(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

sunflower, GD recommends a rest of at least 15 mins. pause for 1 min is like no rest in between leh...

so now you are only doing 5 Maths cards per session, 2 sessions once a day? or the pause of 1 min is followed by the same 5 Maths cards? meaning 5 cards 1 session twice a day?

sunflower, i do 5 Maths, 3 equations, 5 Eng, 5 Chinese x 2 sessions (15 mins in between), 3 times a day. i.e., the same 5 Maths cards is shown 3 times a day (set 1), and the other 5 Maths card (set 2) is shown 3 times a day. same with Eng and Chi and equations.

sunflower, to elaborate further, all the cards within one set are back to back. next set has to be at least 15 mins apart.

amy, sunflower,

I know GD recommends breaks in between sessions... but I think its just a recommendation. A lot depends on the baby herself and the speed you change materials etc.

In fact, you will not be able to flash a few hundreds image cards a day if u just flash 5-10 cards and paused 15min between them... this is even if u r a sahm cos still gotta catch them in good and receptive mood.

I used to do separate session with my son... but with Joelle, I dun do separate session. Its everything in one session. This is after I am exposed to shichida methods. Of course also because of the constraints of working and lack of time.

so I flashed everything I wanna do in one session. If I do another session, it will be a repeat. Of course I look out for signs of boredom from bb... In the SM class I attended, they always flash lots of different cards all at one go
Hmm... nowadays I flash everything follow by 1 speed reading story either once or twice a day.

Joelle have at least 2 sessions a day now. Once is her own session. The other is when I am flashing to Samuel.... I get my hb to carry her beside... so that she can see too. If we get home early in the evening and they are not sleepy, I will have another session with both samuel and joelle.

amy,

currently I'm doing 2 sets english (5 each) and 2 sets maths (5 each). I'll show it twice a day, in the morning and evening.
Because morning I need to rush to work, so show the sessions back to back. evening, I can spread out the sessions with interval but so far I show all together as he was receptive.

kite,

i also stay at JW ext. But never experience the black out.

Amy,

regarding the seminar. quite ok. He actually taught us some tips. He practise with us by using the orange dots card, mandala, ESp, etc.

haven sign up for the cos. most probably will be taking up the same slot as bb jake. :0

AM Clearing my 3rd month maternity now. SO very bz and dun have time to log in here.

tinklebell,

can check how many slots left for the sc trip?

sunflower/kite,

Mine dun sleep on pillow too. And i also dun put nappy below the head liao, because hor, she will take the nappy and cover her face!!! She also take blanket to cover her face!! Oh gosh! And now the bolster no longer on her tummy liao, she will hug the bolster when she sleeps haha..

Mummies who went to NZ before,

Any comments on these NZ hotels? We will be staying in them:

Christchurch - Grand Chancellor

Fox Glacier - Glacier Country Hotel

Queenstown - A-Line Hotel

Dunedin - Dunedin City Hotel

Rotorua - Sudima Hotel Lake Plaza

Auckland - Sky City Hotel

MTDT: your boy smiling so happily.
good morning zavier

kk: ya my boy will take his bean pillow and put over his face. or it will end in his mouth. heehee

steffi: you went for holiday?

kite,
no leh..hardly drink ice water at home, only when outside. didnt know that can affect... when u stop BF after 6 months, will surely miss yr BF stories

my hb say if so tired BF, ask me to stop after 6 months, opposite from u...

tinklebell & amy,

my hb also dun like to drive up to JB. JB - hear a number of bad reports, even residents in JB also said not very safe. But we do drive up to Malacca & KL occassionally. Guess wherever we go have to be careful.

When in malaysia & shopping, try not to keep going back to car to open boot & put things. 1 of my MIL friend got all her shopping things stolen. Everytime she bought something, she would go back and put it in the car - she guessed that's why her things all got stolen in broad daylight and near alot of human traffic.

Morning ladies..

