(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Angeline,
I'm also giving my son heinz rice cereal but mix 2 teaspoon inside 6oz milk now. How u feed yr baby? with spoon or put inside the milk bottle with milk? If i want to feed my boy with spoon, how much cereal and how much milk should i give. Last sat, i give 4 teaspoon + 2 spoon milk powder, add 3 oz water. I'm not sure this qty is enough and same as his normal bottle feed. Usually for bottle feed, i gave him 6 spoon milk powder + 2 teaspoon cereal with 6 oz water.

seems like most of you gals have already intro semi-solid to your babies. somehow i'm still hesitant to try it and also i'm not sure how shd i start.

mspiggy,

I'm also not very experience too but i start off with giving my son 1 teaspoon mix into the milk then later 2 teaspoon mix into milk. As my son dun seems to increase in his milk intake lately so i add cereal to make it thicker and see if he likes it. So far, he's ok. Now i want to use spoon feed and try a thicker mix to get him used to the spoon and prepare for porridge next mth.....only thing is not sure how much to give.

Update on BP - oos items - I will PM you again when the items are in stock, so you can transfer funds then.
-----------------------------------------------
kite VTECH Discovery Nursery Farm

Starlight VTECH Grow N Ride

spicegal VTECH Discovery Nursery Farm

Items to be delivered to my place tomorrow evening:
---------------------------------------------
dsiitan VTECH Nursery Rhymes Book

spicegal VTECH Sing and Discover Piano

spicegal, please transfer $41.92 first.

Items to be collected from supplier:
----------------------------------------------

mspiggy VTECH Learn & Discover Driver

mspiggy, i am awaiting the final email from the supplier. will make payment as soon as i receive her email. you can collect anytime after 10pm tonight. will copy you in my final email, so that you can contact her re collection.

amy/ serene,
i called the agent to talk to her tonight. Do u think it is a gd idea esp if she is angry. What i'm afraid most is that she will do things to harm my kids cos i'm not around in the morning and hub usually sleeps til v late!
no choice i gotta go to work v early unless i change job wh can be quite sian cos must learn everything fr scratch again.

Aiya.....

think i really MIA for quite sometime hor.. have ben trying to catch up read all your previous post.. but really alot leh...

Angeline... I usually home around 630... but my gal sleep at about that time too leh... so guess we have to meet up during weekends.. haha

ms piggy, you've got mail.

amy,
i already described the senario to her and told her that my friend's maid's was smsing and the bb fell off the chair and broke his skull and was sent home immediately! imaginary friend!! she looked so concerned wor! and see...now... turn everything i say to deaf ear! Some more can carry my bb and sms at the same time!! That's why i am so ANGRY!
Seriously, i feel like terminating her services with me but my mother tells me to give her one last chance.
Makes me really wonder why in 2003, her 2 employers all had her for 5 mths before changing maid! Must be angry with her for not listening!

serene,

i give by spoon.didn add to his bottle feed. normaly i gave around 1pm+ once..jus for her to try only.now i giving abt 5teaspoon of cereal to 30ml of EBM.initially,it will be quite sticky but v soon it will turn watery,so u have to give fast

tinklebell, why not give her a final warning, tell her you will keep her phone in the morning, return to her at nite when she is off duty. that will prevent her from making mistakes, hence you will not send her home.

for us, we have all measures in place, so that we will not have to send our maid home... no off days, no handphone... we have a PA session every month during pay day, provide feedback, counselling if necessary. so far so good.

Angeline_Goh,
do u find that bb's poo turn sticky when we give them rice cereal? And I realise that my ger poos lesser ever since we started giving her 1 rice cereal meal a day...which is gd! Now she poos twice a day only!

tinklebell,
hmm.. once you decide to change, better no chance already. The longer you drag, the worse the situation might be... My friend told me if the maid is rude or dun listen to her, just once or twice, she will change already... But my friend look very "fierce"...

