(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

fi: hey ..how many power naps does he take per day? How's the walker so far? You are tempting me!

mum2b: I also have to wake up a few times a night. Quite tiring rite? Until, I dun have energy to express at all. In the end, my MS dwindles. Haiz!

Tinklebell, yes..life is indeed very very short. Sometimes, life is also unpredictable. I always tell myself to treasure my hubby and not to scold him too much. But then hor, cannot help it leh sometimes. How? wahahha

okasan: I brought Krist to Phuket last month. Didnt bring so much cos I bought the diapers there. ALthough diapers are light, they take up some space. You can buy the diapers in mysia. Cheaper somemore wor! Broght his clothes, toiletries and also medicine. Just in case mah. Where r u going to stay? In a hotel? Sometimes, I bring a used linen to put over the mattress so that he is on familiar grounds. I think serene's list is very comprehensive.

Amy, hey .. does Jake wake up in the night? You used to co-author? What did u used to do?

tinklebell,

i will give the zoo outing a miss. Logistics problem. My bb is not at my place. And it's also his naptime, so he will either be sleeping or very cranky if i keep him awake.

missk,

not all diapers are cheaper. I checked Mamy Poko in Langkawi, more ex leh!

amy,

the organic stuffs u got from west coast ? which part ?

missk,

Me too! Sometimes i don't treat my hubby nice also, scolded and grumbled at him! Can't help it too, on alot of things, he don't do up to my standard!

I guessed i'm not a very sweet wife though... :p

mtdt,
When I went in to vote for my friend's baby... I saw your boy... I tot he looks familiar... kekeke...

Serene,
WElcome back...
Glad that you have enjoyed your trip to Bintan. Which resort did you stay in this time?

oo... I read your post about your FIL. So touching and I teared... Your FIL sounds like a very wise and nice man... Haiz... I am meeting many people fighting against cancer. It's getting so common.

kite,
I dunno when I wanna start.. kekeke.. haven't plan. Last nite, went to NTUC at TPY. I cannot find organic brown rice there
. I bought rolled oats instead. Tried to cook it for myself this morning... hmm.. gotta adjust a bit by blending longer. Maybe I will start with oatmeal.
I will use spoon feeding. Aloysius can take the spoon now cos he has been drinking water from spoon.
I think we gotta start from little by little. Cannot start with too much.

Lok,
Langkawi is a place for tourists...

oki,

Wow! $14.40/pck is cheap! R u referring to M size? I've bought once at giant, price @$16.80, is promo price, cheaper than normal price.

serene/tinklebell,

My friend passed away at 19 due to cancer. And doctor couldn't explain why he got the disease and stated that it was actually a very rare one. He himself had not really seen it before

My dad passed away due to blood cancer last year. Was also a rare type of cancer. And he got admitted into hospital due to pain in the bones (i suspect spread to bones already) and he passed away in hospital 5 DAYS LATER. So u know how shocked and sad our whole family was?? We were still discussing about chemotherapy for him, etc etc. I think he was admitted on a wed, and sat still fine when we visited him. But i got a call from my mum early sun morning saying he was in ICU. That was around 8 am. 11++ am my dad passed away

lyn,

I stayed in Bintan Lagoon resort hotel. I think that's 1 of the biggest resort in bintan island.

Sorry about my story that affect you...yes he's a very nice man who everyone knows him, likes him esp kids. He really play hard with his grand nephew and niece. During that time, i wrote alot of sms to encourage him and he always say nice things to encourage us too, don't want us to worry about him. Even on the day he left, he leave quietly alone in the early morning....never wait for the wife or sons to come....so sad...I know him, he rather not trouble us, so took his leave early...

Are ur babies SUPER cranky when teething?? My ger cried non stop just now and i have to carry her for around 2 hrs!!

She just recovered from diarrhoea and mild fever 2 days ago

Saw two small teeth popping up below. Sometimes i thought i saw other white spots elsewhere too!

