(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

tinklebell,
Perhaps if you're clueless, maybe can check with yr agency on how to deal with yr maid? I can understand yr frustration. Imagine, if my maid gives me problem, i'll be very troubled too! It will be really sianz, imagine, we spend $ on the maid and yet get the problem!

Celeste,
Did you not go back to Dr Adrian for the 2nd appt after delivery? 1st time to check the wound, 2nd time for pap smear test?

amy
me too..collect at ur place during weekends...u pm me ur ad and tel? maybe this sat or sunday..cos i goes to bt panjang on weekend

Hi all..

Have not log in here for supppppeeeerrrr long.... Hows everyone.... my gal 5mths plus liao but still cannot turn leh.. dun know why abit worry...
567162.jpg

celest,

ohhh your girl is soooooooo sweet!!!!
Dun worry too much abt her not flipping.. give her more opportunity and she will
My son was also not flipping till almost 5mthplus. Then one fine day he just start flipping hehee ... maybe wat u can do is when u lie her down.. hold one of her hand and then turn/flip her... slowly she will get the idea liao. Or give her more tummy time..

Celeste... ha ha...your gal v cute... can lift her head up high.
no worries re not turning...
some bbs slower, but will eventually reach the same end pt...

dsiitan, will PM you my address and tel. no worries.

kite, supplier will revert re your item. collection at WC ok.
your item is $42.36.

peng... congrats! wow... so lucky.. preggy again...
must take good care...

poohy - wah, your hb might go to the US? which part of US? will you relocate? hmmm.... think this is a tough decision hor? how to cope with bbs and you plus work in US? no maid....

tinklebell, how come your maid has hp? my maid no hp... she wanted to buy one.. but we reminded her we said no hp in her interview. maybe you can keep her hp for her before you go to work, and return to her at night? that's what some employers do...

amy:
ok once supplier revert, u let me know n i wil transfer $ to you.

Peng:
wow congrats! did u get a shock?

tinklebell,
thanks for the info

Serene,
My 2nd appt that time wound havent recovered 100% cos donno izzit cos i didnt take gd care of it or what. thats y he suggested doing the PAP smear in another 1 mth's time.

Celeste(celk),
ur ger is so cute!! Hehe, chubby and sweet!

amy,

the only headache is day care for the children.. cos of course if i work, then our lives in the usa will be very comfy ... haha i can go shopping liao ... wish my mum will go with us... i cant trust anyone else with the kids. if not then i will take care of them myself.. or i wont go... stay in singapore with the kids

amy,
yes, i think last resort.. i will confiscate her hp and let her use only during her off day! no no dont ever let her own one... i find that with hp, they cannot concentrate on working cos every now and then, they want to check on their sms. ur maid has off days?

celek,
your girl looks so lovely and chubby!

tinklebell, my maid no off day. she is very lovely... very hardworking. she even goes to my MIL place to spend time with her (and sometimes help out) two days a week. cos my MIL is quite old.. and she enjoys chatting with my MIL.

the other day, she asked if she can help my MIL iron some clothes, as my MIL is going to China for 10 days... v sweet...

Hihihi.. thanks for all the compliments... but think she is FAT lor.. thats why her backside too heavy to turn... still dun know whats her current weight.. going to PD for third 6-in-1 this saturday....

But did anyone feed their bb cereal or other food at 5 or 6 mths?

poohy, the reason why i ask, is becos my hb will have a posting to US for 1 - 2 yrs in 2008. i cannot imagine how i can cope if i bring bb jake there, gotta cook and clean, and work, and look after bb jake... then gotta sell house, car, etc.. come back, gotta look for another place... lots of logistics involved. contemplating.... i know my mum will not come with us... how? on the other hand, this posting is very important to my hb... hmm...

amy,

ya the logistics is headache. The overseas study will be an important turning point for my hb too since he is going on company scholarship. I prob wont sell my house.... will rent it out instead. I also have not figure out how to care for the babies... my mum prob wont go too i think... maybe we end up going abt the same time.. cos my hb is still in the midst of planning only... not confirmed when yet.

poohy, my hb has been talking about this US posting for awhile, and it seemed quite real. i am quite hesistant, cos i dunno how i can manage without a helper and my mum, not forgetting i still need to work. what about our meals? and hb wanna stay in a big house with a pool.. aiyo.. who clean the house? i dun want to slog for the house... what about spending time with bb jake? what about no. 2? too much uncertainties...

amy,

ya uncertainties.. gotta plan and research properly before going
oh u r planning for no2 ah? I had wanna had no3 asap but after all those sickness and my hardly enough time to cope with teaching both joelle and samuel.. I think I am rethinking.