Fi,
Ideally, will be after 3 years old. By the time 3 years old, think he will not want to eat sweets already.. hahaha... My friends' kids dun eat sweets from young. To pacify their kids, only fruits will work.. hahaha... I hope Aloysius will be like them too

The thing about not letting Aloysius eating junk food and sweets, me and my hubby gotta stop eating them

Yes, I am also very afraid of that happening. If it's my mum, I will tell her cannot... But if it's my PIL, headache... So I am not starting any semi-solids now
Will start the weaning process at 6 months. At least his digestive system is more mature. Else next time, when he grows up, get problems with digestive system..

kk,
Wah.. your gal eat so many types of food at 5 months already ah...

stephanie,
Aloysius dun sleep in the cot already.. cos his legs will get caught and wake him up... If he's playing inside, he will cry if his legs or hands get caught... Now, the cot is beside my bed with all his toys.. haha.. and also to prevent him from falling down the bed.

poohy,
I read from Shichida book that usually the second and subsequent babies will be smarter than the first.. hahaha... cos when you teach the first, can also put the younger ones togather.. and they will just absorb like sponge
I am imagining having number 2 and 3 lying near near number 1 when teaching number 1... hahaha... and like one stone kills 3 birds...

amy,
hmm... yalor.. single income, gotta change lifestyle a bit... Yesterday, I just asked my hubby if we can still have the travelling lifestyle... We used to travel to Europe twice a year...
Now, even go for cruise, I will feel guilty and stress with the thesis behind my mind...

tinklebell,
I think it's not very wise to ask the agent to talk to her. It's best that you talk to her, or get her changed. Getting a third party involved is not very good, I feel... But it's up to you... Imagine your boss get someone else to tell you what you have done wrong.. Will you be more angry??

amy,
My friends who have maids working for them very well, also do what you do... "counselling" sessions and feedback for the month every month...

tinklebell,
Amy's suggestion is quite good.. Tell her that you will keep her phone to prevent her from making mistakes and having to send her home... Give back to her only on her off days...

lyn... wow... now with bb jake, i dare not think of holidays. maybe after his 1st birthday.
but we can do lots in Sing... so many places to bring bb...

i know how you feel re your thesis. like at the back of your mind... something unfinished. me too... sometimes wanna rest and do nothing, but when there are tasks at the back of my mind... find it hard to relax too much.

lyn,
glad u feel the same way about food.but i'm fighting losing battle cause my hubby not even on my side of fence, what more in laws.i didnt want to start semi solid so early for this reason too but kena cornered.now that his poo harden if give too much, the polyclinic nurse say should stop give cereal cause babies dont need solid food anyway till 6 months.always kena cornered, i'm a ticking bomb in this issue and will explode one day... that's why i want to be the one to bring baby to polyclinic to clear any doubts that i have about feeding so that i have better reason when say its what the doc says.

tinklebell,
I understand how you feel. All we worried is she will harm our kids. So when we deal with the maid, also must think twice...quite sickening actually. Like what Amy had said, perhaps you can give her last warning again. Tell her this is last warning, oh btw, ask her why she still smsg when u tell her off 2x already, see what's her answer. Ask if she dunno that you will be angry? Give her a choice, to treasure this last chance and not repeat the mistake again or to be sent back.

angeline,
Oh u add EBM, I'm giving him FM. That's why i'm worried if the amt will be too heaty for him....Btw, the amt u had given, how long can it last yr baby? What time will be the next feed?

lyn/ serene/ amy
i talked to the agent... she is filipino and knows her family well... i told her abt my problem and she says she knows how to handle... and the agent knows her sis well... i ask her to tell her sis not to sms her when she is working. haha... i also told the agent i found out that she works in spore only 1 year instead of 2. :p now that things r more transparent for employers, agents also cant lie. cant assume we r silly and wont find out.
Will give her last warning tonight... tks for your listening ears

Amy...
my gal sleeps from 7pm to 8am in the morning ar.... hahaha...

she is really a sleepy head...

and it depends on my mood.. sometimes i will wake her up at 11 pm for milk... cos i usually stick to 5 feeds per day... if she sleeps eary like 630pm... she only have 4 feeds for that day.. then i feel not enough .. so will ask her to wake up and drink lor... then after drinking.. and burbing her.. very fast she can go back to sleep again...

