(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

amy - i see...

for my boy is also similiar...
during weekday, he can finish all his milk.

but on weekends, once we go out gaigai, he like forgotten abt hunger. if feed bottle worst... look left look right.

think
1)KPO, so forgot hunger :p
2) mummy = BF so give bottle, not interested! :p

tinklebell, amy,

samuel is vaccinated 6 months ago with the chicken pox vaccine leh... the funny thing is the pox are only appearing in his mouth area, hands/palm and feet/legs. It started with a high fever of 40.8degree for 2 days. That's the GP also cannot confirm whether its chicken pox but based on our experiences since I already have it and my mum took care of all of us with chicken pox... it should be leh... my hb had not gotten chicken pox before... worried he will get it cos the adult version is much more severe

anyway, cant avoid crowded places too much leh... cos Samuel is at the age where I need to expose him to different enrichment classes etc

re: maths & music

already email to those who pm/email me

562074.jpg

left to right: Irvin (Medusa's), Aloysius (Lyn's), Fiona (tinklebell's)!
tinklebell, lyn,
sorry my phone cam cant take gd pics in low light, so grainy. cropped adults away for privacy
. I'm so worried mine is the only bb on pacifier, and sooo addicted to it, yikes. Weaning pacifier will be tough!

poohy,
oh dear so stressful for u, hope S gets well soon!

amy,
my boy not consistent with bottle when I feed. Come to think of it, HB doesn't succeed very well bottlefeeding him either!

medusa,

ya hope he gets well asap... hehee
hey for the weaning pacifier part hor... both my children are on pacifier... for samuel recently he just refused to take pacifier by himself leh... i din do anything ... in fact sometimes i wanna make him go sleep like he used to and wanna stuff the pacifier into his mouth and he spit it out like poison like dat .. dunno why... good also lah dun need me to crack my head on weaning hehee

re: baby weight

just wanna chk with u mummies... how heavy is your baby huh? Yesterday joelle went for kkh kidney ultrasound and then her weight is 8.89kg at 5mth1week leh .... the PD shaking her head leh.. think she is overweight ... is she?? Samuel is only 11+kg at 19month... think he is getting thinner liao...

hi mummies...wow today thread very active...so many postings to read...

mspiggy...the allerhand zip difficult to zip ah?..but i aiming the bag very long liao leh...cannot resist the discounted price...actually i know of an old method to make the zip easier to zip, just rub some wax behind the zip...my dad teach me one...

Kite...i 'ren' so long not to buy the allerhand bag until finally still have to get it...haha..

okipoki...personally i prefer rouge over power colour...

poohy...i have heard from my colleagues that the chicken pox vaccine does not work everytime...some of them vaccined their kids against chicken pox and their kids still contracted chicken pox...

poohy, oops... could samuel be down with hand foot mouth? PD said these are the symptoms.. with fever on the onset.

think joelle not overwight la... Jake is 8.57 kgg at 5 month 1 week. PD said good weight, though his weight gain has decreased by 50%. Only 500 gm/month. Normally, his weight gain is 1 kg/month.

Poohy, re flash cards - jake is now hitting 50 on Maths, so I plan to introduce equations. how many should i start with? he is also on Eng and Chi. Should I flash the 1000 pic cards in 10 cards/set, one set 3 times a day, following the Maths, Eng, Chi schedule? In addition, i have been reading his the speed readings stories, which he loved. should i really do SPEED reading, or should i read to him as per normal story books? i have been doing the latter...

poohy,

My ger 8.2 kg at 5th mth and 8.95 kg at 6th mth. According to PD, he say bb hit 10 kg at 9th mth or so. He never say my bb overweight lor. i think urs still ok ba? Anyway there are other babies who are heavier than urs, i notice!

MTDT, agree with you. bb jake now very KPO... look around... not interested in feeding, rather go hungry... always want to play and sing songs...

poohy,

pm you for the booklets

re: chicken pox
my SIL purposely exposed her 2 kids when they were below 4 yrs to chicken pox. she say easier for kids to heal & recover when they are young. But of course, quite xin teng to see them suffer at such tender age.
Take care of yourself too.

amy: speed reading materials

I also read the story to my boy like normal story book. He enjoys it. I tried the Speed reading CD once, so stressed myself to keep up with the speed ;)

sunflower, yes.... din do speed reading. dunno how to read with speed... glad to know your boy enjoys it. you getting set 2? collecting tomorrow.

amy,
yes getting set 2. but not able to collect today or tomorrow. timing not convenient for me as i stay in the north. will collect next sunday

Sunflower, Eng, I am doing 2 sets of 5 words 3 times a day. Same with Chinese and Maths. So in total, 6 sets of 5, 3 times a day.