medusa,
My gynae told me need 3 months for menses cycles to stabilise after stopping breast feeding. You planning for number 3 already??

tinklebell,
If you are not satisfied, should change.. else the "heart" problems may not be good in the long run, especially you have your kids in her hands...
If you change the next one, think you gotta think what you want your maid to do and what you expect from her, and tell her on her first day of work all your rules in the house... That's what my friends with "good" maids do... I have a friend who will buy all the clothes, shoes and undergarments for the maid and give to the maid on her first day. And tell her that she's expected to wear these only. But told her that she will have to buy her own sanitary pads, deduct from salary. And she bought her all the shampoo and soap too, and then tell her, this is what I will give you. If want a different brand, she will have to top up the difference in cost from her salary.

poohy,
Wah.. Joelle can crawl already... so good..

Aloysius can only move, but with his bottoms in the air, but face and chest on the bed... lol... very funny one...
It will be so nice to go overseas
hahaha.. I am hoping that my hubby can get posted somewhere again since baby is still young... I wanna expose Aloysius to different countries and cultures and sights

Peng,
Wow... Big Big CONGRATULATIONS!!! I need babydust from you.. kekeke... Really envy you
I am hoping for number 2 in 2007... But I gotta stop breastfeeding first then do a thorough detox before trying...

kk, okipoki,
I follow Dr. William Sears attachment parenting.. so I co-sleep with baby
I also believes in babies will quit this habit on their own when they are ready... Aloysius will sleep on his own on my bed during the day time... I dun have to carry nor pat him to nap... So I dun think baby will be too reliant to fall asleep on their own...

MOAP,
oops.. then my boy drinking too little liao...

Poohy,
His rashes are all gone
I switched on the aircon plus fan for him during the daytime for the past few days. And feed him more water. And wipe him a few times a day. I am not sure if they are heat rashes, cos the rashes came after a day of fever.
Glad that samuel and Joelle are recovering well

lyn

how did you get Aloysius to sleep on his own in the first place. For me, i still need to rock/carry my gal to sleep....sigh

yeah..tinkle i was really shocked! Really caught off guard.. actually i am not too worried abt taking care of the bbs cos right now haha.. i am quite relaxed.. i got a maid to do hsewk n my hb to take care of the bb so most of the time so i am quite relaxed.. really appreciate of my hb.. he has been doing the night feeds all these while esp now that i am not bfing. the only worry is that i scare i dun have much energy to play with my bb as pregnancy progresses..

Poohy and Amy, so envy that u at least have a chance to go to US with hb... I wld want to go and have been asking my hb to find such a lobang.. but too bad dun have a chance. I will love to go there to take my MBA and take care of bb..

amy,
Wah.. your hubby wants a big house.. It will not be very easy without a helper. hahaha... I revised the last chapter of "how smart is your baby". I am now more relaxed about housework.. hahaha.. I live in "dirty" and untidy house... :p Priority is baby... This morning, just brought him swimming

Maybe you can consider home schooling?? Or send to childcare??

celeste,
Wah.. your gal is chubby and cute
Give her more tummy time and very soon she will flip

re: co sleeping

me too .. i let samuel sleeps with us if he wants... I also believe in attachment parenting. Afterall, soon they will grow out of it...

lyn,

recently i read Janet Doman's article and she mentioned that a 3-4 years age gap for siblings is better. From 18mths the child need the parents to themselves v much and with a younger sibling they wont be able to get as much attention.

stephanie,
I dunno... But I practiced attachment parenting. I follow the tips from William Sears' books... I used to carry him to sleep since birth. Till about 4 months, he can sleep on his own already. I just put him down on the bed, tell him to close his eyes and sleep when tired... Then go for shower or do other things, he will fall asleep already...

poohy,
Oh... Does Janet Doman publish any articles on the web?? Can give me the website?? I am not young anymore to wait 3-4 years
. If I cannot have a 2007 baby, I will wait and try for 2009 already.. kekeke... I calculate "ba zhi" one...

