(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

lyn,

I get my hb to carry Joelle when I wanna flashed cards to her. Alternatively, she will be lying down. Most of the time she will be willing to go thru the hundreds of flashcards i flashed per session.... at times she will look away though especially recently... so i just take note and change material lor

I may be enrolling joelle into SM next term too... she will be having sibling discount ... so i thought might as well.. but cant join amy's time leh cos samuel have swimming ending at 2:30pm so cant rush in time.... I will put joelle in swim class too... next term she is above 6 months liao can go class

re: JG

the wait list super long!!! I put samuel on their weekend wait list for months... they told me 3-6 months so i guess long waiting to go...

poohy,
Wow, u actually flash 100 cards to joelle each session? Wouldn't it be too much for her to absorb? I only flash a few each time, thinking that my son will not absorb so much and most of the times, he look away, around, at this age, hard to concentrate leh....

serene,

err 100 cards means .. different things not just words leh.... 10-12 english single words, 10-12 chinese single words, 12 cards from san zi jing, 27 maths dots cards to form 9 equations, 10 maths dots cards for quantity, 30 BITS cards. This is her normal single session cards.. total should be ard 100 cards or so.

Sometimes I will do extra 200 cards for image training.

As long as she is not cranky, look away I will show her the cards. If she is cranky I will delay my session with her till evening when she is in better mood. My aim is... even if she did not absorb/"learn" or remember everything i flash... at least, it will help stimulate the brain ... i use it as a form of image training ... I find that the more cards I flash, the faster I flash them... normally at first my speed will also be a bit sluggish .. hehee especially early morning... maybe my internal system still starting up lol
But if i flash more cards and she is also receptive, I find I can flash v fast..
And I know the faster it is, the more conducive it is for her right brain stimulation

The right brain, once activated, is supposed to take in information at high speed and in quantity mah...absorbing like a sponge.. that's what I thought lah. I dun mind if she only remember or learn 10% of the stuff though I think prob not given our babies' photographic memory.

Besides, after my experience with Samuel.. I found that this is the time to flash as much as I can leh.. and of course she is receptive also lah
Else once they are mobile, crawling, creeping, walking,... really u will find it 1000 times harder to get their attention. There comes a time where they are more interested in exploring everywhere else other than seeing u flash cards... hehee... Samuel is like dat for almost 6 months... I was finding it so tough and at times disheartening to TRY to flash to him especially after spending so much time preparing the things.... then I let him be... cos physical program is even more important... so I let him be natural lor... explore all he want, crawl, creep all he wants... while I slowly try to reintroduce the sessions to him... and now he is back at regular flashcard session liao... though at the computer lah... cos he is tooo active to sit there wait for me to juggle my cards
Even with powerpoint, I need to open all my presentations beforehand else he wont be patient enough to wait for the computer to load them up...

lyn,

just saw what u said abt Aloysius wanting to stand etc. think its natural for their current age.. J also wanna stand all the time... hmm.... if Aloysius is more interested in picture/BITS, just do more bits lor!
Its afterall image training and right brain stimulation mah
Slowly reintroduce the words cards... J has not reached the state where she is not interested in words cards at all .. though i expect soon cos a few times this week I find her looking elsewhere for a moment. Last time with Samuel, I will flash a series of BITS then slot in a set of words card in between hehee
I found that with that he will look at the word cards too.

If still dun work, then do more physical training like cross pattern crawling lor.... its even more important
cross pattern crawling grows the brain ..

for the number of BITS to show daily... i think in the book How to give your baby encyclopedic knowledge by GD... it also recommended 10 different categories of 10 cards in each set each day. The categories are very well defined in the book.

In shichida, I think the instructor mentioned to me that they flashed each set of cards once only leh.... then cycle back if the bb is insterested or after a period of time...

btw, dun feel disheartened ok... like any others, this home learning journey is one full of ups and downs for us... we will crack our head together for ideas and support each other to engage our babies..

Sunflower,

Pillow.. think maybe when my ger hits 1 yr old?? Dunno leh haha.. everything will come naturally... so see how first :p

was there a list of msn earlier on?
can anyone post the list or pm me? TIA
I just applied my MSN account not long ago

btw, does anyone knows how long the moderator will keep this thread alive?

Mummies:
Busy at work today. No time come in.

sunflower:
y dun u leave ur msn acct here so that we mummies can add u in?

kk:
hmm so far i didnt stay any of the NZ hotels u mentioned. lol no comments. but since u r joining tour, sure very nice one, dun worry.