MT,
Zavier is so smiley

re: pillow

I hv started to introduce pillow to my ger. But she tends to slip to one side
Anyway, she always like to use her beansprout pillow to cover her face & she will kicked her blanket away...

MT, your zavier so cute. very nice complexion leh.
how heavy is he now? i recalled he is like bb jake... chubby... ha ha...

oki, ordered your stuff. will arrive with the rest of my oos items in 2 wks' time. can you PM me your hp no, so i can sms you re this.

vivi, wow.... so Shichida taught you some stuff at the seminar? care to share? good.... now bb jake got a new classmate.
catch up at SC on Sat!

morning ladies

Re : Flashcards
I really peifu u all. I donno where to find the time to do all these to my ger. Cos when i settle everything when i am back almost 9pm
dont have the energy to do all these stuffs liowz *sigh*

hee hee.. thanks everyone.

amy - actually he got abit of rashes on his eyebrow... n it seems to be spreading.
now he likes to rub his eyes area... then still suck his fist. so dun dare to apply anything on it.

last wt was 7.5kg... tat was 3weeks ago i think.

MT, bb jake also got rashes near his eyes and mouth. i apply cream for him every am and pm. he also rubs his eyes and sucks his fingers... hope he din eat too much of those creams...
when was zavier's last shave? dunno whether to shave bb jake, cos the bald patch behind his head is getting bigger. will miss his hair if i shave him now...

Celeste,
I don't make my own flashcards too. I bought 1 which is the flip type, quite good from one of the shop at The Galleries basement.

amy,
my bb also dropping hair at the back of his head.
so decided to shaved him last monday, he looks very round now hahaha
at first we wanted to leave a bit of hair, but the lady say might as well shave botak, better.
went to Fantastic sam (i think) at forum. If its your bb 1st hair cut, special at $10.70 (usu $17).They will give you a certificate & paste bb hair on the cert as well.

poohy, amy, sunflower,

Yes... I also find it very very difficult to stick to the recommendations with breaks in between. I stay at home the whole day, cannot even achieve that. Cannot imagine FTWM...

SM recommended 10 categories of cards each session.

I met up with a group of friends who send their kids to shichida. I will be signing up Aloysius next term. hahaha.. fickle minded me :p Do you know when does the next term start? I gotta plan cos I wanna go to the UK in Jan.

I think we gotta start practising meditation.. hahaha.. cos meditation is part of the lesson in SM for older kids. So, for us parents to do the home lesson well, we gotta get that right ourselves as well...
so chim... I hope I have more than 24 hours a day for all these education stuffs. Today so tired to flash cards
Last nite, Aloysius woke up so many times
Today I panda eyes liao.. and some more got lunch appointment, and feeling so guilty of my work... And so guilty when I see Aloysius growing day by day and I dun have enough time to do all the exercises and flashcards sessions...

mtdt,
Zavier is very cute... kekeke..

mtdt, sunflower,
Welcome to "Botak Club".. lol...

amy,
How do you make Jake sit for his flashcards sessions??
I am having lots of difficulty in that... Aloysius dun wanna sit. He wanna stands and jumps
. I put him on the sofa to sit, if he sits still, he will be more interested in his toes... lol...

Poohy,
How do you make Joelle sit still for flashcards?? I can only flash two cards now...

I wonder is it something that I have done wrong, that's why ended up like that
He's more interested in pictures.. When I showed him the encyclopedic cards, he will really stare at them...

hi Lyn, poohy, amy,
I went for the class yesterday. Lawrence says if bb ok and still happy with the session, can continue next session without the time interval.