Lok,
No problem... hope to meet up with u soon

serene,
oh dear...i also teared when i read abt your FIL.... so touching.

kk,
5 days only? that's a short time!! must be v hard on your family. just in aug, my close uncle passed away. he struggled for 10 over yrs although dr gave him 6 mths to live only. we kind of anticipated his death but still find it hard to accept the fact. even til his last breath, he refused to give up hope. we were by his bedside when he died and witnessed that.

Okasan:
ok, as long u check e labels n ingredients of the commercial jars shld be fine

Fi:
Ya since our babies are TBF, hv to slowly adjust to FM. My ger is allergy to similac but so far i hv tried enfaclac samples on her n she is fine but like abit of rashes on her face leh, cant conclude leh cos only monday i wil give her enfalac sample.
For e avent magic cup, better to buy 3 mths or 6mths one?

Nowadays dunno y. at times my ger wil wakeup at abt 4 to 5am n then dun want slp, want to play. FAINT. then i hv to carry her fr 5 to 6 am n stand at e balcony to let her breathe fresh air n later she wil slowly fall aslp. lol. i think i abit immune to waking up at nite even i hv to work.

Lyn:
wat is difference between brown rice, cereal n oatmeal? in terms of heatiness n nutrients?

Amy:
u stay in WC rite? i m staying in jurong. which organic shop u referring to near ur hse?
so 6mths onwards, u did already introduce puree fruits ah. i thinking 6mths just give brown rice oni? sufficient? Btw oatmeal n oatmeal cereal are different stuffs rite? actually shld we give brown rice or rice/white cereal for 1st start?
For fruits n veg, i think i wil steam n grind instead of blend. no difference rite?

Highchair:
is highchair really neccessary? at 1st think of buying a one but i thinking use e bumbo seat for feeding purpose.

kk,

Oh 5 DAYS is too fast! That's very rare case, it must be a big shock to yr family. Even my FIL has no symptons b4, the 1st time he was admitted to hospital was due to down with serious flu and he fainted. At first the doctor suspect his blood pressure rised/heart attack, then told us his lungs were bloated, congested with fluids and required to withdraw them immediately. Then few days later, the lab test came back saying that the fluid contained cancer cells! So from there, he suffered another 2 1/2 mths and passed away! His case is also a rare one cos the doctor cannot detect where the cancer is/come from. He did the scope test and MRI also but cannot locate the cancer primary. It's called "Cancer of unknown primary".....it's hard to convince all of us, so my FIL did not proceed for the chemo immediately, instead he took a type of medication (oral), is quite suffering too, he has totally lost his appetite then....sigh!

re: jar food
Is it advisable to use jar food? i cant help comparing it to canned food. have been resisting buying that cos of that reason. any comments on this? i see the labels , it says no preservatives but how is it that food can be maintained so long and not frozen? i think to be able to preserve so long, the sugar content must be quite high?

kk,

Re: teething

My boy has his 1st tooth during 2 mths old. Until now, the 1 and only 1....dunno when the next 1 will start growing...??? But my cousin told me soon, about this period, 5 mths onwards. He's cranky too sometimes, "err err err....." but never cry. Stand also err err err, sit down also err err err, dunno what he wants???

I've read in babycenter.com, they say besides the teether for her to bite, gave her some apple sauce does help to sooth her pain...can try?

tinklebell/serene,

That is what so worrying now.. cancer with is rare and unknown??!!

But they did give us the name of the cancer in the death cert and my brother went to do an internet research, and found that the cancer can happen due to breathing in of too much petrol and related chemicals. My dad used to run his own car workshop. Maybe that's why. Sigh!

But we all believe that my dad was actually fortunate, because having passed away, he won't have to go through any pains of chemotherapy. Some patients, as we know, drag for many many years. Energy and money exhaustive.