MTDT:
ur boy so cute n adorable. Luffing so heartily

Fi:
Ya now i dare not drink iced water esp at nite. probia liao. Hmm see how loh. My HB just tell me again up to me but i feel like continue but at the same time my mind tell me not to cos too troublesome n tired. most probably wil stop after 6mths. u?

sunflower:
my ger also dropping hair behind until got 1 big patch botak. hehe

Dropping hair:
i m stil dropping alot of hair since 4mth onwards. when wil it stop? i scare drop until botak! lol

kite,

i got feedback that grand chancellor is great! But hor, when i was in perth, grand chancellor really horrible haha.. small without any view.

kite,

U have so much milk and u stop.. very sayang leh.. heehee.. why not continue? U have come this far liao :p My colleague has soooo much milk, until now bb coming 9 mths still got milk leh. Initially she told me 6 mths she stop. She continue till now and tell me 1 yr then stop. Wa sai, i think she never stop le.

poohy,lyn,amy - like to check do we need flashcards holder? why?

saw a BP on this. dunno the reason behind it.
tot flash finish will keep rite??

kite,
i've too many reasons to continue BF, so i'll continue even though very tired.

recently, my boy wakes up at 3-4am. i try to pat him to sleep, if pat for very long still cannnot sleep then i let him drink.the whole process will take 1 hr, then half-1 hr later its time to wake up for work, then sometimes he'll wake up 10 min before i leave for work (time for next feeding!) i'll quickly let him drink too before i rush off to work.

last time he'll only wake up at 5 plus am so i could feed,pump and prepare for work all at one time, but now he's changed. so so tired..everyday doze off on bus to work.

mummies, do yr babies still wake up middle of night to drink milk? during weekend i shall not get up when he wakes up in middle of the night and see what happen.

kite,
my hair still dropping still quite bad but i notice not as alarming as before.i've quite little hair to begin with so now my hair is noticeably lesser and fringe can hardly cover the forehead. want to change hairstyle but dont dare to chemically treat till stop drop hair, so have to live with it.

FI,

me too.... not much hair liao
My hair is like a dried bush like dat .. i dun dare to go rebond or anything liao cos scared drop even more... and i also dun have much hair in the first place... plus after birth of my son last year, already drop alot...sigh my gynae did tell me maybe PILFOOD will help... i bought and eat some but not consistent (keep forgetting to eat) so cant comment on the effectiveness...

MTDT..

I bought the flashcard holders leh. its not used in either GD or shichida lah... but i got so many flashcards so I gathered can use it like a poster mah

lyn,

the SM staff called me regarding samuel's classes yesterday... I enquired abt J's class available timing... so share here for your reference...

springleaf - sat 2:30pm, sun 10:45am
hdb - sat 2:30pm, 6pm, sun 10:45am, 4:15pm

I may sign up at the sat 2:30pm timeslot same as Amy and vivi... cos this is the only timeslot that coincide with S's available timeslot. So each week the 2 siblings will have lesson together.. hehee.. me and hb will take turn to accompany each one inside...

Fi,
ya loh.. hair dropping a lot. i dont dare to comb my hair these days esp after washing.
i use to have a lot of hair ... now after so much hair has dropped, hair kind of look more "normal" haha!

sunflower - tat time amy mention abt the fees...

think she paid $1.3k... but 300 is admin fee.
so i think it's abt $1k for the class.

u also gian to enrol for SM huh?

sunflower...

I dunno whether hdb good or springleaf good... I am still considering ... last term S's class was at springleaf... though v attractive to go hdb hub instead hor... got more shopping there hahah

I cant remember off hand exactly how much is the class leh.... but if i din remember wrongly.. its $850++ for 1 term course fee, $300 refundable deposit, $150-200 for the parents class if u r signing up for the first time. This parents class fee is refundable if ur child attended 4 terms. Total I think if u sign up for the first time, should be paying $1.2k or more cos the above course fee have not include gst.

For siblings signing up like J's case, i think do not need to go parent's class and also the 5% discount on course fee. Hope i din remember wrongly.. maybe Amy can correct me

think 1 class should be able to hold 5-6 bb... S's class last term only 3 bb including him! Some teachers really very popular leh can always see their class full

poohy,
Wow really peifu. I never really study on how to flash the cards to my son. Except, i bought those cards, A for apple, B for bear ....and so on, and those little booklets of colours, animals, shapes to show him...