kk,

U mentioned bb hit 10kg at 9mths or so ah? Then mine is really overweight huh? My boy is 8.2kg at 4 mths already! Next week going for jab appt, the nurse will weigh him again, i think he should be 9kg now, he's turning 5mths old tomorrow... 5 mths = 9kg! Judging at the rate his wt is increasing, he's 3 mths faster than yr PD's guideline, 10kg at 9mths. :p

spicegal,
i beo the bags for quite awhile liao... since the bp offer 25% discount so dun wait anymore
probably i will still remain taking rouge.

amy / sunflower
how many stories did u gers go thru'liao ?

re: flashcards

amy, Joelle is also at 50 dots going to 51-60 next few days... but I had been giving her equations on top of the daily 10 maths dots. I followed the GD recommendation of 9 equations daily. It was 2+ weeks of daily 9 equations for each operation (addition, subtraction, etc). She is now on day 2 of multiplication. The only thing I dun follow GD strictly is I flashed 9 equations straightaway in 1 session cos I am really very hard up for time and cannot afford to split it to multiple session in case I cant find time later on in the day. If u wanna follow the book strictly, do 3sessions of 3 equations.

I had not started speed reading with her... cos too busy liao... but u should do different speed with him.... maybe start with faster speed... as fast as possible
then goes to normal speed finally...

For the 1000 pic cards.. I had not started both samuel and joelle on the pic cards yet. For joelle is doing pic cards from GD encyclopedic series. I got 16 topics from the GD encylopedic cards and flashes them first because they are 11x11inch and bigger and better for her eyes. I do flash almost A5 sizes factual image pictures from novum publishing to joelle a few times a week.. I flashed this type for image training and she do 200 cards at one shot each time.

re: chicken pox

ya i think shd be chicken pox though he got vaccine... my hb just told me he feeling ache all over... sian maybe he kena too...

re: weight

hope my girl dun become too big sized... i like chubby baby but she is getting a bit too heavy for me to carry... I am only 44kg and carrying her is a bit weighty for me

oki, ha ha.. been thru and thru the stories again and again lo... read about 3 - 5 stories per day.

poohy, are the A5 sizes factual image similar to the 1000 pic cards, also in A5 size? dunno when i should flash these to bb jake. agree the pic resolution and color not as attractive.

oic.. remembered hubby mentioned 9 equations after 50 dots. he attended the GD talk, i did not. yes, think will go with 3 sessions x 3 equations, meaning, the 3 equations per 3 sessions are all different? so each equation is flashed only once? will check with hubby again... he plans the GD program.

poohy, do you think there is a diff between shichida springleaf and tpy? which one is sam at?

kite, lyn and vivi,
a lot of things happened at home about communication,my hubby had to help talk to everyone and we are all at peace now and mil and i are working to mend communication and relationship.really appreciate all your support, to have shoulder to sob sob...else last resort i was considering to be SAHM liao. will see how it goes.

peng,
dont be sad..i've heard before of mothers who stop still can continue BF.sometimes my supply also up and down, a lot of factors play a part..so maybe still have hope.

okasan,
thanks for tip.last night i experimented heinz rice cereal half teaspoon mix in 60ml EBM. first tried avent no 3 teat but difficult to come out so use no.4 teat and my boy happy sucking..

amy,
looks like all babies use different teat size.

poohy,
so sorry to hear about samuel. hope he recover soon. so is it chicken pox?

medusa,
my boy also must use pacifier when he want to sleep.i'm also concern if it'll be difficult habit to break later.when sleep also suck till very tight, i always try to take it away. but sometimes if light sleep he'll tend to wake up once give pacifier, like drunken will make his eyes close..

serene,

Does it matter if bb is overweight now? Heehee.. as they grow, become more active, i guess they would be slimmer?

For my ger, i dun worry she gain weight. Sometimes she throw her temper, she dun drink. Recently she down with cough, so she dun drink (i suspect due to cough), then teethin comes, she dun drink too. So i hope she gain as much weight as possible, in "anticipation" of weight loss!

Fi, wow.. your boy on teat 4? i must buy some teat 4 soon.. bb jake still on teat 3. intend to feed him cereal in a bowl after 6 months.

good to know your home situation has improved. me too.. had problems with my MIL, not so much as problems, but i have politely told them not to drop by uninvited too often (she came twice a day during my confinement, and even while i was on maternity leave, without even informing me, she would come in herself and march up to my room). now, things have improved, life goes on. of cos - i still think there is a scar in my relationship with her, esp since now we no longer eat dinners with them on the weekends, given bb jake has to sleep at 6 pm daily.

Fi,

think should be chickenpox ... hope he recover too... else he quite cranky at times...

amy,

ya in GD, each and every equations is different unlike SM's 65 days maths program where the equations are repeated. Hmm... the GD books recommended starting the maths equations once u reached dots 20. That's why I started Joelle quite sometime back. With Samuel, I only started after I am done with all 100 dots
Each time u flash the equations, u use only the dots u already flashed previously... its a kind of repetition and revision. Joelle loves the maths dots a lot...