Fi,
With regards to baby's upbringing, you gotta be more firm in your stand and practice it yourself
That will be much easier...
My mum and my MIL also say must feed semi-solids already. Can feed at 4 months, etc. I am firm on that. No means no.. I back up with what I read. hahaha... if they "forget" what I told them before, I will remind them again..
but everytime I will repeat the same things. Gotta be patient and really be firm on your stand.

amy,
Where do you bring Jake? I am thinking of going to the musems... lol...
My sis is taking a course for a license as a tour guide. She has lots and lots of information... I am thinking of making those information into flashcards, but I do not have the time yet...

re: solid food

I tried feeding my son with heniz rice cereal using spoon during the weekend and he love it! he can finally eat cereal using spoon...just 2 weeks ago, his tongue reflex still present and he push out the cereal...so happy...

now we giving him total rice cereal for one of his feed and pure ebm or formula milk for other feeds...instead of mixing cereal into ebm liao...

my son can also sit unsupported for quite a while....

now counting to the malaysia trip...that will be his first overseas trip....

as for myself, I had successfully reduce my bm supply...think by the time he's 6mth old 2 weeks later, I can wean him off total...and I can enjoy my malaysia trip without having to express milk liao

okasan,

Your son's development is fast! My ger managed to sit unsupported yesterday
I actually make her lean against two pillows as per normal on our bed, and she actually pushed herself up to sit upright on her own. I was washing her milk bottle in the kitchen, and came back to the bedroom to capture this moment. Was really happy! Happy that i saw this before my in laws did haha!

amy,
so sorry for not replying on the Vtech BP. Was sick, vomit & diahorrea, doc said there's some kind of virus going around, so mummies do take care! Read from the past post that u have close the BP, nevermind, next time maybe.

ahblur, lyn,
oops nope not planning for #3... stopping at 2 unless err, unplanned, LOL.
Was just wondering why some ladies ovulate so quickly! Cos after #1, despite partial bfg, it took quite a long while to ovulate, for me. Now with #2... also dun seem to be ovulating.

tinklebell,
i guess in ideal caregiving scenario, wld be a helper who genuinely cares/ enjoys kids. Somehow ur helper doesn't give me that impression, but i may be wrong!

amy,
2 yrs ahead too early to worry- u may have #2 by then (whether planned or unplanned), both u & HB's priorities may change by then (perhaps willing to lower standard of living for more family time), ur HB's offer may be so gd by then that it gives u a generous spousal allowance such that u dun need to work over there... etc etc!

medusa/ amy/ lyn/ serene
I confiscated my maid's hp just now and told her if she wants to use, pls get it fr me. Told her that i am v displeased and disappointed. My hub told me not to confront her cos he thinks it is quite trivial but i feel that i have to let my expectations be known. I dont think i am being unreasonable cos i gave her 2 chances already.

celeste_blur

hmm,her poo becomes a bit more sticky n streaky.like got fibre..but her poo not everyday..2/3 days once..n its super alot 1.haha.but i did feed her water immediately aft her cereal...

serene,

i didn really time her leh.i jus bf her again aft 1hr+ later coz i scare the cereal not enuff..i take the cereal as snack only

celk,

i went to ur house jus now leh..coz my ger woke up from her nap n i got nothing to do n oso sudden got the urge to go c her.hehehe..but hor,nobody ans the door leh at around 4pm/5 like tt..u good loh..bb can sleep so well..my bb is giving me headache man when it comes to bedtime..always cry n fuss b4 her zzz..n she will only zz at 11pm+/12am..i not getting enuff zzz liao..anybody can help!!! oso dun understand y she chng her pattern until like tt.

okasan

how u make ur rice cereal har? currently i use 5teaspoonful wif abt 30ml ebm..is it enuff to subsitute wif 1 feed? hmm,gota ask pd on fri

angeline... aiya.. my mum dun ans dorr one.. she scared those saleperson come and sell things or ask for donation.. next time b4 u come you call me.. i can pre-warn her mah..