TGIF! Can't wait for weekend to come, thinking to take 1/2 day leave later and do my personal things, trim hair, go medi/pedi(the pckg i bought last time gonna expired soon). Taka square has toys fair, tempted to go there and see also...

poohy,
Do you feel very rush when flashing the cards since gotta do them fast?? I think I have this feeling that it's very rush... Maybe Aloysius can sense it and dislike flashcards now?? My friend told me about this very chim "wave theory". Even baby is not looking, it's fine to flash... **scratch scratch**

Yes, the mentality is flash 1000 cards and it's fine if baby absorb only 10%
I read an example in Shichida book, by one year old, a child already exposed to 10,000 cards! I wonder where does the parents store the cards.

Now, I only aim 20 cards per day...Yesterday, managed to do 20 words and 30 image cards... I only aim one session a day now. Second session is a bonus.

hee... yesterday, went to buy a Shichida book on speed reading for my friends... then "sun bian" bought more books.. 3 more books to my Shichida collection of books... lol...

mtdt,
I am not sure. In GD method, people use flashcards holder. My friends who go to Shichida do not use the holders...

Sunflower,
Yes, the cards will run out very fast... My hubby starting to say "how come keep buying cards".
In SM, you retire the whole category of cards, not card by card. And never let baby play with the cards, else they will lose interests during flashing. That's what I read from Shichida's book...

hmm... $85/420 cards more expensive than last time leh... And dunno how's the quality gonna be. The 1000 pictures quality not what I expected... So will not go for that already... Now I use the words instead of the images...

vivi,
Can share with me too??

amy,
Oh.. got nursing chair ah... I got a high chair from Ikea, but Aloysius will play in it. Nowadays, he will play with his toes.. and keep looking down...
I thought of putting him on his stroller, but these few days, he discovered a new way to sit in his stroller.. lol...

mtdt:
thinking lor.. plus factor so many june mummies there

you le? want to join sm also?

poohy:
oic. ya lor. wonder why all go springleaf. HDB hub got more things. can shop & makan

Serene,
hhmm.. i know what kind of cards u're refering to. A for apple, B for bear etc..those that are available in a lot of books and toy shop. but just wondering that these are not the kind of cards that SM mummies are flashing arent they? lyn, poohy, can explain?

Ms Piggy, i dont flash cards too but my boy likes books! eyes open big big when see a book
even though not much words on books, i pretend sing song or nursery rhyme like it came from the book

lyn, what new way to sit in stroller? recently my boy dont like to lie down in stroller, will 'kek' to sit up but if we put sitting up position, the back will hunch up cause not strong to support yet, so i started using the front backpack. he will 'huh? what's happening and cannot move cause squash to my chest', dont know if that's too tight for the bottom or not. but with this we can go take bus!

recently we went imm and discovered, after the renovation, there's more cafe with cozy space that can BF in public and also there's a new nursing room!! hooray..

TGIF cause very very sleepy..

Serene,
take half day leave very tempting leh cause i too sleepy to concentrate but i must resist cause must save up leave. leaves very precious..

serene,

I believe any form of stimulation will grow the brain by 1 unit... an 1 unit is very significant already. So reading to your bb those little booklet also will grow the brain. flashcards is not the only way to learn lah.... but its good to have
Learning can be thru toys, thru talking to the bb, bringing the bb to zoo, etc etc Supermarket is one of my boy's favourite classroom.. I will show him fruist or vege and tell him the name and let him touch it...

lyn,

I dun feel rush becos gotta flash fast. In fact I feel a lot of satisfaction if i flash v fast... cos like dat I know I wont bored my genius babies ;) They are currently dominant in right brain hemisphere and normally speed goes well with them
The only reason I feel rush is becos I gotta rush to work.... in the morning after I finish a session with Samuel and then goes to mum's place and then wait for J to bath then flash to her.... I am vvvv late for work liao. Recently I felt v refreshed in my zeal ... and had been adding new stuff to their sessions... so session getting slightly longer and we getting even later at work. This weekend I am going to do a eye training program using either powerpoint or macromedia flash... think it will be fun for S.

My plan is to slowly incorporate all the exercises done in a SM class into my daily session. I am still not covering linking memory, ESP, photographic memory into my daily sessions.

I had recently added in foreign language.. Japanese first in the evening session. Of course I cant speak japanese or any other foreign language... so I use the GD picture dictionary... they flash cards in english, japanese, french, spanish etc... So each nite I just carry S on my lap and he will have his eyes glued to the screen
J will sit beside us so that she can be exposed to the language too.

btw, I am v curious why u change your mind abt letting Aloysius attend the SM ?