After reading a few books by Shichida, and since I wanna follow Shichida and Glen Doman's methods, attachment parenting is more in-line with what they advocate
So I follow William and Martha Sears
Do you read their books?? I have the discipline book... hahaha.. I am KS to read ahead :p But after reading, I think I am glad that I got this book.. cos the book says discipline starts from birth...
Think I will see results when Aloysius grows older, so now, just believe and do first... kekeke...

lyn,
i told my mum that i want to change but she says give her one more chance.
my mum is right... just now she caught her carrying my girl and sms on the other hand.. i have warned her before 2x not to do it though i didnt see it myself! simple things like that she also dont follow my rules... how am i suppose to trust her to look after my kids?

amy,
wow... house with a pool? thought your house already has one.

peng,
glad you r coping ok
i have 2 cousins who r a year apart and raised up in a single parent home... they r v close to each other. My aunt also has been in good health all these while so i think as long as u take nutritious meals, rest well, should be ok. Take care

celesteblur,

I cannot rem it properly, I rem doing my papsmear in Aug, not sure is the 2nd or 3rd appt after delivery...maybe is 3rd.

celeste (celk),
You have been MIA for long time!
Your gal is very chubby...that's why she probably take longer time to flip. My boy is 5 mths old now, only last week, he learns to flip by his own, but he don't do it frequently and i can tell not so steady yet. Most of the times, when he turned over, one of his hands under the tummy, he don't know to take out himself also....he struggles hard, very funny.
Like what poohy had said, you can put her on mattress, help her by flipping her over a few time, on tummy often to train her. Don't worry, as every babies meet their milestone at different time...

Lyn and KK,
Thanks for tip on PD vs polyclinic.After hearing from you all, think i shall stick to polyclinic.don't mind check up by nurse, just that i need mc so that can bring my boy to clinic. actually find the nurse more domestically wise as compared to docs in polyclinic who's more theoretical, follow medical books kind).

Peng,
congrats!!however much surprise it is, events like this will always be a blessing in disguise.do take care ya...

okipoki,
how come u're a weekend mum? where yr mil stays? i might be a weekend mum too when i stop BF
my boy sleeps in his own cot. and there's also a cot at my mil's house, that's why when mil takes care of him (without me)they would use the cot. since there's one there, if not sure wll co-sleep with pil. u have a cot at mil place? maybe that can help?

lyn,
my boy use to be able to fall asleep on his own but recently this month i've to pat him. cause he play till very active, even though sleepy won't stop moving.in his normal dozing position, which is sleep on his side, he turn left, cannot sleep, then turn right, cannot sleep, then turn again till he cannot tahan than doze off.pacifier also quite selective already, sometimes he dont want, take in take out and play. wah, how aloysius can fall asleep himself.

oh ya, i'm curious to know when u'll let aloysius touch sweets and junk food. my hubby say should let my boy be exposed to it leh so that its not deemed as forbidden food to him.sure we'll have a lot of difference when he comes to that age.

mummies, at this age do your babies eat anything other than milk and cereal? my mil gave my boy a bite of papaya.can foresee this trend whatever the adults eat, they're going to give a bite to my boy!!! i want to do it proper, one type of food a time, over a period of 4 days to check the poo but so difficult to control with in law family.

Fi,

How old is ur boy now?

Perhaps to ease ur mind, for my ger, when she hits 5th mth, i myself have fed her a lot of junk food haha.. she has tasted zui kuey, red bean soup, ABC soups, lotus root soup, kuey teow, bread, mac pancakes, etc etc.

I try to let her have a taste of everything, except foods that are cold, spicy, contain cheese and eggs in them, and herbs in them.

So far so good

amy,
i found this book called Baby Play by Gymboree at Big Book Store. It shows a lot of type of games we can play by month, no need special toys. tried with my boy, he loves it. so over the weekend we played so much till hubby and i tired

Fi

i was the one who told u abt spending $4 for mc at polyclinic :p...that's why the nurse at Sengkang PC told me...she said as nurse, she can only issue time off slip..if i need mc, then take Q no, see doc for $4.....

Fi,

My mil stays in jurong west and I work in the east. Initially wanted to get a bb cot for mil but she doesnt want said playpen is good enuff. she claimed that it take up space in her room.. omg !!

okipoki

not all babies sleep well in playpen. heard from frens that some can be quite noisy cos there will be friction between the bottom panels when babies shift/move. Also the material can make babies warm?

okipoki

forgot to add, there are cons with cot as well. my gal flip and got her legs entangled in the railings over the weekend.....think she was too shocked then to make any noise....

stephanie,

U are right. My ger dun sleep in playpen ever since newborn. SHe only slept inside for 2-3 times. After that, the playpen becomes a white elephant and it is now in my storeroom liao.

