him Frisocrem so no need to add milk cos the cereal alr contains milk. but for brands like Heinz First Rice Cereal then u hv the option to add formula/ebm or jus water will do.

Fj,
hehe the way u said abt thick skinly jump into conversation sure is funny! :D

Wen,
wow really envy u leh... 8.6kg at 6mth is a v good weight!

Serene,
oh my boy recently oso abit cranky. he's now making new kind of "complaining" noises lor but then not really crying out loud. i oso suspect he may be teething but am not sure. anyway jus bought a tube of teething gel but hv yet to try. and yah like wat u've mentioned, his stool oso yellowish, soft/watery type... some more these few days he poo poo 2 times a day. i wonder if its due to the fact that recently he's been on 95% bm cos rejected bottle so nvr drink formula.

missk,
teething will lead to soft stool ah? abit relieved after hearing tat cos i was worried he's hving diarrhoea or something.

michele,
hmm.. maybe next time he gets up in the wee hrs u all try not to play with him? jus off all the lights and try to play some soothing music. oso try not to talk to him. im not sure if its effective but last wk my bb oso got up at 4am and was happily yakking away. so i tried all the above and he managed to get back to dreamland after a while.

peng, tinklebelle (hope i din miss out anybody)
thanks for the warm welcome

btw ladies.. i jus bought a walker last night fr kiddy palace. got the brand mamalove at $69. but after we assembled and let bb try then realised bb is too short! his legs cant really touch the floor though we've alr adjusted the seat to the lowest (unless we got it wrong and it cld be even lower??). hmm quite disappointed cos tot can let him hv some entertainment but seems like gotta wait for him to grow abit taller first.

sunflower,
Did u get fr Pat? If so, then should be the same brand.

serene,
ya loh...on leave today and tomorrow. lazing at my mum's place now.

anyone on leave tomorrow? can go jalan jalan :p

tinklebell,

yes, organiser is Pat.
wow so good, you clearing your leave?

go shopping, Robinson start 20% sales today from 6.30pm for members, think tomorrow also.
JL expo sales starts today.

maysatch,
Same here, my boy poo twice yesterday! Quite worried, I'll see whether the same for today....

Oh you didn't bring bb along when buying the walker huh? Can bring there and change? Change to other models which are of lower level? Mine can adjust 2 levels. My son now on lower level, but i think he can go for the higher level already. I measure him today, he's about 67cm.

tinklebell,
Wow good hor, 2 days at 1 go....so shiok! I'm going to save up the leave for dec end trip to genting, also wants to bring fw some leave to next year, if not next year not enough to use.

Hi serene,
actually my boy been poopooing twice a day for the past 5 days le... all yellowish n soft type.

oh silly mommy n daddy... din think of bringing bb along when we got the walker. but think we'll jus wait for him to grow taller abit cos quite troublesome to disassemble and bring it back to exchange.

btw, how u measure ur bb har?

sunflower:
usually u can buy avocado milkshake from hawker centre. i know NUS canteen, boonlay & Alexandra got sell. hehe
i do my own milkshake too but now not anymore cos lazy

maysatch:
my ger poo 3 times last wkend n next day poo 2 times. So link to teething ah? cos i m abit worried but i think its normal cos she is alrite leh. Last time she poo once a week, now is like 2x a day. Normal? how old is ur boy now? mine turning 6mths on 6 dec

kite,
how you make the avocado milkshake? I try once le, taste terrible. wonder if outside they add sugar? usua I make banana milkshake, I add 1 bottle of Yakult, very nice, not too thick.

maysatch,
I use a measuring tape to measure him while he lies down. Actually roughly measure, not very accurate as u know bb move about....

kite,
my god! yr gal poo once a week last time??? my boy's highest record is 3 days never poo, that time im already worried so much! Just now i just call home, he poo again once....something is wrong leh, yesterday poo twice, y poo again today....last time on average he poo on alternate days....is it normal?

kite,
ic. yah missk mentioned that it cld be due to teething. anyway except when he's in his "complaining" mood... otherwise he's ok ie can yak, laugh, play.. tats y we nvr bring him see pd. my boy turning 5mth tomr

Hello okipoki! Thanks for the welcome

hi maysatch and welcome
For giving solids, i think its best to give before 6.30 or 7pm. So its either lunch or dinner bah

kk, re weaning, we can intro blueberries and strawberries, but only after you intro other fruits such as apples, pears, peaches, mango, avocados. and remember a 4 day rule... on food for 4 day to rule out allergy.

may, warm welcome!

kite, teething babies tend to poo bit more, and the poo is yellowish grainy. will go on for 1 wk plus before teeth pop out. at least, this is my experience from bb jake.

td fed bb jake apple, his 2nd fruit... he loved it... hee hee....

tinklebell, wow... you on leave again? td i working from home. so hot....

just now watched barney vcd with bb jake... he bored of bb einstein liao. got leapfrog as well, but guess too advanced for him now.

vivi - think brown rice paradise should have your organic rice.
wow... you got time to grind your own ah? so on...

sunflower, thanks .. u are paying it forward
Do u have the thread for foreign lang CD bulk purchase? When will be delivery be done? Or the BP is already closed?

May, I am also not very sure. I think so wor. Dun want to quote wrongly. Then again, my son's stool is always soft leh and a bit watery. Is it normal? Also, he can poo a few times a day leh. U mean the babies here poo only once a day ah?

Wah se ..how come all the babies here so tall? My son is only 63 cm. A shortie! How to find gf next time?

amy,

i have checked with brown ricE Paradise. They do not carry plain rice.

Was thinking to intro plain rice b4 brown rice to my boy... Want him to have a feel 1st b4 switiching to brown rice..

Well, am on leave now thats y.. But SAD thing is my leave gonna end soon and i have to go to work next mon...

So still got time to do these preparation works.

amy,

Is barney vcd interesting and good? I wanted to buy for my son too but it's quite expensive and many types. Which series is good, what to buy 1st?

sunflower:
usually u can add milk or soyamilk to make e avocado tastier
Usually i wil use Philips blender to do that
Yummy.

Serene:
hehe yes my ger poo once a week cos she is on TBF so its normal. But now everyday like ur case, poo twice, i called bk just now. She just poo again. Think teething bah?

Missk:
recently chloe also poo alot ah. Krist also rite...hmm seems like our babies pooing so much here. haha LOL u so cute n funny. chloe 64cm on last visit. Maybe chloe n krist can be bf/gf.

missk,
my ger also poo arnd 2 times a day on average and its the watery type. But she is on TBF so donno if thats the reason y she poo more. When she was younger poo even more, can be 4-5 times a day!

vivi:
wow u mean ur on ML til now then go back to work?!
Me too i intend to introduce plain rice 1st then brown rice n later part then mixed both.

I thinking grind my own plain rice but dunno got time anot. i think best is homemade? where to buy those plain rice grains?

kite, but chloe still 1 cm taller than krist. Then she wears heels...how they kiss? haha

celeste...yah lor....mine still watery leh. issit becos of our milk?

serene, mine is barney sing and dance, barney nursery rhyme, barney colors and shapes, barney counting. think quite interesting... bb jake likes it... cos more engaging than einstein. but i kinda like leapfrog... watched one yesterday... cartoon on alphabet factory... maybe cos the resolution clearer - DVD mah....

vivi - wah.. on leave so good...
have you checked vivo city? think they might carry, cos the organic food stuff section quite large, though the fresh food section is quite limited. i cannot find organic sweet potatoes there, but found some at the marketplace at city hall.