It's been a longgggggggggg time since I stepped in here. Have been really busy with my work. By the time I got home, it's abt 8pm, and bb is mostly asleep. Haiz.

I have started my son on cereals, teething biscuits, puree, and fruits. Let him have a taste of persimon just last weekend. But I have not let him tasted anything with oil/ meat yet.

I think bb is abt 10.5kg to 11kg now. Last measure was 1-2 wks ago.

hidora
when i first chatted in forum was this thread..and last nite i was just thinking why havent seen ur nick for so long...hehehhe..and this morning i saw ur posts..hehe

this is my boy...
568492.jpg

dsiitan,

Heh... how heavy is your boy boy now? He looks so adorable!!!! Post a bigger pix of him leh.

Btw hor, is that the naked back of you? hehe...

hi mummies:
my boy has some rashes at his neck. any of you experience this? is there any cream that I can apply? currently I just apply body lotion on that area.

Oh ya,

Finally I summoned up the courage to go make an appointment for eyebrow embroidery at #1 Salon @ Bishan. Heard very good comments abt it. So wanna go try. =p

hidora
my boy at 3 mths was 7.6kg..that was weighed on 23th oct...now har?? shld be 7.8kg plus bah...
no lah..me no courage to show my naked back./..hahaha...buibui ba ba (fat fat meat meat) hahaha..thats my hb...

568562.jpg

sunflower,
Keep the neck area clean and cool... Maybe can use cool wet towel to wipe... My boy had rashes from head to body last week. I use cool wet towel to wipe and now ok already...

hidora
the salon at bishan? how much??? wanted to do too...at derma something...but got bad experience...so ended up didnt do...that time got promo 50% off.for abt 400+...

tinklebell,
Did your maid appeared unhappy when u confiscated her hp? Did she try to deny or explain on her smsg again at yr mum's plc?

hidora,
Long time didn't see you! Yes I rem that you've got the biggest baby here of us all.
May I know what is puree that u r feeding yr baby?

sunflower,
Rashes is common to have on babies. My son has it too, i bought a kind of rash powder from chinese medical hall and apply. It seems okay. There are liquid lotion type selling in pharmacy. U can check out. As long as the rashes not very serious, the powder or lotion type can help. If really serious rashes causes redness, then better consult doctor for medication.

lyn
thks...at birth he was 4.815kg leh....pengz...i think i ever posted here during my preggie i kept worried that my bb too big...ended up really very big!!

dsiitan,
Wow! Yr baby is so big at birth! How old is he now? His weight did not increase alot after huh? My boy @ 3mths, his weight already more than doubled of his birth weight!

serene,
she mentioned that she was smsing her son who was asking her when she could send the money.... but need to sms so many times meh? She looked sad but didnt deny it cos my mum caught her in the act. actually i looked thru the sms... mainly from one person i think is her son sending her so many picture messages. think he misses her. Hiaz, i told her it;s not that i disapprove her of HP but i'm angry and disappointed at the fact that i told her 2x not to bring hp to my mother's place but she still does. At the bottom of my heart i really pity them having to stay apart cos i'm a mother myself and i know the hp is the only means for her to contact her kids but then again, i feel that if i am not firm, she will climb over my head and in future not follow the rules set.

serene
he's going 4 mths in 2 weeks time...no loh..bit by bit..if increase alot in such a short period..me pengz ah...cannot carry liao..hahaha...now his clothings ah..must buy 12 mths and above one....wonder another few more mths must buy toddler one for him liao...hahaha