Serene,
take half day leave very tempting leh cause i too sleepy to concentrate but i must resist cause must save up leave. leaves very precious..

wah..some more can go shop later? i can only *dream*

Fi,
The cards gotta be only image or only words. Words and images cannot be togather to flash. Baby will get confused what to see.
aiya.. this reminds me I forgot to get a set of flashcards from Popular yesterday
Gonna make another trip. There's only one series of cards from Popular that are what I wanted. The cards gotta be big enough, else will strain baby's eyes. Not very good, I suppose.
Aloysius will put one hand over the side of stroller to sit up on his own. His hand and head will hang one side... lol... He first started to hold the front to sit up on his own. He explored and found an easier way to save energy ba... now, once in his stroller, he will sit that way.. hahaha...
In fact, a carrier is easier and recommended by Shichida in his book.. But, I am not strong enough :p I had a "taste" of carrying Aloysius in a sling for 5 hours. My arms and legs ache at the end of the trip... Sears also recommended sling for security and closeness to baby.

lyn,

same here.. hb ask, 'buy cards again'?!

If we show bb picture cards, will they lose interest in the words cards?

oh Lawrence also said ok even if bb don't look at all 5 cards. maybe they will look at 1-3 cards out of 5, very good already. - same theory as your friend?

after seeing GD BOI cards, realise the BP picture quality not very good huh. kekeke

btw PM you, wanted to check something with you.
have you collected SRM cards? collecting mine this sun

tinklebell, amy, lyn, vivi:
so we meeting tomorrow 10am outside SC, at the entrance?

Fi... ya...it's a lazy friday.... how i wish i am on leave.

wow mummies, wow u so on!! i always end up dozing off reading these books.... i dont really like to read abt theory ... lazy mummy. dont think i will make a good teacher to my kids. so fast send them to class liao? hmmmmm .... now still thinking whether to send my boy to chinese lesson wor... i scared if too many classes next time will develop phobia of school...happened to my bro last time.

Fi,

the cards in GD specification must be 1 single fact. Its either word(s) on 1 card, or 1 factual picture on 1 card. Not words and picture together on 1 card. The requirement of GD BIT/picture card is v stringent in that if u r showing a lion, make sure the other images in the background are removed. It must be 1 single fact that will not confuse bb. In GD, the BITS are 11x11 ... one parent shared it v well that the picture are big and clear so that bb can take in the vvv small small details at just one glance. This is even though bb can see a smaller picture.. but a bigger picture will of course input more details
GD emphasizes on giving encycopedic knowledge.

SM specification for picture cards is more relaxed. Recommended also 1 fact a card... either its word or its picture. But the picture can be cartoon/clipart style too. Also the picture are normally printed on A5 size card. Well the picture cards in SM is more for image training.

My opinion is.... Can use A5 size if the image do not contains a lot of details... eg. A square is a square.. not much detais to talk abt
If its a famous painting... maybe a bigger card would be better so bb can take in more details

lyn,

u buying the novum cards and pelangi cards from popular ah? so far this series of cards is the most clear, vv good quality set I ever found in popular. The card size may not be as big as A5 but the image is stretched v big... I used this for image training.. cos there are hundreds of good quality image cards..

poohy,
SM method - how about the speed reading materials? different? cos got words and picture on same side.

if we cannot speak a foreign language and expose our bb to it, will bb learn to speak it? cos 1 mummy was telling me as she does not speak chinese, even though she flash chinese cards her daughter chinese still very bad le..

Popular bookshop:
read somewhere that they have warehouse sales at expo 24-26 Nov06.

anyone of you read or receive update from Popular. are the dates correct?

sunflower,

speed reading material is not for flashing
Different usage mah...
btw, the material u all bought in the BP for speed reading is exactly those used in SM classes now hor. I bought the orignal set (books) with the mummy who organises that BP.. and they uses it in the SM classes last term. Problem with this speed reading thingy hor... I dunno how to point to the words at 8x speed leh! Too fast.. so i just flash hehe

Foreign language ... i am also not very strong... but well i just exposed them so that they will be used to the sound of that language only
In future learning maybe will be easier lor.

poohy - how abt sawako cards?

all 4 languages on the same side...n font size dun seems to be v big. then how?

sunflower - u collecting this sunday huh? i collecting my next week. u order the sawako set too?

hi mtdt,

the words (with all 4 languages) on sawako cards are not meant for flashing!
How u use sawako cards is .... for english, u can read yourself... for other language, play the Cd and then show the child the card when the relevant conversation is said. The child should only see the picture side