Ok, let's not talk about this anymore!! So sad!

kite, tinklebell, lyn,

Thanks for yr condolence. My FIL passed away in March this year and i've given birth in June. He did not manage to wait for another 3 mths or longer. sigh, this is the only regret we all have! He never get to see his grandchild.

missk, jake wakes up once, sometimes twice at night. most often, he wakes up at 12 - 1. co-author - i write articles and book chapters. i am an academic and a researcher.

kite, i stay in WC. there is one organic store at WC market. sells all sorts of fruits and veg, and even organic milk powder and cereals. but i still need to check whether the store is certified. last nite, i got my organic stuff from vivo cold storage - naturally marketplace.

6 months onwards, should intro puree fruits/veg alongside cereals. jake had plain cereals for 7 days already. he should be moving on to fruits and veg. i have planned his menu for the next two weeks.

re brown vs. white rice cereals - i think it's ok to start with brown, although white is easier to digest. but if you are into healthy food, maybe just give bb brown rice, no need to give white rice?

high chair - yes, i think it is really necessary. else bb won't know it's meal time. i only sit jake on his highchair during meal time. otherwise, i won't place him there. before meal, gotta clean hands, pray, then mom mom. after meal, clean hands, wait for me to clear dishes, then transfer him out of his high chair.

serene,

Aiyoh, my ger also errr errrr haha.. my hubby always thought she want to shit shit, i say no lah, she shit shit where got make such sound kekeke...

She angry she make that sound, she unhappy she make that sound, she eat porridge halfway also make that sound. Sigh.

Apple sauce.. now i wouldn't want to feed her any jar food at the moment as she just recovered from diarrhoea. And i dun wanna her to start another round of flu and cough (although i am not sure whether feeding those will lead to that). Because my colleague whose ger teething, suffer from very very bad flu and cough and fever.

kk, try some teething tablets? hylands is good, i heard.

tinklebell, me too... think food jar like canned food. but no choice if you cannot find the food you want in organic form. i bought some organic pea and squash food jar for jake. cos v diff to find it in fresh form.

Lyn:
oic. but u wont be delay starting rite? Actually i bought the HT organic brown rice fr BP. There is a BP going on now, u can purchase thr BP if u r interested. But i ever saw certain ntuc selling HT brands. Maybe u can try other oulets

Yes hv to try bit by bit. Even a taste of it by our babies considered start hor hehe.
Btw heard oatmeal trigger allergy. better start cereal or brown rice 1st. i m stil deciding whether to start white cereal or brown rice 1st. See how. u? confuse on tis part leh.

Anyone can clarify this?

kk, hylands teething tablets - you can get from drugstore.com. maybe you post in WTB - some mummies got from previous sprees. just put in bb mouth and it will melt. but disclaimer - i have yet to try it for jake, even though i have one to stand by - cos jake dun need that. even teething, can still play, eat, and sleep well.

kite - the HT oatmeal cereals which jake is taking is wheat free - hence will not trigger allergy related to wheat. remember to stay on the 4 day rule for your cereal to rule out allergy.

amy,

my ger can also play, eat and sleep well. Hmmm, i am not sure her crankiness is due to teething, or because she want to sleep at my mil place (which i hope NOT!!)

amy,
i wonder if the teething tablet works for adults? kekeke.... got a bad wisdom toothache cos the tooth seems to be erupting out of the gums!!!! i dont really want to take painkiller for that... heee tempting me to get that to try! :p

i'm wondering what is the thing that keeps the food jar fresh cos if it has water content, it's sure to spoil easily??? that's what i thought.

kite,
for avent magic cup, according to sunflower 3 months above one has soft rubber spout,the one i bought 6 months above, hard like rock...but can see his little tooth's mark on it.anyway he dont know how to use it yet, so the spout has retired into its drawer.

havent replied u on the uno pump yet cause am considering getting 2nd hand medela mini pump.uno quite expensive..anyone use medela mini pump? good?