HI Poohy

can i check with you for the eng and chinese flashcards, do you flash them back to back with the maths cards? Or you will have some interval in between flashing them?

ah poohy, you have yet to advice me on my query - do you think there is a diff between shichida springleaf and tpy? which one is samuel at?

oki - i almost run out of stuff to entertain bb jake. sometimes, i have to leave him to play by himself cos i am exhausted... hee hee... telling stories is the easiest part, no need much physical movements. bb jake loves me to hold him and fly around, up and down, like a rocket... he always chuckles loudly.. but can be very tiring for me...

vivi - ya lor. hmm... now my mil thinks i very ma fan... and now that her son is married to me... he also ma fan... no longer as filial as he used to be. sometimes, we cannot please everyone. amidst our tight schedules, we need to squeeze time out for our loved ones... sometimes, sacrifices have to be made...

amy,
my problem is i'm always polite with in law so dont know how to say no, so it accumulate and baloon up.. ya, on teat 4 for cereal, still teat 2 for BM.

anyone have any tricks on how to get baby to drink plain water, instead of adding stuff inside the water.i'm considering changing bottle or introducing weaning cup, if not feed by spoon.

amy,

well slight diff for me. My MIl & mum finds me ma fan. But hor my hubby still fillial to her la. I cant comment anything on my MIL as my hubby will always protect her..

I seldom tok to MIL though we stay together. So my hubby always relay the msg to her. N always relay the WRONG Message. In the end Kena Misunderstood by her. and she will like indirectly grumble about me infront of my hubby n me..

amy,

do u flash those cards in the afternoon or nite ? So far i can only do it over the weekend. my friend juz passed me a set of GD cards .. .trying to find time to flash..

vivi,

seem like both of us are in the same shoes.. but MIL doesnt stay with us
nowadays she kept pestering me to get my ger a walker.

wah amy..misunderstanding can be fightening.my mil and i are now quite open with each other and working to mend communication. most of the time its because she chinese speaking and i'm english speaking but we both mean well for each other

Hi okipoki,

toking about walker. I bought the exersaucer for the sake of making convenient for her when taking care of my boy. Then i told me hubby not to set up early as i wanna start when he is stable. Then i hubby got the wrong message n set up the exersaucer. N w/o my presence MIL put my boy in. My Poor boy was like hanging in the air.. Ai yo...

In the end, i told her to place the pillow on the chest for better support. Now already set up, cannot put back liao.

My Mum also one of a kind. Wanna put my boy in the walker at her house. She say needs to train my boy etc and she say my boy looks cute when in it..

Sigh!!

The more i comment the more they say, educated ppl always do things the theoretical way..

cookiemz,

OMG! i'm on 7W, the floor with the weird partition. But I'm sure u r not in my biz cos i'm the only preggie there... only going back in Jan 2007 for Year End Closing work..

Hi vivi & fj

my in laws are staying with me now to help look after my son..and most of the time my hubby act as the middle man to relay the message and sometimes they dont relay the message properly..end up may genna misunderstood. For my case, even though my hubby is the one conveying the message..my mil will know its from me

we have some incidents that needs to set boundaries and "iron out the differences" eg my mil likes to open our bedroom door and enter our room whenever my son cries. Very stressful for me coz i feel i have someone perpectually waiting to charge into our room and i have to stop my son from crying asap else she will open the door...but now she doesnt after she knew that i dont like it.

hi soh1dful,

Gosh! ME too. Always pray hard that my boy dun cries till MIL can hear. When he cries, i will be v. panic. Always trying to soothe, calm n stop him from crying ASAP. Theres once, when my boy was crying so loudly n pitiful, and i was trying to BF him, then she knock the door once n open the door. Pengz!

Sometimes, we are NOT the 1 who comment. Sometimes is our hubby la. But they will have the thinking that its confirm from us!

Lok, looks like u have struck toto again...kekeke :p
haha! the world is so small.... first u found your neighbour's sil, your school mate and now u found a colleague !

soh, vivi, fi... same here... hubby always escalate small issues and mil might think it's me - the ma fan one... luckily we are not staying together, but thing is - we just live 2 mins walk down the same street...

vivi - tpy = toa payoh. there is one shichida at tpy.

oki - flash cards - i do one session after every nap. i work from home sometimes, so it's easy. on days when i work, my mum does the flashing and speed reading with bb jake.

okipoki,
i dont have pic now.. will go and take and post if you're keen.

re: weight gain
seems like Jun babies are all thriving very well :D

my boy weighs 8kg at 4mth 1 wk, PD said he's big enough but didnt say he's overweight. But he did comment that 1 yr old supposed to weigh abt 9-10kg only.

He also said that their weight growth will slow down and each mth will gain 300g instead of 1 kg.