She felt warm in it, making noise and fidget about. No way to make her sleep in the playpen. Now she is only sleeping on a simple mattress.

kk

at first, i thot of buying a playpen, cos next time can throw her inside and let her play by herself :p. Also with playpen, i can 'fold' it and bring it to my in-laws' place. luckily SIL warned me abt the white elephant in her house as well........

we got her a cot instead...but she seldom sleep in it. The cot is in a separate bedroom and at night, we always let her sleep in the sarong before carrying her onto our bed. So the cot is now used as a changing table instead....haha, another white elephant.

lyn,

the book How smart is your baby comes with a website with a forum. go to www.iahp.org Hope i remember the url correctly... from there u will see link to the forum and u will see JD's article. Me too, like you feel that I am not getting younger anymore and cannot afford to hold off the baby plan. But whenever I had to juggle between the 2 children and cant please both at the same time, I wonder whether I make the right decision. That's why I am still thinking hard when to have no.3 or whether to have no.3 in the first place. I really love children... but I worry I cant coach them to their fullest potential if I am too busy.

stephanie,

My mum kept asking me to get a cot saying it is more stable, and can sleep for YEARSSSS... i decided not to take her advice as firstly the cot is expensive, and secondly i heard of bb's legs trapped while in the cot. Hengzzzz! Haha..

Ya, i bought playpen because i had that idea too. Throw her inside to play when she is bigger.. but now hor, i doubt she will like that too! haha..

lyn, aloy very kuai, can sleep on his own. bb jake will sleep on his own after his milk feeds... cos he normally falls asleep after his milk feeds. on few occassions, he fell asleep on his own in his cot... no pat pat... either cos i was too tired or busy to pat pat him.

i agree it is very diff to do without a helper. if i do not have a helper, my house will be upside down... cannot imagine. really thank God for my helper...
that's why we really treat her very well...

re US - dun think i can manage with home school or childcare... cos i will need to work... else how to maintain lifestyle?

tinklebell, my hb wanted a bigger house with a bigger pool.. ha ha... he din like double storey houses, he prefers big land, single storey, big pool... which is achievable in the US...

Fi - Baby Play by Gymboree? does the book contain make your own accessories for play?

re No. 2 or No. 3

hb wants no.2, but sometimes... really wonder how i can cope... if i am going to US, worse...

kk... bb jake's leg always trapped in his cot... ha ha... he always sleeps in one position, and ends up 180 degrees away... wonder how he managed to turn in his cot undisturbed...

hi amy,
thanks for the BP will trf the $ later... inform you once it's done.

hi peng,
CONGRATS!!! very surprise to hear good news so soon... you rest well

PLAY YARD BP:

Brambles, are u there? Still interested?
Mummies, at the moment, we may not be able to hit 10 sets (if brambles or jaelim changes their mind). If that happens, I would suggest u get in contact with the supplier and purchase individually since there's no discount. Easier for payment and delivey logistics. Supplier accepts EFT or cheque. Will let u know once both brambles + jaelim responds.

HOSPITALIZATION INSURANCE:
FYI, Great Eastern has come up with a new SupremeHealth plan which is better than Aviva MyShield. However, there is no FOC coverage for child <8 yrs old. RUMOUR also has it that GE may come up with a rider scheme soon to cover co-insurance &amp; deductible. So for those who are still looking around or wants to switch, this is another one to contemplate.

tinklebell,
Your maid really stubborn hor? Tell her dun bring hp, dun sms, she still do it! Is it something so important for her to sms so urgently in the daytime?

tinklebell, think you should keep her handphone in the morning, and return to her at night. I strongly advise you to do this.
Else, what if she carry bb, sms... then touch wood... something happen?

tinklebell, I think amy's suggestion is right but you have to talk sense in her if not, don't know whether she will be in anger???

Hi Amy,

To Account POSB Savings
178-18497-0 amy
Amount S$39.40
Transaction Reference 907993912

Did the transfer already, pls check. So the supplier will contact me for collection?

kk,
my boy is 5 months.hhmm..does it sound like i super conservative on food? but i'm so afraid if i allow this it will lead to feeding junkfood and sweets to baby this way. cause my in law side pro such food.

okipoki,
correction..the cot at my mil place is actually a playpen.

stephanie,
hee..hee.. i tried but have to pretend see doc for other symptom leh...anyway my boy malaysian, so charge foreigners fee $18.90

amy,
no need special make yr own accesories. eg. use blanket with baby inside, me and hb sway blanket side to side. or put bolster under baby during tummy time for him to roll to and fro. all very creative play which i like.i'm going to get the other book called Toddler Play.

celk,

eh...u so long nv come in liao..bz with work har? your ger vvv chubby leh..she can sit so well in her exersaucer..mine still abit swaying...here n there.. n i got to stuff pillows inside..hmm,when u at hm? mus find 1 day go over n see her liao

i feed her heinz rice cereal liao n jus started gave her the EYS brown rice cereal yesterday..she took quite a big bowl...so scare she will be too full..