agree that highchair is essential for discipline at meal times. dont want to play chasing games to feed him..but mine is still a bit big for him, stuff pillow also he purposely slide down, so he looks like he's going to slide beneath the table.purposely one..this mischievous boy.

kk,tinklebell and serene,
sorry to hear all the sad stories...

serene and kk,
my boy went through the err..err...phase follow by cranky phase, then one day the tooth appear.now he's back to his mischeovous self..

missk,
i've heard not so good things about using walker so was quite concern at first. stuff pillow etc. but now he support himself better and can walk foward in it so i'm more relief.i think adjusting it at right height is important so that he can walk, instead of tip toe or push.my boy take about 3 naps a day.

amy,
i know which organic store u refering too cause i stay at WC too
what kind of research are you into?

any comments on which FM is less heaty?

kk,
I agreed with you, it maybe a blessing in disguise that both yr dad and my FIL dun have to suffer as much compared to other cancer patients.

Don't scare me, teething can lead to having flu, fever, cough??? So far, my son is in gd health.... Can you give yr ger some pao sheng or english barley water after she recovered from her diarrhoea? Heard that when teething, the body temp may rise and may have fever? So give them abit of liang stuff may help?

tinklebell,

I also have doubt with the jarred food earlier but since it has been in the market for so long and so many ppl had tried them, it's recommended good for babies, i think should be safe and good?

Fi,

My ger errrr very very long liao haha.. and today cranky only. Saw her two teeth yesterday.

My ger on wyeth and she is ok. I added rice cereal to her milk too. But one thing to note is that wyeth can be very fattening, that's why mummies dun like wyeth. For my case, all my nieces and nephew on wyeth, so no harm trying. Now stage 2 liao and ger feeding well. So no point in changing. My ger super sensitive, once we change the powder, she dun drink liao.

serene,
My ger is drinking barley water almost everyday now. My mil will boil for her. Last 2 days bobian, my mil got to boil ling yang for her to drink. After that it really bring down her fever. Else if depend on paracetamol, i dunno whether her fever will come and go or not. What happens was i fed her fever medicine (in her milk) sat 3 am (temperature 38.1 deg).. sun morning ok.. but evening shoot again, and always maintain higher than 37 deg. Her body felt warm. That's why we decide to brew ling yang for her to take. And it works

Fi... wow... i doing advertisement for the organic store... it's located at blk 721 next to WC Sheng Siong. but like i said - i have yet to check whether it is certified. but seemed like it, cos whole store is organic concept. yesterday when i dropped by, it's closing, so no time to interview the lady boss. if you happen to drop by, please ask them for the certification.
ah... i am doing research in services marketing and crm... recently also working on some elearning projects.

tinklebell, maybe the tablets will work on adults also. can try? see this link for more info:
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=77190&catid=48825&trx=PLST-0-CLOSE-MATCHES&trxp1=48825&trxp2=77190&trxp3=1&trxp4=0&btrx=BUY-PLST-0-CLOSE-MATCHES

kk, dun think your ger wanna sleep at your mil la... mummy so cute...

serene, tinklebell, think baby food jar is ok, but of cos, if you can, prepare fresh is better.

serene,
my boy had fever too when teething so i gave paracetamol once, then fever came down already.his stomach also feels bloated so i rub a bit of that oil and gave something like gripe water. all my mil and mother's remedy.actually glad my mil around that time cause being a first time mom i was a bit fretful and felt assured of mil's assurance.

actually after that mil's episode my relationship with mil has improved dramatically. now we can discuss and debate over my boy's day care details

amy,
must go interview that shop ah? say we are from june mummies gang? wah ha ha...

hi mummies !
sorry i have been away for so long, sooo busy with work ...s till busy but though i'd come in to say hi

my girl has finished her 6-in-1 jabs and she's 8.7kg at 5 mths ! heavy girl !!
see many of you have been/are taking trips ! so fun ! i am going to kl with my girl in Dec. we're flying so i'm hoping she wont make too much noise on the plane !!!

amy,
Agreed, fresh one is definitely better. Just now, i've bought a papaya, intend to scrab some and feed him.