I also wish there's more than 24 hours a day for the many things that I wish to do.
Don't feel guilty, you are doing & giving the best you can to Aloysius.

talking abt bkk, sounded hubby out yesterday..actually he already got the coupon but he doesnt seem interested to go

hiaz... seems like his work more impt
**sob sob**

hahaha... botak club sia.

actually i shaved him when he was 2mths old... then shave him again when he was 3mths old as i find the hair growth not v uniform. at the back, there is a slight patch still... but not tat bad.

amy - i only put the cream at nite... when he is asleep. since he is deep sleep, so hope he dun hv chance to rub n lick his fist. :p

sunflower - wow... thanks for the lobang. it will be fun to bring bb for sandcastle next time.
*hope the shop dun close down by then!* haha

flashcards - i also dun make. i get from BP! :p
but my progress is really slow... as Zav sleeps at abt 8pm everyday. so sometimes only weekend able to flash to him.

wow.... 3 babies joining shicida liao huh...it's way over budget for me liao. i am thinking of joining BJG. might drop by Pasir Ris branch to take a look.

Hey, why din anyone thinking of joining JG's playnest class? heard good comments abt them too. (another expensive class... :p)

lyn, agree with you. i normally do one set after jake's am nap, another set after him afternoon nap, another set before evening bath. sometimes, might miss the 3rd set, but most days, i managed to achieve that.

i am thinking of flashing the 1000 pc cards. do you think i should do 10 cards per session? should i change the cards everyday, retire as a set of 10, given the cards comes in sets?

wow... lunch appt ah? so fun... me too... sometimes feel guilty not spending enough time with jake. even now... as i work from home today, i intend to complete all 3 sessions of flash cards with him, plus pop by his room to say hi... quite fun...

SM term starts 1st week of Jan. My first class is on Sat, 2.30 pm. Wanna join me and Vivi in the same class? we are at springleaf.

ha ha... last nite bb jake singing in his sleep... must be due to lots of playing with his new toys... mum and i stood by his cot and looked at him... halfway thru (abt 10 mins of singing), he cried. i was glad i could immediately pick him up and hug him and nurse him...

MT, JG? i rang them and it's gotta be on wait list. heard from a colleague the parents there can be quite snobbish. depends on who you get in your class lo.

lyn, i sit bb jake on my nursing chair. got from ikea. he will sit still... good boy. maybe he knows everytime he sits there, it's nursery class... ha ha... i do the speed reading materials there as well.

sometimes when he is no keen on flash cards, he will cry when i place him on the chair, good indication to stop.

sunflower, for fantastic sam, do you have to make appt? hmm... should i shave bb jake? hmmm....

amy,
I have sorted out the 1000 flashcards last weekend. I am trying to find out how to flash those cards effectively in the "correct" way. I gotta ask my friend's wife and another friend who go for Shichida class with their kids.. kekeke... Haven't got the chance to meet them yet. I only learnt about the "energy ball" last nite. Roughly, my friend told me gotta do 10 categories each time, and each category how many cards, I forgot to ask :p. I think I will not flash the very pixelated ones. Might strain baby's eyes. I also bought picture cards from Popular.. One card about $0.20.

k,I gotta get ready to go out liao... I am not so tired like this morning already
later all...

amy - hahah.. sing in his sleep!!!
so cute leh!

nowadays, zav also will keep humming... like complaining abt something. I always tell my hubby, he is like some old man complaining away. haha :p

JG - oh, snobbish huh... hmmmm

btw, did u gals order the sawako set too?

amy,
I didn't make appointment as I went on monday. quite ok le.

classes: all of you very fast le.. enrolling class already.

Lyn: SM recommended 10 categories of cards each session.
- 10 categories of how many cards? how many times flash before retire cards?
wow then the cards run out very fast lor??

hey for pic cards, they having 2nd set printing now at BP. same thread as the first one. $85/420 cards

keke botak club - want to start enrolment??

JG - can we gather together and start our own class? then won't meet snobbish parents.

amy: for the SM class at Springleaf
- can pass me more info on class? thanks

JG - good idea hor?
but dunno got timeslot or not.

heard really long Q.
my fren Q until her kid overage for playnest... can join the older kids group one!! haha:p