Imagine, one of my girlfriends can even offer instand porridge to her son. Her hubby bought those packet ones from japan...

kk,
Yes i agreed that sometimes chinese medicine works better than western's esp on small kids. When i'm young, my mum also feed us ling yang when we got fever.

kite: how much u paid for the bed?

kk, do u know of good bone cancer doctor in Sg? My fren needs one now.

Re:diapers
I am not sure abt the price of mamy poko in langkawi. I just buy the diapers overseas when I need lor. Otherwise, i must lug so many things.

serene: same!!! lol ... sometimes my hubby cant meet my expectations. lol ...sounds so demanding hor. haiz ..marriage really requires a lot of patience.

Fi, 3 naps of half hour each?

Amy, wow ..researcher ...so cool! Very interesting. U work from home?

missk,
roughly about that.like very little right.that's why evening 7-8pm also need to nap.sometimes 9 plus still need to nap. then wake up 10 plus play a while before sleeping.

missk,
If you want an oncologist, I can recommend you one... My cousin went to him. I think he's very good...
PM me if you interested.. He's in Mt. E.

Serene,
Wah.. Instant porridge for baby ah...
I am not so sure about those jar organics ones. Still thinking about them.. Although they are stated no salt, no sugar, no preservatives added... I am still not sure if I wanna give Aloysius.

kite,
I haven't plan exactly when to start... kekeke... I think no hurry since he's TBF... My friend started her TBF boy at 8 months...
I see... I thought you bought the organic brown rice that need to cook type. I am not sure if I wanna give Aloysius food from jar. I have doubts...

hmm... I just went to browse Dr. Sears' website. Oatmeal is for 9-12 months. 6 months starter food will be bananas, pears, rice cereal, apple sauce. http://www.askdrsears.com/html/3/T030500.asp

kk,tinklebell and serene,
feel sad when hear all your stories...
hiaz...

amy,
oh, I saw that shop. passed by last week. but shop was closed. the block adjacent to hong leong finance.

kite,
For your infor, from Dr. Sears' website:

Delay introduction of solid foods.
Mature intestines are better able to screen out potential allergens and keep them from entering the bloodstream. If you feed your infant solid foods (especially those containing protein, such as wheat, soy, and dairy) before the intestinal lining is mature, food allergens can seep into the bloodstream, causing baby to build up antibodies to those allergens and later become allergic to those foods. When you do start solids, introduce the least allergic (lowest protein) foods first, such as fruits, vegetables, and rice. Wait until at least eighteen months before introducing potentially-allergic foods, such as egg whites, tomatoes, shellfish, and peanut butter . Make citrus fruits the last fruits you introduce. Also, if you're formula-feeding, discuss with your doctor the use of hypoallergenic formulas (a partial whey hydrolyzed formula), such as Alimentum or Nutramigen. Avoid soy formulas . Also, delay introducing cow's milk products until at least a year of age. By twelve months of age, your child's intestines are mature enough to screen out most of the food allergens.

serene,
thanks for your list...really comprehensive leh

I'm staying at a hotel with kettle to boil water...but am wondering if let baby drink foreign country's water, will baby "shui tu bu fu" or not loh....

missk,
ya, we were also thinking of buying diapers at malaysia instead of having to carry so many pieces along....but in this case, we will have to carry the remaining unused diapers back singapore after the trip...so the choice is either to carry before the trip or after the trip

kite,
my baby is on oatmeal liao..bought the HT oatmeal for him...no soy and no wheat, so don't have to worry abt trigger allergy....in fact, he's now having 2 solid meals a day, from 3 choices of heinz rice cereal, HT brown rice cereal or HT oatmeal cereal....

today, just intro him to HT organic carrot ( baby food jar)....I tasted the carrot puree, not sweet at all.....